$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2014 Check-out: May 4, 2014

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal- km 266.3, Riviera Maya, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
1,199 reviews
Good Stuff

2nd time there. Will be back. Book on cyber monday for the best discount See full review

  • Bigdrawer
  • Mar 26, 2014
Great hotel

Loved it. I recommend this hotel. Cannot go wrong by staying at barcelo. See full review

  • Caro1
  • Mar 9, 2014
Enjoy the pristine beach and the azure waters of the Caribbean
The Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex is built in the Mayan architectural style and made up of four all-inclusive resorts: the Barcelo Maya Beach, Barcelo Maya Caribe, Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach and Barcelo Maya Tropical. The complex has a variety of restaurants which serve international cuisine, including Mexican and authentic Spanish fare. The Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex also has swimming pools, bars, pool tables, basketball and tennis courts, plus a nightclub and wellness center. U-Spa rejuvenates with massage rooms, Vichy showers, hydrotherapy pools and more. Snorkeling, kayaking, dance lessons and miniature golf are amongst the activities guests can enjoy (fees may apply). Live shows are also on hand when guests just want to kick back and relax.
Reasons to stay
  • The Barcelo Maya Beach Hotel has been refurbished to adapt to guests' expectations 
  • Located on the best stretch of beach on the Riviera Maya
  • Rooms feature views of pools, tropical garden or ocean front, plus private terraces or balconies
  • Plenty of entertainment with 14 restaurants (restrictions may apply), a disco, kids club and more
  • Numerous activities and water sports, including a spa, tennis courts and diving excursions (fees may apply)
Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex rooms
The Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex rooms are open-plan bespoke with Mayan-inspired décor in muted colors. Rooms also have modern amenities including rainfall showers, air conditioning, Wi-Fi access (fees may apply) and flat-screen TVs. Many rooms boast ocean views from a private terrace or balcony, and Superior Rooms feature views of the gardens. Creature comforts at the Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex include coffee maker, alarm clock, ironing board and safe deposit box.
Things to do nearby
  • Xcaret (12.7 mi/20.4 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (15.5 mi/25 km)
  • Aktunchen (30.2 mi/48.7 km)
  • Xel-Ha (34.6 mi/55.6 km)
  • Tulum Mayan ruins (45 mi/27.5 km)
  • Sian Ka'an Ecological Park (52.9 mi/85.1 km)
  • Cancun (58.5 mi/94.2 km)
  • Chichen Itza (138 mi/223 km)

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex Rooms

Barcelo Maya Beach Room
Terrace or balcony, full bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, LCD screen with remote control, telephone with mail-box, alarm clock, bathrobes, hairdryer, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, mini-bar (stocked daily), in-room safe, iron & ironing board, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size bed or 2 full-size beds, the total area with 27.80 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Tropical Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Colonial Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Club Premium Suites
*Private Check In and Check Out in an exclusive Club Premium area. *Personalized concierge services only for Club Premium clients. *The Best room view in our exclusive Club Premium area. *Petit fours and domestic bottle of champagne in the room upon arrival. *Pool towels in the room. *VIP Minibar (sodas, water, beer and snack) *Premium amenities in the room. *Priority to reserve in a la carte restaurantes *Unlimited reservations, subject to availability). *Exclusive Club Premium Lounge with international drink, canapes, continental breakfast, table games, books, newspaper, free internet (Opern from 7.00hts to 23hrs) *Free local calls. *Free wireless internet. *Express laundry service with regular charge. *20% off in the spa and beaty salon. (restrictions apply)
Barcelo Maya Beach Junior Suite Club Premium
Spacious Junior suite with 593sq which combines exclusive Club Premium area location, jacuzzi on the terrace and a spectacular view. Receive exclusive benefits of our Club Premium concept. There's a fine selection of petit fours and a bottle of domestic sparkling wine on arrival.
Barcelo Maya Caribe Room
Terrace or balcony, full bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, LCD screen with remote control, telephone with mail-box, alarm clock, bathrobes, hairdryer, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, mini-bar (stocked daily), in-room safe, iron & ironing board, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size bed or 2 full-size beds, the total area with 27.80 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.4885 -87.2484
Area served
Barcelo Maya Palace Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, 9 miles from Xcaret and 45 miles from Cancun International Airport. This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 16 miles from Xel-Ha, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport. 75 Km south of Cancun International Airport. Barcelo Maya Beach resorts Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun.

Dining

Mexico Lindo
A la carte dinner Mexican restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Marenostrum
A la carte dinner Mediterranean-style fish and seafood restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Kyoto
A la carte dinner Japanese restaurant prior reservation(open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal dress required
Capri
A la carte dinner Italian restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Santa Fe
A la carte dinner steak house restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Don Quijote
A la carte dinner Spanish restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress requiered

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Keeping pace in today's business climate requires state-ofthe-art facilities and resources combined with the special touch of a highly professional staff. The Barcelo Maya Convention Center is just such a place, offering a total of 8 spacious meeting rooms with a total capacity for up to 1,400 people. Meetings and event planners have the latest audiovisual equipment at their disposal as well as a wide range of support services, such as an executive business center, theme parties, gourmet cuisine, shows, and more. For those who thrive on getting the job done right, the Barcelo Maya Convention Center is your temple of productivity.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1199)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Overall score

4.2 / 5
1199 out of 1199
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
Plunderroom
Richmond, VA
Dec 12, 2012

Perfect retirement celebration!

We thoroughly enjoyed this resort. It exceeded our expectations as we had heard mixed reviews about all-inclusive resorts. The variety of restaurants, food offerings and drink quality were excellent. The staff was very attentive and made sure you were looked after very well. Beautiful surroundings too. Make sure to get the Club level for all the upgrades; it is well worth the extra money. We will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to upgrade to the Club level to have access to all the non-buffet restaurants.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

1
Wasted My Money
Business
Mobile, AL
Apr 4, 2014

Horrible

Do not stay here! Terrible food, terrible service, shady about everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
Holls
Reading, PA
Apr 2, 2014

Great location and amenities

We had an excellent vacation overall. The beach is magnificent and mostly quiet with families and older children. It's quite a distance from the chaos of Cancun with a 1- 1/4 hour drive. Only 15 minutes from town with a $50 cab fare round trip. It is worth it to be in a quiet resort. Outstanding excursions! It is not a Mexican resort rather a Spanish resort with a strong European population comfortable going topless. The resort has some English speaking folks, but English is not the primary language. We loved it! We stayed at the Mayan beach resort with very few ocean views. Book dine outs early as they are small facilities that get full fast. All inclusive food is a very nice variety and good quality. Would highly recommend Barcelo if you are looking to get away for a relaxing vacation, beautiful facilty and beach, and willing to travel a bit to other areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Book your dine outs early!

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
Bigdrawer
48390
Mar 26, 2014

Good Stuff

2nd time there. Will be back. Book on cyber monday for the best discount

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Take a large insulated cup for drinks from the bar.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

1
PJW not impressed
Des Moines, IA
Mar 22, 2014

Not worth the cost

When we first got there, the had overbooked in the resort we were at so they put us in another resort on site which was cheaper. They told me to come back in the morning which I did. They did get us a room in the resort I was supposed to be but it wasn't ready. I had to go back 3 times with our luggage before they said it was ready, they kept telling me new times. Once we got the to the room, the A/C unit sounded like an airplane which is probably why the room ended up being available. All week they were going to send someone to fix it but it never happened. To top it off, my son went to buy some souvenirs and the guy sold him illegal Cuban cigars that he had hidden. He told my son it was legal to take 1 box into the US, which it isn't. I did get his money back by going to the vendor and threatening him by turning him in. When I talked to management about this they didn't really seem to care. I would not recommend going back to this place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkeling, zip lining, repelling, and Tulum Mayan ruin excursion

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
gcdc
michigan
Mar 12, 2014

Whole family enjoyed alot

This was the 6th time to this resort. The beach is awesome and the rooms were all you need. The pools were clean and the staff was more than just willing to help. Food was pretty good with a lot of choices. There was something for everyone in our family to do each and every day. The past 6 trips I have watched this complex change and constantly be upgraded to the next level. They recently created a dolphin training pool where you can swim with the dolphins and become a trainer for the day. All the water sports were used by our family. If I had any thing to change it would be the nightly entertainment in the 2 full sized theatres they have. This is a great family place where even the young children can have a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

All attractions are around $100.00 or more US. Talk to the people in the lobby and sometimes they can get you a better deal. We used cabs and it really brought the cost down. Instead of the package deals

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
Caro1
New England
Mar 9, 2014

Great hotel

Loved it. I recommend this hotel. Cannot go wrong by staying at barcelo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
Jclay
Jersey shore
Mar 3, 2014

family getaway

Wi-Fi should be included. It's disturbing and heartbreaking to see they keep 5 to 7 dolphins in a kiddie size pool for human entertainment..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
fnord
Denver, Co
Mar 3, 2014

Great Place for Family

Stayed here with a family of 5, it was great. Food, service, facilities, pool, beach, weather, cleanliness, all great. There are two things they need to improve: 1. The mattresses in the colonial maya are bad, not old, just stiff feel the springs coming through type mattresses. Both our beds were like this, the sofa bed was more comfortable. 2. Forget trying to get into one of their restaurants. You can't make a reservation before you get there, then when you get there you can't make a reservation cause its booked. My wife begged our way into one of the restaurants for one night, and guess what, over half the tables were empty. Seems like they didn't want you to eat at the restaurants. Other than those two items, you can't go wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xel ha is not to be missed.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
Spanish world traveler
Mountain View, California
Mar 1, 2014

Good hotel in a nice location

This is a good hotel, located near some nice "cenotes". The landscaping is nice and it's well maintained. The hotel is really clean.The buffet is good but it's the same every single day, they don't change it and you get bored after a few days. The website said they had a teenager club and a teenager disco so we chose this hotel because I have a 13 year old. When we arrived there they told us the teenager club is only open during high season. That was a big dissapointment but the animation crew around the pool were really helpful: Edgar and Noviembre tried to make sure we were always having a good time. I cannot say the same thing about the night shows. We didn't like them very much. Every night it was the same team doing something different but they were not very good. Overall is a nice hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You have some nice cenotes to swim in just 5 minutes walking from the hotel.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
jhoov
Utah
Feb 28, 2014

Annual Vacation

My wife and I have stayed at the Barcello Riviera Maya 8 times now. I have also stayed in several different resorts in Cancun and Playa Del Carmen, but I always get dissapointed when i stay some place else. We have stayed in all of the different complexes, the Palace, Tropical, Colonial, Carrib, and the Beach. Each one has it's advantages, however I have loved all of them. My wife and I will continue to stay at the Barcello complex, as it seems to be the best value anywhere around Cancun. The facility has everything you could want to make a fantastic vacation. Hobie Cats, wind surfing and water trikes as well as a golf chipping and putting course are all there to use free of charge. With fantastic snorkeling right off the beach. Snorkel, SCUBA, Deep sea fishing, as well as other tours are all available from the tour desk. The Barcello complex continues to make improvements and upgrades. They recently upgraded the Beach Hotel's front reception area restaurant and bars. They also added a Dolphin experience pool, where you can swim with the dolphins right on the property. Its really cool They have also added more water slides and kids pools for a real great family experience. The complex has everything to make for a fantastic vacation wether you want activities, or just relax. Lots of shade, or sun, and plenty chairs for everyone. I would highly recommend this resort to ANYONE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

try all of the buffets, as some of them have better food than others. The specialty restaurants are great!

Back to menu Return to top