$231 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal- km 266.3, Riviera Maya, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
2,081 reviews
excellent place to stay

there are nothing but great things to say about this property. food and service are excellent.... See full review

  • eeyore and garfield
  • May 28, 2014
Amaizng place

We went to this hotel for early summer vacation. This was our first time in Mexico, but definitely... See full review

  • DInche
  • May 25, 2014
Offering 24-hour drinks, snacks and meals, the Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex combines convenience with luxury at four distinct resort areas: Barcelo Maya Beach, Maya Caribe, Maya Colonial Beach and Maya Tropical. Recently renovated bars, restaurants, and ocean- or garden-facing accommodations transport guests to a relaxing Caribbean environment. Dine on international buffet dishes or local Mexican flavors and sip refreshing fruit juices before taking a dip in the pool. Families can unwind with Mayan-inspired spa treatments at the spa, or adults can drop the kids off at the Barcy Club, which hosts a range of activities - from balloon contests to soccer and board games.
Key facts
  • Suites and family rooms
  • Wi-Fi access (fees may apply)
  • Spa facilities, which offers treatments for adults and children
  • Conference spaces
  • Bars and restaurants at each resort
  • Dolphinaris at Barcelo - interactive dolphin experience
  • Children's Club
  • Swimming pool
  • Trips and excursions available
  • Gym
  • Shopping center
  • Children's playground
  • Nightclub
  • Kukulcan Theater with live shows
  • Sports and beach facilities
Neighborhood
The Barcelo resort is situated on the shore just south of central Playa del Carmen. Enjoy a refreshing swim in the calm, warm waters just off the coast, or venture further out on a boat ride to Cozumel Island. Two major natural resources - Parque Nacional de Quintana Roo and Parque Nacional Tulum - are just a short bus or car ride south along the coastal highway. Visitors to these parks can explore lush jungles and an ancient, walled Mayan city, or go for a scuba session in a natural cave. Guests that decide not to wander too far from their rooms can still go swimming with dolphins or enjoy golf at the resort.
Hints and tips
Join guided tours to Mayan relics like Chichen Itza and modern parks like Xcaret for an additional fee, or get your adventure fix at the Tulum Extreme zip-lining circuit.

Book rooms on higher levels for excellent views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.4885 -87.2484
Area served
Barcelo Maya Palace Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, 9 miles from Xcaret and 45 miles from Cancun International Airport. This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 16 miles from Xel-Ha, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport. 75 Km south of Cancun International Airport. Barcelo Maya Beach resorts Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex Rooms

Barcelo Maya Beach Room
Terrace or balcony, full bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, LCD screen with remote control, telephone with mail-box, alarm clock, bathrobes, hairdryer, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, mini-bar (stocked daily), in-room safe, iron & ironing board, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size bed or 2 full-size beds, the total area with 27.80 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Tropical Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Colonial Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Club Premium Suites
*Private Check In and Check Out in an exclusive Club Premium area. *Personalized concierge services only for Club Premium clients. *The Best room view in our exclusive Club Premium area. *Petit fours and domestic bottle of champagne in the room upon arrival. *Pool towels in the room. *VIP Minibar (sodas, water, beer and snack) *Premium amenities in the room. *Priority to reserve in a la carte restaurantes *Unlimited reservations, subject to availability). *Exclusive Club Premium Lounge with international drink, canapes, continental breakfast, table games, books, newspaper, free internet (Opern from 7.00hts to 23hrs) *Free local calls. *Free wireless internet. *Express laundry service with regular charge. *20% off in the spa and beaty salon. (restrictions apply)
Barcelo Maya Beach Junior Suite Club Premium
Spacious Junior suite with 593sq which combines exclusive Club Premium area location, jacuzzi on the terrace and a spectacular view. Receive exclusive benefits of our Club Premium concept. There's a fine selection of petit fours and a bottle of domestic sparkling wine on arrival.
Barcelo Maya Caribe Room
Terrace or balcony, full bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, LCD screen with remote control, telephone with mail-box, alarm clock, bathrobes, hairdryer, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, mini-bar (stocked daily), in-room safe, iron & ironing board, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size bed or 2 full-size beds, the total area with 27.80 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Keeping pace in today's business climate requires state-ofthe-art facilities and resources combined with the special touch of a highly professional staff. The Barcelo Maya Convention Center is just such a place, offering a total of 8 spacious meeting rooms with a total capacity for up to 1,400 people. Meetings and event planners have the latest audiovisual equipment at their disposal as well as a wide range of support services, such as an executive business center, theme parties, gourmet cuisine, shows, and more. For those who thrive on getting the job done right, the Barcelo Maya Convention Center is your temple of productivity.

Dining

Mexico Lindo
A la carte dinner Mexican restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Marenostrum
A la carte dinner Mediterranean-style fish and seafood restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Kyoto
A la carte dinner Japanese restaurant prior reservation(open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal dress required
Capri
A la carte dinner Italian restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Santa Fe
A la carte dinner steak house restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Don Quijote
A la carte dinner Spanish restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress requiered

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (2081)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
2081 out of 2081
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mandymoore
yucatan
May 27, 2013

amazing

great hotel, the staff is very nice and helpfull!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Jersey Lucy
New Jersey
May 27, 2013

Fun in the Sun

We are booked to stay in Barcelo Colonial but having problem when I arrived, they move me to or upgrade me to Palace. Hotel is beautiful. Food from buffet is good. Food for reserved restaurant - stay way. Staff are friendly. House keeping is wonderful. Beach is ok but not too great. Swimming pools are good. The negative, when check out , I've ask about towels, at first I did not understand it but later I realized that what he meant is if I bag some of the hotel towels w/c I felt very rude. First time it happened to me asking about towels. Also they started early like 6:30AM cutting grass. But majority I would say is very satisfactory and looking for going back. I dont mind paying extra just for additional night entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
binski
St Clair Michigan
Apr 9, 2013

great value for the family

We were there on spring break and the only complaint I have is I wish there were more pool activities. A good pool entertainment staff would have made this trip excellent and slowed down some of the drinking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gcdc
michigan
Apr 8, 2013

very relaxing trip

love the place. have been back several times and looking forward to returning again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xel Ha is a fun day

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cd4cy
Ankeny, Iowa
Apr 2, 2013

High School Spring Break trip

There are actually 5 "hotels" to choose from in this resort. We chose the Caribe for the price, but when I go again, I will stay at the Tropical. The rooms at the Caribe were bare minimum rooms and not cleaned daily. We hung out at the Tropical pool and resturant most days. That is where the action is!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The disco is not available to those under 17 as it is posted. Talk to your travel agent in the hotel you stay in Barcelo to review your options. DO NOT SWITCH WRIST BANDS!!!

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pata de Perro
Guadalajara
Mar 21, 2013

Excellent vacation

I read several reviews of this hotel and decided to visit it. One important note that this site doesn't clear is that this Barcelo Riviera complex contains 5 different hotels, 2 are lower end ( Beach and Caribe) 2 higher end ( Tropical and Colonial) and the premium one called Palace, The layout is divided in the first 2 in one small bay, and the last 3 in the greater bay. We arrived to the Colonial and was a wonderful experience, prepare to bring some dollars for tipping that is common and all the staff will do an incredible job to make you feel comfortable. As we stayed 4 days, we got 2 access to the premium restaurants, I suggest reserving for this service the day you arrive and I recommend the Japanese restaurant and the seafood one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

book the premium restaurants near the lobby the day you arrive as the restaurants have limited space.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KCCK
PA
Feb 26, 2013

hotel review

Wonderful location! Only down side was the room-bed was very hard and room had an odor to it, Other than this it was perfect! Would go back again!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring formal clothes for the restaurants or else you can't eat at them.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dora de explorer
New York
Feb 24, 2013

Good times

Best restaurant is the sea food , I wont recommend the steak house ,buffet is very good and depending who you get for the fresh juice they are amazing , no service in the beach area but overall it is a very nice resort very clean the shows at night are very nice , I will come back to Barcelo Maya Tropical \ Oh wake up early and before anything reserve a chair by the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

make your reservations for a la cart restaurants as soon as you get to the resort

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
We love this beach
Ontario, Canada
Feb 22, 2013

Another perfect trip

Have stayed at this resort several times over the years and we are never disappointed. The resort continues to be well maintained, staff very friendly and helpful and amenities excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family Vacation Lovers
New York, New York
Feb 22, 2013

Barcelo Palace - great family place

We were upgraded from Barcelo Maya Tropical to Barcelo Maya. It was a fantastic experience. They did an excellent job. No annoying people walking on the beach and selling services or products. Everything is managed by hotel. Beaches are beautiful. Very nice lounges with enough shade. Rooms, hotel itself , and the pools including children's water parks are clean and spotless. Enough activities for everybody. Food is excellent, restaurants are presentable - Italian, Seafood, Japanese, and French - more available in other hotels that are right next door. This was 5-star experience. You can have a great walk on the beach or you can see other 4 hotels next door. Rooms were great size. Bathroom suits, yes, suits, offered bathrobes, slippers, aroma candles, bathtubs with aroma salts, and next to it was another shower; double sink with all toiletry you can think of - and refilled daily. Refrigerator was refilled daily too. We loved Coral grill for our lunches - fantastic view of the sea. The most valuable are people working for this hotel. They are smiling and trying to please you even some of the tourist have no limits in what to expect or ask for.... Now a few other facts: the hotel is an about 70 km away from the airport (50 min to 1 hr drive) - but it went by quickly even with our 18 months toddler. Prepare for a longer check in or check out - this is not expected from 5 star hotel. But we went to Pop Movies Disney World hotels in Orlando, and the checkin time was even longer - but it is 3 star hotel, that's true. Hotels offers free bottled water - great feature. I have to mention one more thing - it can get very noisy at night because of the building structure that can create echo. Don't get me wrong, buildings and middle grounds are spectacular, but once some wedding guest gets drunk, you can hear him for a long time till he gets to his room.One night a drunk person knocked on our door 4x. You can also hear noise from outside : late disco and plus rolling wheelcarts that carry towels and other stuff all night. We heard it all since nights were colder than usually in February, and we turned AC off . I guess once AC is on, you re good:)) overall, we enjoyed our vacation and were pleased by hotel, it's services, and beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hotel is placed closer to Coba, Tulum, and other attractions than others. Take advantage of it by renting a car and driving to these places. It was safe to drive there even with a baby and not speaking Spanish at all.

Back to menu Return to top