$314 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Lote hotelero No.7, Manzana No. Desarrollo, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
50 reviews
Just Right

For the price you really can't beat this. The beach is superb as are the grounds and cabanas. At... See full review

  • penquino
  • Apr 28, 2014
Vacation spot!!

This is the 2nd time I have stayed here at this hotel and we will be coming back a 3rd time in... See full review

  • Sthomas83
  • Apr 13, 2014
Polynesian-style bungalows near Playa del Carmen in Riviera Maya
The Allegro Playacar resort features two-story, Polynesian-style bungalow houses and newly redesigned guestrooms in an intimate setting. A large stretch of beach gives way to Allegro's 286 rooms, all-purpose convention center and world-class restaurants and bars. There are three pools -- one for relaxation, one for action and one for kids. The all-inclusive resort provides Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby. The Allegro Playacar is located 45 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and close to downtown Playa del Carmen.
Highlights:
  • Rooms at Allegro Playacar are set in Polynesian-style bungalow houses
  • Three themed pools for relaxation, action and children
  • Kids Club open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. with video game center
Rooms:

Expect bright colors in the Allegro Playacar's 286 tropical-themed rooms, which are situated in Polynesian-style bungalows, each with a private balcony or terrace. Rooms feature yellow walls and orange accents, all new furniture and modern amenities. Cool tile floors and thatched roofs combine with airy accessories to create an idyllic vacation setting. Each room includes air conditioning, mini-fridge, ceiling fan, satellite TV, full bath, iron and ironing board, coffee maker and safe. Cribs are available upon request.

Features:

Allegro Playacar boasts three pools for whatever your mood -- one for relaxing, one for activities and one just for kids. For a unique experience, guests can tour the chef's selection of fresh chilies in the "Chilarium." The all-inclusive package features water sports including kayaking, snorkeling, boogie boarding, sailing and windsurfing. Athletic guests will appreciate the volleyball, tennis and basketball courts while gamers enjoy ping-pong, darts and billiards. At night, themed parties such as Boogie Dreams allow you to dance the night away. For kids, a mini disco with piñatas and games keeps everyone entertained. For a fee, guests at Allegro Playacar can head out on a Scuba or deep-sea fishing excursion, or relax in the spa or on the golf course.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (0.2 mi/1.5 km)
  • Xel-Ha (21 mi/35 km)
Business­
  • An on-site theater and convention center seats up to 400 guests
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available (fees may apply)
  • A full concierge and convention staff is available for hire

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen also booked these hotels.

Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Room
Guest room includes one king or two double beds. All rooms have individually controlled air conditioning, ceiling fan, color satellite TV, private bathroom with tub and shower, iron and ironing board, coffee pot and safety deposit box. Cribs available upon request.
Superior Premium
Guest room includes one king or two double beds and are closer to the beach or swimming pool. All rooms have individually controlled air conditioning, ceiling fan, color satellite TV, private bathroom with tub and shower, iron and ironing board, coffee pot and safety deposit box. Cribs available upon request.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Allegro Playacar offers guests in need of meeting or convention facilities a roofed theater with a capacity of 400 persons. The property's attentive and experienced staff can effortlessly accommodate guests' needs to create a memorable event.

Dining

The Mexican
The Mexican features authentic a la carte Mexican fare in a festive environment. Imagine a warm Caribbean evening, authentic Mexican fare and cold "cervezas" - can life get any better?

Reservations are required for both The Mexican and The Italian restaurants.
Aqua Bar
The resort's popular swim-up bar.
Lobby Bar
Casual nightly meeting place.
The Pizzeria
Pizzeria is situated poolside serving delicious pizza and assorted sandwiches
The Disco
Night Club, Disco Bar featuring a pool table, televisions, sport videos and international music.
The Buffet
Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet. Air-conditioned and renovated in 2006.
The Italian Restaurant
The Italian restaurant offers exquisite a la carte Italian dishes in a stylish atmosphere. Dining experiences are enhanced by a selection of fine vintages from the Italian wine menu.

Reservations are required for both The Mexican and The Italian restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J and A P
Business
Pasadena CA
Mar 31, 2013

Boring

It was a boring experience hotel has no entertainment staff.. We have visited many hotels but this was the worst experience ever. The first two nights the room was flooded with water from AC . No activities at all nothing we have ever lived at Playa del Carmen we will never visit this hotel again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maxio
Business
Queretaro, Mexico
Jan 22, 2013

Electronic Music Festival

The hotel was overbooked and did not get a room until 2 am when the previous guest arrived to check out. They were understaffed but the people were quite friendly despite the chaotic environment. It is quite far from all the touristic spots and had to take several expensive taxis. There was no shuttle available to the airport, so I had to take a taxi to Downtown Playa del Carmen and a bus from there. My stay was generally good, but the beginning and ending not so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeepher
Business
California
Oct 29, 2012

Fantastic 10 days

This was our 2nd time to Allegro Playacar. We had another wonderful stay. This resort feels like home. Everyone is so friendly and always have a smile on their faces. Such a beautiful beach. Everything is so close since it is a smaller resort. Great food and bar service. Tip the bartenders a little and it goes a long ways. We were given a great room with an awesome view of the ocean and we aren't even part of the vacation club (5614). They even made up our room special on our anniversary with balloons, champaign and chocolate covered strawberries. Such a nice touch. I've been home 2 days and miss Allegro already.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you go to Xplor and Xcaret. Get there early and expect to stay until close. So much to do and not enough time to do it all. Take a taxi, but make sure you use paso's. Taxi's will charge you 10 paso's to our one dollar when it should be almost 13 paso's to a dollar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bumbula
Business
south bend,indiana
Oct 24, 2012

maintenance problems

It seems that the different departments in the hotel do not communicate with each other. The first night we had a problem with the shower and asked for an extra pillow. The shower was repaired but it took them 3 days to get the extra pillow.The shower broke the second day and we were transfered to another room.This room had a defective safe and the security officer said he would have someone look at it the next day.He also said he would write a report about what he found to be wrong.Needless to say, the maintenance person had no idea what was wrong with it and took it to be repaired.When it was returned and we had stored our belongings,we couldn't open it and had to call security again. This nsame room had a broken shampoo dispenser and when we mentioned it to the maid, she said she filled it and left the bottle on the rim of the tub.No one came to fix it. The third room was better but we had to constantly call reception for them to leave the complimentar coffee in the room. Other than these setbacks, the stay was enjoyable. The beach area was great and the personel was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nature Gal
Business
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Jun 19, 2012

We enjoyed our stay.

We stayed from 06/12/12 to 06/17/12. We arrived after midnight; there was just the one guy at reception so we had to take our own luggage and find the room. The room wasn't luxurious, just average but was clean and what you would expect for a 3 star hotel. It included a small fridge, safe and hair dryer. The adjoining door in the room, (for access for people with large families that needed two rooms), was paper thin and we could hear everything in the adjoining room, including snoring! The mattress was hard. Brush up on your Spanish or you will have trouble communicating with some of the staff. Unfortunately we didn't have a view of the beach, (we were near the tennis court). The beach is beautiful and plenty of space for all. We enjoyed the food. The grounds are well kept and I enjoyed the bird sounds in the morning. Playa del Carmen is more for couples than singles and is not a party destination. You can walk into playa de Carmen, it probably takes 25 minutes, but if its very hot this can be a chore. To take a taxi is $7 USD. Make sure you take pesos and pay in pesos, we made the mistake of paying for everything in USD and soon learned they will try to scam you at every chance they get. We did four activities and we enjoyed Xplor the best. We used the collectivo transportation a few times, but make sure you agree on the price beforehand, (it should only cost $2 per person) but we can one driver who had us pay more and because he was intimidating we paid, I wish now I hadn't. Overall we enjoyed this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RVR TRAVELERS
Business
MIAMI, FL
Jun 11, 2012

great vacation place

the family had an awesome time the service was good and the food fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
From Tejas Chica
Business
texas
Jun 2, 2012

great stay! excellent staff! perfect location!

This is a wonderful small resort! The staff is the heart of this resort. I cannot begin to tell you how friendly and hardworking they are. Beautiful grounds beautiful beach! It is very close to anything you would like to go do or see. But again, the staff is outstanding! Do not overlook this great place to stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations for both resort restaurants. The food was great. The buffet was great. Plenty of great food every day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RVR TRAVELERS
Business
MIAMI, FL
May 17, 2012

GREAT RESORT

GREAT SERVICE, THE ROOMS SUPER CONFORTABLES, LOVE THE POOL, THE FOOD SUPER

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Andover, MN
Dec 17, 2010

"Quite the disappointment"

We had a large number of family and friends going to the Allegro. Our first group arrived on Wednesday, December 8, 2010, much to their surprise they had been bumped and were now told they had to go to the Occidental. The second group arrived on the 9th with the same outcome. The Occidental is apx. a 12 minute taxi ride, not on the beach(don't believe it when management tells you that you're on the beach). I was devastated, my husband and I were so looking forward to the beautiful beach and now we had to take a cab to get to it, that was so far out of the realm of our plans. I felt totally cheated out of our dream vacation. The grounds of the Occidental were very beautiful but honestly other than [...](the sports bar and sometimes disco bartender) the place was a huge disappointment. The food was terrible, the booze was the cheap [*] and the service was comical, by the 6th night when the waiter dropped a butter knife on my friend Kathy's head and didn't even say anything all one can do is laugh and make the best of it. I wish I could get some of my money back but I have no idea how complicated that would be and with the holidays upon us I don't really have the time to be sending hordes of e-mails and spending too much time on the phone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best meal we had was when we had to take a taxi to downtown Playa(by the way we could have walked had we been in the Allegro, an additional cost for us) was from a street vendor right around the corner from the big bus stop area. I think [...] got sick of me coming back and asking for just one more chicken taco por favor!!! 10 pesos, muy bueno.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
favito
Business
miami florida
Dec 10, 2010

very good for the price

no hot water in the batrooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top