Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$276
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Mar 1, 2016 Check-out: Mar 4, 2016

Value for price ( Travel dates Jan 15 thru Jan 20)

Would recommend Mon, Jan 21, 2013
My wife and I paid $1750 total for 5 days with flight from Minneapolis, Minnesota. We booked last minute with another couple, and had a blast. Airport/Travel - Recomend buying the round trip to and from hotel for $67 each. You won't find better deals and this is very easy. Arrival at Resort - Our bags were taken from the shuttle and we were given a ticket while we checked in. Check in went smooth and they let us in early which was nice. They also have carts for transportation around the resort which comes in handy. Room - The room is very typical to most resorts I have stayed at. Refrigerator with beer, soda and water. Safe large enough to hold a large laptop along wih many other items. Bathroom appeared as though it could have used a deep clean in the grout areas but not bad at all. Pools - nice that we were always able to get a beach chair for the four of us together anytime. Pool was a bit chilly but why would they heat a pool in Mexico? It was a little chilly when we travelled which was unusual. Beach - Nothing special here, water was a little dirty looking but it was still nice to be able to sit next to the ocean. You can also walk the beach for miles and see the outsides of other resorts which was fun. Food - Buffets were decent, really the same food each day with a couple changes here and there. Always have the ability to get lots of Mexican food as well as a burger and fries each day if you don't care for international cuisine. We made reservations each night for the private restaurants which is part of your prepaid price. Would highly recommend each morning getting up going to the concierge and making reservations or try a night out on 5 th avenue in downtown Playa. Bars - always willing to make drinks and never to busy. Always use the brand name of the liquor you want or you will end up with cheap rail. Beer was cold and refreshing, my wife enjoyed the ice beers which had a little blended margarita on top. The sports bar at night had shows for entertainment, Michael Jackson show was very entertaining! Excursions - we didn't do any so I can't comment. We did a couple trips into Playa, during the day we did a little shopping but the stores are really all the same junk stores in my opinion. At night we walked until we found a restaurant we liked and sat down. Food was good and service was awesome. Two of us were celebrating Birthdays and each place we stopped gave us a couple shots of tequila for free which was awesome, but we dd also sit down and have a few beers at each spot as well. Overall - I think the value equals the price paid. Don't expect a four or five star resort because this is not it but still nice.

Dining

Always make reservations for dinner at night. This helps changing up your meals during the week from just buffets.

| Minneapolis, Minnesota Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Remote Getaway

Would recommend Wed, Jan 16, 2013
Good place to stay with excellent staff. Just a little remote from town but overall it was nice. Area is vast and our room was far from the beach. Shuttles helped to get you around but next time would ask for a place nearer the beach.

Dining

Good walking shoes a must! Not all dining ares were easy to get to without the shuttle.

| Montana Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Price was right, but wasn't special

Would recommend Sun, Jan 13, 2013
This was my first time in Mexico, so I have little to compare it to. The resort is very spread out and to get from our room to the beach was a good 7 minute walk. The beach itself is sub-par with limited seating and not very clear water. This lead us to spend most of our time at the main pool just off the beach. The staff here was great! Very friendly and interactive with the guests. The food was sometimes very good, but mostly just average. The night life on the resort was poor. The hotel shows weren't very good. The "Sports Bar" was boring, with no music and no atmosphere. The beach bar was open from 11pm to 1 am and had better music, but also was typically slow. You have to leave the resort to find an active night life. For the price we paid I think this was a good hotel. Nothing special, but for laying around the pool, enjoying the weather, and having some drinks; it did the trick.

| Wisco Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great Place to Relax

Would recommend Wed, Jan 2, 2013
Beautiful resort with a beatiful beach. The food was better than other resorts we have stayed at. The staff was ver y pleasant and helpful.

| Mpls, MN Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great value

Would recommend Tue, Jan 1, 2013
Room was very clean and comfortable. Restaurants were great, we preferred the buffets rather than the a la carte menus. Make restaurant reserves one day before. Great pools and activities. Ocean is not great, lots of seaweed and mushy bottom. Alchohol is not great but does the job. We ordered doubles. Great staff, very friendly. Overall we would highly recommend this resort.

Attractions

Playa del Carmen.shopping, restaurants, bars, great beaches. About 20 minutes by $ 20 dollar taxi.

| chicago, illinois Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Good for the money

Would recommend Thu, Dec 20, 2012
Weather was great!! Hotel was ok but the beach was not great! Had to walk down a bit to find clear water :( Getting a reservation at the a la carte was not easy and the restaurants were not full?? The Asian restaurant was not very good but we had a blast at the Italian restaurant.

Nightlife hint

Go to Coco Bongo

| San Antonio Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Review: Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda

Would recommend Mon, Dec 17, 2012
Hotel, staff, and food were all good and typical of Mexico all inclusive resorts of this rating. Reservations were required for restaurants other than the buffet. Reservations were hard to get and restaurants usually had 5 - 10 tables filled when we went to them. There seems to be a need for improvements to staffing and booking to make this area better. Food and service at restaurants however was excellent. Just the booking availability is my complaint. Not a big issue but an area for improvement. Kids club was fantastic. Our 4 yr old daughter loved it. Beach and pool are pretty nice at this location.

| Toledo, Ohio Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great Value

Would recommend Mon, Nov 26, 2012
Arrival: Had to wait 20 minutes until our luggage was delivered to the room. We did not want to wait so we walked. We were not offered a ride, etc. Room: Good, expect for the bathroom-Shower had mold, cracked tile. Mirror- was worn from all the moisture. Pool: Probably the best part apart from the sports bar Beach: Looks bad with the sand bags. Walked along the beach it was all the same at other hotels

Money saver

Viturally everyone from the time you arrive to the airport has their hand out and wants a tip. "Amigo, Amiga"..they gently lead you to where they want. Don't fall for it keep your money only a few deserve a tip

| Wash DC Family

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

It was Great as usual!

Would recommend Sun, Nov 18, 2012
My husband and I have gone to Blue Bay twice and always at the same time . We have enjoyed it immensely from the staff to our room and of course the food. The moment we enter the lobby we our welcomed by concierge, Yadina, from the VIP check-in. We had arranged to secure the same suite as last year. Which was no problem with the head of the concierges, Jose Luis. Who is not only very professional but friendly and could not do enough for us. Wagner, who is the pool-bar service waiter knew exactly what we drank and always made sure we had a full glass while we were at the pool or beach. Karla, our waitress for breakfast and lunch always greeted us with a smile. I can not say enough for the staff. Please remember even though everything is included, the staff does appreciate tips which is well deserved. Our suite was an ocean view on the third floor of the Coba building. With a separate living room and bedroom plus two bathrooms it was very convenient for us. It was cleaned every day before 10:A.M. per our request . Every night after dinner we would come back to our room to find a snack at the bar and a bottle of wine , champagne or premium liquor. By the end of our stay we had accumulated 10 full bottles as neither of us drink liquor. We have been to secrets and Capri,which is right next door to Blue Bay resort and a few other resorts but none compare to Blue Bay Esmeralda. We will be returning next year for the third time.

Attractions

Catamaran to isla of the Mujeres Staff on the boat were great!!!

| Indialantic, FL, USA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Blue Bay review

Would recommend Mon, Nov 12, 2012
Upon our arrival I noticed how manicured the grounds were. Perfect. The hotel was picture perfect upon arrival. When we arrived in our room there was mold in the bathroom and ants all over the counter. I called and they changed our room within the hours to a much nicer room with a better location for us. The staff couldnt be nicer or more concerned with our satisfaction. My biggest complaint is that the supervisors pushing the purchace plans were rude. We went for vacation, not to be bombarded with sales we wernt interested in. This was our first vacation in 24 years so it was special to us. We almost wouldnt come back just because of the pushing of the resort sales. If people are interested, they will ask. The food was just OK. Nothing special and not much variety. One night we didnt even eat dinner because there wasnt anything on the buffet that we liked. And, cant get reservations most of the time at the other resturants. But over all, not bad. Hats off to the staff. We did notice however that one resturant was closed at night and it was supposed to be open, and, that the resort had two building closed along with the snack bar and pool in that area.

Shopping hint

Dont waste your time or money going into town for shopping. Not much savings and its all the same thing. T-shirt shops. Very run down also.

| Michigan Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5