$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2014 Check-out: May 13, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
288 reviews
family vacation

super, fantastic place, foo super, the service is the best See full review

  • RVR TRAVELERS
  • Apr 24, 2013
Great Spring Break Trip

We stayed at this resort during the last week of March. This resort was the best 4-star I have... See full review

  • Spring Break 604
  • Mar 31, 2013
Luxury Caribbean beach resort with family and adult amenities
The Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located 35 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and just minutes from the beach town of Playa del Carmen. The resort sits on 180 acres of beachfront property that overlooks the blue waters of the Mayan reef. The resort's three- and four-story buildings combine contemporary, modern lines with glass walls and traditional thatched Mayan roofs. The resort boasts two swimming pools (with children's area), tennis courts, fitness center, kids club, a 7,200-square-foot world class spa with 12 treatment rooms. 
Highlights:
  • Large property
  • Kids club
  • World class spa
Rooms:

Expect simple, cleanly designed rooms with relaxing, neutral earth tones and colorful accents. Cream-colored marble bathrooms and floors, casual furnishing and dark wood details create a feeling of luxury. All rooms include balcony or terrace, satellite TV, air conditioning, mini-bar, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and alarm clock. Views of the garden or ocean, as well as non-smoking rooms, are available. Cribs are available at no extra cost but are subject to hotel availability.

Features:

Guests have access to the tennis courts and more than 30,000 square feet of swimming pools. Sports include squash, volleyball, basketball, biking, archery, horseback riding, kayaking and sailing. There's also an aquatic spinning class. In this unique class, the stationary bikes are places inside the pool for additional resistance. Don't forget about the kids while you're off having fun. The Kids Club features a nursery, mini-cafeteria, video games, playground and sports activities. Babysitters and Internet access are available for a fee. For a relaxing break, book an appointment in the world class spa (fees apply) and enjoy a massage, special treatment or some much needed alone time.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (60 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (8 mi/13 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (29 mi/48 km)
  • Cancun (50 mi/82 km)
Business­
  • 2,000 square foot convention center accommodates up to 700 guests
  • 2,7000 square foot auditorium seats up to 1,000 guests
  • Business center and concierge service available (fees apply)

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.7003 -87.0132
Area served
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda is located on the Mayan Riviera, close to the town of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
45-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, is a hotel in Playa del Carmen, just 10 minutes by car to Playa del Carmen city and 50 minutes from Cancun downtown. The Resort is on the Yucatan Peninsula, close to some of Mexico's most important archaeological sites, allows guests the opportunity to explore the ruins at Chichen Itza, Tulum, Akumal, and Cob. Xcaret. Day trips and diving excursions to the nearby island of Cozumel can also be arranged.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (288)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Rosmil
Calgary, AB, Canada
Jan 8, 2012

My vacations new year 2011-2012

It have been the best vacations my family and I have had, excellent food,drinks with a lot of choice, entretainment was outstanding with shows and live music, room confort perfect and cleanliess excellent which included arrengemnts made with towels and flowers that are masterpieces, it is also a hotel very safe, my congratulations for all the staff for the quality of their service. It is well located close to parks such as Xplore, Xcaret and Rio Secreto. Without any doubt I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many tours for choosing you may buy at the hotel at the same price I would recommend, Xcaret and Rio secreto. The prices are exactly the same or even better since descounts apply for groups over 4 people, it is safe and includes transportation from/ to the hotel.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Jo P
London, UK
Jan 8, 2012

Good if you like eating and drinking

we had a week at Blue Bay over Xmas and new year. The weather wasn't brilliant and there wasn't much else to do apart from drinking. The cocktails were great and the bar staff very friendly though. The food was good in the a la Carte restaurants but not brilliant at the breakfast and lunch buffets but there was a lot to chose from. We used the gym most days which was ok but there was only one running machine and it was often v busy. The one thing this hotel is lacking is a nice bar to drink in in the evening; the main bar is big and soulless. The pool is nice and the beach has plenty of loungers but the sea wasn't very nice and we wouldn't have gone in Overall we had a really fun holiday and made the most of the cocktails which were great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
davidg109
Belleville, ON, Canada
Jan 6, 2012

Great time

I spent sixteen days at the resort and had a great time. The food in particular was very good, and we enjoyed the a la carte restaurants each night as opposed to eating buffet meals. The pool is nice, the beachfront not so nice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There was one exception. Thriftys car rental agency operates in the lobby there. BEWARE. We had a terrible experience attempting to rent a car, and we discovered we were lied to repeatedly by one particular Thrifty's employee named Juan. We have escalated complaints through the general manager of the resort and the Thrifty's corporation as I have no patience for liars, especially on vacation. Hopefully this guy has been replaced by someone that needs a job more then him. Aside from this blip (which is easy to remedy, use a different rental agency!) we had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
dhg1
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 4, 2012

blue bay riviera maya

Overall great vacation for the money! Good points are the friendly and hard-working staff, the food, the nice pools, and location of hotel. Bad points: Stayed in Tulum building it was very noisy and loud, the bathroom was very run-down, sink did not work well, and it is to be remodeled. Also, the concierges spend everyday trying to sell you something. They are relentless in trying to get you to get back to Blue Bay and buy into their VIP option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The French restaurant has the best food.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
elski1
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Great Hotel would stay there again.

This hotel is a great all inclusive. The restaurants are not like most all inclusives you actually feel and it tastes like you are at a real restaurant. The sports bar is great and really nice and did I mention it is 24hours. There is also a tiki bar on the beach that has swings instead of seats which is awesome and that is open on the beach until 1am. The drinks are also great because they have actual name brand alcohol for example: kettle one, absolute, sky, johhny black label, champagne and more and is all included. They also have a great lounge area for cocktails before dinner. Overall this hotel was really nice and I would stay again you really get a lot for what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

I would make reservations for the restaurants every night becuase they are good and it is a much better experience than eating at the buffet. However, book them the day before becuase they do book up.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Lovetotravel09
Calgary, AB, Canada
Jan 3, 2012

Great Vacation

We stayed there Dec 17 - 27 and had a wonderful time. Restaurants are great, pool is nice and big, beach was wonderful and rooms were clean and comfortable. The resort is VERY big so if you have trouble walking don't go here; if you have a room near the beach you have to walk everynight up to lobby area for restaunrants and entertainment and if you have a room up by the lobby you have to walk to the beach and pool everyday. They do have trollies but not as often as you'd hope. The spa was awesome, would go back there for sure! Steak and seafood restaurant were our favourite. there is a language barrier with cleaners so if you have questions about anything ask your building concierge. Buliding 4 &5 is here you want to be! Steps to the beach :) would go back for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Keninaus
Austin, TX, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Excellent staff

This resort was in a great location, the food was great and the staff was extremely attentive. I would return just because of the amazing service alone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your dinner reservations a day ahead because the restaurants fill up fast.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
MalcolmM
Florida, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Our stay at Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda

The room was ordinary. We were promised two double beds and bath robes. We had a king bed and no robes. The king bed was not an issue but what we were told we would get we did not. The food selection was good but the food was generally cold. The staff are excellent and very hepful and attentive.. Our room was full of misquitoes and after 5 days we complained and were given another room in another building. There were a few mosquitoes there as well but nothing like our first room. The second room was much better, nicer bathroom, TV and the AC worked much better. I booked and paid for a return trip to Cancun airport with your on site representative. Well the bus/van did not arrive. After much haggling we eventually got a bus (which was the line we were booked to go on) to take us to Cancun. He was there to pick up other guests and our name was not on his list. He called his office and after at least 20 minutes on the phone he agreed to take us. When I checked out at around 3 pm I was told that I owed a late charge. I understand that check out time is noon but I did not know that I was personally supposed to check out. My wife & I were ready to leave at 10 am. I was told by the front desk that I should have read the brochure or someone should have told me about the check out procedures. Well I was not told and I did not go to the resort to read the fine print; I went there on vacation. I refused to pay and if I get charged through you I am going to dispute the charge and get my bank to have it reversed. Overall it was a somewhat dissapointing vacation. Next time I'll pay more and go to a dufferent all inclusive, perhaps again in Playa Del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Shopping in Cozumel was a delight. Good deals to be had.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Katiem
Langley, BC, Canada
Dec 31, 2011

Perfect for any occasion

This was the best vacation I ever had and my 5th time in mexico.Everything was better than I have ever experienced. The staff go over and above to help with anything and everything. The mini bar is fully restocked every day if u want any extra bottled water or anything they give it to u no questions asked. I went with my husband and 2 friends and ended up buying a vip membership. If u want an all inclusive hassle free trip that is very reasonably priced I would +++++ reccomend this hotel. The weddings r beautiful too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try all the ala carte restaraunts soo delicious!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Canadian HEY
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Dec 28, 2011

Esmeralda package way to go

I was impressed with Blue Bay, we had a swim up suite, absolutely recommend this suite, spacious, lots of amenities, refill your liquor daily, cleaning staff were great, recommend getting the Esmeralda package for the extra advantages. Food was good, we really liked the Italian, French and Seafood was ok, Steakhouse good, did not get to check out the Mexican, as the men need to wear pants, and it was just too hot. That was disappointing that they would not make an exception. We loved to eat at Jaal Ha Buffet, great staff and view of the ocean. Beach area is ok, but I have seen better on the Riviera side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheapest way to go to Playa del Carmen is take the bus, you walk out to the road, stand the opposite side of the street and wait for the bus. Really cheap, compared to shuttle or taxi. Air Conditioned and comfortable seats. Drops you right in the heart of Playa, and way back drops you right on the road in front of your hotel. Make sure you have correct amount of peso, and don`t let the driver tell you any different. The hotel will tell you how much before you leave.

Back to menu Return to top