$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
330 out of 330
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PJ123
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Jan 28, 2012

Great Experience

We had a great time. Shows were cheesy but we drank so much it made them amazing. I read all the reviews and was a little nervous but it is true, only bad experiences write comments. I would recommend for a honeymoon on a budget. Give one of the waitresses at the beach a 10 and she will bring you drinks every 5 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katarzina
Business
New Jersey, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Fabilous getaway

We were a bit skeptical about this hotel, especially after reading the reviews, however, the hotel was amazing!! Do not believe all is written...The food was great, the staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was a memorable one especially Adrian (bldg 7 concierge). The beach was not all that great, but the next hotel over had a beautiful bay with crystal clear water , where we ended up almost everyday. We definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bay at the Three rivers hotels great for snorkeling and relaxing :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roberval
Business
quebec
Mar 9, 2012

very good experience

the site is very clean, food is excellent, the staff is friendly, the only default of the hotel is that the sea is not really beautiful, the rest is all very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is about a 10-15 minute taxi ride from the famous 5th Avenue where you can shop, take a good food and of course partying

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ski coach
Business
New Hampshire, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Good vacation

Everything is great at the hotel. The rooms are super clean, staff extremely helpful and friendly. Food is very tasty and variety is awesome. The only down side is the ocean beach. The beach on the property is basically not swimmable. We found one on the next resort, but it was rather strange to go somewhere else to swim. We were not sure of the legal part of that... Other than that - great place. And yes, the check in time is 3 PM - they do not let you in prior to that time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lansing Michelle
Business
Lansing, MI, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Great Resort

Loved this resort, had a great time! The buffet was good at every meal, but the ala cartes were touch and go. The steakhouse was nearly inedible, the seafood was ok, but the French was so delicious we went back three times! They pour well drinks unless you ask for the good stuff, but they'll give you what you ask for with no problem. If you're a tequila drinker, they have a great resposado out of sight in most of the coolers if you ask for it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del Carmen was a cool city, but the man strip was like Cancun, with all trying to outbid each other. The little shops off of 5th avenue were much cooler with better wares and less pressure. The taxi is $20US one way, or the hotel offers a shuttle for $5US per person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stu and jo
Business
Erie, Pennsylvania
Apr 1, 2012

Wonderful Getaway

We read some negative reviews about this resort but we didn't find anything really bad. Yes, the beach had a lot of seaweed, but the pool area was great! Restaurants were great, the grounds were beautiful and very well kept. Everyone on the staff was very friendly and helpful. The resort covers a large area that was very nice to walk through. If you were tired from walking through ruins or sightseeing, there were shuttles that ran continuously all day. Room Comfort & Ammenities did't get perfect scores because there was only 1 straightback chair & the bed to sit on, and only 10 hangers for both of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You must make reservations early at the resorts retaurants, the day before is best. We especially liked the Circus Dinner Theater on Monday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Porcu
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Beautiful resort

We had a wonderful time at Blue Bay Esmeralda. The staff was very helpful and friendly. It is a large resort, so there are concierges at each building for the guests' convenience. You get pools, beach, numerous dinner options (separate restaurants devoted to steak, seafood, mexican, french, and italian, as well as the general buffet meals), a live entertainment dinner show each night, and a beautiful setting for taking pictures. You are also close enough to take a day trip to the Mayan ruins at Chichen Itza, which is a long day but worth it for the history. Wireless internet is free in the lobby and also in the sports bar, which is open 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You need to make dinner reservations for the restaurants other than the regular buffet. They allow you to make a reservation one day in advance, so book your dinners each morning for the following night before spots fill up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biron
Business
London, Ontario
Apr 29, 2012

Anniversary Getaway

Great service,great food, and on our trip other great guests. Both pool areas had lots to do etc etc. Would go back in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del carmen, Great strip area to shop and barter for items and a short walk to the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SunLovers2012
Business
Vancouver, Canada
May 2, 2012

Enjoyable but ....

We enjoyed our stay at the Blue Bay. In our opinion the Sports Bar/Theatre area needs to be improved upon and upgraded to be on the same level as the rest of the amenities which we felt were first class. A nice lobby bar with musica for a pre-dinner drink would have been nice. Found the CircleOne reps annoying. The staff was very friendly and attentive; enjoyed all of the ala cartes and the buffet was one of the best we have seen. Enjoyed the "adults only" section. No complaints about the food. Having a concierge at each buiding was great ... made it easy to get ala cartes booked and any questions answered. Would have liked to have known about the nightly Beach Party sooner .. perhaps a bit more info in the rooms would be good. Also thought the buildings should have numbers on them instead of names, it would have made it a bit easier to navigate in the first couple of days. All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Apparently there is a beach party and DJ each night in the VIP area (which is stunningly gorgeous at night) .. We only found out about this thru chatting with others after we had been there for 5 days and the one night we did go down there, the DJ was playing in the Sports Bar :-(

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal
May 10, 2012

Great place

The SPA is Amazing, Amenities is great if you pay for the little upgrade, it worth it. The Beach is poor with a lot of rock. Pool is great. Food is good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top