$230 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal- km 266.3, Riviera Maya, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
1,218 reviews
Fantastic getaway

The location was perfect, the staff was friendly and accommodating, and the food was great. We will... See full review

  • Erik Izzo
  • Jul 29, 2014
excellent place to stay

there are nothing but great things to say about this property. food and service are excellent.... See full review

  • eeyore and garfield
  • May 28, 2014
Offering 24-hour drinks, snacks and meals, the Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex combines convenience with luxury at four distinct resort areas: Barcelo Maya Beach, Maya Caribe, Maya Colonial Beach and Maya Tropical. Recently renovated bars, restaurants, and ocean- or garden-facing accommodations transport guests to a relaxing Caribbean environment. Dine on international buffet dishes or local Mexican flavors and sip refreshing fruit juices before taking a dip in the pool. Families can unwind with Mayan-inspired spa treatments at the spa, or adults can drop the kids off at the Barcy Club, which hosts a range of activities - from balloon contests to soccer and board games.
Key facts
  • Suites and family rooms
  • Wi-Fi access (fees may apply)
  • Spa facilities, which offers treatments for adults and children
  • Conference spaces
  • Bars and restaurants at each resort
  • Dolphinaris at Barcelo - interactive dolphin experience
  • Children's Club
  • Swimming pool
  • Trips and excursions available
  • Gym
  • Shopping center
  • Children's playground
  • Nightclub
  • Kukulcan Theater with live shows
  • Sports and beach facilities
Neighborhood
The Barcelo resort is situated on the shore just south of central Playa del Carmen. Enjoy a refreshing swim in the calm, warm waters just off the coast, or venture further out on a boat ride to Cozumel Island. Two major natural resources - Parque Nacional de Quintana Roo and Parque Nacional Tulum - are just a short bus or car ride south along the coastal highway. Visitors to these parks can explore lush jungles and an ancient, walled Mayan city, or go for a scuba session in a natural cave. Guests that decide not to wander too far from their rooms can still go swimming with dolphins or enjoy golf at the resort.
Hints and tips
Join guided tours to Mayan relics like Chichen Itza and modern parks like Xcaret for an additional fee, or get your adventure fix at the Tulum Extreme zip-lining circuit.

Book rooms on higher levels for excellent views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.4885 -87.2484
Area served
Barcelo Maya Palace Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, 9 miles from Xcaret and 45 miles from Cancun International Airport. This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 16 miles from Xel-Ha, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport. 75 Km south of Cancun International Airport. Barcelo Maya Beach resorts Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex Rooms

Barcelo Maya Beach Room
Terrace or balcony, full bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, LCD screen with remote control, telephone with mail-box, alarm clock, bathrobes, hairdryer, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, mini-bar (stocked daily), in-room safe, iron & ironing board, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size bed or 2 full-size beds, the total area with 27.80 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Beach Junior Suite Club Premium
Spacious Junior suite with 593sq which combines exclusive Club Premium area location, jacuzzi on the terrace and a spectacular view. Receive exclusive benefits of our Club Premium concept. There's a fine selection of petit fours and a bottle of domestic sparkling wine on arrival.
Barcelo Maya Colonial Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Tropical Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Club Premium Suites
*Private Check In and Check Out in an exclusive Club Premium area. *Personalized concierge services only for Club Premium clients. *The Best room view in our exclusive Club Premium area. *Petit fours and domestic bottle of champagne in the room upon arrival. *Pool towels in the room. *VIP Minibar (sodas, water, beer and snack) *Premium amenities in the room. *Priority to reserve in a la carte restaurantes *Unlimited reservations, subject to availability). *Exclusive Club Premium Lounge with international drink, canapes, continental breakfast, table games, books, newspaper, free internet (Opern from 7.00hts to 23hrs) *Free local calls. *Free wireless internet. *Express laundry service with regular charge. *20% off in the spa and beaty salon. (restrictions apply)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking

Dining

Mexico Lindo
A la carte dinner Mexican restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Marenostrum
A la carte dinner Mediterranean-style fish and seafood restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Kyoto
A la carte dinner Japanese restaurant prior reservation(open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal dress required
Capri
A la carte dinner Italian restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Santa Fe
A la carte dinner steak house restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Keeping pace in today's business climate requires state-ofthe-art facilities and resources combined with the special touch of a highly professional staff. The Barcelo Maya Convention Center is just such a place, offering a total of 8 spacious meeting rooms with a total capacity for up to 1,400 people. Meetings and event planners have the latest audiovisual equipment at their disposal as well as a wide range of support services, such as an executive business center, theme parties, gourmet cuisine, shows, and more. For those who thrive on getting the job done right, the Barcelo Maya Convention Center is your temple of productivity.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1218)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
1218 out of 1218
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fnord
Denver, Co
Mar 3, 2014

Great Place for Family

Stayed here with a family of 5, it was great. Food, service, facilities, pool, beach, weather, cleanliness, all great. There are two things they need to improve: 1. The mattresses in the colonial maya are bad, not old, just stiff feel the springs coming through type mattresses. Both our beds were like this, the sofa bed was more comfortable. 2. Forget trying to get into one of their restaurants. You can't make a reservation before you get there, then when you get there you can't make a reservation cause its booked. My wife begged our way into one of the restaurants for one night, and guess what, over half the tables were empty. Seems like they didn't want you to eat at the restaurants. Other than those two items, you can't go wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xel ha is not to be missed.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jclay
Jersey shore
Mar 3, 2014

family getaway

Wi-Fi should be included. It's disturbing and heartbreaking to see they keep 5 to 7 dolphins in a kiddie size pool for human entertainment..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spanish world traveler
Mountain View, California
Mar 1, 2014

Good hotel in a nice location

This is a good hotel, located near some nice "cenotes". The landscaping is nice and it's well maintained. The hotel is really clean.The buffet is good but it's the same every single day, they don't change it and you get bored after a few days. The website said they had a teenager club and a teenager disco so we chose this hotel because I have a 13 year old. When we arrived there they told us the teenager club is only open during high season. That was a big dissapointment but the animation crew around the pool were really helpful: Edgar and Noviembre tried to make sure we were always having a good time. I cannot say the same thing about the night shows. We didn't like them very much. Every night it was the same team doing something different but they were not very good. Overall is a nice hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You have some nice cenotes to swim in just 5 minutes walking from the hotel.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jhoov
Utah
Feb 28, 2014

Annual Vacation

My wife and I have stayed at the Barcello Riviera Maya 8 times now. I have also stayed in several different resorts in Cancun and Playa Del Carmen, but I always get dissapointed when i stay some place else. We have stayed in all of the different complexes, the Palace, Tropical, Colonial, Carrib, and the Beach. Each one has it's advantages, however I have loved all of them. My wife and I will continue to stay at the Barcello complex, as it seems to be the best value anywhere around Cancun. The facility has everything you could want to make a fantastic vacation. Hobie Cats, wind surfing and water trikes as well as a golf chipping and putting course are all there to use free of charge. With fantastic snorkeling right off the beach. Snorkel, SCUBA, Deep sea fishing, as well as other tours are all available from the tour desk. The Barcello complex continues to make improvements and upgrades. They recently upgraded the Beach Hotel's front reception area restaurant and bars. They also added a Dolphin experience pool, where you can swim with the dolphins right on the property. Its really cool They have also added more water slides and kids pools for a real great family experience. The complex has everything to make for a fantastic vacation wether you want activities, or just relax. Lots of shade, or sun, and plenty chairs for everyone. I would highly recommend this resort to ANYONE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

try all of the buffets, as some of them have better food than others. The specialty restaurants are great!

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vikesinms
gulf coast
Feb 11, 2014

a very good trip!

Upon arrival we were given a room with 2 double beds, not what we wanted, but it is what it is. We didn't let that ruin our trip. The food was pretty good at the ala cartes and the buffet was actually good as well. The pools and the beach were great, however there was no servers to bring drinks to you. Not a deal breaker for me, as I didn't mind walking a few feet. My only complaint would be that this is the first trip that we took to an ai that I won't remember any employees. I mean that we never had a memorable experience with any of them, not to say that we had bad service or anything, just nothing exceeded expectations. Overall, a beautiful place and I would recommend it to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mayantastic
Riviera Maya
Feb 11, 2014

Amazing Trip

Wonderful time and very inexpensive for the amount of activities, food, and drinks you get. The only thing that could be changed up is the type of food being served daily at the buffets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Watch weekly for the deals. We paid the smallest amount of money for this trip compared to others that were there at the same time and from the same location as us. Can't wait to go back with our kids next time.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JAYZON
FARGO, ND
Feb 9, 2014

VERY NICE ACCOMMODATIONS - CLOSE TO BEACH

HAVE STAYED AT BARCELO BEFORE AND THE TROPICAL IS VERY NICE. CLOSE TO BEACH AND RESTAURANTS. HOUSEKEEPING IS EXCELLENT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lara Ann
Chicago, IL
Feb 3, 2014

Barcelo Maya Tropical

Most beautiful place! Every one who worked at the hotel was nice and attentive. There really is no need to leave the resort. From different restaurants to excursions, bars, and much more, everything was right at our fingertips. On our one cloudy day (out of 7) we went to the spa for some treatments and the staff was very well educated and it was very relaxing. I never had a bad meal, even at the buffet. Every day the buffet had a different theme. We also had access to the other Barcelo resorts at no cost. The beach was always clean, as well as the pool. Even with all of the other guests it never seemed over crowded and you could always find a place in the sun (or shade). There were also markets to shop at for souvenirs and such, also entertainment every night. I would definitely go back to Riviera Maya and stay at the Barcelo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
From The Tundra
De Pere, WI
Feb 2, 2014

Expected More

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and well-maintained! There are nice walking paths if you like to walk. The pool and beach are very nice and there was never a shortage of chairs anywhere. The only negatives were that upon check-in we felt pressured to upgrade even though there were no premium suites available The only benefits would be the premium drinks, unlimited ala carte reservations, and the Premium Club. In a weak moment, we did upgrade and didn't feel it was worth it since we didn't get a better room, there was hardly ever any ice in the Premium Club, and the food wasn't that great at the ala cartes, except for the steakhouse. We ended up eating at the Buffet most of the time. The buffet was excellent at breakfast, but was very disappointing at dinner. It had about 1/4 of the offerings as breakfast. We have stayed at 2 other resorts in the mayan Riviera and their buffets seemed endless. The staff was very friendly except for the gentleman at check -in. Like I said, very pushy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laributler
Olathe, ks
Jan 25, 2014

Awesome

We loved this place. A little drive from the airport But the location was perfect. Close to akumal and just beautiful. They kept the rooms really clean, always had plenty of towels and would come a couple times a day to ask if we needed more. A great variety of food. We would definitely recommend the Japanese restaurant. A huge resort with a lot to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search