$313 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
327 reviews
Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not... See full review

  • Family Vacation Lovers
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (327)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
327 out of 327
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the Chasman
Business
Mpls, MN
Jan 2, 2013

Great Place to Relax

Beautiful resort with a beatiful beach. The food was better than other resorts we have stayed at. The staff was ver y pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
arm really
Business
chicago, illinois
Jan 1, 2013

Great value

Room was very clean and comfortable. Restaurants were great, we preferred the buffets rather than the a la carte menus. Make restaurant reserves one day before. Great pools and activities. Ocean is not great, lots of seaweed and mushy bottom. Alchohol is not great but does the job. We ordered doubles. Great staff, very friendly. Overall we would highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del Carmen.shopping, restaurants, bars, great beaches. About 20 minutes by $ 20 dollar taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Good Time Charlies
Business
San Antonio
Dec 20, 2012

Good for the money

Weather was great!! Hotel was ok but the beach was not great! Had to walk down a bit to find clear water :( Getting a reservation at the a la carte was not easy and the restaurants were not full?? The Asian restaurant was not very good but we had a blast at the Italian restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Coco Bongo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
arlinemike
Business
Sanford, Maine
Dec 19, 2012

Very Surprised

After reading all the reviews I was a little nervous since we have been to several resorts in Mexico and never had a bad experience, we just wanted to try yet another new place. The weather in December was beautiful as was the resort. We ended up ugrading to an oceanfront room since there was one available, well worth it. Enjoyed every moment out on the balcony in the am and pm. The resort is smaller than ones that we have been to in the past but that was great. We never even bothered with the specialty restaurants since we found the buffet to be great. Very intimate seating and great service. The beach sand is beautiful. The water is a little cloudy this time of year probably because of the rougher water but don't let it keep you out of it, when you walk in you can see that it is just a little cloudy but it is smooth sand below. My husband and I loved and it would definitly return. The staff was GREAT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mx AI traveler
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Dec 17, 2012

Review: Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda

Hotel, staff, and food were all good and typical of Mexico all inclusive resorts of this rating. Reservations were required for restaurants other than the buffet. Reservations were hard to get and restaurants usually had 5 - 10 tables filled when we went to them. There seems to be a need for improvements to staffing and booking to make this area better. Food and service at restaurants however was excellent. Just the booking availability is my complaint. Not a big issue but an area for improvement. Kids club was fantastic. Our 4 yr old daughter loved it. Beach and pool are pretty nice at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deniskov18
Business
Denver, Colorado
Dec 13, 2012

overall is good

overall this is good resort, beach is fine but ocean isnt, better for older people. jetski onsite very slow limited power its not fun,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ONeill
Business
Wash DC
Nov 26, 2012

Great Value

Arrival: Had to wait 20 minutes until our luggage was delivered to the room. We did not want to wait so we walked. We were not offered a ride, etc. Room: Good, expect for the bathroom-Shower had mold, cracked tile. Mirror- was worn from all the moisture. Pool: Probably the best part apart from the sports bar Beach: Looks bad with the sand bags. Walked along the beach it was all the same at other hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Viturally everyone from the time you arrive to the airport has their hand out and wants a tip. "Amigo, Amiga"..they gently lead you to where they want. Don't fall for it keep your money only a few deserve a tip

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pamela 2094
Business
Indialantic, FL, USA
Nov 18, 2012

It was Great as usual!

My husband and I have gone to Blue Bay twice and always at the same time . We have enjoyed it immensely from the staff to our room and of course the food. The moment we enter the lobby we our welcomed by concierge, Yadina, from the VIP check-in. We had arranged to secure the same suite as last year. Which was no problem with the head of the concierges, Jose Luis. Who is not only very professional but friendly and could not do enough for us. Wagner, who is the pool-bar service waiter knew exactly what we drank and always made sure we had a full glass while we were at the pool or beach. Karla, our waitress for breakfast and lunch always greeted us with a smile. I can not say enough for the staff. Please remember even though everything is included, the staff does appreciate tips which is well deserved. Our suite was an ocean view on the third floor of the Coba building. With a separate living room and bedroom plus two bathrooms it was very convenient for us. It was cleaned every day before 10:A.M. per our request . Every night after dinner we would come back to our room to find a snack at the bar and a bottle of wine , champagne or premium liquor. By the end of our stay we had accumulated 10 full bottles as neither of us drink liquor. We have been to secrets and Capri,which is right next door to Blue Bay resort and a few other resorts but none compare to Blue Bay Esmeralda. We will be returning next year for the third time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Catamaran to isla of the Mujeres Staff on the boat were great!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Panaflyer
Business
Hollywood, Fl
Nov 17, 2012

We had a great vacation.

Awesome Hotel, very clean, all facilities were as expected. The staff couldn't be any friendlier. Food was OK, all inclusive style, nothing Gourmet unless you reserve for a VIP dinner which was Great. Rent a car and and travel on your time to all the Mayan destinations. Simply Great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Explore adventure park for extreme outdoor fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan first time resort vis
Business
Hattiesburg, MS
Nov 14, 2012

First time all inclusive experience

I really dont know where to begin. The staff at Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda were wonderful! Very family friendly. Lots of families with kids, but not over run with children. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay a 5 Star experience. The room was beautiful, the food was plentiful and seemingly endless. The pools were clean and huge, and overall, I couldn't imagine a better experience. All our waiters and concierge spoke good - excellent English, which helped me alot, and I even picked up some common Spanish expressions. The beaches were beautiful, but were not as clean as I expected, not trash but small natural twigs and such from all the palm trees. Would not recommend staying on the first floor, as the wildlife will make themselves at home (as it is their home!) The rooms are very close to tropical vegetation. Our last night, I called the front desk and said "Is it possible to have some help with our luggage in the morning, at 2AM for our crazy early departure?" and their reply was "Sir, Everything is possible!" Muy bueno!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The taxi service is highly monitored to ensure the tourist are well taken care of. There are a lot of pushy street vendors in Playa del Carmen where we went for shopping. Not intrusive or mean, just a little bothersome for my liking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top