$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2014 Check-out: May 4, 2014

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal- km 266.3, Riviera Maya, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
1,200 reviews
Good Stuff

2nd time there. Will be back. Book on cyber monday for the best discount See full review

  • Bigdrawer
  • Mar 26, 2014
Great hotel

Loved it. I recommend this hotel. Cannot go wrong by staying at barcelo. See full review

  • Caro1
  • Mar 9, 2014
Enjoy the pristine beach and the azure waters of the Caribbean
The Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex is built in the Mayan architectural style and made up of four all-inclusive resorts: the Barcelo Maya Beach, Barcelo Maya Caribe, Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach and Barcelo Maya Tropical. The complex has a variety of restaurants which serve international cuisine, including Mexican and authentic Spanish fare. The Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex also has swimming pools, bars, pool tables, basketball and tennis courts, plus a nightclub and wellness center. U-Spa rejuvenates with massage rooms, Vichy showers, hydrotherapy pools and more. Snorkeling, kayaking, dance lessons and miniature golf are amongst the activities guests can enjoy (fees may apply). Live shows are also on hand when guests just want to kick back and relax.
Reasons to stay
  • The Barcelo Maya Beach Hotel has been refurbished to adapt to guests' expectations 
  • Located on the best stretch of beach on the Riviera Maya
  • Rooms feature views of pools, tropical garden or ocean front, plus private terraces or balconies
  • Plenty of entertainment with 14 restaurants (restrictions may apply), a disco, kids club and more
  • Numerous activities and water sports, including a spa, tennis courts and diving excursions (fees may apply)
Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex rooms
The Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex rooms are open-plan bespoke with Mayan-inspired décor in muted colors. Rooms also have modern amenities including rainfall showers, air conditioning, Wi-Fi access (fees may apply) and flat-screen TVs. Many rooms boast ocean views from a private terrace or balcony, and Superior Rooms feature views of the gardens. Creature comforts at the Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex include coffee maker, alarm clock, ironing board and safe deposit box.
Things to do nearby
  • Xcaret (12.7 mi/20.4 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (15.5 mi/25 km)
  • Aktunchen (30.2 mi/48.7 km)
  • Xel-Ha (34.6 mi/55.6 km)
  • Tulum Mayan ruins (45 mi/27.5 km)
  • Sian Ka'an Ecological Park (52.9 mi/85.1 km)
  • Cancun (58.5 mi/94.2 km)
  • Chichen Itza (138 mi/223 km)

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex Rooms

Barcelo Maya Beach Room
Terrace or balcony, full bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, LCD screen with remote control, telephone with mail-box, alarm clock, bathrobes, hairdryer, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, mini-bar (stocked daily), in-room safe, iron & ironing board, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size bed or 2 full-size beds, the total area with 27.80 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Tropical Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Colonial Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Club Premium Suites
*Private Check In and Check Out in an exclusive Club Premium area. *Personalized concierge services only for Club Premium clients. *The Best room view in our exclusive Club Premium area. *Petit fours and domestic bottle of champagne in the room upon arrival. *Pool towels in the room. *VIP Minibar (sodas, water, beer and snack) *Premium amenities in the room. *Priority to reserve in a la carte restaurantes *Unlimited reservations, subject to availability). *Exclusive Club Premium Lounge with international drink, canapes, continental breakfast, table games, books, newspaper, free internet (Opern from 7.00hts to 23hrs) *Free local calls. *Free wireless internet. *Express laundry service with regular charge. *20% off in the spa and beaty salon. (restrictions apply)
Barcelo Maya Beach Junior Suite Club Premium
Spacious Junior suite with 593sq which combines exclusive Club Premium area location, jacuzzi on the terrace and a spectacular view. Receive exclusive benefits of our Club Premium concept. There's a fine selection of petit fours and a bottle of domestic sparkling wine on arrival.
Barcelo Maya Caribe Room
Terrace or balcony, full bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, LCD screen with remote control, telephone with mail-box, alarm clock, bathrobes, hairdryer, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, mini-bar (stocked daily), in-room safe, iron & ironing board, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size bed or 2 full-size beds, the total area with 27.80 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.4885 -87.2484
Area served
Barcelo Maya Palace Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, 9 miles from Xcaret and 45 miles from Cancun International Airport. This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 16 miles from Xel-Ha, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport. 75 Km south of Cancun International Airport. Barcelo Maya Beach resorts Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun.

Dining

Mexico Lindo
A la carte dinner Mexican restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Marenostrum
A la carte dinner Mediterranean-style fish and seafood restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Kyoto
A la carte dinner Japanese restaurant prior reservation(open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal dress required
Capri
A la carte dinner Italian restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Santa Fe
A la carte dinner steak house restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Don Quijote
A la carte dinner Spanish restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress requiered

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Keeping pace in today's business climate requires state-ofthe-art facilities and resources combined with the special touch of a highly professional staff. The Barcelo Maya Convention Center is just such a place, offering a total of 8 spacious meeting rooms with a total capacity for up to 1,400 people. Meetings and event planners have the latest audiovisual equipment at their disposal as well as a wide range of support services, such as an executive business center, theme parties, gourmet cuisine, shows, and more. For those who thrive on getting the job done right, the Barcelo Maya Convention Center is your temple of productivity.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1200)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Overall score

4.2 / 5
1200 out of 1200
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 22, 2009

Our Mother Daughter Senior Trip

We stayed at the Barcelo because this was the fun spot chosen from the Senior Class of 2008. My son went with his class and so we decided to go again for my daughter's senior trip. Most of the familys stayed at the Palace, but we were very glad we were at the Mayan Beach. It was quiet, friendly, beautiful had everything the Palace did and was significantly cheaper. We spent most of our time relaxing by the pool or beach which was perfect! The dance lessons were a blast and the kids loved the availability to indulge in adult beverages because they were 18 (Yup they had a really good time). We would definitely go again. Next time we will make a point to see the Mayan ruins. Maybe next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Go into Playa to shop too. We stayed at the hotel and heard we missed out on some great shopping and authentic living experiences.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
New Jersey
Apr 22, 2009

Barcelo Riviera Maya = A+++

It was a family vacation. Overall rating - A+

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Carson, CA
Apr 19, 2009

The good, the bad, and the REALLY ugly

This vacation should have been really great, the place was nice, the beach was perfect, the pool was huge, the food was awesome, but the service brought it all down.... I travelled with family and friends a total of(18) 9 adults and 9 children. We stayed at the Colonial side; when we got there, the front desk accommodated when we had to request closer rooms (after much discussion). The hotel only gives you one key card and tells you that the machine is not working (how then were they able to give you a card if it's not working...duh...)this was very inconvenient. They think you're stupid so you play stupid too...go back the next day and say "Oh, my husband has the key and I can't find him and I need to get in the room...can I have another card?" It will take awhile but they'll give it to you eventually. The buffet food is great; many selections and excellent desserts. The specialty restaurants have so so food and the wait and service is ridiculous; so we just end up cancelling and going back to the buffet which is actually better. Their children's club is also great; the kids have plenty to do and the staff is wonderful with the kids. I wish I can say the same for the other service staff because the service is a totally different story. Sometimes you get service, sometimes you don't. Most of the staff does not speak/understand English; if you get someone who speaks or understand even a little English, you'll get some service, otherwise take a deep breath and count 1 to 10. Housekeeping is horrible. If you forget to hang the sign (please tidy my room) it will not get done. But like I said, sometimes you get service, sometimes you don't; my sister-in-law never hanged hers but got her room cleaned (oops, I meant the bed made), my mother-in-law, and another friend never got their rooms cleaned ( oops again, I meant the bed made) if they forget to hang it. I thought I'll get better housekeeping service if I tip, so the 2nd day, I looked for the housekeeper and gave her $5, the next day another $5 and she did not even refill the toilet paper and towels (maybe I should've given a $20); Oh well, your bed is nicely done but that's about it. The floors and counters were dirty. So much for tipping - it does not work for housekeeping. My other friend who travelled with us had to stay and watch to make sure the housekeeper mops the floor so it can be done. The pool towels are another story....just very inconvenient for hotel guest vacationing. To top off the inconveniences and poor service, the Orbitz transportation service GrayLine is TERRIBLE and(I can't say the other word). We booked with them our excursions to Chizen-Itza and Tulum/Xel-Ha. We paid for Chizen-Itza with lunch and a trip to the Cenote Ik Kil. The driver never took us to Ik Kil said that it has been closed for 4 days (we got cheated, if Ik Kil was not included, then the price would be lower -and we booked the trip 2 days prior...Orbitz, you need to take a look at that...that is cheating people for their money); a few of us had an upset stomach after lunch as well. Now with our trip to Tulum, we asked to be picked-up by 8:30am because this was a private tour; the driver was 1 hour late, we requested to be taken to Tulum first then Xel-Ha (since this was suppose to be private tour and you just tell them where you want to go first and how long you want to stay there - the driver has his own itenerary (he was instructed differently by the person from GrayLine tours)...remember, there were 18 of us of which there were 9 children...we know where we want to go first...Not until we threatened to be taken back to the hotel and forget the whole thing....only then we were given the choice. The pick-up from the airport went well but picking-up to go to the airport was hell. My sister and her family was picked-up first by this driver from hell, my sister asked for him to wait 5 minutes for her to get her son(an 8yr old)...and what do you know...he left and said that he can't wai...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
New Jersey
Mar 13, 2009

Quiet in January

It is a beautiful place. Had no complaints with room or food. They were very nice about moving us (3 rooms) to a section of the hotel that was more centrally located because my grandson broke his foot a week before vacation.Originally they did put us as far away as possible from beach, pool, food etc. The hotel wasn't that crowded so I don't understand why they do that but they did change it for us after we requested a room change. The complex is huge, expect to do a lot of walking. The grounds and rooms are amazing both very well kept. Buffet at breakfast & lunch was really good. We did try some of the other hotel buffets & we all agreed that the Place was the best. The dinner Buffet was ok but we were able to eat at the other specialty restaurants most nights. The Brazilian was fun the Italian not so good. French was good also, Seafood so so. Maybe because the hotel was very quite there didn't seem like a lot was going on at the Place pool. Some of the other hotels had a much livelier pool atmosphere. that being said it was still a better choice to stay at the Place & take a trip to another pool. January seemed like a very slow time 3rd to 10th, a little too quiet for 19 year olds & 30 year olds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
North Dakota
Mar 4, 2009

Good

This was an awesome resort, but we booked the Colonial and got put in the Caribe location. That did not impress me at all. The lady at the front desk was very rude. We got very poor service at the bars at the pools. We didn't like that there was no drink service on the beach. We stayed in Cabo last year and got awesome drink service on the beach. I wouldn't go here again just for that fact. They did keep the grounds spotless. It was a beautiful place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

There is no nightlife here. You have to go a long drive to get to any nightlife, so if you are looking for that, this resort isn't the one for you.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Deerfield Beach FL
Feb 27, 2009

The Good, the bad,and the ugly.

Beautiful location,lousy service, lack of linen for rooms (towels) Not answering to any requests. Buffet food cold. Special Dinner reservation were not available till 9;30PM or not at all. The wedding package we attended was the best, food was warm and well served, To top it all Transportation reserved via Orbitz did not show up at pickup time for return, Taxi had to be taken to get back to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: In Hotel

Shopping center on premise. Barcelo Colonial Beach Resort

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
black barbie
London, ON
Dec 27, 2008

We were impressed

We were quite impressed with the staff at Barcelo Maya Palace. Everything possible was done to make our stay the best it could possibly be. Our family of 7 had a wonderful time and it felt like every attempt by the staff was made to make it wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Longmont
Dec 26, 2008

My opinions

Positives: Bottled water free and very available; Good set of slides, etc. for small children (up to age 7); Very big pool; Hammocks very available; Beach has no solicitors; Very good buffet food for both adults and picky children; Very quiet. Negatives: No food/snacks available near the pool; No wait service near the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Puerto Aventuras is a short taxi ride away, and has restaurants, shopping, etc. It is a gated area, so the deals are not as cheap as Playa del Carmen, but you don't have the riff-raff.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Dec 26, 2008

Beautiful Beach

My husband, two college-age sons, and I enjoyed a wonderful Christmas week at the Barcelo Maya Caribe. Check-in went smoothly and we were placed in adjoining handicap-accessible rooms on the first floor. The room was nice, but the A/C didn't work and our sliding glass door was missing the screen and a lock. We called maintenance and they fixed everything while we were at dinner. The refrigerator in our sons' room did not work, but they kept it stocked with bottled water, soda and beer. The grounds were beautifully maintained and the pool and beach were amazing. It was our first trip to Mexico and we were surprised that the hotel staff didn't know very much English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

XCaret was a fabulous Eco-park with a cenote, sea pools, animals, and a great 2-hour show at night.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
St. Charles
Dec 26, 2008

great place!

We loved everything about the Barcelo. It is very lovely, spacious and clean. There is something for everybody there. The staff was very helpful and friendly. There is a lot of walking involved but that helps with burning off the calories from all the food we ate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, shows and shopping.

Back to menu Return to top