$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
367 out of 367
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leonardtown, MD
Feb 15, 2011

12 Days at Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda

The resort is beautiful our room was very clean and well stocked and the food was probably the best we have had on any of our trips. The problems we had was the fact that the resort is too big. It was a 3/4 mile walk from our building 8, to the beach. The resort claims that a shuddle runs to the beach every ten minutes but we waited as long as 20 minutes and no shuddle showed up. The beach is very nice but don't try to swim in the water, it is full of coral and rocks to the point that it's very hard to get into water up to your waist and the water is very murky. The six of us spent most of our time in town or on side trips, there was very little to do at the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melly
Business
Canada
May 11, 2011

Amazing getaway with lots to do!

The resort was lovely with lots of free activities to do during the day and shows and events during the night. The staff at the resort were really friendly and helpful and took the time to answer questions about the resort and the area. The spa at the resort is beautiful and the treatments they offer are amazing, though not included in the price it was well worth the expense. There are a number of places to eat and the food was great just make sure to make reservations early as the restaurants fill up fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a taxi to and from the airport rather than arranging a shuttle service to save a bit of cash. The shuttle was convenient for us but once we were there we realized that it's really easy to take the taxi and we could have saved ourselves some money.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
May 12, 2011

I'd recommend It

Overall I had a great experience at this hotel. the staff were helpful and very friendly, the rooms were clean and there were lots of options for food. The pool was gorgeous and there were plenty of activities to do at the resort as well. The one thing I would warn about is the noise - every morning I woke up to the sounds of the staff cleaning the hallways and rooms. I would eventually fall back to sleep, but if you're a light sleeper the loud noise might be a problem for you as the walls must be pretty thin (or the cleaning crew is extremely loud).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

For souvenirs, take the shuttle into Playa Del Carmen! The shuttle from the resort is $5 each way per person, and in town not only can you see the AMAZING ocean and walk on the white sand beach, but there are tons of places to buy souvenirs. All prices are negotiable so don't even think about paying the full price that they ask of you. It's much cheaper an dyou have more options than if you shop at the stores at the resort

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Apr 15, 2011

BlueBay Swim-up is Great

Good place overall. Better food than many others we've been to. Lots of lush vegetation, path walking. 35 min from the airport. Negatives: Beach has lots of seaweed but other were swimming, not me. Pools are only 3.5-4' deep. Fecal smell when they water the vegetation. Positives: Swim-up suite is really nice; great for kids. Friendly staff. Be aware that there are basically no direct oceanview rooms (mangroves) when booking, even if you pay for oceanview, which we did. $5 pp to downtown Playa del Carmen for shopping ($20 cab fare each way). Great shopping in a store on the corner of 2nd and 5th avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buffet Festival near lobby has wider selection, better food than the buffet down by the beach. A-la-cartes are very good - book daily with the building concierge by 8:30 for the best times one day in advance.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sfdk97
Business
Edgewood, MD
Jun 10, 2011

Bluebay Grand Esmeralda

This was our first all inclusive vacation. Overall it was a great vacation. The buffet was better than expected with different selections daily. We always sat in [...] section. He was the best server ever! Mexican food-Great! loved the corn soup! Italian food-Good French food-Great! Steakhouse-Great! Seafood-terrible. Service was extremely slow, and the surf and turf was not good. The steak didnt taste like steak. The bars were great. Every server or bartender always very friendly.The second day we were pulled in a meeting for the hotel timeshare program. Extremely waseful. After four different people trying to sell a timeshare all with different prices and packages.The nightly shows were awesome. They did a very good job and very entertaining. My daughter loved the childrens theater time prior to the main show, along with the main show. Very clean. Always saw the staff cleaning, and changing spoons etc. Rooms were overall pretty good. The staff were very attentive about stocking the refridgerators, and snacks. Overall the beach was clean. No trash laying around, and the staff always cleaning the seaweed the came up onto the beach. Obviously this is not something they can help. We would just walk up about 15 minutes and the ocean was very clean. No seeweed.Overall highly satisfied. Next time no timeshare meetings, and no seafood dinner. Other than that no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Avoid their timeshare meeting.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
ekron Ky, USA
Jul 4, 2011

It was a good trip not great.

The Hotel was nice with the pools and spa. The beach not so great. The food was excellent.all in all it was a good place to stay not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Jul 11, 2011

great service/ rooms need remodeling

the food was very good..all the employees were very friendly..pool area is great..at the beach the water was not as crystal clear as we thought it would be...but rooms need remodeling (we had issues with toilet and shower)..also there should be more activities for when it rains..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

take a taxi to playa del carmen

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Soemdan
Business
Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico
Sep 11, 2011

and ordinary experience

The hotel was nice, but the in front desk they are very rude, in the room the mini bar was empty and in the bathroom we didnt have towels. we went for dinner to the Oriental restaurant and there everything was amazing the service, the captain and the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book the restaurants one day before, the food is excellent.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SlickRick
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Excellent accomodations and staff

The staff made us feel right at home every chance that they could. Clean rooms, good food and great times/activities. I maybe an alcholic, but the drinks could have been a little stronger!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the time to see Playa del Carmen - the beach and shopping were a treat!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nebraska Newlyweds
Business
Nebraska, USA
Nov 17, 2011

WEDDING PARTY OF 26

Nov 6-15th we took 26 guests to BBGE. Overall the trip was fabulous. The hotel was beautiful, the staff (other than the front desk) was great. The pools were clean, the beach was combed daily. The food in the buffets was always fresh & plenty of it. The Steak House & Italian were our favorites. Daily & evening entertainment was fun. The best part of BBGE was the wait staff & bartenders. We were a large party group & tipped them well every time. They sing, dance & kept the party going all day long. Also us newlyweds used the Spa & Salon. Gina did my hair & makeup for the wedding & it was stunning. Just what I wanted. We also got massages the day after the wedding; they are very relaxing & enjoyable. Highly recommend using the spa on cloudy or cool days. The rooms were comfortable, you don't spend much time in them, but they were clean, modern & each offers a safe to lock your valuables in which was very comforting. All in all this was certainly a trip of a lifetime. We will be planning our return trip soon. Thank you Blue Bay Grand for the great memories made. Happy Newlyweds =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Aqua Inn offers adventures for reasonable prices. They are located on the resort next to the main pool. "Smiley" booked an all day excursion for 18 of our wedding party for $89. We got to snorkel, shop on a semi-virgin island, lunch and of coarse drink & dance all day out at sea on a sailboat. Great experience. Recommended if you are staying 5 days or more, because you will want to go off the resort & do something during your stay.

Back to menu Return to top