$231 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal- km 266.3, Riviera Maya, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
2,081 reviews
excellent place to stay

there are nothing but great things to say about this property. food and service are excellent.... See full review

  • eeyore and garfield
  • May 28, 2014
Amaizng place

We went to this hotel for early summer vacation. This was our first time in Mexico, but definitely... See full review

  • DInche
  • May 25, 2014
Offering 24-hour drinks, snacks and meals, the Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex combines convenience with luxury at four distinct resort areas: Barcelo Maya Beach, Maya Caribe, Maya Colonial Beach and Maya Tropical. Recently renovated bars, restaurants, and ocean- or garden-facing accommodations transport guests to a relaxing Caribbean environment. Dine on international buffet dishes or local Mexican flavors and sip refreshing fruit juices before taking a dip in the pool. Families can unwind with Mayan-inspired spa treatments at the spa, or adults can drop the kids off at the Barcy Club, which hosts a range of activities - from balloon contests to soccer and board games.
Key facts
  • Suites and family rooms
  • Wi-Fi access (fees may apply)
  • Spa facilities, which offers treatments for adults and children
  • Conference spaces
  • Bars and restaurants at each resort
  • Dolphinaris at Barcelo - interactive dolphin experience
  • Children's Club
  • Swimming pool
  • Trips and excursions available
  • Gym
  • Shopping center
  • Children's playground
  • Nightclub
  • Kukulcan Theater with live shows
  • Sports and beach facilities
Neighborhood
The Barcelo resort is situated on the shore just south of central Playa del Carmen. Enjoy a refreshing swim in the calm, warm waters just off the coast, or venture further out on a boat ride to Cozumel Island. Two major natural resources - Parque Nacional de Quintana Roo and Parque Nacional Tulum - are just a short bus or car ride south along the coastal highway. Visitors to these parks can explore lush jungles and an ancient, walled Mayan city, or go for a scuba session in a natural cave. Guests that decide not to wander too far from their rooms can still go swimming with dolphins or enjoy golf at the resort.
Hints and tips
Join guided tours to Mayan relics like Chichen Itza and modern parks like Xcaret for an additional fee, or get your adventure fix at the Tulum Extreme zip-lining circuit.

Book rooms on higher levels for excellent views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex Rooms

Barcelo Maya Beach Room
Terrace or balcony, full bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, LCD screen with remote control, telephone with mail-box, alarm clock, bathrobes, hairdryer, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, mini-bar (stocked daily), in-room safe, iron & ironing board, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size bed or 2 full-size beds, the total area with 27.80 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Beach Junior Suite Club Premium
Spacious Junior suite with 593sq which combines exclusive Club Premium area location, jacuzzi on the terrace and a spectacular view. Receive exclusive benefits of our Club Premium concept. There's a fine selection of petit fours and a bottle of domestic sparkling wine on arrival.
Barcelo Maya Colonial Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Tropical Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Club Premium Suites
*Private Check In and Check Out in an exclusive Club Premium area. *Personalized concierge services only for Club Premium clients. *The Best room view in our exclusive Club Premium area. *Petit fours and domestic bottle of champagne in the room upon arrival. *Pool towels in the room. *VIP Minibar (sodas, water, beer and snack) *Premium amenities in the room. *Priority to reserve in a la carte restaurantes *Unlimited reservations, subject to availability). *Exclusive Club Premium Lounge with international drink, canapes, continental breakfast, table games, books, newspaper, free internet (Opern from 7.00hts to 23hrs) *Free local calls. *Free wireless internet. *Express laundry service with regular charge. *20% off in the spa and beaty salon. (restrictions apply)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.4885 -87.2484
Area served
Barcelo Maya Palace Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, 9 miles from Xcaret and 45 miles from Cancun International Airport. This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 16 miles from Xel-Ha, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport. 75 Km south of Cancun International Airport. Barcelo Maya Beach resorts Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Keeping pace in today's business climate requires state-ofthe-art facilities and resources combined with the special touch of a highly professional staff. The Barcelo Maya Convention Center is just such a place, offering a total of 8 spacious meeting rooms with a total capacity for up to 1,400 people. Meetings and event planners have the latest audiovisual equipment at their disposal as well as a wide range of support services, such as an executive business center, theme parties, gourmet cuisine, shows, and more. For those who thrive on getting the job done right, the Barcelo Maya Convention Center is your temple of productivity.

Dining

Mexico Lindo
A la carte dinner Mexican restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Marenostrum
A la carte dinner Mediterranean-style fish and seafood restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Kyoto
A la carte dinner Japanese restaurant prior reservation(open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal dress required
Capri
A la carte dinner Italian restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Santa Fe
A la carte dinner steak house restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (2081)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
2081 out of 2081
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LynnV Mom
Table Grove, Illinois
Oct 21, 2012

Awesome getaway for mom & daughters.

R & R was the plan for this trip with my 2 very busy working daughters/moms of toddlers. "Thank you guys" for letting me have your wives for a week! It was their 1st trip to Riviera Maya and my 2nd. I chose the Barcelo as I had a great vacation there several years ago and wanted to share that experience. We were not disappointed. As a matter of fact we were very surprised to be upgraded to The Colonial as The Beach and Caribe were being renovated. The front desk personnel were super nice and efficient, getting us into our room within minutes of arriving at the hotel. The whole resort is gorgeous, with thatched roofs over most of the walkways, giving the feeling of being in Tahiti or Bali, lush grounds beautifully manicured and clean. The swimming pools as well as the kids pool area is beyond description , just beyond words as the pools meander under bridges and flow along like rivers adorned with palm trees and lush greenery, just waiting for swimmers to jump in and laze the day away. Plenty of covered pergolas poolside with comfortable chaise lounges and hammocks. The food was terrific from the main dining room to the Mariachi Grill.. Food and service was out of this world, not to mention the variety of food..what to eat first? The wait staff were awesome, bent over backwards to make sure we were doing ok and had want we wanted..made us feel very special. Everything was super clean. We ate at the Italian Restaurant and the Japanese Restaurant..both excellent. Our reservations for both were easy to make. Our vacation was strictly. R & R so lying by the beach, swimming in the ocean and pool were our priorities. We did go kayaking and sailing ( hobie catamaran) one day which was free.. Great service and help from beach staff. The food and drinks were plentiful. This whole Barcelo experience was beyond our expectations and we are planning another next year but with all the families attending as this resort has something for all ages. The nightly entertainment was great as well . We hated to leave! Lynn - mom

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We were not told to keep our arrival/departure paper that we had to fill out before arrival in Cancun. As a result, it was a real hassle upon arrival at Cancun airport for departure. We had to go our respective airline office in the airport, get copies of passport picture/date of arrival stamp..go to immigration office in the airport and fill out the papers again. This took a good 45 minutes. We then could get in line for our flight check-in. So.. Keep all your papers!!!!

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eliseo Guzman
Chicago
Jul 14, 2012

Absolutely wonderful place for family vacation

Barcelo is beautiful. I was there for 9 days and wished for more days.The pools are great, the food is great, plenty of activities to keep you busy. Only draw backs are drinks are not always the best. Personally I am a beer drinker. Wish you could get wait staff outside and around pool area, but I guess for the price you can't complain. This was my second visit and will be back for more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amanandfriends
riviera maya, mexico
Jul 9, 2012

Wonderful experience

We went as a group of 3 couples and stayed at the Barcelo maya beach resort. Everything was so amazing from the food, to the shows, to the staff! This was our first experience with the Barcelo chain and it was a very positive experience. The only down side was that the airport transfer was not included and the wifi access was extra. This trip gave us all a bang for our bucks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If your looking to shop at playa del carmine, beware of local vendors trying to high ball you for their goods. They start with a high price and then give u 50% off, which is still high... Keep bargaining, you hold the purchasing power!

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LeHunter
Houston
Jul 8, 2012

Fantastic vacation

Hotel is awesome. Beatiful beach and huge swimming pool with bar. Drinks have good quality, food was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to take some tours close to hotel, like Xplor, Xcaret, Xelha, Tulum or Swimming with whale sharks, book them through the web sites, I guarantee, you will save money.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nito
massachusetts
Jul 7, 2012

good family vacation

The hotel was good but the car rental ( advantage) really bad services. They always try to change more without not reasons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rreig
Miami
Jul 7, 2012

Great resort!

Great resort. We had a great time in your resort. The only suggestions from us is to take a little bit more of care with the rooms. Our room smell like mildew, the room phone need urgent replacement, like the digital watch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the show in the Palace at lest one day in your stay. Drinks are not free in there if you are not staying at the palace.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Forget Me Not
Sacramento, California
Jul 6, 2012

Perfect!

Everything was 5 stars!!! This was our third time in Barcelo and every time I love it even more... I stayed in Maya Beach Tropical this time and it was excellent experience. Rooms are very clean, as well are all the places in the resort including restrooms on the beach. Staff is friendly, and always ready to make your stay even better. Food is very good in every buffet and restaurant I have tried. If you have a choice visit French, Mexican, and Spanish restaurants, I have enjoyed these the most. Beach is clean and water is perfect temperature and color. If you want yourself a very pleasant vacation do not hesitate to go to the Barcelo complex, it is indeed good enough to make you relax and worth every penny. Perfect is the perfect word to describe our visit! Thank you Barcelo!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret is a good place to visit if you travel with kids. You will enjoy it. I was there 3 times already, and still have not seen everything.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
steve peychinov
chicago
Jul 4, 2012

nice hotel,but services is nothing special.

never again.riu is the best.no more barcelo,ever. the hotel is nice but the services is not usual for mexico.i ben 10 times in mexico and this was the worst one.dont go thear. go to iberostar or riu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Allmaa
Denver, Colorado
Jul 4, 2012

I will be back

This hotel was very nice. It had nice big rooms and bathrooms. It he staff was all very nice, and helpful. We got all inclusive and the food was delicious. Food at any time and with a great variety. There was Mexican night Caribbean and sea food all of them were extraordinary. They give you a lot of choices and everything fresh! Also drinks awesome I recommend a red eye or a viva Mexico, modelo is the only beer that is provided. The beach is a bit far from my room but worth the walk beautiful ! Pool awesome as well. They have shops and a night club which is fun dancers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy!!!

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SaraOD
NC
Jul 1, 2012

worst vacation ever!

I just got home from my stay at Barcelo Riviera Beach. I will start out with check in. Most of the front desk staff were rude and couldn't/wouldn't answer any of my questions. This was my first time at the resort so I didn't understand or know what exactly was included. I won't bore you to death but the bottom line is when I had a question in reference to something I would just ask another guest. IT is extremely hot and humid and pretty much every venue is open air, (not closed in) except for the rooms. The mosquitoes where horrible, we came back covered in bug bites. They say all inclusive but this hotel is not. The only thing you aren't paying for is the main restraunt which is buffet. If you don't mind it then you will not have any issues. NOTE: when making reservations for another restraunt they automatically charge you for your meal??? (619.50 pesos) How do they know what you're going to eat??? there is no shuttle service from the hotel you must plan that with your travel agent otherwise it will cost for a taxi $127 USD, one way! BTW, its a 50 mn drive I hate to say that I wasted a week and over 3K on this trip but I did. BLUF, I will never go back this resort again, and it is def not a 4 star. The rooms where dated, and needed work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Javerola
Florida
Jun 25, 2012

Summer Family Vacation

This is the second trip to this hotel. It is located 80 min from Cancun Airport. Lots of couples and families with children, good athmosphere. There is a nightly activity at the theater, which is a plus. Kids club though is defficient with activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Do your research regarding transportation from Airport to Hotel. You can take a taxi right at the airport.

Back to menu Return to top