$335 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Chetumal Pto. Juarez Km 266.3, Quintana Roo, Riviera Maya, 77750

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicolas66
Business
Lexington MA
Apr 20, 2013

best all inclusive in riviera maya

we went to Barcelo palace with our 4 daufghters (7,7,8,10). we tried multiple all-inclusive and were never quite satisfied. for the first time this resort exceeded all of our expectations. we bought the premium package, had wonderfully located rooms, enjoy great food and amenities very responsive staff, for instance the ac was not working in our room, we called the desk and 5 minutes later someone came. it was actually our fault as there is a sensor on the window that detected that the window was open for the first time i saw the value of "a la carte" restaurants as the food was just very good (we are french :)) i would recommend this and we will come back next year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nabil S
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 10, 2013

Barcelo Riviera Maya

If it's not for the location, the food and the amenities, i would rate this hotel a 3 star. Service at the desk is extremely slow, it took 1h20min to check'in on a non weekend day. Hotel reception staff was not ready for large crowds, totally overwhelmed. Then we were given a room very far from the lobby that had mold in it (not good when you're travelling with kids and babies), it took the agent on site 30min to find a cleaner room and many phone calls. Should never have offered the first room in the first place. The hotel manager was very apologetic and offered club premium service to compensate for the bad experience. Food was plentiful and very good, service at the restaurent was excellent. Everything else, pool, especially beaches, location, entertainment, was very good and exceeded our expectations, but again this hotel is supposed to be the best in Cancun isn't?. Customer facing staff that you usually interact with during checkin and checkout need to work on their personal skills, i think it's due to lack of english skills, but inherently i did not feel they were very welcoming compared to other resorts were you feel warmth and attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunburned Chris
Business
Tulsa, OK
Mar 25, 2013

Family Vacation

My family and I stayed at the Barcelo Maya Palace and the resort was as expected, very nice and the beaches were great! However, I would not recommend paying extra for the premium package at the resort as it is stated you will receive more personalized attention and preferential treatment, which was not the case. We had no AC for 2 1/2 days and after 5 requests over 2 days it was finally fixed. Requests for additional towels delivered to our room were ignored. Either short staffed or they just don't care either way being a premimum guests meant nothing to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Senor Frogs in the Playa De Carmen shopping district is a must. Very safe and a short 10 minute drive from the resort. Awesome food and great atmoshpere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Natty
Business
Ontario, canada
Mar 5, 2013

Family trip for Wedding

The hotel is beautiful. I was happy they moved us closer to the front because the hotel is huge. Lots of walking required and with small children, you want to be close to pool and beach.(good thing we brought the stroller for the 2 yr old). The room was great. The lobby bar tender works hard and could have used help, as well as reception desk. The waiters in the a la cart restaurants were fantastic, so was the food. The buffet was ok. The waiters not as helpful. The pool was incredible! Lots of chairs and shade. Beach was nice. We swam in the ocean lots. Glad we brought some sand toys for the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

We are in our late 20's. We booked a trip to playa del carmen for Coco Bongo's. We booked VIP seats for the show. ($108.00 us dollars) We had a shuttle, awesome seats and all you can drink. Best night of my life! so muh fun!! booked it through the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disappointed on vacation
Business
Michigan
Feb 24, 2013

Not what we expected, bring your own chair

We were hoping for a wonderful time. It's a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. There were empty lounge chairs galore at the beach and the pool, unfortunately we couldn't sit in any of them -- people had reserved them all with their towels the night before. Hard to believe there was no where to sit. We spent 15 minutes each time we moved from the beach to the pool trying to move 4 chairs together so we could sit together. Hardly what we expected after paying so much money for this resort. The activities were very restricted in terms of time and we had to go three times before we could get any snorkeling equipment. In theory this all inclusive looks great, but in reality, not so good for a family who is active and doesn't wan to scout out and reserve chairs 12 hours in advance and then lay in those same chairs all day long without changing location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SmV NE
Business
Omaha, Nebraska
Feb 20, 2013

Great first vacation

This trip was my families' first real vacation and first all inclusive resort. Our room was beautiful, well decorated, and clean. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Our room was restocked and tidied up everyday very quickly. The food at the dinner restaurants was delicious. The buffet food was ok. It was pretty typical buffet food, edible but not amazing. There was plenty to do on the resort, so much you wouldn't need to leave your whole stay. Overall we had an amazing experience and would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make the reservations to the restaurants in the hotel for dinner. The food and service is great and it is very refreshing after having buffet for breakfast and lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
eunjin
Business
maryand
Feb 12, 2013

Great vacation !!

awesome vacation !! im defintely going back soon good foods and good services

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
eunjin
Business
maryand
Feb 12, 2013

Great !!!

awesome vacation ! im defintely going bak soon next year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JMW Jeanie
Business
Rowlett, Texas
Feb 4, 2013

Relaxing getaway

This was my 5th time at this resort, the 2nd time I stayed at the Palace. I travelled alone this time & felt really safe. The rooms are beautiful and I love the bathroom, if you forget anything it is provided! (toothbrush, razor, etc.) The staff are awesome! Anytime I asked for anything for the room they were there, the wait staff in the restaurants were very attentive, your water is never empty, carry your plates to your table for you. Can't say enough about the employees at this resort, they go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. I always go to the spa. The massages and the facials are fantastic. I've had massages on the beach before too. I just wanted to relax on the beach & at the pool all week, but there are many other things you can do there and there are very nice areas for children also. Will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff mex diver
Business
Somers, CT
Dec 22, 2012

5 Years and counting

We have visited the Palace for a week for the past five years. It is the ultimate relax resort for us. We have been there during winter school vacations and in the off-season months. The resort is large enough to make the other guests disappear. The breakfast buffets, beachside grills, dinner buffets, and the 11 reservation restaurants are all top notch. Our 2 teenage boys enjoy the wide assortment of resort activities. Local sight-seeing trips are a must.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

After check-in, head for the concierge desk to make restaurant reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top