$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal- km 266.3, Riviera Maya, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
2,080 reviews
excellent place to stay

there are nothing but great things to say about this property. food and service are excellent.... See full review

  • eeyore and garfield
  • May 28, 2014
Amaizng place

We went to this hotel for early summer vacation. This was our first time in Mexico, but definitely... See full review

  • DInche
  • May 25, 2014
Offering 24-hour drinks, snacks and meals, the Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex combines convenience with luxury at four distinct resort areas: Barcelo Maya Beach, Maya Caribe, Maya Colonial Beach and Maya Tropical. Recently renovated bars, restaurants, and ocean- or garden-facing accommodations transport guests to a relaxing Caribbean environment. Dine on international buffet dishes or local Mexican flavors and sip refreshing fruit juices before taking a dip in the pool. Families can unwind with Mayan-inspired spa treatments at the spa, or adults can drop the kids off at the Barcy Club, which hosts a range of activities - from balloon contests to soccer and board games.
Key facts
  • Suites and family rooms
  • Wi-Fi access (fees may apply)
  • Spa facilities, which offers treatments for adults and children
  • Conference spaces
  • Bars and restaurants at each resort
  • Dolphinaris at Barcelo - interactive dolphin experience
  • Children's Club
  • Swimming pool
  • Trips and excursions available
  • Gym
  • Shopping center
  • Children's playground
  • Nightclub
  • Kukulcan Theater with live shows
  • Sports and beach facilities
Neighborhood
The Barcelo resort is situated on the shore just south of central Playa del Carmen. Enjoy a refreshing swim in the calm, warm waters just off the coast, or venture further out on a boat ride to Cozumel Island. Two major natural resources - Parque Nacional de Quintana Roo and Parque Nacional Tulum - are just a short bus or car ride south along the coastal highway. Visitors to these parks can explore lush jungles and an ancient, walled Mayan city, or go for a scuba session in a natural cave. Guests that decide not to wander too far from their rooms can still go swimming with dolphins or enjoy golf at the resort.
Hints and tips
Join guided tours to Mayan relics like Chichen Itza and modern parks like Xcaret for an additional fee, or get your adventure fix at the Tulum Extreme zip-lining circuit.

Book rooms on higher levels for excellent views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.4885 -87.2484
Area served
Barcelo Maya Palace Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, 9 miles from Xcaret and 45 miles from Cancun International Airport. This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 16 miles from Xel-Ha, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport. 75 Km south of Cancun International Airport. Barcelo Maya Beach resorts Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex Rooms

Barcelo Maya Beach Room
Terrace or balcony, full bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, LCD screen with remote control, telephone with mail-box, alarm clock, bathrobes, hairdryer, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, mini-bar (stocked daily), in-room safe, iron & ironing board, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size bed or 2 full-size beds, the total area with 27.80 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Tropical Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Colonial Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Club Premium Suites
*Private Check In and Check Out in an exclusive Club Premium area. *Personalized concierge services only for Club Premium clients. *The Best room view in our exclusive Club Premium area. *Petit fours and domestic bottle of champagne in the room upon arrival. *Pool towels in the room. *VIP Minibar (sodas, water, beer and snack) *Premium amenities in the room. *Priority to reserve in a la carte restaurantes *Unlimited reservations, subject to availability). *Exclusive Club Premium Lounge with international drink, canapes, continental breakfast, table games, books, newspaper, free internet (Opern from 7.00hts to 23hrs) *Free local calls. *Free wireless internet. *Express laundry service with regular charge. *20% off in the spa and beaty salon. (restrictions apply)
Barcelo Maya Beach Junior Suite Club Premium
Spacious Junior suite with 593sq which combines exclusive Club Premium area location, jacuzzi on the terrace and a spectacular view. Receive exclusive benefits of our Club Premium concept. There's a fine selection of petit fours and a bottle of domestic sparkling wine on arrival.
Barcelo Maya Caribe Room
Terrace or balcony, full bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, LCD screen with remote control, telephone with mail-box, alarm clock, bathrobes, hairdryer, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, mini-bar (stocked daily), in-room safe, iron & ironing board, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size bed or 2 full-size beds, the total area with 27.80 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mexico Lindo
A la carte dinner Mexican restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Marenostrum
A la carte dinner Mediterranean-style fish and seafood restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Kyoto
A la carte dinner Japanese restaurant prior reservation(open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal dress required
Capri
A la carte dinner Italian restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Santa Fe
A la carte dinner steak house restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Don Quijote
A la carte dinner Spanish restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress requiered

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Keeping pace in today's business climate requires state-ofthe-art facilities and resources combined with the special touch of a highly professional staff. The Barcelo Maya Convention Center is just such a place, offering a total of 8 spacious meeting rooms with a total capacity for up to 1,400 people. Meetings and event planners have the latest audiovisual equipment at their disposal as well as a wide range of support services, such as an executive business center, theme parties, gourmet cuisine, shows, and more. For those who thrive on getting the job done right, the Barcelo Maya Convention Center is your temple of productivity.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (2080)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
2080 out of 2080
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jun 9, 2010

Barcelo, A great time out

When we first arrived at the hotel it was soooo big. There is high security on the premises so we always felt save at our hotel. In fact, we felt safe the entire time while in Playa Del Carmen. I must admit I was a little paranoid with all the media about mexico these days but looking back, there was nothing to be afraid of at all. People are kind and hard working just like you and I. The hotel is beautifully designed with many fountains and places to lounge and relax. The grounds were well cared for and very pleasing to the eye. The pools are amazing as is the beach. One of the nicer resorts I have ever been too. One thing that was disappointing was the fact that our room had a stench of mildew the entire time and the floors was get sweaty from the condensation. At first I thought it was just my room, so I went to the front desk to inquire about another room and found out that it had the same stench as well. I think the rooms all have this stench because of the humidity in the air which was disappointing. However, the front desk was very helpful and attended to our every need. The food on the property was GREAT! Best buffet I have ever been too. They had fresh fish every night and I was in heaven every meal. The buffet is actually better than the specialty restaurants on the property and on a couple of nights, we skipped our reservations to eat at the buffet. The hotel is secluded and a good 20 minute taxi ride from many of the attractions in the Riviera Maya. One shopping tip, I would recommend everyone to buy your souvenirs at Tulum and Chichen Itza as opposed to Playa Del Carmen. The prices are much better and your money goes directly to the people as opposed to a rich store owner in Playa Del Carmen. If you are looking to buy a beautiful mayan mask carved out of wood, buy them from the artists themselves at Chichen Itza. Better prices and helps the community directly as opposed to a corporation. Anyways, we had a wonderful trip and would definitely recommend Riviera Maya and Barcelo to anyone and everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Chichen and Tulum

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jun 9, 2010

Barcelo, A great time out

When we first arrived at the hotel it was soooo big. There is high security on the premises so we always felt save at our hotel. In fact, we felt safe the entire time while in Playa Del Carmen. I must admit I was a little paranoid with all the media about mexico these days but looking back, there was nothing to be afraid of at all. People are kind and hard working just like you and I. The hotel is beautifully designed with many fountains and places to lounge and relax. The grounds were well cared for and very pleasing to the eye. The pools are amazing as is the beach. One of the nicer resorts I have ever been too. One thing that was disappointing was the fact that our room had a stench of mildew the entire time and the floors was get sweaty from the condensation. At first I thought it was just my room, so I went to the front desk to inquire about another room and found out that it had the same stench as well. I think the rooms all have this stench because of the humidity in the air which was disappointing. However, the front desk was very helpful and attended to our every need. The food on the property was GREAT! Best buffet I have ever been too. They had fresh fish every night and I was in heaven every meal. The buffet is actually better than the specialty restaurants on the property and on a couple of nights, we skipped our reservations to eat at the buffet. The hotel is secluded and a good 20 minute taxi ride from many of the attractions in the Riviera Maya. One shopping tip, I would recommend everyone to buy your souvenirs at Tulum and Chichen Itza as opposed to Playa Del Carmen. The prices are much better and your money goes directly to the people as opposed to a rich store owner in Playa Del Carmen. If you are looking to buy a beautiful mayan mask carved out of wood, buy them from the artists themselves at Chichen Itza. Better prices and helps the community directly as opposed to a corporation. Anyways, we had a wonderful trip and would definitely recommend Riviera Maya and Barcelo to anyone and everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Chichen and Tulum

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Juno (Beach), FL
Jun 9, 2010

Bang for the buck? Sublime!

Arriving May 24, 2010, having booked direct/private transportation to avoid stops along the way, we camped & never left the immaculate grounds.The Maya Beach/Maya Caribe oceanfront far surpasses that of pricier properties within the complex yet never a problem grabbing a lounge chair either beach or pool.Day one I was blown away to find Hog Snapper (spear-fished in the FL Keys & Caribbean waters, costing $17-20/lb, ~$22-24 a plate in SoFla) on the main lunch buffet no less. [Captain Morgan's beach venue topped our list for the rest of the week.] Granted, by the end of the week general items at breakfast/lunch/dinner grew repetitious. Arriving home, our "jadedness" set in. "Where're our sliced fruits, fresh juices, unlimited choices? Must we go to the (super)market to pay & prepare our own?Where're the self-serve frozen strawberry/mango machines, Corona (actually Modelo)& wine taps & tequila selections when the bar gets busy? Boo-hoo."Cons: evening "reservation only" dining in season was hard to come by without "Premium Club" upgrade. (Top shelf-liquor & internet access were also additional absent the surcharge which includes a non-beachfront "beachfront" room.) The AC could have been a bit cooler. A beach bar w/restrooms would've been nice, as would more frequent emptying of trash bins. Not that it bothered us, but TV channels were limited for those addicted to the tube.Having been to various all-inclusives in Cancun, Cozumel, the Bahamas & the Dominican Republic, the Barcelo Maya Caribe ranks right up there for value & service. (Despite reviews to the contrary, we never had a problem with the front desk or otherwise. To the contrary, everyone was most attentive/responsive. [...]For once, we were pleasantly pleased to pinch pennies. We'd originally considered waiting til next year to return. Now we're thinking October -- and bringing along neighbors (a great water park adjacent for their little one, plenty of adult water sports for dad & mom)! The Playa del Carmen overpass should be completed by then, cutting the ride from 1-1:20 to some 40 minutes. ;-)Disney-Gringolandia? Definitely not. Nice blend of Europeans, Canadians & Americans. Five stars, no. But above the usual 3/4 for for the money.We're definitely returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

"Karaoke" & "Miss Barcelo" aside, the nightly shows were unexpectedly generally of Broadway/Vegas quality.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ambert83
Kansas
Jun 8, 2010

Barcelo Maya Beach June 2010

We LOVED the beach...beautiful! We ate at the French, Spanish, Mexican, Steakhouse, and Japanese restaurants. Steakhouse, Japanese & French were great! Mexican and Spanish were too hot to enjoy dinner! We went to Xplor and took [@] tour to Tulum & Coba (hot, but well worth the trip)! The pool by the bar was quite noisy, but there is enough beach to find a quiet spot away from the commotion. Service was great (with our minimal Spanish-speaking abilities).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JW Kelly
Kansas City, MO
Jun 8, 2010

Barcelo Maya Palace

The food in the buffet restaurants was awesome and I do not like buffet's usually. The food at the Brasserie (French) and Caribe (Caribbean) was REALLY BAD! The service was ok at the buffets (just drinks and cleaning plates) but bad at the restaurants as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

I would not pay the extra $$$ for the privilege of dining in the nicer restaurants of the "Palace". The best meals we ate from the a la carte options were "El Agave" (Mexican) and Bali Hai (Teppanyaki) on the adjoined properties.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jun 8, 2010

The Palace was a great place to unwind

Resort was nice and clean w/ a great spot on the beach. The grounds were imaculate and the food was good. Very attentive service in all areas except the bars where service seemed to be less attentive serving watered down drinks. Resort was so vast we primarily stayed on the Palace grounds as the other hotels all seemed to be about the same in amenities. My travel companion particular enjoyed the daily water aerobics

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deb and Ron
Littleton, CO
Jun 8, 2010

Just okay, won't be going back...

The Barcelo complex is beautiful but we were disappointed and won't be going back. The grounds were beautiful but that's probably because it rains a lot! We didn't see the sun for the first four days of our stay and the Barcelo provides nothing to do indoors so we ate and watched TV. Everyone there expects tips and it seemed that everything we wanted to do or drink would cost extra $$$, including internet. The maids punished us if we didn't leave tips in our two rooms by not leaving us coffee, towels or washcloths. One day while we were at lunch the maids took our pool towels out of our rooms and hid them on their maid cart which was a cost of $20 per towel to the front desk if we hadn't found them. Our AC broke, as did the coffee pot - they were fixed within a few hours. The food service and food staff were the best. The long waits at the front desk and to make dinner reservations were unacceptable and NEVER once did the guest service attendants in our hotel building acknowledge us. The overall attitude of the staff was not inviting or friendly - there were certainly friendly individuals and great people but they were isolated. We were also limited on what we could do based on which resort we stayed at, that was very misleading when booking the room. We will not return to this complex and traveling through the Cancun airport was an absolute nightmare. We made the best of this vacation since we were spending thousands of dollars but the experience was very disappointing. We will return to the Marival Resort Puerto (Nuevo) Vallarta where you are treated with respect, friendliness, courtesy and feel like you get a fantastic vacation experience for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Making reservations at the specialized restaurants in the resort needs to be done immediately upon arrival or you won't get to take advantage of them. Also, you do not have access to 20 restaurants in the complex unless you stay at the most expensive hotel, the Moon Palace. We were at the Barcelo Maya Beach and the Barcelo Caribe and were only permitted access to three of the reservation restaurants.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ambert83
Kansas
Jun 8, 2010

Barcelo Maya Beach June 2010

We LOVED the beach...beautiful! We ate at the French, Spanish, Mexican, Steakhouse, and Japanese restaurants. Steakhouse, Japanese & French were great! Mexican and Spanish were too hot to enjoy dinner! We went to Xplor and took [@] tour to Tulum & Coba (hot, but well worth the trip)! The pool by the bar was quite noisy, but there is enough beach to find a quiet spot away from the commotion. Service was great (with our minimal Spanish-speaking abilities).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deb and Ron
Littleton, CO
Jun 8, 2010

Just okay, won't be going back...

The Barcelo complex is beautiful but we were disappointed and won't be going back. The grounds were beautiful but that's probably because it rains a lot! We didn't see the sun for the first four days of our stay and the Barcelo provides nothing to do indoors so we ate and watched TV. Everyone there expects tips and it seemed that everything we wanted to do or drink would cost extra $$$, including internet. The maids punished us if we didn't leave tips in our two rooms by not leaving us coffee, towels or washcloths. One day while we were at lunch the maids took our pool towels out of our rooms and hid them on their maid cart which was a cost of $20 per towel to the front desk if we hadn't found them. Our AC broke, as did the coffee pot - they were fixed within a few hours. The food service and food staff were the best. The long waits at the front desk and to make dinner reservations were unacceptable and NEVER once did the guest service attendants in our hotel building acknowledge us. The overall attitude of the staff was not inviting or friendly - there were certainly friendly individuals and great people but they were isolated. We were also limited on what we could do based on which resort we stayed at, that was very misleading when booking the room. We will not return to this complex and traveling through the Cancun airport was an absolute nightmare. We made the best of this vacation since we were spending thousands of dollars but the experience was very disappointing. We will return to the Marival Resort Puerto (Nuevo) Vallarta where you are treated with respect, friendliness, courtesy and feel like you get a fantastic vacation experience for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Making reservations at the specialized restaurants in the resort needs to be done immediately upon arrival or you won't get to take advantage of them. Also, you do not have access to 20 restaurants in the complex unless you stay at the most expensive hotel, the Moon Palace. We were at the Barcelo Maya Beach and the Barcelo Caribe and were only permitted access to three of the reservation restaurants.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JW Kelly
Kansas City, MO
Jun 8, 2010

Barcelo Maya Palace

The food in the buffet restaurants was awesome and I do not like buffet's usually. The food at the Brasserie (French) and Caribe (Caribbean) was REALLY BAD! The service was ok at the buffets (just drinks and cleaning plates) but bad at the restaurants as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

I would not pay the extra $$$ for the privilege of dining in the nicer restaurants of the "Palace". The best meals we ate from the a la carte options were "El Agave" (Mexican) and Bali Hai (Teppanyaki) on the adjoined properties.

Back to menu Return to top