$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
322 reviews
Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not... See full review

  • Family Vacation Lovers
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (322)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
322 out of 322
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
robbiecons
Business
Italy
Dec 1, 2011

extraordinary Mexican experience

definitely a great resort, shame about the location of the sea close to a river that leads to the shore of the algae and the sea does not exactly Caribbean .... but otherwise all good, the staff always smiling and helpful, the rooms excellent, contact with nature and the extreme ...... advice for families at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

oriental restaurant is the best one in the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ADHEMIR
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 4, 2011

Best all inclusive

If you are going to eat, drink and have fun this is the place!!! and everything is included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

XCARET PARK

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anna C
Business
NJ
Dec 10, 2011

Great all inclusive resort!

This was our first time in Mexico. The staff gave us a warm welcoming along with cold drinks when we arrived. All the staff spoke English. The food was delicious. The beach area was clean and beautiful. The swim up suite was pretty cool. It was kinda like your own private pool. My only complaint is that there is not a lot of entertainment at night however there was one bar open 24 hours. Friendly staff, great food (and they did not make u wear a bracelet unlike other all inclusive resorts) and beautiful views. Overall it was a great vacation and will definitely come back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Just a short bus ride from Playa Del Carmen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MamaCrevette
Business
Montreal, QC, Canada
Dec 19, 2011

Fantastic vacation. Kids friendly

It was our second time at this hotel. Great food, great staff and they are amazing with kids. Only bad side is the beach. They seem to have less beach than last year, probably due to the waves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If its your second stay, they give you a lobster meal for free. (Value of 30$)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LKatie
Business
Missouri
Dec 26, 2011

Family Vacation

Our trip was a family vacation. A family group of 6 people (3 rooms) came down the week before Christmas 2011 to celebrate our daughter-in-law's 30th birthday. We had a geat time @ Blue Bay. The staff was wonderful. We never had to wait for a drink while lounging at the pool & we enjoyed the restaurants. I read some negative reviews prior to our trip that caused me to be concerned about mosquitos among other things. I was concerned for nothing - We had no problems with mosquitos and no difficulty making reservations for dinner, The food was great. Our group also enjoyed the nightly entertainment at the sports bar. Good Vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canadian HEY
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Dec 28, 2011

Esmeralda package way to go

I was impressed with Blue Bay, we had a swim up suite, absolutely recommend this suite, spacious, lots of amenities, refill your liquor daily, cleaning staff were great, recommend getting the Esmeralda package for the extra advantages. Food was good, we really liked the Italian, French and Seafood was ok, Steakhouse good, did not get to check out the Mexican, as the men need to wear pants, and it was just too hot. That was disappointing that they would not make an exception. We loved to eat at Jaal Ha Buffet, great staff and view of the ocean. Beach area is ok, but I have seen better on the Riviera side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheapest way to go to Playa del Carmen is take the bus, you walk out to the road, stand the opposite side of the street and wait for the bus. Really cheap, compared to shuttle or taxi. Air Conditioned and comfortable seats. Drops you right in the heart of Playa, and way back drops you right on the road in front of your hotel. Make sure you have correct amount of peso, and don`t let the driver tell you any different. The hotel will tell you how much before you leave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keninaus
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Excellent staff

This resort was in a great location, the food was great and the staff was extremely attentive. I would return just because of the amazing service alone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your dinner reservations a day ahead because the restaurants fill up fast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elski1
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Great Hotel would stay there again.

This hotel is a great all inclusive. The restaurants are not like most all inclusives you actually feel and it tastes like you are at a real restaurant. The sports bar is great and really nice and did I mention it is 24hours. There is also a tiki bar on the beach that has swings instead of seats which is awesome and that is open on the beach until 1am. The drinks are also great because they have actual name brand alcohol for example: kettle one, absolute, sky, johhny black label, champagne and more and is all included. They also have a great lounge area for cocktails before dinner. Overall this hotel was really nice and I would stay again you really get a lot for what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I would make reservations for the restaurants every night becuase they are good and it is a much better experience than eating at the buffet. However, book them the day before becuase they do book up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jo P
Business
London, UK
Jan 8, 2012

Good if you like eating and drinking

we had a week at Blue Bay over Xmas and new year. The weather wasn't brilliant and there wasn't much else to do apart from drinking. The cocktails were great and the bar staff very friendly though. The food was good in the a la Carte restaurants but not brilliant at the breakfast and lunch buffets but there was a lot to chose from. We used the gym most days which was ok but there was only one running machine and it was often v busy. The one thing this hotel is lacking is a nice bar to drink in in the evening; the main bar is big and soulless. The pool is nice and the beach has plenty of loungers but the sea wasn't very nice and we wouldn't have gone in Overall we had a really fun holiday and made the most of the cocktails which were great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
davidg109
Business
Belleville, ON, Canada
Jan 6, 2012

Great time

I spent sixteen days at the resort and had a great time. The food in particular was very good, and we enjoyed the a la carte restaurants each night as opposed to eating buffet meals. The pool is nice, the beachfront not so nice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There was one exception. Thriftys car rental agency operates in the lobby there. BEWARE. We had a terrible experience attempting to rent a car, and we discovered we were lied to repeatedly by one particular Thrifty's employee named Juan. We have escalated complaints through the general manager of the resort and the Thrifty's corporation as I have no patience for liars, especially on vacation. Hopefully this guy has been replaced by someone that needs a job more then him. Aside from this blip (which is easy to remedy, use a different rental agency!) we had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top