$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
329 out of 329
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luke W.
Business
Lawrence, KS
May 19, 2012

Very good value!!! Would def go back!!!

The staff was very helpful and the facilities were very clean and well maintained. If you like food and drinks, this place was awesome!!!The French restaurant is almost impossible to make reservations at. Make sure your dinner reservations are early or be prepared to wait. I would recommend just going to the dinner buffet because it's easy, quick, and the food is GREAT. You must check out the swing bar....so cool!!! It is an all inclusive resort, meaning tips are included. So keep it that way. We tipped for drinks, thinking we would get better service. Not the case. I would recommend snorkeling at the beach (must deposit $20 for the snorkeling equipment, which you would get the money back upon returning the equipment). The beach has some pretty cool sea life. In previous comments, people talked about a 15 minute walk from the Sports Bar to the beach. Not the case. It's maybe a 5 minute walk and they have a small shuttle system to help with the SHORT distance. You really don't need to leave the resort sine they provide all the drinks, food, and entertainment. I would go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure your dinner reservation is early. If not, you may just want to hit up the dinner buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal
May 10, 2012

Great place

The SPA is Amazing, Amenities is great if you pay for the little upgrade, it worth it. The Beach is poor with a lot of rock. Pool is great. Food is good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SunLovers2012
Business
Vancouver, Canada
May 2, 2012

Enjoyable but ....

We enjoyed our stay at the Blue Bay. In our opinion the Sports Bar/Theatre area needs to be improved upon and upgraded to be on the same level as the rest of the amenities which we felt were first class. A nice lobby bar with musica for a pre-dinner drink would have been nice. Found the CircleOne reps annoying. The staff was very friendly and attentive; enjoyed all of the ala cartes and the buffet was one of the best we have seen. Enjoyed the "adults only" section. No complaints about the food. Having a concierge at each buiding was great ... made it easy to get ala cartes booked and any questions answered. Would have liked to have known about the nightly Beach Party sooner .. perhaps a bit more info in the rooms would be good. Also thought the buildings should have numbers on them instead of names, it would have made it a bit easier to navigate in the first couple of days. All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Apparently there is a beach party and DJ each night in the VIP area (which is stunningly gorgeous at night) .. We only found out about this thru chatting with others after we had been there for 5 days and the one night we did go down there, the DJ was playing in the Sports Bar :-(

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biron
Business
London, Ontario
Apr 29, 2012

Anniversary Getaway

Great service,great food, and on our trip other great guests. Both pool areas had lots to do etc etc. Would go back in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del carmen, Great strip area to shop and barter for items and a short walk to the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW), 1 Detroit Metro Airport, Detroit, MI 48242, USA
Apr 26, 2012

you get what you pay for

all in all would go back for the right price. 6 days 5 nites with flight from detroit (rt) 625.00. not including baggage and private transfer. i would not pay a penny more. food was good but breakfast and lunch are the same everyday.restaurants are good. drinks are good, you just have to ask for more alcohol if you want more. they had bacardi clear and dark rum, smirnoff, sky and absolute vodkas. superior beer in the room, and they said it was dousequies on tap. there is a smell. but it is very intermitent. but when its there its strong. shows where sub par. pool is salt water, the beach during our stay was very good, clean, and clear. shade around the pool is minimal. get down there early to save a spot. sports bar is a not. 4 tvs and 2 show an advertisement for the hotel. other 2 are soccer only. we were in building 2. close to large pool, mosquitos were bad! when maids would clean the room they would have tghe door open, so when we returned from pool had to go mosquito hunting(killed 12 one day) 20.00$ usd cab ride one way to playa del carmen. we went for sun and relaxation and cost. we got all 3. the resort is more of a 3.5 star not 4.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

restaurants from top to bottom.....french, very fancy, italian good food, slow service 2 hour dinner for 2. mexican, lota food. steakhouse is where the buffet is at poolside. steak was hit and miss out of 4 people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
juana1630
Business
Minnesota, USA
Apr 26, 2012

A no-brainer.

Amazing! Wonderful food, beautiful beach, great shows, awesome staff... all at an unbeatable price. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Try to use the hotel provided shuttle to get into town (Playa del Carmen) Otherwise a one way trip runs $1500 to $2000 pesos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chorch
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Nice 3 star all inclusive hotel

I went to this hotel 4 years ago around January, it was way better that It is now. It need serious maintenance investment. I stayed during the 2012 Easter week for 9 days. We got a room that was smelly (looks like it had a pipe leak somewhere) and both beds were literally broken. The staff did their best to compensate that bad experience and upgraded our room to one with beach view. The new room was perfect. Food is overall good for a 3 star all inclusive. Buffet restaurant at nights sometimes is great sometimes sucks bad. Lunch is OK, what else than burgers, fruits, and some other stuff would you expect ? Since it was my second stay they invited us with a lobster dinner. Nice stuff. Overall, good hotel but nothing else. Staff struggles to keep up with the service quality due the lack of infrastructure and they look tired since they work long days. That is a shame, because somewhat affects you when you're staying there to have great time and people around you are not well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car and visit all the attractions by yourself. It is WAY better and cheaper and gives you a lot of freedom. Dont worry about loosing some lunches at the hotel. You will be able to visit lots of places and beaches and really enjoy your vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lansing Michelle
Business
Lansing, MI, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Great Resort

Loved this resort, had a great time! The buffet was good at every meal, but the ala cartes were touch and go. The steakhouse was nearly inedible, the seafood was ok, but the French was so delicious we went back three times! They pour well drinks unless you ask for the good stuff, but they'll give you what you ask for with no problem. If you're a tequila drinker, they have a great resposado out of sight in most of the coolers if you ask for it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del Carmen was a cool city, but the man strip was like Cancun, with all trying to outbid each other. The little shops off of 5th avenue were much cooler with better wares and less pressure. The taxi is $20US one way, or the hotel offers a shuttle for $5US per person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Porcu
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Beautiful resort

We had a wonderful time at Blue Bay Esmeralda. The staff was very helpful and friendly. It is a large resort, so there are concierges at each building for the guests' convenience. You get pools, beach, numerous dinner options (separate restaurants devoted to steak, seafood, mexican, french, and italian, as well as the general buffet meals), a live entertainment dinner show each night, and a beautiful setting for taking pictures. You are also close enough to take a day trip to the Mayan ruins at Chichen Itza, which is a long day but worth it for the history. Wireless internet is free in the lobby and also in the sports bar, which is open 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You need to make dinner reservations for the restaurants other than the regular buffet. They allow you to make a reservation one day in advance, so book your dinners each morning for the following night before spots fill up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stu and jo
Business
Erie, Pennsylvania
Apr 1, 2012

Wonderful Getaway

We read some negative reviews about this resort but we didn't find anything really bad. Yes, the beach had a lot of seaweed, but the pool area was great! Restaurants were great, the grounds were beautiful and very well kept. Everyone on the staff was very friendly and helpful. The resort covers a large area that was very nice to walk through. If you were tired from walking through ruins or sightseeing, there were shuttles that ran continuously all day. Room Comfort & Ammenities did't get perfect scores because there was only 1 straightback chair & the bed to sit on, and only 10 hangers for both of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You must make reservations early at the resorts retaurants, the day before is best. We especially liked the Circus Dinner Theater on Monday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top