$243 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 14, 2015 Check-out: Apr 17, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
329 out of 329
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ADHEMIR
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 4, 2011

Best all inclusive

If you are going to eat, drink and have fun this is the place!!! and everything is included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

XCARET PARK

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anna C
Business
NJ
Dec 10, 2011

Great all inclusive resort!

This was our first time in Mexico. The staff gave us a warm welcoming along with cold drinks when we arrived. All the staff spoke English. The food was delicious. The beach area was clean and beautiful. The swim up suite was pretty cool. It was kinda like your own private pool. My only complaint is that there is not a lot of entertainment at night however there was one bar open 24 hours. Friendly staff, great food (and they did not make u wear a bracelet unlike other all inclusive resorts) and beautiful views. Overall it was a great vacation and will definitely come back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Just a short bus ride from Playa Del Carmen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MamaCrevette
Business
Montreal, QC, Canada
Dec 19, 2011

Fantastic vacation. Kids friendly

It was our second time at this hotel. Great food, great staff and they are amazing with kids. Only bad side is the beach. They seem to have less beach than last year, probably due to the waves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If its your second stay, they give you a lobster meal for free. (Value of 30$)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LKatie
Business
Missouri
Dec 26, 2011

Family Vacation

Our trip was a family vacation. A family group of 6 people (3 rooms) came down the week before Christmas 2011 to celebrate our daughter-in-law's 30th birthday. We had a geat time @ Blue Bay. The staff was wonderful. We never had to wait for a drink while lounging at the pool & we enjoyed the restaurants. I read some negative reviews prior to our trip that caused me to be concerned about mosquitos among other things. I was concerned for nothing - We had no problems with mosquitos and no difficulty making reservations for dinner, The food was great. Our group also enjoyed the nightly entertainment at the sports bar. Good Vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keninaus
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Excellent staff

This resort was in a great location, the food was great and the staff was extremely attentive. I would return just because of the amazing service alone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your dinner reservations a day ahead because the restaurants fill up fast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canadian HEY
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Dec 28, 2011

Esmeralda package way to go

I was impressed with Blue Bay, we had a swim up suite, absolutely recommend this suite, spacious, lots of amenities, refill your liquor daily, cleaning staff were great, recommend getting the Esmeralda package for the extra advantages. Food was good, we really liked the Italian, French and Seafood was ok, Steakhouse good, did not get to check out the Mexican, as the men need to wear pants, and it was just too hot. That was disappointing that they would not make an exception. We loved to eat at Jaal Ha Buffet, great staff and view of the ocean. Beach area is ok, but I have seen better on the Riviera side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheapest way to go to Playa del Carmen is take the bus, you walk out to the road, stand the opposite side of the street and wait for the bus. Really cheap, compared to shuttle or taxi. Air Conditioned and comfortable seats. Drops you right in the heart of Playa, and way back drops you right on the road in front of your hotel. Make sure you have correct amount of peso, and don`t let the driver tell you any different. The hotel will tell you how much before you leave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elski1
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Great Hotel would stay there again.

This hotel is a great all inclusive. The restaurants are not like most all inclusives you actually feel and it tastes like you are at a real restaurant. The sports bar is great and really nice and did I mention it is 24hours. There is also a tiki bar on the beach that has swings instead of seats which is awesome and that is open on the beach until 1am. The drinks are also great because they have actual name brand alcohol for example: kettle one, absolute, sky, johhny black label, champagne and more and is all included. They also have a great lounge area for cocktails before dinner. Overall this hotel was really nice and I would stay again you really get a lot for what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I would make reservations for the restaurants every night becuase they are good and it is a much better experience than eating at the buffet. However, book them the day before becuase they do book up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jo P
Business
London, UK
Jan 8, 2012

Good if you like eating and drinking

we had a week at Blue Bay over Xmas and new year. The weather wasn't brilliant and there wasn't much else to do apart from drinking. The cocktails were great and the bar staff very friendly though. The food was good in the a la Carte restaurants but not brilliant at the breakfast and lunch buffets but there was a lot to chose from. We used the gym most days which was ok but there was only one running machine and it was often v busy. The one thing this hotel is lacking is a nice bar to drink in in the evening; the main bar is big and soulless. The pool is nice and the beach has plenty of loungers but the sea wasn't very nice and we wouldn't have gone in Overall we had a really fun holiday and made the most of the cocktails which were great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
davidg109
Business
Belleville, ON, Canada
Jan 6, 2012

Great time

I spent sixteen days at the resort and had a great time. The food in particular was very good, and we enjoyed the a la carte restaurants each night as opposed to eating buffet meals. The pool is nice, the beachfront not so nice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There was one exception. Thriftys car rental agency operates in the lobby there. BEWARE. We had a terrible experience attempting to rent a car, and we discovered we were lied to repeatedly by one particular Thrifty's employee named Juan. We have escalated complaints through the general manager of the resort and the Thrifty's corporation as I have no patience for liars, especially on vacation. Hopefully this guy has been replaced by someone that needs a job more then him. Aside from this blip (which is easy to remedy, use a different rental agency!) we had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GIRLS FROM CHICAGO
Business
CHICAGO ILLINOIS
Jan 26, 2012

THE STAFF MAKES THE PLACE EVEN BETTER

VACATION:12/26/2011-01/01/2012 Shelia & Ana at the Concierge Desk were delightful and very helpful. Any minor issues we had, they resolved on the spot. Lupe, who worked at the pool for most of the time we were there was TOTALLY AWESOME. Super attentive and sweet. Moises, our breakfast and lunch server was such a sweet guy. He always knew when we were coming and had a seat for us outside. Anyone employee that we saw, always said hello with a smile. This is a good place to go, the grounds are beautiful and the food is good with many choices. Make your reservations for dinner early, though. Early as in when you check in. Do not expect a super huge nightlife here, as you would in Acapulco or even Cancun. It is a little more relaxed, yet still fun. Go into town via the shuttle the Hotel uses, nice people, they explain everything and it is $5.00 each way, you can't beat that. Otherwise the bus takes you for about $3.00. I suggest you speak Spanish, fluently. It makes it easier and faster to get things done. Mostly everyone here speaks some English, however you receive a better response when you speak the language. Most people go on the All-Inclusive Package, yet remember the employees make a living on tips and they are most gracious!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

THE CABBIES AT THE AIRPORT IN CANCUN ARE SCAMMERS!! We knew the ride should have not been more than $45.00 to the Resort. Of course, our hotel confirmed that when we inquired about taking a cab from the Resort back to Cancun Airport when our trip was done. GET YOUR CAB FROM THE HOTEL! Our trip back to the airport was $45.00, plus a tip. To the resort we paid $100.00, plus a tip! WHEN YOU ARRIVE IN CANCUN: Do not get into a cab until 2 people from the cab company confirm your trip fare!!! One guy will tell you one price and once you are settled in the cab, luggage and all another guy comes and tells you that the first guy made a mistake. THEY ARE HUSTLERS!. Stand firm and do not back down!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top