$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
322 reviews
Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not... See full review

  • Family Vacation Lovers
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (322)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
322 out of 322
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikluk
Business
philadelphia pa
Jun 6, 2012

Good all the way around, great spa.

Good location, good staff,good food, nice hotel rooms the best thing about it is the spa, it is extra but well worth it overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa del carmen 5 th avenue only 15 min away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jsanc
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jun 3, 2012

Great Experience

Loved absolutely everything about this hotel, the rooms were very big, clean and comfy, the service was excellente and the food was outstanding. I highly recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet is absolutely wonderful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DanieV
Business
Fall River, Ma.
May 23, 2012

Not to shabby..

My husband and I traveled with friends here from 5-11 thru 5-18. I was very leary from some past reviews that I had read. I will give you my honest opinions. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a drink. We somehow got VIP check in which isnt a big deal. What is a big deal is DO NOT let a consierge rope you into a presentation for 90 mins. We got a free couples massage out of it, but the hassle to get out of there isn't worth it. They try to get you to buy vacation time with them. We lost about 2 hours of our lives! JUST SAY NO!! We got there early and our room was not ready so they put us into another one. It was in building 1, corner room. Pleasantly surprised! Quiet, private and clean. I always pull back the sheet and no bed bugs. Bathroom was a little dated but was sufficient. The Lemers came out at dusk and we always had plenty in our back view. Food: Buffets were good, something for everyone. They did have a lot of the same stuff every day but they did change/add a few new things. Roasted chicken is awesome. I stuck with that for lunch. Breakfast was good too. We only ate dinner there once. It can get boring, but its edible. Fruit is fresh and desserts are good. Reservations for restaurants are a must. The portions are small so we usually went to the buffet for dessert and coffee later. The Oriental rest. is so-so, but the Steak house is awesome. Ate there twice. Never got to the Mexican Rest. Grounds are kept nice, they are out there constantly. Pools are shallow, but nice to cool off. The beach definately sucks and was a downer for us as beach people. Very seaweedy and narrow. That is probably the only thing that would keep us from returning. We had no other issues. Everyone was nice, nothing stolen, room cleaned every day. We did tip everyone. Spend the 20 bucks for a cab and go into Playa (5th avenue) lots of shops and awesome places to eat. Its worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5th avenue in playa del carmen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luke W.
Business
Lawrence, KS
May 19, 2012

Very good value!!! Would def go back!!!

The staff was very helpful and the facilities were very clean and well maintained. If you like food and drinks, this place was awesome!!!The French restaurant is almost impossible to make reservations at. Make sure your dinner reservations are early or be prepared to wait. I would recommend just going to the dinner buffet because it's easy, quick, and the food is GREAT. You must check out the swing bar....so cool!!! It is an all inclusive resort, meaning tips are included. So keep it that way. We tipped for drinks, thinking we would get better service. Not the case. I would recommend snorkeling at the beach (must deposit $20 for the snorkeling equipment, which you would get the money back upon returning the equipment). The beach has some pretty cool sea life. In previous comments, people talked about a 15 minute walk from the Sports Bar to the beach. Not the case. It's maybe a 5 minute walk and they have a small shuttle system to help with the SHORT distance. You really don't need to leave the resort sine they provide all the drinks, food, and entertainment. I would go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure your dinner reservation is early. If not, you may just want to hit up the dinner buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal
May 10, 2012

Great place

The SPA is Amazing, Amenities is great if you pay for the little upgrade, it worth it. The Beach is poor with a lot of rock. Pool is great. Food is good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SunLovers2012
Business
Vancouver, Canada
May 2, 2012

Enjoyable but ....

We enjoyed our stay at the Blue Bay. In our opinion the Sports Bar/Theatre area needs to be improved upon and upgraded to be on the same level as the rest of the amenities which we felt were first class. A nice lobby bar with musica for a pre-dinner drink would have been nice. Found the CircleOne reps annoying. The staff was very friendly and attentive; enjoyed all of the ala cartes and the buffet was one of the best we have seen. Enjoyed the "adults only" section. No complaints about the food. Having a concierge at each buiding was great ... made it easy to get ala cartes booked and any questions answered. Would have liked to have known about the nightly Beach Party sooner .. perhaps a bit more info in the rooms would be good. Also thought the buildings should have numbers on them instead of names, it would have made it a bit easier to navigate in the first couple of days. All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Apparently there is a beach party and DJ each night in the VIP area (which is stunningly gorgeous at night) .. We only found out about this thru chatting with others after we had been there for 5 days and the one night we did go down there, the DJ was playing in the Sports Bar :-(

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biron
Business
London, Ontario
Apr 29, 2012

Anniversary Getaway

Great service,great food, and on our trip other great guests. Both pool areas had lots to do etc etc. Would go back in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del carmen, Great strip area to shop and barter for items and a short walk to the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW), 1 Detroit Metro Airport, Detroit, MI 48242, USA
Apr 26, 2012

you get what you pay for

all in all would go back for the right price. 6 days 5 nites with flight from detroit (rt) 625.00. not including baggage and private transfer. i would not pay a penny more. food was good but breakfast and lunch are the same everyday.restaurants are good. drinks are good, you just have to ask for more alcohol if you want more. they had bacardi clear and dark rum, smirnoff, sky and absolute vodkas. superior beer in the room, and they said it was dousequies on tap. there is a smell. but it is very intermitent. but when its there its strong. shows where sub par. pool is salt water, the beach during our stay was very good, clean, and clear. shade around the pool is minimal. get down there early to save a spot. sports bar is a not. 4 tvs and 2 show an advertisement for the hotel. other 2 are soccer only. we were in building 2. close to large pool, mosquitos were bad! when maids would clean the room they would have tghe door open, so when we returned from pool had to go mosquito hunting(killed 12 one day) 20.00$ usd cab ride one way to playa del carmen. we went for sun and relaxation and cost. we got all 3. the resort is more of a 3.5 star not 4.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

restaurants from top to bottom.....french, very fancy, italian good food, slow service 2 hour dinner for 2. mexican, lota food. steakhouse is where the buffet is at poolside. steak was hit and miss out of 4 people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
juana1630
Business
Minnesota, USA
Apr 26, 2012

A no-brainer.

Amazing! Wonderful food, beautiful beach, great shows, awesome staff... all at an unbeatable price. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Try to use the hotel provided shuttle to get into town (Playa del Carmen) Otherwise a one way trip runs $1500 to $2000 pesos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chorch
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Nice 3 star all inclusive hotel

I went to this hotel 4 years ago around January, it was way better that It is now. It need serious maintenance investment. I stayed during the 2012 Easter week for 9 days. We got a room that was smelly (looks like it had a pipe leak somewhere) and both beds were literally broken. The staff did their best to compensate that bad experience and upgraded our room to one with beach view. The new room was perfect. Food is overall good for a 3 star all inclusive. Buffet restaurant at nights sometimes is great sometimes sucks bad. Lunch is OK, what else than burgers, fruits, and some other stuff would you expect ? Since it was my second stay they invited us with a lobster dinner. Nice stuff. Overall, good hotel but nothing else. Staff struggles to keep up with the service quality due the lack of infrastructure and they look tired since they work long days. That is a shame, because somewhat affects you when you're staying there to have great time and people around you are not well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car and visit all the attractions by yourself. It is WAY better and cheaper and gives you a lot of freedom. Dont worry about loosing some lunches at the hotel. You will be able to visit lots of places and beaches and really enjoy your vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top