Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$276
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Mar 1, 2016 Check-out: Mar 4, 2016

Beautiful resort

Would recommend Tue, Apr 3, 2012
We had a wonderful time at Blue Bay Esmeralda. The staff was very helpful and friendly. It is a large resort, so there are concierges at each building for the guests' convenience. You get pools, beach, numerous dinner options (separate restaurants devoted to steak, seafood, mexican, french, and italian, as well as the general buffet meals), a live entertainment dinner show each night, and a beautiful setting for taking pictures. You are also close enough to take a day trip to the Mayan ruins at Chichen Itza, which is a long day but worth it for the history. Wireless internet is free in the lobby and also in the sports bar, which is open 24 hours.

Dining

You need to make dinner reservations for the restaurants other than the regular buffet. They allow you to make a reservation one day in advance, so book your dinners each morning for the following night before spots fill up.

| Washington, DC, USA Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Wonderful Getaway

Would recommend Sun, Apr 1, 2012
We read some negative reviews about this resort but we didn't find anything really bad. Yes, the beach had a lot of seaweed, but the pool area was great! Restaurants were great, the grounds were beautiful and very well kept. Everyone on the staff was very friendly and helpful. The resort covers a large area that was very nice to walk through. If you were tired from walking through ruins or sightseeing, there were shuttles that ran continuously all day. Room Comfort & Ammenities did't get perfect scores because there was only 1 straightback chair & the bed to sit on, and only 10 hangers for both of us.

Dining

You must make reservations early at the resorts retaurants, the day before is best. We especially liked the Circus Dinner Theater on Monday.

| Erie, Pennsylvania Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Dream getaway

Would recommend Mon, Mar 26, 2012
The staff were amazing. They were ready to help with whatever we needed. They kept everything clean and fresh and stocked with supplies. There was never a shortage of food and supper had a different theme for each night of the week. I really enjoyed my stay and wish I could go back again. The only thing I would have changed was to have a small table and chairs inside the room and there was a slight odor in the room from the vegetation outside, but it was hardly noticeable most of the time.

Attractions

The public beaches at Playa del Carmen are even MORE fabulous than the ones at the beach. They are also usually busy, but it can be worth the trip.

| Vancouver, BC, Canada Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Good vacation

Would recommend Mon, Mar 26, 2012
Everything is great at the hotel. The rooms are super clean, staff extremely helpful and friendly. Food is very tasty and variety is awesome. The only down side is the ocean beach. The beach on the property is basically not swimmable. We found one on the next resort, but it was rather strange to go somewhere else to swim. We were not sure of the legal part of that... Other than that - great place. And yes, the check in time is 3 PM - they do not let you in prior to that time.

| New Hampshire, USA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

I didn't want to leave...

Would recommend Thu, Mar 1, 2012
My fiance and I along with two other couples stayed at Blue Bay for 8 days. We were beyond impressed with the resort, staff, and food. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and is beyond friendly. We didn't meet a crabby soul...everyone is so happy. The food options were outstanding, especially the dinner restaurants (a total of 7 to choose from). The drink service was consistent and plentiful and the hotel offered many different things to do. We will definitely be recommending Blue Bay and staying again in the future.

| Portland, OR Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Loved this resort!

Would recommend Thu, Mar 1, 2012
Had an excellent 8 day stay here this February. The staff was AMAZING. They were incredibly friendly and accomdating. Food was wonderful and at every restaurant and really felt like an elegant dining experience. Pools were excellent and drinks were generous. Will definitely recommend and go back.

| Portland, OR Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Bluebay 2012

Would not recommend Mon, Feb 20, 2012
We had a decent experience here although it would have been helpful to know long pants are required for most resteraunts except the buffets. Rooms were good but the ocean view was from a long ways away and we had all booked king beds and ended up with double beds in each room. The staff is very nice, the food is average buffet and the beach was horrible with everything covered in seaweed for most of the day until it was cleaned up usually around 4pm when the sun was going down. The water was warm but very rocky and again alot of seaweed. If your looking for a great experience this is not the spot to go. All restaraunts require reservations and the earliest we could get in was 9:30pm every night we tried to book

| Montana, USA Friends

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Fabilous getaway

Would recommend Mon, Feb 13, 2012
We were a bit skeptical about this hotel, especially after reading the reviews, however, the hotel was amazing!! Do not believe all is written...The food was great, the staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was a memorable one especially Adrian (bldg 7 concierge). The beach was not all that great, but the next hotel over had a beautiful bay with crystal clear water , where we ended up almost everyday. We definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!!

Attractions

Bay at the Three rivers hotels great for snorkeling and relaxing :-)

| New Jersey, USA Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great Experience

Would recommend Sat, Jan 28, 2012
We had a great time. Shows were cheesy but we drank so much it made them amazing. I read all the reviews and was a little nervous but it is true, only bad experiences write comments. I would recommend for a honeymoon on a budget. Give one of the waitresses at the beach a 10 and she will bring you drinks every 5 minutes.

| San Antonio, TX, USA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

THE STAFF MAKES THE PLACE EVEN BETTER

Would recommend Thu, Jan 26, 2012
VACATION:12/26/2011-01/01/2012 Shelia & Ana at the Concierge Desk were delightful and very helpful. Any minor issues we had, they resolved on the spot. Lupe, who worked at the pool for most of the time we were there was TOTALLY AWESOME. Super attentive and sweet. Moises, our breakfast and lunch server was such a sweet guy. He always knew when we were coming and had a seat for us outside. Anyone employee that we saw, always said hello with a smile. This is a good place to go, the grounds are beautiful and the food is good with many choices. Make your reservations for dinner early, though. Early as in when you check in. Do not expect a super huge nightlife here, as you would in Acapulco or even Cancun. It is a little more relaxed, yet still fun. Go into town via the shuttle the Hotel uses, nice people, they explain everything and it is $5.00 each way, you can't beat that. Otherwise the bus takes you for about $3.00. I suggest you speak Spanish, fluently. It makes it easier and faster to get things done. Mostly everyone here speaks some English, however you receive a better response when you speak the language. Most people go on the All-Inclusive Package, yet remember the employees make a living on tips and they are most gracious!!!

Money saver

THE CABBIES AT THE AIRPORT IN CANCUN ARE SCAMMERS!! We knew the ride should have not been more than $45.00 to the Resort. Of course, our hotel confirmed that when we inquired about taking a cab from the Resort back to Cancun Airport when our trip was done. GET YOUR CAB FROM THE HOTEL! Our trip back to the airport was $45.00, plus a tip. To the resort we paid $100.00, plus a tip! WHEN YOU ARRIVE IN CANCUN: Do not get into a cab until 2 people from the cab company confirm your trip fare!!! One guy will tell you one price and once you are settled in the cab, luggage and all another guy comes and tells you that the first guy made a mistake. THEY ARE HUSTLERS!. Stand firm and do not back down!!!

| CHICAGO ILLINOIS Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5