$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Bel Air Collection Resort and Spa Riviera Maya

3 stars
Carretera Chetumal- Puerto Juarez Km. 265, Riviera Maya, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
10 reviews
Good place. Worth the money.

Transport inside the resort is only my means of a shuttle. Getting a shuttle on time and frequency... See full review

  • Phoenix Hari
  • Dec 2, 2013
Exceeded our expectations. The animals are back!

We couldn't believe this was only a three star hotel! The staff were the most friendly and helpful... See full review

  • Mexico City Duo
  • Jan 3, 2013
Strategically located in Xpu-Ha in the Riviera Maya, surrounded by the vast flora and fauna that characterizes the Riviera Maya, where you can enjoy Cenotes and Canals connected to the sea. The hotel is located one hour from Cancun International Airport, a couple of minutes from the archeological site of Tulum, Xcaret, Xel-Ha and Playa del Carmen where you can enjoy exclusive restaurants and the best nightclubs in the area

We have 144 rooms spread over 9 luxury villas distinguished by its unique amenities "Bel Air Hallmarks" which include: beds with dazzling white, Feather pillows, ultraplush duvet, shining white luxury bed linens, leading-edge technology matters, DVD player in each room, In-Room iPod connectivity, Non-conventional design and more.
Our guests will experience the great Bel Air in the Riviera Maya enjoying the services of the pool, children's water park, gym, spa, concierge, parking and travel agency. In Bel Air Xpu-Ha Riviera Maya you can enjoy of the great non-motorized activities such as snorkeling and kayaking in the different canals and cenotes surrounding the property and a leisurely bike ride.The hotel features a variety of specialty restaurants Mexican, Italian, International and Japanese, and 3 bars Pool Snack Bar, Lobby Bar and Aqua Bar.
Discover the Bel Air Delights Experience "The great little details to make your stay a memorable one" from a cocktail to Petite Fours in your room every morning and enjoy a rich and light breakfast in the "Early Bird Breakfast", delight with the best selection of Teas in our "Tea Time", and to end the day appreciate the sunset with a glass of sparkling wine in our exclusive "Sunset Corner" the exact minute in the right place.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bel Air Collection Resort and Spa Riviera Maya also booked these hotels.

Bel Air Collection Resort and Spa Riviera Maya Rooms

Deluxe Ville Ep Plan
Deluxe Ville Ep Plan room offers 1 King Bed or 2 Double Bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, clothes dryer, color TV, disabled facilities, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, jacuzzi / whirlpool / spa bath, laundry service, mini bar, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay TV, room service, safe in room, telephone, tea and coffee making facilities. A unique layout of a cozy and peaceful guestrooms in liberate getaway with all the luxury and comfort of a five stars resort, refurbished indoors with jacuzzi and branding amenities; a relaxed exterior and a spacious terrace with hammock.
Deluxe Ville Gormet Meal Plan
Deluxe Ville Gormet Meal Plan offers 1 king bed or 2 double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, clothes dryer, color TV, disabled facilities, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, jacuzzi / whirlpool / spa bath, laundry service, mini bar, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay TV, room service, safe in room, telephone, tea and coffee making facilities. A unique layout of a cozy and peaceful guestrooms in liberate getaway with all the luxury and comfort of a five stars resort, refurbished indoors with jacuzzi and branding amenities; a relaxed exterior and a spacious terrace with hammock. Includes, all meals a la carte, premium drinks, snacks and beverages in all bars, minibar refill, room service on cost, tips upon a quality service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Azur
International fusion cuisine
Dolce Mexico Restaurant
Fusion Cuisine Italian and Mexican
Sushi & Martini
Experience Japanese and Oriental
Pool Snack Bar
Cocktails, snacks and grill cuisine
Lobby Bar
Lobby Majestic Mayan style with pool tables and karaoke
Aqua Bar
Cocktail snacks in a cosmopolitan
Restaurant
A gourmet experience in each of the restaurants, from Mexican-Italian fusion cuisine to sushi & martini delightful Japanese style, all in a la carte menu selection. Premium brand drinks and appetizing snacks in the Bars at Lobby and pool area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Bel Air Collection Resort and Spa Riviera Maya

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.1

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort and Spa Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lynnsk
Business
Pittsburgh
Mar 27, 2014

Travelers beware

The staff is unfriendly , food in worse than bad,no entertainment, dirty pool , watered down alcohol. So bad I had to change hotels! Stay away from this one to many better places for same money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Got to do 5th ave in playa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort and Spa Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr Mau
Business
Veracruz
Feb 24, 2014

Worst experience ever

We got 3 rooms, 2 of them had trouble with AC, in 1 of these 2 rooms there was no TV and telephone in the room. The third room was not available until night. Rooms were not clean, and the time you have to wait for a little car to take you from lobby to your room after the check-in came up to 30 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort and Spa Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jim Mister Accordian
Business
Plano, TX
Feb 19, 2014

Maya Riviera Getaway

My only complaint, and it's a big one was the "restaurant"!. The staff was untrained and unresponsive to service issues. The waiter did not return until 45 minutes after the order was given and only then when we asked "where is our food?"! 10 minutes later it came our "cold"! We sent it back. Was the food good? "Yes"! We went back two days later, and same thing happened. After 1 hr, I walked out. No food! Never going back. I had a car, so we were able to find food and "service" elsewhere. They need to restaff the food services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort and Spa Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr Mau
Business
Veracruz
Feb 4, 2014

worst experience

I had reservation for 3 rooms, and the experience was the worst I have ever had in La Riviera Maya. First when We arrived at the hotel, I had to wait 1 hour to do the check-in because there was a long waiting line, and only 2 people in the chek-in desk. Then they gave us 3 rooms: Room 1 had problem with Air Conditioner and the WC in the bathroom did not have the top of it (the seat). Room 2 did not have Air Conditioner control, there was no TV and no Telephone in the room. They fixed AC, installed a TV which was broken (imposible to turn on), and telephone never arrived. Room 3 they gave a card-key to open the room at the reception, and when we got there, after a long way, the room door had a different lock, so we had to go back and ask them for the right key, which did not find and had to give us a different room. I have to say that because of all these problems with the3 rooms, it was imposible to get on time to the weeding we were supposed to attend, and it was the main reason why we went to La Riviera Maya.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort and Spa Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
seahook
Business
Arizona
Dec 4, 2013

Good experience other than check-in

The Villas are one room upstairs (with a balcony) and one downstairs (with a terrace) as described by this website. The rooms are quite nice with comfortable beds, cold (but humid) A/C, nice towels, etc. The staff (other than check-in) are very polite and helpful. The grounds around the rooms are jungle-y and provide habitat for lots of birds and critters. The only thing that marred our three-day stay was the check-in process. We had driven all day from the Calakmul Biosphere Reserve in Campeche state through numerous thunderstorms and were anxious to get settled in, unwind and relax. We had reserved an upstairs balcony room as this was important to us. When we checked in, I asked the clerk if the room he was assigning us was upstairs and received an answer in the affirmative. The bellman loaded us and our luggage onto his motorized tram, took us to the villa and proceeded to open the downstairs room. I told him this was a mistake as we had reserved an upstairs room with a balcony. "No problema", he said and took me back to reception while my wife waited at the villa with our luggage. He spoke with the clerk and I expected him to hop back on the cart with me, new key in hand. Instead, he told me I needed to speak with the clerk at reception. Which I did only to have him explain to me that the balcony room I had reserved was really a deluxe downstairs room and that if I had reserved an upstairs room, it would have been described as a "palapa" room. I explained to him that downstairs rooms don't have balconies, that the term "palapa" wasn't used by this website for either the upstairs or the downstairs rooms and insisted I be given a room that I had reserved. He of course said that he'd have to have his manager authorize the "change" and that I should have a seat in the reception area. I was finally given a key to an upstairs room after a wait approaching an hour and a half and many trips up to the desk to ask why it was taking so long. Each of these trips generated a flurry of activity, a phone call or two and a request that I take a seat in the reception area. All this time my wife was waiting back at the original room with our luggage unable to shower, unpack or otherwise relax. Once the burn wore off regarding the check-in process, we had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the many amenities offered by the hotel including short shuttle trips to a very nice beach where they have a bar, chairs and umbrellas. In subsequent interactions with the reception personnel, I found them to be courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Verify your room designation with the hotel itself after making your reservation to avoid the hassle I endured.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort and Spa Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phoenix Hari
Business
California
Dec 2, 2013

Good place. Worth the money.

Transport inside the resort is only my means of a shuttle. Getting a shuttle on time and frequency is a problem here. Some animals along the walk way scare you at night. Some small particles keep falling off from the roof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort and Spa Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexico City Duo
Business
Indiana
Jan 3, 2013

Exceeded our expectations. The animals are back!

We couldn't believe this was only a three star hotel! The staff were the most friendly and helpful we have ever experienced. There were tons of free extras that we were not expecting, such as a jacuzzi in our room, kayaking and snorkeling in the estuary, a shuttle to the XpuHa beach and guided tours to see the animals that live around the resort. Several earlier review writers lamented that the animals were gone, but the resort now has several different kinds of animals on display and is working on bringing more. There were a crocodile, porcupines, exotic birds, small monkeys, several varieties of deer, a tiger family and many more. It was so much fun to walk by the animal enclosures and see what the animals were up to as we went to different places in the resort. Because of the jungle setting, there are many wild (and perfectly safe) small animals around the resort, like raccoons and lizards. The resort did not have many guests during our stay, so it was very quiet and still--just what we were looking for! The only disappointment we had was with the dining options. We were looking for more traditional Mexican food, but they try to make their menus a bit more fancy with an international theme. The least expensive main dishes were about $10 per person. It was satisfactory food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Adventure parks, the ruins at Tulum and Playa del Carmen are only a short, inexpensive bus ride away. Small, comfortable buses pass by the main road in front of the hotel frequently.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort and Spa Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mac traveler g
Business
Nyc
Sep 29, 2012

Great hotel, we had such a good time that we extended our stay

Ecological hotel with bunch of stuff to see and do. Many few visitors in the hotel which was great because we had the pool to ourselves... Great value for your money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take the all inclusive it's worth the money for sure

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort and Spa Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LadyJustus
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Perfect Honeymoon May 2010

We stayed at this hotel when it was the palace hotel back in 2010. I am sad to see that the animals are gone - that was probably the best part about this place. The pride in the crocodile handler's eyes when he told us about his time spent with Steve Irwin was priceless. Also, how often do you get to walk by Coatimundis, flamingos, turtles, crocodiles, and monkeys on your way to breakfast? And snorkel with a manatee in your private lagoon? Sad to hear it's changed hands. It doesn't surprise me though, with the way the resort was divided up after the hurricane. I always thought the "other half" looked like a setting for a horror flick. Still, it was a nearly perfect honeymoon. Watch out for mosquitoes in the rainy season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort and Spa Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maine honeymooners
Business
Maine
Dec 13, 2011

Quiet get-away with friendly staff

Xpu Ha is in transition. We had also been here two years ago, both times with all-inclusive deals. Then it was a palace resort and more was going on. We absolutely LOVED our stay last time. Now, as a Bel Air resort, we're unsure of where Xpu Ha is headed. Many things around the resort are either run-down or gone (no animals anymore!). The only Bel Air "improvement" we could note was the addition of a sushi restaraunt (which was a strange experience). Positives that remain include wonderful staff, cool rooms, nice pool & pool bar and a general peacefulness of the place. On the downside we were first disapointed to see the animals and animal rehabilitation center gone. The giftshop is also closed leaving no place to buy amenities. The rooms are a bit run-down but still maintain some of the same charm. Palace remnants are gone such as labels on phones, menus, robes, etc. We were also disapointed in items no longer included in the "all inclusive" such as tips and room service. Finally, the restaurant menu looks exactly the same as it did two years ago and is in severe need of upgrading/updating. After a week you realize that you've had everything on there and half of the items utilize the same red sauce. We still had a nice time there but hope that Bel Air will decide to restore Xpu Ha to it's previous wonder and not run it into the ground!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

-Walk down the beach to neighboring resorts and find amenities like sun lotion. -The trip planner there was Gabriel and he was very helpful. -The collectivo runs between Playa del Carmen and Tulum. You can go out to the road and catch it for 20-30 pesos. We used this for trips to Tulum and Yaxmuul (highly recommended).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top