$230 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal- km 266.3, Riviera Maya, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
1,214 reviews
Fantastic getaway

The location was perfect, the staff was friendly and accommodating, and the food was great. We will... See full review

  • Erik Izzo
  • Jul 29, 2014
excellent place to stay

there are nothing but great things to say about this property. food and service are excellent.... See full review

  • eeyore and garfield
  • May 28, 2014
Offering 24-hour drinks, snacks and meals, the Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex combines convenience with luxury at four distinct resort areas: Barcelo Maya Beach, Maya Caribe, Maya Colonial Beach and Maya Tropical. Recently renovated bars, restaurants, and ocean- or garden-facing accommodations transport guests to a relaxing Caribbean environment. Dine on international buffet dishes or local Mexican flavors and sip refreshing fruit juices before taking a dip in the pool. Families can unwind with Mayan-inspired spa treatments at the spa, or adults can drop the kids off at the Barcy Club, which hosts a range of activities - from balloon contests to soccer and board games.
Key facts
  • Suites and family rooms
  • Wi-Fi access (fees may apply)
  • Spa facilities, which offers treatments for adults and children
  • Conference spaces
  • Bars and restaurants at each resort
  • Dolphinaris at Barcelo - interactive dolphin experience
  • Children's Club
  • Swimming pool
  • Trips and excursions available
  • Gym
  • Shopping center
  • Children's playground
  • Nightclub
  • Kukulcan Theater with live shows
  • Sports and beach facilities
Neighborhood
The Barcelo resort is situated on the shore just south of central Playa del Carmen. Enjoy a refreshing swim in the calm, warm waters just off the coast, or venture further out on a boat ride to Cozumel Island. Two major natural resources - Parque Nacional de Quintana Roo and Parque Nacional Tulum - are just a short bus or car ride south along the coastal highway. Visitors to these parks can explore lush jungles and an ancient, walled Mayan city, or go for a scuba session in a natural cave. Guests that decide not to wander too far from their rooms can still go swimming with dolphins or enjoy golf at the resort.
Hints and tips
Join guided tours to Mayan relics like Chichen Itza and modern parks like Xcaret for an additional fee, or get your adventure fix at the Tulum Extreme zip-lining circuit.

Book rooms on higher levels for excellent views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.4885 -87.2484
Area served
Barcelo Maya Palace Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, 9 miles from Xcaret and 45 miles from Cancun International Airport. This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 16 miles from Xel-Ha, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport. 75 Km south of Cancun International Airport. Barcelo Maya Beach resorts Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex Rooms

Barcelo Maya Beach Room
Terrace or balcony, full bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, LCD screen with remote control, telephone with mail-box, alarm clock, bathrobes, hairdryer, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, mini-bar (stocked daily), in-room safe, iron & ironing board, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size bed or 2 full-size beds, the total area with 27.80 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Beach Junior Suite Club Premium
Spacious Junior suite with 593sq which combines exclusive Club Premium area location, jacuzzi on the terrace and a spectacular view. Receive exclusive benefits of our Club Premium concept. There's a fine selection of petit fours and a bottle of domestic sparkling wine on arrival.
Barcelo Maya Colonial Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Club Premium Suites
*Private Check In and Check Out in an exclusive Club Premium area. *Personalized concierge services only for Club Premium clients. *The Best room view in our exclusive Club Premium area. *Petit fours and domestic bottle of champagne in the room upon arrival. *Pool towels in the room. *VIP Minibar (sodas, water, beer and snack) *Premium amenities in the room. *Priority to reserve in a la carte restaurantes *Unlimited reservations, subject to availability). *Exclusive Club Premium Lounge with international drink, canapes, continental breakfast, table games, books, newspaper, free internet (Opern from 7.00hts to 23hrs) *Free local calls. *Free wireless internet. *Express laundry service with regular charge. *20% off in the spa and beaty salon. (restrictions apply)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking

Dining

Mexico Lindo
A la carte dinner Mexican restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Marenostrum
A la carte dinner Mediterranean-style fish and seafood restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Kyoto
A la carte dinner Japanese restaurant prior reservation(open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal dress required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Keeping pace in today's business climate requires state-ofthe-art facilities and resources combined with the special touch of a highly professional staff. The Barcelo Maya Convention Center is just such a place, offering a total of 8 spacious meeting rooms with a total capacity for up to 1,400 people. Meetings and event planners have the latest audiovisual equipment at their disposal as well as a wide range of support services, such as an executive business center, theme parties, gourmet cuisine, shows, and more. For those who thrive on getting the job done right, the Barcelo Maya Convention Center is your temple of productivity.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1214)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
1214 out of 1214
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 22, 2009

Our Mother Daughter Senior Trip

We stayed at the Barcelo because this was the fun spot chosen from the Senior Class of 2008. My son went with his class and so we decided to go again for my daughter's senior trip. Most of the familys stayed at the Palace, but we were very glad we were at the Mayan Beach. It was quiet, friendly, beautiful had everything the Palace did and was significantly cheaper. We spent most of our time relaxing by the pool or beach which was perfect! The dance lessons were a blast and the kids loved the availability to indulge in adult beverages because they were 18 (Yup they had a really good time). We would definitely go again. Next time we will make a point to see the Mayan ruins. Maybe next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Go into Playa to shop too. We stayed at the hotel and heard we missed out on some great shopping and authentic living experiences.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Apr 22, 2009

Barcelo Riviera Maya = A+++

It was a family vacation. Overall rating - A+

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
nashville, tn
Apr 22, 2009

Fantastic...but with a few glitches!

The Barcelo Maya is truly a beautiful resort. My favorite things about this property are the grounds, food, clean rooms and wonderful beach. I have spoken with many people at the resort that agree that the beach at the Barcelo resorts is one of the nicest on the Yucatan Peninsula. There is also great snorkeling on the Palace side of the resort. My dislikes are few but worth mentioning. This hotel says that they do not allow "spring breakers" but they over ran the resort. I'm not talking about families who have come there for spring break. I'm talking about three chaperones, who didn't give a rip what the kids were doing, to about 15 - 20 kids at a time. They were everywhere! It was not uncommon to see a hundred teenagers at a time, swarming the bars! Many were drunk, loud, rude and disrespectful. I don't think I would go back there during the spring break months. Also, we paid to have private transfers to and from the airport. The Barcelo is a good little drive from Cancun, about an hour and twenty minutes. We did have the private transfer to the resort, but not on the return. Grey Lines was our tour rep. That was pretty frustrating. It's not that we minded stopping to pick up others, but we PAID for this extra service that we didn't get. I was dissappointed with Orbitz for not helping take care of this matter. They put it off on Grey Lines. Although it might have been Grey Lines fault; Orbitz is who we went through and should have been willing to help. Not the best customer service, that's for sure! Having said all of that, I believe that if you choose to stay at the Barcelo Maya Palace outside of Spring Break travel time, you will not be disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
Apr 22, 2009

great trip

went to a wedding, walking on beach, reading in chaise lounge, eatting, drinking always enjoy Riviera Maya area and staying at an all inclusive slow to clean rooms daily lunch at grills seemed limited entertainment in evenings was good but too loud

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Tahoe, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Go for the Palace

Loved the Palace and was glad we stayed there instead of at one of the other hotels at the resort, because they were inundated with drunken spring break kids and their obnoxious parents. The exclusivity of the higher end accommodations kept them out for the most part. The decor of the resort is amazingly beautiful - the art and architecture sublime. Rooms very comfortable. Loved the food. Ate way too much! Mango sorbet. Book your dinner reservations early. Don't bother with the Santa Fe. The Brasserie was amazing! The one drawback was that people completely disregard the signs posted everywhere prohibiting seat saving by the pools. Forget about getting a palapa by the adult pool. People actually take their sheets out there to sleep in the middle of the night to stake thier claim. It's maddening. They leave their bags during the day for hours on end while they go to lunch etc. The management does nothing about it. Take the public bus to Tulum and get your own tour to save about $80 per couple. Over all a beautiful experience. I highly recommend the Barcelo Maya Palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spuyten Duyvil
NYC
Apr 22, 2009

Barcelo Riviera Maya Palace

The Palace junior suites are spacious and well appointed. should note all rooms are a bit of walk to restaurants and beach. The buffet and a la carte restaurants were all excellent with the French we felt the best. Breakfast buffet provided a view of the ocean. The Bar in the hotel was excellent and would advise time well spend at night time to enjoy the evenings hour of entertainment in the theater set up like a night club serving drinks. Productions and music were very professionally staged. The beach is wide and long and water is beautiful and the pools excellent as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a morning and visit the Mayan ruins at Tulum if you do nothing else. Advise to skip the tours ($50 per) and take local bus (collectivo). Bus cost about $2 USD($30 pesos) but only take Peso. So cash in some $$ at front desk for enough Pesos for round trip. Walk to main gate and cross rode to bus stop.Buses are white with red strip. Short 1/2 size buses. Ride from hotel entrance about 20-30 min. Walk into Tulum ruins site about 3 blocks . Entrance fee $5 USD per , they do take $USD. Pick up bus returning at end of entrance where there is also a market selling food and gifts/crafts . Money you save u can buy a gift. Tulum site is beautiful and there is a beach so you can bring towel and wear your suit if u wish. Expect to spend 2 hours at the site walking around. Plenty of tours so you can listen in. Taking the bus you save $$ and can leave and return when you want. Suggest in morning as it gets hot later in day. Enjoy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wedding Photographer
Colorado
Apr 22, 2009

Great retreat with friends

First time in Mexico. Met friends there for a friend's wedding and relaxing time. We had a great time. The wedding coordinator was very helpful with everything (pre-plans down to dropping off the bride). Everyone in the party had a great experience!! No one wanted to leave. I highly recommend this resaort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carson, CA
Apr 19, 2009

The good, the bad, and the REALLY ugly

This vacation should have been really great, the place was nice, the beach was perfect, the pool was huge, the food was awesome, but the service brought it all down.... I travelled with family and friends a total of(18) 9 adults and 9 children. We stayed at the Colonial side; when we got there, the front desk accommodated when we had to request closer rooms (after much discussion). The hotel only gives you one key card and tells you that the machine is not working (how then were they able to give you a card if it's not working...duh...)this was very inconvenient. They think you're stupid so you play stupid too...go back the next day and say "Oh, my husband has the key and I can't find him and I need to get in the room...can I have another card?" It will take awhile but they'll give it to you eventually. The buffet food is great; many selections and excellent desserts. The specialty restaurants have so so food and the wait and service is ridiculous; so we just end up cancelling and going back to the buffet which is actually better. Their children's club is also great; the kids have plenty to do and the staff is wonderful with the kids. I wish I can say the same for the other service staff because the service is a totally different story. Sometimes you get service, sometimes you don't. Most of the staff does not speak/understand English; if you get someone who speaks or understand even a little English, you'll get some service, otherwise take a deep breath and count 1 to 10. Housekeeping is horrible. If you forget to hang the sign (please tidy my room) it will not get done. But like I said, sometimes you get service, sometimes you don't; my sister-in-law never hanged hers but got her room cleaned (oops, I meant the bed made), my mother-in-law, and another friend never got their rooms cleaned ( oops again, I meant the bed made) if they forget to hang it. I thought I'll get better housekeeping service if I tip, so the 2nd day, I looked for the housekeeper and gave her $5, the next day another $5 and she did not even refill the toilet paper and towels (maybe I should've given a $20); Oh well, your bed is nicely done but that's about it. The floors and counters were dirty. So much for tipping - it does not work for housekeeping. My other friend who travelled with us had to stay and watch to make sure the housekeeper mops the floor so it can be done. The pool towels are another story....just very inconvenient for hotel guest vacationing. To top off the inconveniences and poor service, the Orbitz transportation service GrayLine is TERRIBLE and(I can't say the other word). We booked with them our excursions to Chizen-Itza and Tulum/Xel-Ha. We paid for Chizen-Itza with lunch and a trip to the Cenote Ik Kil. The driver never took us to Ik Kil said that it has been closed for 4 days (we got cheated, if Ik Kil was not included, then the price would be lower -and we booked the trip 2 days prior...Orbitz, you need to take a look at that...that is cheating people for their money); a few of us had an upset stomach after lunch as well. Now with our trip to Tulum, we asked to be picked-up by 8:30am because this was a private tour; the driver was 1 hour late, we requested to be taken to Tulum first then Xel-Ha (since this was suppose to be private tour and you just tell them where you want to go first and how long you want to stay there - the driver has his own itenerary (he was instructed differently by the person from GrayLine tours)...remember, there were 18 of us of which there were 9 children...we know where we want to go first...Not until we threatened to be taken back to the hotel and forget the whole thing....only then we were given the choice. The pick-up from the airport went well but picking-up to go to the airport was hell. My sister and her family was picked-up first by this driver from hell, my sister asked for him to wait 5 minutes for her to get her son(an 8yr old)...and what do you know...he left and said that he can't wai...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Mar 13, 2009

Quiet in January

It is a beautiful place. Had no complaints with room or food. They were very nice about moving us (3 rooms) to a section of the hotel that was more centrally located because my grandson broke his foot a week before vacation.Originally they did put us as far away as possible from beach, pool, food etc. The hotel wasn't that crowded so I don't understand why they do that but they did change it for us after we requested a room change. The complex is huge, expect to do a lot of walking. The grounds and rooms are amazing both very well kept. Buffet at breakfast & lunch was really good. We did try some of the other hotel buffets & we all agreed that the Place was the best. The dinner Buffet was ok but we were able to eat at the other specialty restaurants most nights. The Brazilian was fun the Italian not so good. French was good also, Seafood so so. Maybe because the hotel was very quite there didn't seem like a lot was going on at the Place pool. Some of the other hotels had a much livelier pool atmosphere. that being said it was still a better choice to stay at the Place & take a trip to another pool. January seemed like a very slow time 3rd to 10th, a little too quiet for 19 year olds & 30 year olds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Dakota
Mar 4, 2009

Good

This was an awesome resort, but we booked the Colonial and got put in the Caribe location. That did not impress me at all. The lady at the front desk was very rude. We got very poor service at the bars at the pools. We didn't like that there was no drink service on the beach. We stayed in Cabo last year and got awesome drink service on the beach. I wouldn't go here again just for that fact. They did keep the grounds spotless. It was a beautiful place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

There is no nightlife here. You have to go a long drive to get to any nightlife, so if you are looking for that, this resort isn't the one for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search