Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
214 reviews
Villa Del Palmar PVR

We have stayed at this hotel several times and love it here. The staff is great and the resort and... See full review

  • landm
  • Jan 3, 2014
Great trip - 4th time!

The hotel is slightly older than some but in a great location and very well kept. It is walking... See full review

  • Great time here
  • Mar 29, 2013
Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms with balconies and kitchenettes
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta defines the all-inclusive experience. Guests can fill their days with the numerous planned activities -- including Spanish lessons, water aerobics and volleyball -- or simply sit by the pool, where a water slide shaped like a whale is an endless source of entertainment. Rooms, meanwhile, feel like Mexican villas thanks to full refrigerators, kitchenettes and quaint pottery and furniture.
Highlights
  • 463 suites with kitchenettes and full refrigerators
  • Extensive activities, from nightly dinner and theme shows to craft-making
  • Off-site tours Spa and hair salon
  • Gorgeous views of Banderas Bay
Rooms
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta caters to extended-stay travelers who appreciate the convenience of kitchenettes, full-size refrigerators, cookware and the other necessities for preparing their own meals. All 463 suites brim with regional style -- right down to the folksy pottery. Bright fabrics and cozy furniture further the relaxed appeal. When the day is done, guests sit on furnished balconies to admire the pool and bay views. All rooms boast digital TV, a dining table, central air-conditioning, ceramic-tile floors and purified water.
Features
An all-day schedule of planned activities ensures that Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta guests can play from morning until night. On-site diversions run the gamut, from water aerobics, pottery classes and nightly dinner shows to tennis and a fitness center equipped with cardio and weight machines. Guests can also go off-site for ATV excursions and glass-bottom-boat cruises, among many other tour options.

Even with all those choices, many guests opt to sunbathe at the pool, which features a curious conversation piece: an enormous water slide shaped like a whale.
Dining
Whether the occasion calls for outdoor dining or a more upscale meal, Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta tempts with a global menu of dishes and ambiance-filled restaurants. Guests start at La Cucina, where the full breakfast buffet is not to be outdone by the gorgeous patio overlooking Banderas Bay. Jalisco, open seasonally, dishes up regional family-style Mexican cuisine in an Old World setting. Diners can also request to be seated in the outdoor palapa (an open-sided hut with a thatched roof). Los Equipales Sports Bar invites guests to enjoy tapas and sports by the pool.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Old Town (3.4 mi/5.5 km) Downtown Vallarta (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (3 mi/4.8 km)

Hotel Map

20.642 -105.2375
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz (PVR) Airport
Area description
The property is located five miles West of Downtown Puerto Vallarta, close to golf courses, marina and shopping.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Signature One Bedroom Suite
This beautiful renewed One Bedroom Suite features the same amenities as the One Bedroom plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathrooms amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottle water when booking just room, and with bear and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone, fine cuts and shripms on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room.
Two Bedroom Villa Suite
(900 Sq Ft.) Enjoy one King , and a choice of one Queen or Double bed in second bedroom and sofa bed in the living room. Have up to 2 bathrooms with travertine marble decor as well as upscale amenities. In the room a dining table and six chairs. Its exterior balcony is furnished with patio furniture for up to 6 people.
Deluxe Room
(500 Sq F) Enjoy one king-sized bed or two double beds at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture for 2 people. Outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning, a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
One Bedroom Villa Suite
(650 Sq Ft) Enjoy one king and one sofa bed at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture up to 4 people. This room is outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning , a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Signature Deluxe Studio
This beautiful renewed Signature Deluxe Studio features the same amenities as the Deluxe Studio plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottled water when booking just room, and with beer and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone calls, fine cuts and shrimps on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room. Amenities Deluxe Studio: -Complete kitchen -Coffee maker -Refrigerator -Tableware -Blender -Microwave Oven -Toaster -Pots + Pans -Ceramic Stove top -Welcome Pack (Coffee, salt, pepper + dish soap) -Individually-controlled central air conditioning -Ceiling fans -73-channel cable television -Direct dial telephone with voice mail -Hair dryer -In-room safe -Iron with ironing board -Clock Radio -Daily Housekeeping Service

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Trattoria
Sitting right on the oceanfront and providing a romantic candlelight dinner atmosphere, this open-air restaurant serves traditional and contemporary Italian specialties, prepared with Mediterranean flavors and a lot of "lamore per la cucina Italiana," offering also an excellent wine selection.
The Market
Introducing the fresh market concept of fish and seafood at Villa de Palmar Flamingos. Choose your catch of the day or select your whole lobster. Add some shrimps, a few mussels, and maybe a slice of fresh tuna. Just pick directly with our Chef from our display and enjoy - you decide how you want us to prepare your selection of fish and seafood at our oceanfront terrace market.
El Patron
Impressively located on the oceanfront overlooking the Banderas Bay, restaurant El Patrn offers contemporary presentations of traditional Mexican cuisine. A truly sensorial experience, here you appreciate the flavors, sounds, sights, and smells. Breakfast served as buffet and a la carte. Lunch and dinner are offered a la carte.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 214
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Oct 26, 2008

Horrible Customer Service

The hotel was nice but the customer service was terrible. The hotel was right off the beach and the swimming pools were perfect for laying out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aliso Viejo California
Apr 2, 2010

Timeshare Sales Trap

When I booked this trip there wasn't any option to select ocean view so I assumed that is what we would get. We arrived at 4pm and told our room was not ready and were met by one of the "greeters" who told us she would give us a map of the property and help us plan events for our trip while we waited. She offered to let us go to their sister property as a courtesy and guaranteed that it would not involve a Timeshare presentation. We thanked her for her help and proceeded to our room which was on the 2nd floor facing a busy street and parking lot. We asked for an upgrade to a pool / mini ocean view in which we were told we could move the next day. We went out had a great evening. They have fun clubs with 80's music, welcome to all groups. Woke up the next day and decided not to go the sister facility and just hang around Villa Del Mar. We had numerous calls from our greeter, telling us we need to go the sister facility. Turns out she had signed us up for a Timeshare presentation, against our wishes. We told her we weren't interested, and she threatened to move us out of our room. It was horrible, we were being blackmailed into the Timeshare, weren't sure what she would do if we did not attend, so my 2 friends went. I found out later from a Taxi Cab driver they receive a fair commission for each person they send to a presentation - $200 pp (Be careful around the Huichol shops and other shops on the Malecon, they all double as Timeshare sales reps). It's unfortunate this hotel uses guests as bait for their Timeshare sales. I have stayed at both the Marriott and Hyatt and have received top service. I will never stay at this hotel again. I wanted a vacation and rest and that is not what I received at this facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Mismaloya Beach

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Mar 3, 2009

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort

This hotel was just "ok". Even though we booked well in advance, we were put in the very back building....that overlooks the main road. It was VERY noisy. We had to actually close the door between the bathroom and the rest of the place to not hear the constant traffic on the road. Also, beware because they put an almost $400 hold on my credit card for incidentals, however, this was never discussed, and was well beyond the normal hold placed. Also, you cannot use cash at the bar, restaurants, etc. We were all paying separately, and they didn't want to separate our bills, which became a very big issue. The bell boys were the best part. Definitely worth asking for recommendations on restaurants. They never steered us the wrong way. The room was huge...but felt cold and not welcoming. There was a space under the front door that allowed iquanas to crawl into our room, which can be scary when you aren't expecting it. Location was great. Pretty close to downtown. I suppose that, for the money, it was a good value, but if you are looking for 4 star or above, this isn't a hotel for you. Make sure you tell them you don't want to participate in the Gratuity Plan when you get there, otherwise, they automatically charge it to your room, and it's definitely more than I would have tipped! Oh yea, and the food at the restaurant by the pool was very good. I was pleasantly surprised!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely go to El Barracuda! Fabulous, water-front location. If you don't know it's there, you would easily never see it. Very good prices, EXCELLENT food. Also, the ambiance at Si Senior was phenominal! And don't forget to go have the best fish and shrimp tacos you'll ever have at Joe Jack's Fish Shack!!!

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington
Jan 26, 2011

Not Impressed

I found the front desk to be somewhat unhelpful. The room wasn't ready until after 5:00. They also add in a daily gratuity on your bill that is not appropriate and you have to get rather forceful to have it removed. You are tipping everyone all the time down in PV. I won't stay there again. Not to mention daily phone calls asking me to buy a time share. It never ended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PVR traveler
San Francisco, CA
Nov 20, 2012

Average Hotel

We stayed here because of a living social deal. The deal was fantastic. The hotel and staff are about average. They really push you hard to go on a time share and we spent about the first 45 min. saying "no" over and over again. The food is mediocore. The pool staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
margarita for carlita
San Francisco, Ca
Jan 18, 2010

Great Family Relaxation

This is the place my family and our friends go every year. The location is perfect! It's a resort right on the beach only minutes away from the airport as well as downtown Puerto Vallarta. It seems standard practice for this hotel to try to put you at the rooms that are right on the road. I was aware of this practice from staying here so many times, and yet they still claim they had nothing available until the next day even though I had made a specific request a week prior for the area in which I wanted to be located. The first room was horrendously noisy and I was surprised by how little the front desk staff and supervisor care for the comfort of their arriving guests. And after a lengthy check in, they insisted on trying to sign us up for their "free breakfast" which is a thinly veiled time-share presentation. What was super about this place was the beach. They do a nice job of keeping it clean, and providing enough chairs and umbrellas for all. The waiters and the bellmen are absolutely wonderful. Always a smile and they really get to know their guests. The rooms are clean but perhaps a little dated. It's not a super-plush resort that you'd find in an area with endless space, but it does have everything you need for a fun vacation. All things considered, it's a good value for the money, but be patient and persistent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are so many wonderful places to eat in downtown and Old Town, but Pipi's is consistently a great time, with the BEST margaritas.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TD300C
Illinois, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Pretty Nice Place

It's pretty hard not to have a good time at an all-inclusive resort in Puerto Vallarta. I went with a large group of friends to Villa Del Palmar and we had a lot of fun. However, I've been to other resorts in Puerto Vallarta and Villa Del Palmar was probably my least favorite. Other all-inclusive resorts seem to have much more to offer. More restaurants, bars, activities, entertainment, etc. My friends and I are in our mid-to-late 20's, so we like to drink and have a good time. We were very disappointed when we found out that Villa Del Palmar's bars only stay open until 10:45 PM! It definitely seems like an older crowd at Villa Del Palmar, so maybe that's why the bars close so early. My family has a timeshare at Marival in Nuevo Vallarta and it has 5-6 restaurants, a nightclub, and it's bars stay open until 1-2 AM. Villa Del Palmar's two restaurants/bars that close early was a let-down. I also was not a big fan of the beaches in this area of Puerto Vallarta. My girlfriend and I wanted to take a walk on the beach and our feet were hurting within minutes because of the rough sand. It's almost like small rocks/pebbles the further away from the water you are. I also like bigger waves for boogie-boarding and surfing, which this area did not really have. Lastly, the beach vendors are NON-STOP in this area of Puerto Vallarta. Soooo many vendors coming up to you all day long trying to sell their stuff. I expect this every time I go to Mexico, but this was ridiculous. Overall, the beaches in Nuevo Vallarta are much nicer. Some things that I did like about Villa Del Palmar were the staff and the proximity to downtown Puerto Vallarta. The staff members were extremely nice and helpful to our entire group. They brought us drinks and food down to the beach all day long. They definitely worked their butts off. The location of this resort is awesome, too. You're just a short cab ride away from everything. Overall, Villa Del Palmar was a pretty nice place, but I probably won't go back. For the same amount of money (or maybe a little more) you can go to much better resorts with much more to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

You can go pretty much anywhere for an $8.00 cab ride.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Woodrow the fisherman
Burnsville, MN.
Dec 9, 2013

Nice clean hotel

Super clean resort. Staff very friendly and helpful. Couple good happy hours but buffet has dropped off a bit from last few years. Location great...between downtown and the Marinas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dancernancy
carlsbad, ca
Jun 17, 2014

good location

The Villa Del Palmar downtown is a great central location. Everything was great except for the food. The food was only fair. Also, the beach was not great, especially compared to nuevo vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PV Sunseekers
Chimacum, WA
Apr 11, 2010

4 Amigas Glad To Be Back!!

While checking in we found out that our reservation ( made 11 months in advance) for a two bedroom suite was not available. They made an offer but that wasn't good enough, we agreed to peso's off for every night that was spent in a double bed suite. We were able to move the following afternoon to the two bedroom. While we never did get a good explanation as to why the room was not available, we were able to get on with the rest of the week and kick back and enjoy the beauty of Puerto Vallarta and the Villa Del Palmar. We found the La Panorama restaurant to be well "AWESOME"!! We will be back again in two years. Thanks to all who work so hard at the Villa Del Palmar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search