$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
322 reviews
Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not... See full review

  • Family Vacation Lovers
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (322)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
322 out of 322
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katarzina
Business
New Jersey, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Fabilous getaway

We were a bit skeptical about this hotel, especially after reading the reviews, however, the hotel was amazing!! Do not believe all is written...The food was great, the staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was a memorable one especially Adrian (bldg 7 concierge). The beach was not all that great, but the next hotel over had a beautiful bay with crystal clear water , where we ended up almost everyday. We definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bay at the Three rivers hotels great for snorkeling and relaxing :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sammy0407
Business
Ontario, Canada
Feb 6, 2012

Awesome Family Trip

This was my second visit to Blue Bay and I left extremly pleased once again. The resort has everything you need - well maybe a swim up bar! - great staff, amazing food, clean rooms and they are always there to fulfill any request! I recommended this hotel to a friend of mine, she loved it as much as me and has been back twice since. GREAT RESORT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PJ123
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Jan 28, 2012

Great Experience

We had a great time. Shows were cheesy but we drank so much it made them amazing. I read all the reviews and was a little nervous but it is true, only bad experiences write comments. I would recommend for a honeymoon on a budget. Give one of the waitresses at the beach a 10 and she will bring you drinks every 5 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GIRLS FROM CHICAGO
Business
CHICAGO ILLINOIS
Jan 26, 2012

THE STAFF MAKES THE PLACE EVEN BETTER

VACATION:12/26/2011-01/01/2012 Shelia & Ana at the Concierge Desk were delightful and very helpful. Any minor issues we had, they resolved on the spot. Lupe, who worked at the pool for most of the time we were there was TOTALLY AWESOME. Super attentive and sweet. Moises, our breakfast and lunch server was such a sweet guy. He always knew when we were coming and had a seat for us outside. Anyone employee that we saw, always said hello with a smile. This is a good place to go, the grounds are beautiful and the food is good with many choices. Make your reservations for dinner early, though. Early as in when you check in. Do not expect a super huge nightlife here, as you would in Acapulco or even Cancun. It is a little more relaxed, yet still fun. Go into town via the shuttle the Hotel uses, nice people, they explain everything and it is $5.00 each way, you can't beat that. Otherwise the bus takes you for about $3.00. I suggest you speak Spanish, fluently. It makes it easier and faster to get things done. Mostly everyone here speaks some English, however you receive a better response when you speak the language. Most people go on the All-Inclusive Package, yet remember the employees make a living on tips and they are most gracious!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

THE CABBIES AT THE AIRPORT IN CANCUN ARE SCAMMERS!! We knew the ride should have not been more than $45.00 to the Resort. Of course, our hotel confirmed that when we inquired about taking a cab from the Resort back to Cancun Airport when our trip was done. GET YOUR CAB FROM THE HOTEL! Our trip back to the airport was $45.00, plus a tip. To the resort we paid $100.00, plus a tip! WHEN YOU ARRIVE IN CANCUN: Do not get into a cab until 2 people from the cab company confirm your trip fare!!! One guy will tell you one price and once you are settled in the cab, luggage and all another guy comes and tells you that the first guy made a mistake. THEY ARE HUSTLERS!. Stand firm and do not back down!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosmil
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Jan 8, 2012

My vacations new year 2011-2012

It have been the best vacations my family and I have had, excellent food,drinks with a lot of choice, entretainment was outstanding with shows and live music, room confort perfect and cleanliess excellent which included arrengemnts made with towels and flowers that are masterpieces, it is also a hotel very safe, my congratulations for all the staff for the quality of their service. It is well located close to parks such as Xplore, Xcaret and Rio Secreto. Without any doubt I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many tours for choosing you may buy at the hotel at the same price I would recommend, Xcaret and Rio secreto. The prices are exactly the same or even better since descounts apply for groups over 4 people, it is safe and includes transportation from/ to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jo P
Business
London, UK
Jan 8, 2012

Good if you like eating and drinking

we had a week at Blue Bay over Xmas and new year. The weather wasn't brilliant and there wasn't much else to do apart from drinking. The cocktails were great and the bar staff very friendly though. The food was good in the a la Carte restaurants but not brilliant at the breakfast and lunch buffets but there was a lot to chose from. We used the gym most days which was ok but there was only one running machine and it was often v busy. The one thing this hotel is lacking is a nice bar to drink in in the evening; the main bar is big and soulless. The pool is nice and the beach has plenty of loungers but the sea wasn't very nice and we wouldn't have gone in Overall we had a really fun holiday and made the most of the cocktails which were great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
davidg109
Business
Belleville, ON, Canada
Jan 6, 2012

Great time

I spent sixteen days at the resort and had a great time. The food in particular was very good, and we enjoyed the a la carte restaurants each night as opposed to eating buffet meals. The pool is nice, the beachfront not so nice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There was one exception. Thriftys car rental agency operates in the lobby there. BEWARE. We had a terrible experience attempting to rent a car, and we discovered we were lied to repeatedly by one particular Thrifty's employee named Juan. We have escalated complaints through the general manager of the resort and the Thrifty's corporation as I have no patience for liars, especially on vacation. Hopefully this guy has been replaced by someone that needs a job more then him. Aside from this blip (which is easy to remedy, use a different rental agency!) we had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dhg1
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 4, 2012

blue bay riviera maya

Overall great vacation for the money! Good points are the friendly and hard-working staff, the food, the nice pools, and location of hotel. Bad points: Stayed in Tulum building it was very noisy and loud, the bathroom was very run-down, sink did not work well, and it is to be remodeled. Also, the concierges spend everyday trying to sell you something. They are relentless in trying to get you to get back to Blue Bay and buy into their VIP option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The French restaurant has the best food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elski1
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Great Hotel would stay there again.

This hotel is a great all inclusive. The restaurants are not like most all inclusives you actually feel and it tastes like you are at a real restaurant. The sports bar is great and really nice and did I mention it is 24hours. There is also a tiki bar on the beach that has swings instead of seats which is awesome and that is open on the beach until 1am. The drinks are also great because they have actual name brand alcohol for example: kettle one, absolute, sky, johhny black label, champagne and more and is all included. They also have a great lounge area for cocktails before dinner. Overall this hotel was really nice and I would stay again you really get a lot for what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I would make reservations for the restaurants every night becuase they are good and it is a much better experience than eating at the buffet. However, book them the day before becuase they do book up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lovetotravel09
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Jan 3, 2012

Great Vacation

We stayed there Dec 17 - 27 and had a wonderful time. Restaurants are great, pool is nice and big, beach was wonderful and rooms were clean and comfortable. The resort is VERY big so if you have trouble walking don't go here; if you have a room near the beach you have to walk everynight up to lobby area for restaunrants and entertainment and if you have a room up by the lobby you have to walk to the beach and pool everyday. They do have trollies but not as often as you'd hope. The spa was awesome, would go back there for sure! Steak and seafood restaurant were our favourite. there is a language barrier with cleaners so if you have questions about anything ask your building concierge. Buliding 4 &5 is here you want to be! Steps to the beach :) would go back for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top