$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Lote hotelero No.7, Manzana No. Desarrollo, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
49 reviews
Just Right

For the price you really can't beat this. The beach is superb as are the grounds and cabanas. At... See full review

  • penquino
  • Apr 28, 2014
Vacation spot!!

This is the 2nd time I have stayed here at this hotel and we will be coming back a 3rd time in... See full review

  • Sthomas83
  • Apr 13, 2014
Polynesian-style bungalows near Playa del Carmen in Riviera Maya
The Allegro Playacar resort features two-story, Polynesian-style bungalow houses and newly redesigned guestrooms in an intimate setting. A large stretch of beach gives way to Allegro's 286 rooms, all-purpose convention center and world-class restaurants and bars. There are three pools -- one for relaxation, one for action and one for kids. The all-inclusive resort provides Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby. The Allegro Playacar is located 45 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and close to downtown Playa del Carmen.
Highlights:
  • Rooms at Allegro Playacar are set in Polynesian-style bungalow houses
  • Three themed pools for relaxation, action and children
  • Kids Club open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. with video game center
Rooms:

Expect bright colors in the Allegro Playacar's 286 tropical-themed rooms, which are situated in Polynesian-style bungalows, each with a private balcony or terrace. Rooms feature yellow walls and orange accents, all new furniture and modern amenities. Cool tile floors and thatched roofs combine with airy accessories to create an idyllic vacation setting. Each room includes air conditioning, mini-fridge, ceiling fan, satellite TV, full bath, iron and ironing board, coffee maker and safe. Cribs are available upon request.

Features:

Allegro Playacar boasts three pools for whatever your mood -- one for relaxing, one for activities and one just for kids. For a unique experience, guests can tour the chef's selection of fresh chilies in the "Chilarium." The all-inclusive package features water sports including kayaking, snorkeling, boogie boarding, sailing and windsurfing. Athletic guests will appreciate the volleyball, tennis and basketball courts while gamers enjoy ping-pong, darts and billiards. At night, themed parties such as Boogie Dreams allow you to dance the night away. For kids, a mini disco with piñatas and games keeps everyone entertained. For a fee, guests at Allegro Playacar can head out on a Scuba or deep-sea fishing excursion, or relax in the spa or on the golf course.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (0.2 mi/1.5 km)
  • Xel-Ha (21 mi/35 km)
Business­
  • An on-site theater and convention center seats up to 400 guests
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available (fees may apply)
  • A full concierge and convention staff is available for hire

Hotel Map

20.6102 -87.0883
Area served
River Maya, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Our property is about 45 minutes from Cancun. Area activities include shopping and restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen also booked these hotels.

Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Room
Guest room includes one king or two double beds. All rooms have individually controlled air conditioning, ceiling fan, color satellite TV, private bathroom with tub and shower, iron and ironing board, coffee pot and safety deposit box. Cribs available upon request.
Superior Premium
Guest room includes one king or two double beds and are closer to the beach or swimming pool. All rooms have individually controlled air conditioning, ceiling fan, color satellite TV, private bathroom with tub and shower, iron and ironing board, coffee pot and safety deposit box. Cribs available upon request.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Allegro Playacar offers guests in need of meeting or convention facilities a roofed theater with a capacity of 400 persons. The property's attentive and experienced staff can effortlessly accommodate guests' needs to create a memorable event.

Dining

The Mexican
The Mexican features authentic a la carte Mexican fare in a festive environment. Imagine a warm Caribbean evening, authentic Mexican fare and cold "cervezas" - can life get any better?

Reservations are required for both The Mexican and The Italian restaurants.
Aqua Bar
The resort's popular swim-up bar.
Lobby Bar
Casual nightly meeting place.
The Pizzeria
Pizzeria is situated poolside serving delicious pizza and assorted sandwiches
The Disco
Night Club, Disco Bar featuring a pool table, televisions, sport videos and international music.
The Buffet
Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet. Air-conditioned and renovated in 2006.
The Italian Restaurant
The Italian restaurant offers exquisite a la carte Italian dishes in a stylish atmosphere. Dining experiences are enhanced by a selection of fine vintages from the Italian wine menu.

Reservations are required for both The Mexican and The Italian restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 49
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Melinda Colorado
Denver, Colorado
Aug 25, 2014

Not what we expected

First off we Love the Rivièra Maya area, Playacar and Playa del Carmen. The appearance of the Allegro as you arrive is good as well as the grounds. The rooms are horrible. Room one: the door (to outside)would not secure, air conditioning not working properly ceiling leaked and the refrigerator shocked us bad when you touched it. We moved to room two: no a/c, bad smell off to room three: a/c barely worked, ceiling fan only worked in reverse and the pillows smelled like someone died on them long ago. We had the maid swap pillows an bedding an stayed just to tired of wasting our vacation packing an moving. We will not stay here again an do not recommend this place. They have health an safety concerns that need addressing. We spoke with other people at the beach an pool who had the same or similar issues that the staff never properly addressed. Spend a little more an go elsewhere!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
penquino
Seattle WA
Apr 28, 2014

Just Right

For the price you really can't beat this. The beach is superb as are the grounds and cabanas. At some resorts everything is very crammed together but the layout here makes you feel like you have some space to breath. This was not a place with a lot of singles or night life but a nice mix of people from all over the world including families and couples. We will definitely be back. The only thing that could have been better for me would be hot water in the shower though the cool water did feel good at times after coming in from the hot weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cristobalmza83
Mendoza Argentina
Apr 14, 2014

Fantastic family vacation

This was an incredible vacation with my girlfriend and her parents. The fun club was the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Coco Bongo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sthomas83
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Apr 13, 2014

Vacation spot!!

This is the 2nd time I have stayed here at this hotel and we will be coming back a 3rd time in July. The staff are amazing and we just love how friendly they are. I definitely recommend this hotel for those who want paradise views and great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beto the barber
Napa ca
Feb 7, 2014

Beach was awesome

At the arriving at the hotel was great they give me drinks and staff was friendly during the stay was fun but most was the beach. I would recomend this resort to friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Nighlife at playa del carmen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeepher
California
Oct 29, 2012

Fantastic 10 days

This was our 2nd time to Allegro Playacar. We had another wonderful stay. This resort feels like home. Everyone is so friendly and always have a smile on their faces. Such a beautiful beach. Everything is so close since it is a smaller resort. Great food and bar service. Tip the bartenders a little and it goes a long ways. We were given a great room with an awesome view of the ocean and we aren't even part of the vacation club (5614). They even made up our room special on our anniversary with balloons, champaign and chocolate covered strawberries. Such a nice touch. I've been home 2 days and miss Allegro already.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you go to Xplor and Xcaret. Get there early and expect to stay until close. So much to do and not enough time to do it all. Take a taxi, but make sure you use paso's. Taxi's will charge you 10 paso's to our one dollar when it should be almost 13 paso's to a dollar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bumbula
south bend,indiana
Oct 24, 2012

maintenance problems

It seems that the different departments in the hotel do not communicate with each other. The first night we had a problem with the shower and asked for an extra pillow. The shower was repaired but it took them 3 days to get the extra pillow.The shower broke the second day and we were transfered to another room.This room had a defective safe and the security officer said he would have someone look at it the next day.He also said he would write a report about what he found to be wrong.Needless to say, the maintenance person had no idea what was wrong with it and took it to be repaired.When it was returned and we had stored our belongings,we couldn't open it and had to call security again. This nsame room had a broken shampoo dispenser and when we mentioned it to the maid, she said she filled it and left the bottle on the rim of the tub.No one came to fix it. The third room was better but we had to constantly call reception for them to leave the complimentar coffee in the room. Other than these setbacks, the stay was enjoyable. The beach area was great and the personel was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Florida
Dec 9, 2010

TOTAL SCAM

Travelers, beware of this bait and switch scam. When we arrived at Allegro Playacar we were told they had overbooked and our reservation would be honored at Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret. I told them we came for the beach and shopping in the area and that would not do. [...], the manager assured me that the beach was beautiful in Xcaret and if we were not happy we could check into the Allegro the following day. She showed me photos of the hotel on the internet, and the picture showed a beautiful beach, so we went. BIG MISTAKE. There is NO BEACH, just rocks and a small manmade "lagoon" that is filled with water from the underground river, not even salt water. The hotel is in the jungle! We were not happy being lied to about the situation and irate when we couldn't get into the Allegro. It was a total waste of a week, we go for the therapeutic effects of the salt water. Don't think this is an isolated incident, folks. They overbooked the Allegro by 50 to 100 rooms per night the entire week we were there, December 1-8, 2010. I think they did it to fill up the Grand Flamenco. In the event this happens to you, we talked to people who got tickets to the park, day passes to the Allegro, cab fare, etc. So, demand lots of perks. I was told that they were even putting people up at Viva Wyndham Maya in Playacar. They would do nothing for us and we are currently pursuing it through our travel agent.Now, the Grand Flameco Xcaret is a nicer hotel than the Allegro, also three times the size. So, if you have kids and want to go to the Xcaret Park right next door and hang out at the pools, you might be happy here. There is nothing else in this area, not even one other hotel. Otherwise, I suggest you don't book the Allegro.I have been traveling the the Riviera Maya twice a year for over 25 years and this is the worst experience I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janiga 2
chicago,illinois
Oct 8, 2010

Fantastic large beach and great location

This is the second time at Allegro Playacar. We just love it! The staff is always friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and the beach is very very large since they added sand out 75 feet!! We just love it here and will definately return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

I love where this hotel is located because it is a short cab ride or a nice long walk to playa del carmen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach Vacation Lover
Dublin, CA
Sep 13, 2010

Cute little villa with prime location!

Had a great experience at the Allegro Playacar. Have to admit that I was a little skeptical after reading all the negative reviews on this hotel, but was pleasantly surprise otherwise. I did pay for the beach/pool front room upgrade and would highly recommend doing so. We were given a villa right in front of the beach, right next to the pool/snack/bar area and took full advatage of it. The room was small, but good enough for a couple. The dinning options were pretty good and would highly recommend taking advatage of the two restaurants that require prior reservations. The excursions offered at the hotel are a bit pricy and can be purchased/negotiated better in the downtown area (5th Ave.) which is only 5 min/$5 cab ride away. My only complaint about the room is that there was no clocks. It's important to know the time when you plan excursions during your stay. Other than that I though this was a great place to stay for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy all your activities/excursions outside of the hotel and downtown area (5th Ave.) for a much better price. Always negotiate the price too...they will lower it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search