$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 11, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
329 reviews
Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not... See full review

  • Family Vacation Lovers
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
329 out of 329
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan first time resort vis
Hattiesburg, MS
Nov 14, 2012

First time all inclusive experience

I really dont know where to begin. The staff at Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda were wonderful! Very family friendly. Lots of families with kids, but not over run with children. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay a 5 Star experience. The room was beautiful, the food was plentiful and seemingly endless. The pools were clean and huge, and overall, I couldn't imagine a better experience. All our waiters and concierge spoke good - excellent English, which helped me alot, and I even picked up some common Spanish expressions. The beaches were beautiful, but were not as clean as I expected, not trash but small natural twigs and such from all the palm trees. Would not recommend staying on the first floor, as the wildlife will make themselves at home (as it is their home!) The rooms are very close to tropical vegetation. Our last night, I called the front desk and said "Is it possible to have some help with our luggage in the morning, at 2AM for our crazy early departure?" and their reply was "Sir, Everything is possible!" Muy bueno!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The taxi service is highly monitored to ensure the tourist are well taken care of. There are a lot of pushy street vendors in Playa del Carmen where we went for shopping. Not intrusive or mean, just a little bothersome for my liking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juan M.
Business
north las vegas
Mar 10, 2015

Amazing

Great experience! Great staff and the food was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kathleen P.
Business
Bourbonnais
Mar 3, 2015

Just an okay resort

Resort was very scenic and rooms were clean, however the food, drink and service was just ok! Our air conditioner didn't work all that great but we were able to get cooled down from the ceiling fan. When we called for roomservice 3 different times for different things it took forever for them to respond. Once it wasn't until the next day. The restaurant's you had to make reservations at had bad service and food wasn't all that good. Buffet food was much better. Don't think we would return to this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anna P.
Business
Scarborough
Jan 24, 2015

Just Ok girls trip

The resort is huge so expect a lot of walking. Switched rooms about 3 times due to a/c not working and such but would stay again for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Erica O.
Business
Columbus
Jan 5, 2015

Terrible hotel

The service was terrible, the food was not good and the entertainment is a joke. The only thing that was good was the pool. Everything is very far, they don't have enough waitresses, they do a lot of noise with carts that they push to clean the rooms, you never can take a nap. Before going to the hotel I read the bad reviews and though that it could not be so bad, but it is. Just don't go. The beach is terrible and I never had the courage to leave my kid on the kids club. Worst experience in hotel in my whole life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JP And friends
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

Relaxing, foodful, sunny vacation!

Booked this hotel for seven nights because of its size, restaurant choices, location, and price. The hotel is very large and there is a trolley that goes around every ten minutes if you don't want to walk. The size allows you to lay at the quiet pool or the pool on the beach that is much larger with many activities happening all day. The food was excellent and always available. They even open a snack bar from 11-1am for people who get hungry after hitting the 24hr bar. The restaurants are steak, seafood, Italian, French, and Mexican and we tried all of them except steak. We had five star service at all of them and the food was delightfilul. The staff at this resort are very friendly and are always working very hard. The rooms were nicely kept but could use some repairs (minor things like a cracked tile or a stain on a cabinet) but overall they are very clean and always tended to. If you want a relaxing trip where you can eat, drink, and enjoy the sunshine this is a great place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked ten minutes north along the beach from this hotel to find crystal clear water and mangroves to snorkel and swim in. Worth the short walk!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Felicha S.
Business
Brockton
Dec 23, 2014

Awesome Birthday Getaway for Boyfriend

I was kind of skeptical coming to this hotel after reading the crazy reviews but overall it was a great experience. The only downside was the lobby that had no AC because it was an open floor plan. Drinks were made very well as well as having ample shuttle service to and from building to building. I hope this review really helps me and my boyfriend enjoyed. Check out COCO Bongo if you can this really topped off our trip to Mexico other than that we spent most days drinking and hanging by the pools and restaurants. NOT too much entertainment in the hotel except for the dinner shows and in one of the bars that's really hot but enjoyable. In the morning wake up early to catch breakfast while its HOT!! That's when its the best. I went in AUG 14' and I was hesitant because that's when it's said to rain tremendously and none of that occurred even tho the forecast had rain the whole week we were there. Either we dodged a big bullet or we missed the really early showers that later dried by 9/ 10 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JP And friends
Business
N/A
Dec 22, 2014

Relaxing, foodful, sunny vacation!

Booked this hotel for seven nights because of its size, restaurant choices, location, and price. The hotel is very large and there is a trolley that goes around every ten minutes if you don't want to walk. The size allows you to lay at the quiet pool or the pool on the beach that is much larger with many activities happening all day. The food was excellent and always available. They even open a snack bar from 11-1am for people who get hungry after hitting the 24hr bar. The restaurants are steak, seafood, Italian, French, and Mexican and we tried all of them except steak. We had five star service at all of them and the food was delightfilul. The staff at this resort are very friendly and are always working very hard. The rooms were nicely kept but could use some repairs (minor things like a cracked tile or a stain on a cabinet) but overall they are very clean and always tended to. If you want a relaxing trip where you can eat, drink, and enjoy the sunshine this is a great place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked ten minutes north along the beach from this hotel to find crystal clear water and mangroves to snorkel and swim in. Worth the short walk!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family Vacation Lovers
Business
New York, New York
Nov 18, 2014

Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not exactly 100% what I expected, but was great for my family with little kids. Service impeccable. Would go again with my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs Fancy Pants
Business
New York
Oct 21, 2014

Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were treated very well and the staff goes above and beyond to accommodate your needs. I recommend the swim out room which gives you some privacy if you're about having a little bit of seclusion from the public pool. The steak house and Mexican restaurant were our favorites. Room service is ok not too much to chose from but decent. There were only 2 issues I had with the hotel and that was the wild life and beach. While trying to eat lunch outside, birds may drop in and steal food or raccoons may sniff around for food if you're on the lower level. The beach is not what I'm use to its very small and not very pleasing to the eye. Sand bags were around making it a bit of an eye sore. Other than those two things the stay was perfect. They also have on site shuttle service that can get you around the hotel which is pretty huge. The Spa is amazing and very modern looking. Ultimately it's a great hotel with excellent service and I will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Spa!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CSALT
Business
FLORIDA
Oct 15, 2014

Great value, great place

Friendly staff, great value for your money. Would stay again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations early!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top