$231 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal- km 266.3, Riviera Maya, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
2,081 reviews
excellent place to stay

there are nothing but great things to say about this property. food and service are excellent.... See full review

  • eeyore and garfield
  • May 28, 2014
Amaizng place

We went to this hotel for early summer vacation. This was our first time in Mexico, but definitely... See full review

  • DInche
  • May 25, 2014
Offering 24-hour drinks, snacks and meals, the Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex combines convenience with luxury at four distinct resort areas: Barcelo Maya Beach, Maya Caribe, Maya Colonial Beach and Maya Tropical. Recently renovated bars, restaurants, and ocean- or garden-facing accommodations transport guests to a relaxing Caribbean environment. Dine on international buffet dishes or local Mexican flavors and sip refreshing fruit juices before taking a dip in the pool. Families can unwind with Mayan-inspired spa treatments at the spa, or adults can drop the kids off at the Barcy Club, which hosts a range of activities - from balloon contests to soccer and board games.
Key facts
  • Suites and family rooms
  • Wi-Fi access (fees may apply)
  • Spa facilities, which offers treatments for adults and children
  • Conference spaces
  • Bars and restaurants at each resort
  • Dolphinaris at Barcelo - interactive dolphin experience
  • Children's Club
  • Swimming pool
  • Trips and excursions available
  • Gym
  • Shopping center
  • Children's playground
  • Nightclub
  • Kukulcan Theater with live shows
  • Sports and beach facilities
Neighborhood
The Barcelo resort is situated on the shore just south of central Playa del Carmen. Enjoy a refreshing swim in the calm, warm waters just off the coast, or venture further out on a boat ride to Cozumel Island. Two major natural resources - Parque Nacional de Quintana Roo and Parque Nacional Tulum - are just a short bus or car ride south along the coastal highway. Visitors to these parks can explore lush jungles and an ancient, walled Mayan city, or go for a scuba session in a natural cave. Guests that decide not to wander too far from their rooms can still go swimming with dolphins or enjoy golf at the resort.
Hints and tips
Join guided tours to Mayan relics like Chichen Itza and modern parks like Xcaret for an additional fee, or get your adventure fix at the Tulum Extreme zip-lining circuit.

Book rooms on higher levels for excellent views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.4885 -87.2484
Area served
Barcelo Maya Palace Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, 9 miles from Xcaret and 45 miles from Cancun International Airport. This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 16 miles from Xel-Ha, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport. 75 Km south of Cancun International Airport. Barcelo Maya Beach resorts Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex Rooms

Barcelo Maya Beach Room
Terrace or balcony, full bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, LCD screen with remote control, telephone with mail-box, alarm clock, bathrobes, hairdryer, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, mini-bar (stocked daily), in-room safe, iron & ironing board, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size bed or 2 full-size beds, the total area with 27.80 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Tropical Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Colonial Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Club Premium Suites
*Private Check In and Check Out in an exclusive Club Premium area. *Personalized concierge services only for Club Premium clients. *The Best room view in our exclusive Club Premium area. *Petit fours and domestic bottle of champagne in the room upon arrival. *Pool towels in the room. *VIP Minibar (sodas, water, beer and snack) *Premium amenities in the room. *Priority to reserve in a la carte restaurantes *Unlimited reservations, subject to availability). *Exclusive Club Premium Lounge with international drink, canapes, continental breakfast, table games, books, newspaper, free internet (Opern from 7.00hts to 23hrs) *Free local calls. *Free wireless internet. *Express laundry service with regular charge. *20% off in the spa and beaty salon. (restrictions apply)
Barcelo Maya Beach Junior Suite Club Premium
Spacious Junior suite with 593sq which combines exclusive Club Premium area location, jacuzzi on the terrace and a spectacular view. Receive exclusive benefits of our Club Premium concept. There's a fine selection of petit fours and a bottle of domestic sparkling wine on arrival.
Barcelo Maya Caribe Room
Terrace or balcony, full bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, LCD screen with remote control, telephone with mail-box, alarm clock, bathrobes, hairdryer, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, mini-bar (stocked daily), in-room safe, iron & ironing board, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size bed or 2 full-size beds, the total area with 27.80 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Keeping pace in today's business climate requires state-ofthe-art facilities and resources combined with the special touch of a highly professional staff. The Barcelo Maya Convention Center is just such a place, offering a total of 8 spacious meeting rooms with a total capacity for up to 1,400 people. Meetings and event planners have the latest audiovisual equipment at their disposal as well as a wide range of support services, such as an executive business center, theme parties, gourmet cuisine, shows, and more. For those who thrive on getting the job done right, the Barcelo Maya Convention Center is your temple of productivity.

Dining

Mexico Lindo
A la carte dinner Mexican restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Marenostrum
A la carte dinner Mediterranean-style fish and seafood restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Kyoto
A la carte dinner Japanese restaurant prior reservation(open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal dress required
Capri
A la carte dinner Italian restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Santa Fe
A la carte dinner steak house restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Don Quijote
A la carte dinner Spanish restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress requiered

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (2081)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
2081 out of 2081
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cleta
Rome, GA
Feb 11, 2013

Vacation

Great Hotel, beach, and services. We would have like to have had some ballroom dance music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelers from Nebraska
Lincoln, NE
Feb 6, 2013

Relaxing, yet fun!

Upon arrival, we learned the Tropical resort, which we reserved, was full. So, we were upgraded to the Palace... which made us ecstatic of course! Our entire experience overall was amazing... the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It was nice to have the feeling of being taken care of with any request we had! The only negative comment we have is that our room was missing a coffee maker, an ice bucket and the foam pad on our bed. However, when I called the front desk to request these things, our request was immediately taken care of! We were very impressed on the cleanliness of our room... when we'd return from being out all day, we'd come back to an emaculate room! Regarding our stay overall, it was a very relaxing trip, but also fun to see the planned activities throughout the day. It was great to have such a selection for shopping around the resort. The food at each restaurant was delicious; as well as the buffet food. We had the buffet every day for breakfast and lunch and were happy with such a wide selection and choices for the food! It was a wonderful experience and we would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dirod
Midwest, USA
Feb 3, 2013

2nd. time better than 1st.

My wife and I stayed here last year and had a great time,food was good, lots of beach area never felt crowded, room was fine, ect. We went back this year with 7 other family members and they just raved on how beautiful the grounds are, and how well they they maintain them. The food seemed to be better this year than last, not sure why, it just tasted better, and the deserts were awesome. Would, and will return again, you wont go wrong at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NicolaiRaser
Calgary
Jan 29, 2013

The dreams come true

We stayed at Barcelo Tropical and really enjoyed our vacation. The hotel is clean and staff is very friendly. The buffet has a variety of delicious food and drinks. We were in a different restaurants, and the Mexican Restaurant was our favorite. We'll definitely come back to this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Mexican Restaurant on a beach.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MeganZacher
Denver CO
Jan 29, 2013

Great family resort

We loved our stay at Barcelo Maya and are excited to return again - the only issues we had was the Family Suite was not as pictured on the website and didn't have extra beds or a balcony. After copious complaining they agreed to move us and we were very happy with our new room. The beds are hard and very uncomfortable but the food is great and the beach and pools can't be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
B Mac
Missouri, USA
Jan 28, 2013

Not a four star experence

Room was suppose to have 2 queen size beds , instead they were standard beds,but the rooms were clean. The resort really tried to nickel- dime you continuously. Food was good in the buffet. The specialty restaurants was a joke, (a steak house that did not serve a steak, a seafood restaurant that did not serve seafood, the Asia restaurant was not to bad, The beach was OK, a person could do a little snorkeling . The bartenders expected a tip ever time you got a drink,(you would get THAT look if you didn't tip). All in all (IMO), not worth the money you paid for a four star restaurant !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WI Freezer
Wisconsin
Jan 25, 2013

Over all experience

The room was very nice, the staff was great, although limited English. Food was ok but not as good as we have had other places. The evening entertainment started at 9:30 pm, wished it started a little earlier, even 9:00 would be better. The entertainment lacked a lot. One night out of 8 was very good (a Micheal Jackson impersonator), other nights were so-so (Mexician Dancers doing native dances. One night of that was fine, but it kept coming several nights.) One night was Karoke which was so-so. The beach is beautiful, free kayaks, and paddle boats to use. Can get free scuba lessons in the pool. For the price it's a nice trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping at the resort is good, we also drove into Playa del Carman about 20 miles away and shopping there was good too, plus you get a good look at a Mexican city. We felt safe during the day, but I would not go there after dark.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Packer Fan 51
Wisconsin
Jan 25, 2013

Was better on previous trip

Stayed at Barcelo Colonial three years ago and it was fabulous. Just got back from January 2013 vacation to the Barcelo Tropcal and it was not nearly as nice. The food was not as good as prior trip and had an awful time getting decent pillows and more than one washcloth. The resort is still beauttiful and the staff very friendly, but the extras were missing this time. The nightly entertainment was terrible. Will probably not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vijollca
Boston, MA
Jan 15, 2013

Perfect Vacation

Beach was amazing. Food was great!!! Hotel was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thrilled vacationer
BC, Canada
Jan 4, 2013

Fabulous resort for all ages!

This was our first time at an all inclusive and we loved the security and freedom offered at the Barcelo. It's a beautiful facility with friendly, helpful staff and great food. Although, it is a large resort it never seemed too crowded. There are lots of activities for active guests or beach space, loungers and hammocks for those who desire complete rest. I would advise guests to book their restaurant reservations immediately but don't worry if your too late because the buffet is always fantastic with multiple options for everyone. Also check out tours with various companies located at the resort next to the lobby to compare prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top