$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 11, 2015 Check-out: Jun 14, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ONeill
Business
Wash DC
Nov 26, 2012

Great Value

Arrival: Had to wait 20 minutes until our luggage was delivered to the room. We did not want to wait so we walked. We were not offered a ride, etc. Room: Good, expect for the bathroom-Shower had mold, cracked tile. Mirror- was worn from all the moisture. Pool: Probably the best part apart from the sports bar Beach: Looks bad with the sand bags. Walked along the beach it was all the same at other hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Viturally everyone from the time you arrive to the airport has their hand out and wants a tip. "Amigo, Amiga"..they gently lead you to where they want. Don't fall for it keep your money only a few deserve a tip

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pamela 2094
Business
Indialantic, FL, USA
Nov 18, 2012

It was Great as usual!

My husband and I have gone to Blue Bay twice and always at the same time . We have enjoyed it immensely from the staff to our room and of course the food. The moment we enter the lobby we our welcomed by concierge, Yadina, from the VIP check-in. We had arranged to secure the same suite as last year. Which was no problem with the head of the concierges, Jose Luis. Who is not only very professional but friendly and could not do enough for us. Wagner, who is the pool-bar service waiter knew exactly what we drank and always made sure we had a full glass while we were at the pool or beach. Karla, our waitress for breakfast and lunch always greeted us with a smile. I can not say enough for the staff. Please remember even though everything is included, the staff does appreciate tips which is well deserved. Our suite was an ocean view on the third floor of the Coba building. With a separate living room and bedroom plus two bathrooms it was very convenient for us. It was cleaned every day before 10:A.M. per our request . Every night after dinner we would come back to our room to find a snack at the bar and a bottle of wine , champagne or premium liquor. By the end of our stay we had accumulated 10 full bottles as neither of us drink liquor. We have been to secrets and Capri,which is right next door to Blue Bay resort and a few other resorts but none compare to Blue Bay Esmeralda. We will be returning next year for the third time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Catamaran to isla of the Mujeres Staff on the boat were great!!!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Panaflyer
Business
Hollywood, Fl
Nov 17, 2012

We had a great vacation.

Awesome Hotel, very clean, all facilities were as expected. The staff couldn't be any friendlier. Food was OK, all inclusive style, nothing Gourmet unless you reserve for a VIP dinner which was Great. Rent a car and and travel on your time to all the Mayan destinations. Simply Great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Explore adventure park for extreme outdoor fun.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan first time resort vis
Business
Hattiesburg, MS
Nov 14, 2012

First time all inclusive experience

I really dont know where to begin. The staff at Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda were wonderful! Very family friendly. Lots of families with kids, but not over run with children. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay a 5 Star experience. The room was beautiful, the food was plentiful and seemingly endless. The pools were clean and huge, and overall, I couldn't imagine a better experience. All our waiters and concierge spoke good - excellent English, which helped me alot, and I even picked up some common Spanish expressions. The beaches were beautiful, but were not as clean as I expected, not trash but small natural twigs and such from all the palm trees. Would not recommend staying on the first floor, as the wildlife will make themselves at home (as it is their home!) The rooms are very close to tropical vegetation. Our last night, I called the front desk and said "Is it possible to have some help with our luggage in the morning, at 2AM for our crazy early departure?" and their reply was "Sir, Everything is possible!" Muy bueno!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The taxi service is highly monitored to ensure the tourist are well taken care of. There are a lot of pushy street vendors in Playa del Carmen where we went for shopping. Not intrusive or mean, just a little bothersome for my liking.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Decan
Business
Michigan
Nov 12, 2012

Blue Bay review

Upon our arrival I noticed how manicured the grounds were. Perfect. The hotel was picture perfect upon arrival. When we arrived in our room there was mold in the bathroom and ants all over the counter. I called and they changed our room within the hours to a much nicer room with a better location for us. The staff couldnt be nicer or more concerned with our satisfaction. My biggest complaint is that the supervisors pushing the purchace plans were rude. We went for vacation, not to be bombarded with sales we wernt interested in. This was our first vacation in 24 years so it was special to us. We almost wouldnt come back just because of the pushing of the resort sales. If people are interested, they will ask. The food was just OK. Nothing special and not much variety. One night we didnt even eat dinner because there wasnt anything on the buffet that we liked. And, cant get reservations most of the time at the other resturants. But over all, not bad. Hats off to the staff. We did notice however that one resturant was closed at night and it was supposed to be open, and, that the resort had two building closed along with the snack bar and pool in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Dont waste your time or money going into town for shopping. Not much savings and its all the same thing. T-shirt shops. Very run down also.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lemon.
Business
Arizona
Nov 6, 2012

BluBay Esmeralda A Good Bargain

I stayed at BB Esmeralda Oct. 31 to Nov. 05. The Staff were friendly and accomodating at all times. The Buffet food was varied but was rather toned-down for tourists- even the "Mexican" food. The grounds and rooms were admirably clean and cared for. The A La Carte restaurants where I ate served food that was wonderfully presented but fairly ordinary. The Buffet was about as good. The architect who designed the buildings should be blacklisted. My bathroom tub had a wall on the side which was at least 1 1/2 feet tall. It was very difficult to get into the tub/shower and I am fit. Anyone not fit could not use it. Also the Sports Bar/ Show venue was disigned with low ceilings and is very unwelcoming and claustrophobic. BB Esmeralda is isolated from Playa del Carmen by 6 miles. It is a spot to stay and relax on site. Oher comments about the beach are true but exagerated in that the beach erosion did cause the staff to install some sand bags, but the sandy area is still nice. The waters are sometimes a little murkey due to the currents, but the pool area is large and very nice. BB Esmeralda is a good bargain for what one pays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CARLOS GONZALEZ OLIVA
Business
MIAMI ,FLORIDA
Oct 31, 2012

Very Good !!!!!!

exelent ,just in the nigth was pretty boring ,atherwise all exelent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
derf151
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 26, 2012

Very Relaxing

I stayed here for my 30th birthday. The first 2 days I was barely there except to sleep and eat dinner. But the third day I spent all day there it was very relaxing by the poolside one thing to note The pool is only 4ft deep great for kids but, kind boring if you want to dive or anything. The wait staff by the pool for drinks weren't the most efficient but at the bars I never had empty drink or at the dinner table.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wake up early and find a good spot on the beach and the sunrise is fantastic.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CandyBze Mom
Business
Belmopan, Belize
Oct 16, 2012

Relaxing Family Vacation Getaway

It was very relaxing and a wonderful experience ! The food was great and a beautiful view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Saves time and money.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RVR TRAVELERS
Business
MIAMI, FL
Sep 11, 2012

FAMILY VACACIONES

GREAT RESORT TO BE IN VACATION, VERY RELAXING, GOOD FOOD AND DRINKS ARE SUPER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top