$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2015 Check-out: Jul 24, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
368 out of 368
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kimberly from Willis
Business
Riviera Maya Mexico
Mar 25, 2013

Burnt to a crisp

The room was comfy, except for the mosquitos. The food was good. The opening show was cheesy, but food was good. Be prepared to sit with people who don't speak English. The resort was too spread out, requiring a lot of walking. The shuttles were always going the opposite way we were. Would recommend it for the price we paid. We got a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The snorkeling excursion by catamaran was fun, but not exactly as described.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brynners
Business
St. Paul, MN
Mar 22, 2013

Wonderful vacation & budget friendly

We had a wonderful vacation! Many food options and the quality was good! Rooms were cleaned daily. The beach and pools were wonderful, there was no trouble finding a spot every day. Many attractions in the area! We were impressed with the quality and beauty of the resort especially for the cost!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into town for shopping, a meal, and beautiful beach views! The town was our favorite part!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JSmoz
Business
Edmonton, Alberta
Mar 11, 2013

Good not Great

Great staff, excellent food ( in the buffet) the a la cartes left a lot to be desired. Our biggest complaint was the lack of entertainment after dinner, with no disco and a beach party that had a DJ who didnt want to be there and it showed. There was no place but the stinky sweaty sports bar that was understaffed due to the large numbers of guests that were forced to gather here for lack of anywhere to go. Other than that it was excellent. Easy to find chairs by the pool or beach on the busiest of days. Staff seemed to really care (with the exception of the DJ) Buffets were always good and never much of a wait. Sometimes a little difficult to get a drink but only when it was really busy. Great trip overall, can't say I would return to this hotel. Location for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you are looking to stay up late, have a few drinks, dance or hang out..... keep looking. This hotel is perfect for people who want to head back to their room after dinner.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
whiteboygoestomexico
Business
New England
Mar 4, 2013

Good and Bad

Some rooms/building are updated with LCDs and new bathrooms, while others need a lot of TLC. Building 1's walls seem paper thin and noise is definitely an issue. Rooms overall need to be refurbished or repaired (in keeping with the luxury hotel feel), but the bed is comfortable. Food is hit or miss, but cleanliness seems to be taken fairly seriously. No family members got sick on our trip, nor did I hear any horror stories from others. The Staff is AMAZING (with the exception of the front desk), and will truly make you feel welcome. If you tire of the hotel's many amenities, day trips to Cozumel, Tulum, or Isla Mujures are cheap and well worth your time. The grounds are spectacular and well-maintained -- just wish the same was true of the hotel rooms. I'm still convinced this is better than 75% of the options in Riviera Maya, especially re: value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The French Restaurant is by far the best.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roberta Happy Wife
Business
Hermantown, MN
Mar 4, 2013

Wonderful week spent with my spouse.

We loved the whole experience. Restaurants were excellent and the staff was wonderful. We would go back again in a heartbeat. What a great way to relax with your spouse for a week!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dburn
Business
St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Mar 2, 2013

dburn

Overall the resort was great, pool was great, staff was great, beach was great (better than many others on the same beach), food was good, drinks were a little weak. The only problems we really experienced were the lock on our door malfunctioned daily so we had to have the concierge reprogram it daily,( it was replaced on the fourth day of our trip and had to be reprogramed the next day) and we paid extra for the upgrade to a superior deluxe room which we never did receive. I would not recommend the dinner show. Over all it was a nice resort that we would like to use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tsilman
Business
Phiiladelphia
Feb 26, 2013

Very nice time with friends

Nice hotel, buffet is OK, a la carte restorants are best. Servise a bit sluppy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

make reservations ahead

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AngLve
Business
NJ
Feb 21, 2013

Worst Vacation I have ever been on!

I have to say this was the worst vacation I have ever been on and after visiting Mexico three times in the last five years we are very disappointed with the service this hotel had to offer. The rooms that my parents and brother booked smelled like raw sewage and stagnant water. So my boyfriend and I decided to upgrade. We paid to upgraded so we could have a front ocean view witch gave us a fresh breeze. The view was beautiful I have to say but the room was horrible. The balcony had only one chair and the handle to close and open the door was missing. I then called and requested another chair they said it would be their within 30min which it took them to the next day to bring. The rooms need much updating. Our phone in our room was broken again I had to call and have someone bring us a working phone. Our room did not have an alarm clock I called 3 different times to get an alarm clock and did not even receive one at all after being promised one. The second day into our stay we dropped a beer bottle by mistake in the room witch eventually ended up ruining our vacation. Security was called and instead of asking what happened they assumed we were trashing the already poor maintained room. Five random strange men one with a camera taking pictures of the room came in while I only had a towel. Where are my rights!!! Oh that’s right we have none while in their country so says the hotel management they can do as they please looking at me while they went into the bathroom looking for I don't know what since it was obvious what happened. The next day we went to make reservations they advised us we needed to go up to the front desk to speak with a manger about possible damages to our room that we need to take care of. I was so upset that on our vacation because a bottle dropped we needed to deal with this. Long story short we needed to pay for damages that we never caused or the hotel manager Alfonso advised us that if we didn’t he would have to call the police. The manager was very rude and unhelpful I asked for an explanation of the damages he advised me he did not need to give me an explanation and that we needed to pay for the damages to the door. I them told him that the bottle never hit the door it hit the floor and I wanted him to come up to our room and explain to us how they came up with the charges. Alfonso said he had pictures proving the damage. I told him I would love to see the before and after picture. As soon as I said that he then got really loud with me telling me again that he does not need to explain anything to me .I felt helpless and taking advantage of. I wish I read all of the reviews before booking this trip. I advised against this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
8th trip to the Riviera
Business
Moncton New Brunswick
Feb 17, 2013

great service great price

We truly enjoyed our visit to Bluebay. The resort is gorgeous. The staff go out of their way to be helpful. The food is good and plentiful. This is a strong 4 star resort at a 3 star price. I have visited 8 different resorts in the Riviera and the staff friendliness exceeds all the others.. The swim-up room was heaven.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
last try at nickname
Business
ohio
Feb 15, 2013

Nice hotel

The hotel was fine. traveling rep was never on time and I wasted alot of time wating for O- traveling rep. to confirm trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top