$231 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal- km 266.3, Riviera Maya, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
2,081 reviews
excellent place to stay

there are nothing but great things to say about this property. food and service are excellent.... See full review

  • eeyore and garfield
  • May 28, 2014
Amaizng place

We went to this hotel for early summer vacation. This was our first time in Mexico, but definitely... See full review

  • DInche
  • May 25, 2014
Offering 24-hour drinks, snacks and meals, the Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex combines convenience with luxury at four distinct resort areas: Barcelo Maya Beach, Maya Caribe, Maya Colonial Beach and Maya Tropical. Recently renovated bars, restaurants, and ocean- or garden-facing accommodations transport guests to a relaxing Caribbean environment. Dine on international buffet dishes or local Mexican flavors and sip refreshing fruit juices before taking a dip in the pool. Families can unwind with Mayan-inspired spa treatments at the spa, or adults can drop the kids off at the Barcy Club, which hosts a range of activities - from balloon contests to soccer and board games.
Key facts
  • Suites and family rooms
  • Wi-Fi access (fees may apply)
  • Spa facilities, which offers treatments for adults and children
  • Conference spaces
  • Bars and restaurants at each resort
  • Dolphinaris at Barcelo - interactive dolphin experience
  • Children's Club
  • Swimming pool
  • Trips and excursions available
  • Gym
  • Shopping center
  • Children's playground
  • Nightclub
  • Kukulcan Theater with live shows
  • Sports and beach facilities
Neighborhood
The Barcelo resort is situated on the shore just south of central Playa del Carmen. Enjoy a refreshing swim in the calm, warm waters just off the coast, or venture further out on a boat ride to Cozumel Island. Two major natural resources - Parque Nacional de Quintana Roo and Parque Nacional Tulum - are just a short bus or car ride south along the coastal highway. Visitors to these parks can explore lush jungles and an ancient, walled Mayan city, or go for a scuba session in a natural cave. Guests that decide not to wander too far from their rooms can still go swimming with dolphins or enjoy golf at the resort.
Hints and tips
Join guided tours to Mayan relics like Chichen Itza and modern parks like Xcaret for an additional fee, or get your adventure fix at the Tulum Extreme zip-lining circuit.

Book rooms on higher levels for excellent views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.4885 -87.2484
Area served
Barcelo Maya Palace Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, 9 miles from Xcaret and 45 miles from Cancun International Airport. This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 16 miles from Xel-Ha, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport. 75 Km south of Cancun International Airport. Barcelo Maya Beach resorts Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex Rooms

Barcelo Maya Beach Room
Terrace or balcony, full bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, LCD screen with remote control, telephone with mail-box, alarm clock, bathrobes, hairdryer, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, mini-bar (stocked daily), in-room safe, iron & ironing board, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size bed or 2 full-size beds, the total area with 27.80 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Tropical Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Colonial Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Club Premium Suites
*Private Check In and Check Out in an exclusive Club Premium area. *Personalized concierge services only for Club Premium clients. *The Best room view in our exclusive Club Premium area. *Petit fours and domestic bottle of champagne in the room upon arrival. *Pool towels in the room. *VIP Minibar (sodas, water, beer and snack) *Premium amenities in the room. *Priority to reserve in a la carte restaurantes *Unlimited reservations, subject to availability). *Exclusive Club Premium Lounge with international drink, canapes, continental breakfast, table games, books, newspaper, free internet (Opern from 7.00hts to 23hrs) *Free local calls. *Free wireless internet. *Express laundry service with regular charge. *20% off in the spa and beaty salon. (restrictions apply)
Barcelo Maya Beach Junior Suite Club Premium
Spacious Junior suite with 593sq which combines exclusive Club Premium area location, jacuzzi on the terrace and a spectacular view. Receive exclusive benefits of our Club Premium concept. There's a fine selection of petit fours and a bottle of domestic sparkling wine on arrival.
Barcelo Maya Caribe Room
Terrace or balcony, full bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, LCD screen with remote control, telephone with mail-box, alarm clock, bathrobes, hairdryer, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, mini-bar (stocked daily), in-room safe, iron & ironing board, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size bed or 2 full-size beds, the total area with 27.80 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Keeping pace in today's business climate requires state-ofthe-art facilities and resources combined with the special touch of a highly professional staff. The Barcelo Maya Convention Center is just such a place, offering a total of 8 spacious meeting rooms with a total capacity for up to 1,400 people. Meetings and event planners have the latest audiovisual equipment at their disposal as well as a wide range of support services, such as an executive business center, theme parties, gourmet cuisine, shows, and more. For those who thrive on getting the job done right, the Barcelo Maya Convention Center is your temple of productivity.

Dining

Mexico Lindo
A la carte dinner Mexican restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Marenostrum
A la carte dinner Mediterranean-style fish and seafood restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Kyoto
A la carte dinner Japanese restaurant prior reservation(open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal dress required
Capri
A la carte dinner Italian restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Santa Fe
A la carte dinner steak house restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Don Quijote
A la carte dinner Spanish restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress requiered

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (2081)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
2081 out of 2081
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrankyQuebec
Quebec, Canada
Mar 14, 2012

Good resort

I love Barcelo Maya. That's the 4th time we go there with the kids and it's just perfect for us. For the price, we eat very well, have a lots of activities to do (small water park, huge pools etc...). We have tried Iberostar but we prefer Barcelo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saravana
Mt Prospect, IL, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Good Place for a getaway

The only disappointment was that, we were promised a beach view suite as a complimentary honeymoon package, but the resort doesn't have a beach view suite. The service was really good. Food was top notch. Beach and the pool was amazing. Had a blast at the discotheque. There was a different show everynight. Trip from airport was long. Take a local govt bus and a taxi which would come to less than half the price of what the package offer. Yes, they accept dollars too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Jaguar Disc is awesome

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johnnyct
Montréal, QC, Canada
Mar 10, 2012

Perfect place To relax!

GREAT Resort, FOOD above average AND excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
calgarynik
Calgary, AB
Mar 9, 2012

Beautiful Resort!

We loved this resort, close enough to the airport that it wasn't a hassle to get to, and far enough away from the city that you were in a beautiful place! The grounds were beautiful, pool was phenomenal, and food was pretty good! Service was a bit spotty sometimes, but I was on vacation so I didn't care much. The resort was huge though! Be prepared for a lot of walking to and from your rooms to the restaurants etc. However there is a lovely path near the beach so you have a good view all the time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Book as many a la carte restaurants as you think you can take! They are great!

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Festus
Banner Elk, NC 28604, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Fabulous Vacation Getaway

Very Good Experience. I Would Highly Recommend to Anyone Who Wants a Nice Getaway Vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Short Trip to Playa-Del Carmen 5th Avenue Shopping

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob n Chris
South Elgin, IL
Mar 5, 2012

Compareable

Barcelo was great! My wife and I had stayed at the Iberostar parisio and found this complex very similar but at a much more affordable price.Beach and pool were great not to hard to get a chair.This complex has a very good fitness room.Snorkeling was so-so but still enjoyable (I'm spoiled by Akumal beach,you can always take a side trip there!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to the Buffet early!!

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mom of 10 and 8
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Family w/ 2 young kids

We stayed at the Barcelo Maya Palace Premium at the southern part of Puerto Aventuras. The beaches were a bit more isolated and more ideal for swimming and snorkeling. The Palace Premium is one of 3 hotels in the Barcelo hotels which are adjacent to each other - you can access all of the amenities/restaurants, but can only sleep in your designated area. The Palace is the newest addition and is very luxurious. The whole resort was amazing with a variety of amazing pools for kids and adults alike. The food and drink selection were incredible - particularly in the Palace complex area. There were shows every night, activities e.g. fitness, dancing, and a ton of stuff to do for kids and adults. The staff were amazingly hospitable and gracious, always smiling and helpful. The down side is that we had requested for non-smoking rooms but were put in a smoking building. By the time we realized the error, it was night time and there were no rooms available and they asked us to check back the following day. Long story short, we were stuck staying in a smoking room, but thankfully, no one was smoking in the next room which made it easier for us. Each room had a balcony so you can enjoy the view or air out your room w/ the remnant smoke smell. The rooms were spacious, and the two couches turn into cots for kids (or even petite adults) to sleep in, but the exhaust fans in our room wasn't working, which accounts for the rating. You can snorkel in the ocean but it's adviseable to wear a lifevest so you can stay out in the reefs for a longer period of time w/o tiring. Even though this area was a bit further south and away from the shopping centers, the magnificent surroundings more than made up for it. It is a large hotel with thousands of rooms, and the doors are not soundproof, so be prepared to hear walking traffic noise at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

For first time visitors - definitely must visit Xel-ha, Tulum, and Xcaret.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mom of 10 and 8
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Couple with young kids loved the excellent location, facilities, food, but...

We just got back from a week's stay at the Barcelo Maya Palace, south of Cancun towards Tulum & Xelha. Weather was perfect - 80s during the day and 70s at night. While it's farther south from the main towns of Playa del Carmen and Puerto Aventuras, the beaches were great for swimming and snorkeling, and closer to the eco-water parks e.g. Xel-ha/Tulum, Xcaret, and Chichen-Itza. The variety of facilities, services, pools. gardens, and the food were amazing, the hospitality team were gracious and always willing to help. The rooms were nice and spacious, but weren't necessarily "noise-proof" for families with young children. The exhaust fans for the shower wasn't working properly, but we loved the eco-friendlly energy saving features programmed into it. They even provide a drying rack built into the wall in their balconies. We asked for a non-smoking room and when we got there, the reception agents didn't take that into account and put us in a smoking building. By the time we realized it that evening, it was too late to move us, and they couldn't guarantee a non-smoking room until the following am. We ended up staying in the smoking building since our kids had already unpacked everything and we couldn't repack our gear to move to another room. This hotel is one of the newest and closer to the beach than the other Barcelo buildings in the compound.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short walks to go to different areas of the Barcelo Resort. did not even need to go to town. About an hour drive from Cancun.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
magmamma
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 3, 2012

Barcelo

A great trip 3 time at Barcelo and we will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ajkb
Minnesota, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Not what it used to be.

This was our second time at Barcelo Riviera Maya. Our first experience was FABULOUS! This one was not great...just average. The staff is friendly, but extremely slow. The food at the restaurants was wonderful, however, the buffets and poolside grills have really gone downhill. I even saw one of the staff wipe up the spilled food at the salad bar and throw it back in the salad bowl for the next person to eat!! The rooms are damp and musty. After a couple days, all of our clothes that were hanging in the closets were wet! The sheets and blankets were wet. There were ants in the rooms. We won't go back next year. The weather was fantastic though!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top