$231 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal- km 266.3, Riviera Maya, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
2,081 reviews
excellent place to stay

there are nothing but great things to say about this property. food and service are excellent.... See full review

  • eeyore and garfield
  • May 28, 2014
Amaizng place

We went to this hotel for early summer vacation. This was our first time in Mexico, but definitely... See full review

  • DInche
  • May 25, 2014
Offering 24-hour drinks, snacks and meals, the Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex combines convenience with luxury at four distinct resort areas: Barcelo Maya Beach, Maya Caribe, Maya Colonial Beach and Maya Tropical. Recently renovated bars, restaurants, and ocean- or garden-facing accommodations transport guests to a relaxing Caribbean environment. Dine on international buffet dishes or local Mexican flavors and sip refreshing fruit juices before taking a dip in the pool. Families can unwind with Mayan-inspired spa treatments at the spa, or adults can drop the kids off at the Barcy Club, which hosts a range of activities - from balloon contests to soccer and board games.
Key facts
  • Suites and family rooms
  • Wi-Fi access (fees may apply)
  • Spa facilities, which offers treatments for adults and children
  • Conference spaces
  • Bars and restaurants at each resort
  • Dolphinaris at Barcelo - interactive dolphin experience
  • Children's Club
  • Swimming pool
  • Trips and excursions available
  • Gym
  • Shopping center
  • Children's playground
  • Nightclub
  • Kukulcan Theater with live shows
  • Sports and beach facilities
Neighborhood
The Barcelo resort is situated on the shore just south of central Playa del Carmen. Enjoy a refreshing swim in the calm, warm waters just off the coast, or venture further out on a boat ride to Cozumel Island. Two major natural resources - Parque Nacional de Quintana Roo and Parque Nacional Tulum - are just a short bus or car ride south along the coastal highway. Visitors to these parks can explore lush jungles and an ancient, walled Mayan city, or go for a scuba session in a natural cave. Guests that decide not to wander too far from their rooms can still go swimming with dolphins or enjoy golf at the resort.
Hints and tips
Join guided tours to Mayan relics like Chichen Itza and modern parks like Xcaret for an additional fee, or get your adventure fix at the Tulum Extreme zip-lining circuit.

Book rooms on higher levels for excellent views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex Rooms

Barcelo Maya Beach Room
Terrace or balcony, full bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, LCD screen with remote control, telephone with mail-box, alarm clock, bathrobes, hairdryer, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, mini-bar (stocked daily), in-room safe, iron & ironing board, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size bed or 2 full-size beds, the total area with 27.80 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Tropical Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Colonial Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Club Premium Suites
*Private Check In and Check Out in an exclusive Club Premium area. *Personalized concierge services only for Club Premium clients. *The Best room view in our exclusive Club Premium area. *Petit fours and domestic bottle of champagne in the room upon arrival. *Pool towels in the room. *VIP Minibar (sodas, water, beer and snack) *Premium amenities in the room. *Priority to reserve in a la carte restaurantes *Unlimited reservations, subject to availability). *Exclusive Club Premium Lounge with international drink, canapes, continental breakfast, table games, books, newspaper, free internet (Opern from 7.00hts to 23hrs) *Free local calls. *Free wireless internet. *Express laundry service with regular charge. *20% off in the spa and beaty salon. (restrictions apply)
Barcelo Maya Beach Junior Suite Club Premium
Spacious Junior suite with 593sq which combines exclusive Club Premium area location, jacuzzi on the terrace and a spectacular view. Receive exclusive benefits of our Club Premium concept. There's a fine selection of petit fours and a bottle of domestic sparkling wine on arrival.
Barcelo Maya Caribe Room
Terrace or balcony, full bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, LCD screen with remote control, telephone with mail-box, alarm clock, bathrobes, hairdryer, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, mini-bar (stocked daily), in-room safe, iron & ironing board, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size bed or 2 full-size beds, the total area with 27.80 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.4885 -87.2484
Area served
Barcelo Maya Palace Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, 9 miles from Xcaret and 45 miles from Cancun International Airport. This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 16 miles from Xel-Ha, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport. 75 Km south of Cancun International Airport. Barcelo Maya Beach resorts Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun.

Dining

Mexico Lindo
A la carte dinner Mexican restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Marenostrum
A la carte dinner Mediterranean-style fish and seafood restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Kyoto
A la carte dinner Japanese restaurant prior reservation(open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal dress required
Capri
A la carte dinner Italian restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Santa Fe
A la carte dinner steak house restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Don Quijote
A la carte dinner Spanish restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress requiered

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Keeping pace in today's business climate requires state-ofthe-art facilities and resources combined with the special touch of a highly professional staff. The Barcelo Maya Convention Center is just such a place, offering a total of 8 spacious meeting rooms with a total capacity for up to 1,400 people. Meetings and event planners have the latest audiovisual equipment at their disposal as well as a wide range of support services, such as an executive business center, theme parties, gourmet cuisine, shows, and more. For those who thrive on getting the job done right, the Barcelo Maya Convention Center is your temple of productivity.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (2081)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
2081 out of 2081
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parents with two kids
Cleveland, OH, USA
Apr 1, 2012

Beautiful place and top service

This is a very good place for families, a lot to do, clean, very nice hotel and top staff. Beautiful landscaping. We only have a few minor comments on issues to be improved. Check in was slow, although four staff persons at the desk. It seemed like our arrival was not planned before we arrived, it took too much time to gather everything together although we had booked four months ago. Why don't they plan every arrival the day before? Putting everything into that envelope? The other problem was that we were four persons, parents with two kids, but only sheets for two persons. The room should have been OK when we arrived. We didn't get the sheets for the two sofa beds until mid-night, after one phone call and one trip back to the desk, and the children at 7 and 10 were exausted, and so were we. It is all inclusive, but that does not include wine. I realize that expensive wines are not included, but mixing water into the house wine is not a good idea. Actually, why call it wine when it is half and half water? We bought wine for the dinner every evening, not that expensive, but the quality was rather mediocre. All inclusive at this price should have included some sort of table wine, as beer and drinks may not suit everybody. The bed was way too firm for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jadelco
Ontario, Canada
Mar 31, 2012

Home away from home....."In Paradise of course"

An awesome experience. Way beyond my expectations. First ever visit to Mexico and can't wait to come back.My visit envisioned my grown children and grand children enjoying this as much as myself and hubby did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

All of the Restaurants are great our fav was the Mexican after all we are in Mexico!

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ann k
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Beautiful Resort

This resort was definitely a dream vacation. If you like snorkeling or swimming this is the place for you. The grounds were so gorgeous with tropical gradens, beautifully landscaped pools, swim-up bars and a 1.12mi. white sand beach with both swimming areas and snorkeling areas. There were lots of families here but it was great for couples too. We only left the resort once to visit Xel-ha, a highly recommended snorkle park.Our room wasn't the best but we didn't spend any time in our room, there was too much to do outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maureenaw
Naperville, IL
Mar 30, 2012

Great time

This was my second time to this resort and we really enjoyed it. The service wasn't quite as good in the restaurants but we had a great time and would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Lobster in Playa is great!

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jenb33
Wisconsin, USA
Mar 27, 2012

surpassed expectations

We were extremely surprised at how huge and beautiful this resort is! The beach is right by the pool area. The staff were so kind and fun! The rooms were very clean and the resort itself was very clean and beautiful. The dinners at night were great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Count26
Iowa
Mar 23, 2012

Great Destination---Surpassed our Expectations

Just returned from a family spring break trip to Barcelo Maya, and could not have been any happier with our hotel selection. Extremely impressed with the facilities and beautiful grounds, the very friendly service, and the large private beach. (The only minor quibble was that the double beds didn't seem overly comfortable.) Great resort and it will be our first choice if we ever return to the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

During peak season, need to get up early and throw a towel on the pool and beach chairs to reserve them for the day----otherwise, most will be taken.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
allostar
WI
Mar 21, 2012

Great five hotels in one location!

We stayed in the Barcelo Maya Colonial. Colonial is one of the five hotels within Barcelo Riviera Maya resort (the other four are Palace Deluxe, Tropical, Caribe and Beach), but Colonial is the best located since it is exactly in the middle of the resort, which means you can easily enjoy all the facility that it offers (except for food and drinks at the Palace)! Palace is great, but a little bit snobby. I prefer T-shirt when I am on vacation. Room was just ok. However, always clean. Everyone was so friendly and so helpful. Food was great. We had NO problem finding something to eat that we liked. Our favorite meal in a la carte was at the Italian Restaurant (Staffed calamari are fantastic). Drinks are awesome. They serve champagne in the morning. Ballantines, Irish Cream and some other imported drinks are also included. They have free catamarans. However you need to know how to use them. They will teach you too if you don't know how to use them. Book early on your visit and take them out for a spin. We're really very happy to be in Barcelo, nothing really bothered us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There some cenotes across the road. We went to Azul cenote ($6 per person). It is open water and nice. You can snorcel/jump and just relax. We did not check others. Probably those are better.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
martee
Iowa, USA
Mar 20, 2012

relaxing getaway

wonderful experience. very clean room. beautiful grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

make dinner reservations immediately! They fill up fast.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
turnipgurl
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Best Riviera Maya trip yet!

We were upgraded to the Tropical from the Caribe. I had sent an e-mail to the hotel telling them it was our honeymoon (which it really was). That was a nice surprise. The room was clean and very comfortable. We opted for the Club Premium upgrade... i don't recommend it, It's hit or miss, and if you don't know what it all entitles you, nobody will offer. Not worth it, the place is wonderful without it! The food at the Buffet was great! We really didn't enjoy the ala carte restaurants at all! I don't know what people complained about with the Buffets, we thought they were wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NoDocK
Austin, MN 55912, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Kids had fun parents had romance

Booked 2 rooms, one for the kiddies and one for mom and dad. The rooms were kept clean and reasonably comfortable. The room temps were fine but the humidity remained somewhat high in the rooms. The rooms were nicely decorated with Mayan art and local scenes. The refrigerators generously stocked with complimentary snacks and beverages. Great tasting coffee available in the room using the two cup coffee maker. We appreciated the easily used room safes. We liked the bath robes and slippers.i

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a nice time snorkeling at Xel-Ha. There were many activities for the kids.

Back to menu Return to top