$233 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 12, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
derf151
Single
Wisconsin
Oct 26, 2012

Very Relaxing

I stayed here for my 30th birthday. The first 2 days I was barely there except to sleep and eat dinner. But the third day I spent all day there it was very relaxing by the poolside one thing to note The pool is only 4ft deep great for kids but, kind boring if you want to dive or anything. The wait staff by the pool for drinks weren't the most efficient but at the bars I never had empty drink or at the dinner table.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wake up early and find a good spot on the beach and the sunrise is fantastic.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CARLOS GONZALEZ OLIVA
Couples
MIAMI ,FLORIDA
Oct 31, 2012

Very Good !!!!!!

exelent ,just in the nigth was pretty boring ,atherwise all exelent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lemon.
Single
Arizona
Nov 6, 2012

BluBay Esmeralda A Good Bargain

I stayed at BB Esmeralda Oct. 31 to Nov. 05. The Staff were friendly and accomodating at all times. The Buffet food was varied but was rather toned-down for tourists- even the "Mexican" food. The grounds and rooms were admirably clean and cared for. The A La Carte restaurants where I ate served food that was wonderfully presented but fairly ordinary. The Buffet was about as good. The architect who designed the buildings should be blacklisted. My bathroom tub had a wall on the side which was at least 1 1/2 feet tall. It was very difficult to get into the tub/shower and I am fit. Anyone not fit could not use it. Also the Sports Bar/ Show venue was disigned with low ceilings and is very unwelcoming and claustrophobic. BB Esmeralda is isolated from Playa del Carmen by 6 miles. It is a spot to stay and relax on site. Oher comments about the beach are true but exagerated in that the beach erosion did cause the staff to install some sand bags, but the sandy area is still nice. The waters are sometimes a little murkey due to the currents, but the pool area is large and very nice. BB Esmeralda is a good bargain for what one pays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mx AI traveler
Family
Toledo, Ohio
Dec 17, 2012

Review: Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda

Hotel, staff, and food were all good and typical of Mexico all inclusive resorts of this rating. Reservations were required for restaurants other than the buffet. Reservations were hard to get and restaurants usually had 5 - 10 tables filled when we went to them. There seems to be a need for improvements to staffing and booking to make this area better. Food and service at restaurants however was excellent. Just the booking availability is my complaint. Not a big issue but an area for improvement. Kids club was fantastic. Our 4 yr old daughter loved it. Beach and pool are pretty nice at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the Chasman
Couples
Mpls, MN
Jan 2, 2013

Great Place to Relax

Beautiful resort with a beatiful beach. The food was better than other resorts we have stayed at. The staff was ver y pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
arm really
Couples
chicago, illinois
Jan 1, 2013

Great value

Room was very clean and comfortable. Restaurants were great, we preferred the buffets rather than the a la carte menus. Make restaurant reserves one day before. Great pools and activities. Ocean is not great, lots of seaweed and mushy bottom. Alchohol is not great but does the job. We ordered doubles. Great staff, very friendly. Overall we would highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del Carmen.shopping, restaurants, bars, great beaches. About 20 minutes by $ 20 dollar taxi.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zipline Mama
Family
Montana
Jan 16, 2013

Remote Getaway

Good place to stay with excellent staff. Just a little remote from town but overall it was nice. Area is vast and our room was far from the beach. Shuttles helped to get you around but next time would ask for a place nearer the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Good walking shoes a must! Not all dining ares were easy to get to without the shuttle.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rimode
Family
Chicago IL
Feb 4, 2013

Very good getaway...

Very clean and quiet hotel but don't relay from hotel stuff wakeup call if you have to leave hotel early in the morning ,you must relay on your self.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julia babe
Family
Riveria Maya
Feb 7, 2013

Great resort!

This was a nice friendly, fun resort. The food was great!! We recommend the steak and seafood restaurants! The margaritas at the Mexican restaurant were not that bad either! The room accommodations were nice, clean, and updated. No chairs available to sit in room, only the bed. Pool area was very nice, relaxing with many chair options! Bathrooms around pool need much work! Only one functioning with the rest out of order with long lines-opted to walk back to room instead!!! Beach front nice enough with lagoon near by. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carib Vacationier
Single
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 14, 2013

Nice Resort

Just returned from a great week! Found some of the previous reviews complaints to be valid only in certain parts of the resort. We stayed in building 8 and had no problems. The beach is as described, but the lagoon is wonderful. The market area is very easy to get to via the shuttle, approximately 20 mins away from the resort......All in all, thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We took the shuttle to Playa Del Carmen to the public beach and ferry to Cozumel, spent time in the markets and malls. Also took a Tevo from the main gate to Cancun, approx. 30 mins and enjoyed the malls, markets and beaches there. Explore attraction was wonderful.

Back to menu Return to top