$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
314 reviews
almost perfect

The personnel is very welcome, exelent food and beautiful pools including the SPA zone the only two... See full review

  • gabopani
  • Jun 3, 2014
family vacation

super, fantastic place, foo super, the service is the best See full review

  • RVR TRAVELERS
  • Apr 24, 2013
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7003 -87.0132
Area served
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda is located on the Mayan Riviera, close to the town of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
45-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, is a hotel in Playa del Carmen, just 10 minutes by car to Playa del Carmen city and 50 minutes from Cancun downtown. The Resort is on the Yucatan Peninsula, close to some of Mexico's most important archaeological sites, allows guests the opportunity to explore the ruins at Chichen Itza, Tulum, Akumal, and Cob. Xcaret. Day trips and diving excursions to the nearby island of Cozumel can also be arranged.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (314)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
314 out of 314
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
derf151
Wisconsin
Oct 26, 2012

Very Relaxing

I stayed here for my 30th birthday. The first 2 days I was barely there except to sleep and eat dinner. But the third day I spent all day there it was very relaxing by the poolside one thing to note The pool is only 4ft deep great for kids but, kind boring if you want to dive or anything. The wait staff by the pool for drinks weren't the most efficient but at the bars I never had empty drink or at the dinner table.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wake up early and find a good spot on the beach and the sunrise is fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CandyBze Mom
Belmopan, Belize
Oct 16, 2012

Relaxing Family Vacation Getaway

It was very relaxing and a wonderful experience ! The food was great and a beautiful view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Saves time and money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RVR TRAVELERS
MIAMI, FL
Sep 11, 2012

FAMILY VACACIONES

GREAT RESORT TO BE IN VACATION, VERY RELAXING, GOOD FOOD AND DRINKS ARE SUPER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DANIEL RPO
Medellín, Colombia
Sep 10, 2012

Good hotel

Good hotel considering price, excelent to stay some days and enjoy the parks around like xcaret, xplore, xelha (10 to 20 min), playa del carmen (15 min), tolum (45 min), chechenitza (2hr and half), airport (30 min by car).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nuncio
Mexico City
Sep 7, 2012

Great value for your money

The hotel is built in the middle of natural manglars, beautiful place, good food and service. Rooms are average but nice. Nice dinner options but need reservations 1 day in advance. The beach is not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Reserve early to get better time options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
7 amigos
Quad Cities, IL
Sep 7, 2012

Dont listen to bad reviews

This hotel takes care of every guest in a above a 4 star rated hotel. No Bed Bugs, Clean rooms everyday, nothing was taken and make sure to tip the great staff. I will always keep them in mind when I go to Mexico. Also Want to give a shout out to The transportation "Grey Line" we never had any issues and always on time. Thank for a great experience for my whole family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jd00
Montreal, Canada
Jul 25, 2012

Good hotel!

Really good service, only thing that is bad is the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Serki1976
Grand Rapids, MI
Jul 25, 2012

Already planning our trip next for February 2013!

I stayed here with my mom in February and we both had the time of our lives both at this resort and the Riviera Maya of Mexico in general. LOVED it! I will say right away to NOT pay attention to bad reviews - my opinion of those individuals is that they would be difficult ANYWHERE they go, because both my mother and I have a set of standards but we very much enjoyed our stay at the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda! The rooms are clean, the grounds are BEAUTIFUL and very nicely kept, the food is good, drinks are good, staff is helpful and friendly (there is even concierge located at every building). Both my mom and I enjoyed the nightly shows and entertainment aslo. The resort is very large but no worries - there are shuttles stopping at every building (constantly). I would highly recommended requesting either buildings 2, 3, 4 or 5 as they are the buildings closet to the water (we were in building 2 and we love it. We had a garden view but it was still gorgeous!). Of all of the GREAT things about it, there were just two negatives: the north half of the beach (closest to buildings 2 & 3) is not all that impressive (lots of weeds and cloudy water), but the beach area by buildings 4 & 5 (south side), is beautiful!! Also, watch out for the timeshare vultures!! Just say no to them and you will be fine!!! Overall, GREAT resort and both my mom and I are returning in just 6 months!!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mi amor loco
NJ
Jul 20, 2012

Rivera Maya

As my second time in the same place, the service in general was really poor. Two of the shows at night such as Grace and international countries were show not for kids. I did not like it. The Mexico and the Circus was really good. It was really difficult to find a simple spoon for the soup and coffee. I do not recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bill and Mary
Erie, Pa
Jul 18, 2012

Blue Bay

2 years in a row.. you cant beat the price,had a very relaxing time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Before you go to the pool make a reservation for the resturant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search