$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
214 reviews
Villa Del Palmar PVR

We have stayed at this hotel several times and love it here. The staff is great and the resort and... See full review

  • landm
  • Jan 3, 2014
Better than expected

After reading other reviews we were a bit skeptical since we thought we were booking the Villa Del... See full review

  • Bossleader
  • Jul 9, 2014
Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms with balconies and kitchenettes
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta defines the all-inclusive experience. Guests can fill their days with the numerous planned activities -- including Spanish lessons, water aerobics and volleyball -- or simply sit by the pool, where a water slide shaped like a whale is an endless source of entertainment. Rooms, meanwhile, feel like Mexican villas thanks to full refrigerators, kitchenettes and quaint pottery and furniture.
Highlights
  • 463 suites with kitchenettes and full refrigerators
  • Extensive activities, from nightly dinner and theme shows to craft-making
  • Off-site tours Spa and hair salon
  • Gorgeous views of Banderas Bay
Rooms
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta caters to extended-stay travelers who appreciate the convenience of kitchenettes, full-size refrigerators, cookware and the other necessities for preparing their own meals. All 463 suites brim with regional style -- right down to the folksy pottery. Bright fabrics and cozy furniture further the relaxed appeal. When the day is done, guests sit on furnished balconies to admire the pool and bay views. All rooms boast digital TV, a dining table, central air-conditioning, ceramic-tile floors and purified water.
Features
An all-day schedule of planned activities ensures that Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta guests can play from morning until night. On-site diversions run the gamut, from water aerobics, pottery classes and nightly dinner shows to tennis and a fitness center equipped with cardio and weight machines. Guests can also go off-site for ATV excursions and glass-bottom-boat cruises, among many other tour options.

Even with all those choices, many guests opt to sunbathe at the pool, which features a curious conversation piece: an enormous water slide shaped like a whale.
Dining
Whether the occasion calls for outdoor dining or a more upscale meal, Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta tempts with a global menu of dishes and ambiance-filled restaurants. Guests start at La Cucina, where the full breakfast buffet is not to be outdone by the gorgeous patio overlooking Banderas Bay. Jalisco, open seasonally, dishes up regional family-style Mexican cuisine in an Old World setting. Diners can also request to be seated in the outdoor palapa (an open-sided hut with a thatched roof). Los Equipales Sports Bar invites guests to enjoy tapas and sports by the pool.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Old Town (3.4 mi/5.5 km) Downtown Vallarta (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (3 mi/4.8 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Signature One Bedroom Suite
This beautiful renewed One Bedroom Suite features the same amenities as the One Bedroom plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathrooms amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottle water when booking just room, and with bear and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone, fine cuts and shripms on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room.
Two Bedroom Villa Suite
(900 Sq Ft.) Enjoy one King , and a choice of one Queen or Double bed in second bedroom and sofa bed in the living room. Have up to 2 bathrooms with travertine marble decor as well as upscale amenities. In the room a dining table and six chairs. Its exterior balcony is furnished with patio furniture for up to 6 people.
Deluxe Room
(500 Sq F) Enjoy one king-sized bed or two double beds at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture for 2 people. Outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning, a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
One Bedroom Villa Suite
(650 Sq Ft) Enjoy one king and one sofa bed at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture up to 4 people. This room is outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning , a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Signature Deluxe Studio
This beautiful renewed Signature Deluxe Studio features the same amenities as the Deluxe Studio plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottled water when booking just room, and with beer and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone calls, fine cuts and shrimps on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room. Amenities Deluxe Studio: -Complete kitchen -Coffee maker -Refrigerator -Tableware -Blender -Microwave Oven -Toaster -Pots + Pans -Ceramic Stove top -Welcome Pack (Coffee, salt, pepper + dish soap) -Individually-controlled central air conditioning -Ceiling fans -73-channel cable television -Direct dial telephone with voice mail -Hair dryer -In-room safe -Iron with ironing board -Clock Radio -Daily Housekeeping Service

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Trattoria
Sitting right on the oceanfront and providing a romantic candlelight dinner atmosphere, this open-air restaurant serves traditional and contemporary Italian specialties, prepared with Mediterranean flavors and a lot of "lamore per la cucina Italiana," offering also an excellent wine selection.
The Market
Introducing the fresh market concept of fish and seafood at Villa de Palmar Flamingos. Choose your catch of the day or select your whole lobster. Add some shrimps, a few mussels, and maybe a slice of fresh tuna. Just pick directly with our Chef from our display and enjoy - you decide how you want us to prepare your selection of fish and seafood at our oceanfront terrace market.
El Patron
Impressively located on the oceanfront overlooking the Banderas Bay, restaurant El Patrn offers contemporary presentations of traditional Mexican cuisine. A truly sensorial experience, here you appreciate the flavors, sounds, sights, and smells. Breakfast served as buffet and a la carte. Lunch and dinner are offered a la carte.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 214
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
October100
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Nov 16, 2011

Go Anywhere Else

When you look for a resort, you're looking for a nice refuge from your everyday, hectic life. You want good food, drinks, kind staff, beautiful premises, and above all else you want to trust the business. So please go anywhere but here. The staff are inattentive at best, but for the most part they are all too eager to prey on your money. They will do anything to scam a dollar from you and this is obviously from the top-down. Wi-fi at $12/day. Hidden fees. Overcharging. Double-charging. You name it! Some guests we travelled with couldn't even get Villa Del Palmar to honour their All-Inclusive status. They were forced to eat Ichiban and go WAY over budget because VdP was unwilling to fulfill their service agreement and completely unwilling to work with the guests in any customer service capacity. I, myself, was faced with a situation where staff was discussing how to scam me for more money right while I was listening (they thought I didn't speak Spanish). Also, my sheets had mildew on them; you had to do your own dishes; and the water filters in the room had never been changed. God forbid you lose your beach towel! ($25 for a sweat-stained rag if you do) The beach is overrun by people pushing their wares and while that’s not unique to VdP, there was almost nowhere near the ocean that could be described as peaceful. It’s best to avoid the area entirely unless you want to play beach volleyball and whack it at them. Now the good: The drinks were priced ok for those without all-inclusive. Sadly, that was many people including several who had paid for it (there was also a lot that was NOT covered by all-inclusive). The food was fine even at times excellent and no one had any digestive issues. The main pool area was clean and pleasant with activities throughout the day. At night there were a few activities you could pay for but expect to have another hand too deep into your pocket for those experiences. My vacation was good because of the people we met and the friends we made. But there's always an asterisk i have to add anytime I'm talking about my trip. I always have to explain how terrible this resort was and how it cast such a dark shadow over my time in Mexico. I wish this wasn't so because I needed a vacation and what I got was stress near a pool. Last thoughts: We were given notice on our last day that we had to be out of the place by 11:00 sharp and if we were still in line for checkout we would be charged another day’s stay. Knowing that this place was a con-artist’s dream we decided to play it safe and line-up at 8:00. We found that they strategically cut front staff to 1 just for the checkout time and the line-up was epic. They must have found that was another nice way to weasel money from guests… We checked-out on time and were nearly pushed to the doormen who ordered us a cab at twice the rate it would normally have been and pocketed the kick-back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Pipi's downtown. It's the most amazing food experience I've had in years and they really care about their customers. It's the kind of hospitality and value you love to see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JWind
Business
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Nov 14, 2011

We won't be back

This was our fifth visit to Villa Del Palmar in Puerto Vallarta -- we were very much looking forward to our trip -- it was for a wedding and we were there with 26 others from Oct 29 to Nov 5, 2011 and it was so disappointing. I am not sure what has happened to the hotel that we knew and loved but the whole visit left us with a bad taste. From check in there were issues -- luckily our room was fine but when you are arriving with a large party you expect some continuity. Of the 28 of us that travelled down -- only 2 rooms were okay. Some had booked rooms and were given accomodations that were seriously in need of review and the common excuse was that they were full -- which was laughable as this is a slow point in their season and the hotel was only at 50% capacity. Several of our guests had booked 1 bedroom suites that are depicted as an apartment style -- certainly not what you get in reality -- apparently those photos are time share units. Those using the all inclusive bracelets certainly weren't happy with all of the hoops they had to go through -- in fact -- when one of our group who was all inclusive went to dinner with a member of our party who wasn't all inclusive -- they were charged for their meals -- after arguing with the front desk it was taken off but the hassles that were given were ridiculous. The front desk was rude -- quite often argumentative and speaking Spanish deliberately when they felt people wouldn't understand. When faced with a problem -- they were unwilling to help and gave the impression that they didn't care. The service at the restaurants was spotty at best -- one evening it took us over an hour and half to get our meals even asking twice what the delay was and being told they were ready. At one point I was told that it was my meal -- stuffed chicken holding up everyone's meals -- when my meal arrived it had obviously sat under a lamp for a while and was dried out. My husband's dinner was cold ...and we weren't impressed. The waiter realizing how ticked off we were did offer free desserts but it was too little too late --all we wanted was hot food and good service. Service at pool side is definitely not what it used to be -- the food is okay at best and the service really doesn't shine like it used to. They seem to spend more time hounding you to sign your bill than anything else. We were fortunate that our housekeeping experiences was a good one -- too many of our party had atrocious issues. No towels, no cleaning, bathrooms were filthy upon check in, mildew on the comforters .... Check out was difficult -- we were given hassle about not asking for coupons for a credit that this website had been running -- when it was clear on the website that it was to be taken off at time of check out. (In one instance one of my daughter's was their credit at time of check in but isn't wasn't explained clearly and was contrary to what was on the website and she had to fight to get them to honor it -- she did try and use it at the pool but was told that they would not take it -- if it's a hotel credit why wouldn't the take the coupon? It was if the resort wanted to make it difficult to use and have people figure it wasn't worth the hassle ....). We did take our concerns to hotel management both in person and by email but unfortunately it seems that once we paid the money they weren't interested in us ...which is a shame because we used to rave about this resort. We will NOT be going back and will NOT be recommending the Villa Del Palmar to any of our friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lynn123
Business
Vancouver, WA, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Nightmare Resort, best to go elsewhere.

Our stay was from November 09th through November 24th. Please listen to the reviews left by myself and others as they are the REAL thing and not an exaggeration. We choose the VDP for our wedding party and we ended up also staying at the resort instead of going to another resort because of the proximity of our guests and the downtown area. It was our first time to PV and we were married at Lekliff (beautiful!!). VDP pretty much ruined our trip, honeymoon and embarrassed us dearly!! I wish we would’ve taken the time and effort to move resorts earlier in on our trip. How did they do this well…… first off the rooms are old and not clean at all. My Mom took pictures of the bed in her 2 bedroom suite and it had sand, dirt and hair in the sheets. When she called the front desk they said sorry no speak English. She went down to the front and showed the picture on her phone and they played dumb and said “no English”, she ended up sleeping on top of her coat she laid down the first night. The room we were promised did not happen, they stuck us in a room facing the tennis court.. When I told them I had called and spoke to ____ prior to our arrival and was promised a garden view room with a view of the ocean for our honeymoon they again played dumb and said sorry no understand you. The bed sheets and bedspread had stains and smelt of mold. Do not even waste your time with the VIP card because it’s no good and they will just find another way to charge you for any savings you may ended up getting. The resort is close to downtown but watch out if they place you in a room upfront you will have the noise of the roads and the front check in area. When we went to check out we paid in full and left our ID in order to use the towels for the pool area until we had to leave for the airport. What a mistake that was! When we went to pick up the ID’s the lady at the front desk said that they made a mistake and we owed them $650.00 pesos more and when asked why she said I can’t explain to you in english, so I said show me on paper, she could not do this either. I asked to speak to a Supervisor and told her that we need to leave for the airport. The Supervisor couldn’t not tell us why either but all she said was we need to pay. I had never wanted out of a place so bad before in my life! I told my husband to pay and let’s get out of here before they make us miss our flight or charge us more. I have no idea what the charge was for but trust me when I say it’s not worth me contacting them now over it. They are rude, liars and are only out for your money. Harsh words I know but it’s the truth. The best part of the hotel is the deli in the store, the two young men in there that cook the food were wonderful and the food they cooked was very delicious, much better then the restaurants located in the actual hotel. The price was very inexpensive. These two young men were the only ones at the hotel that seemed genuine, polite and was not trying to take you for all you had. Going in to this trip we knew that some things were going to go wrong because of all the people we had traveling to PV and the fact that we were getting married away from home. We told ourselves that we would go with the flow but had no idea that it would be the resort we were staying at that would be such a problem for us. I felt used, angry and completely helpless. They will act as if they can’t speak English if you ask for their help but watch out if they want something from you they will speak it just fine. I will not recommend this resort to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BeckySquared
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Nov 23, 2011

Wil not be back

This is my 5th stay at the Villa and boy has it gone downhill! Front desk staff are rude, not helpful, lose reservations and do not honour packages that have been purchased online. When trying to voice concerns or have problems fixed, we were ignored and lied too - being told the Manager was in meetings or busy when he in fact, he wasn't even on the hotel property. Time share people and their "gold card" hawkers are plain annoying and do not stop. Room cleanlinessneeds to be addressed - who wants to see mold on their sheets? GROSS!Would not recommened anybody stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop at the large grocery store across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fayla
Business
Chichester, NH
Mar 3, 2012

Three day stay

We did our time share for the first week and then spent 3 days here. Everything was great and even got to see the whales from beach in front of the hotel. Thought their all-Inclusive was a bit high and you had to sign every time but there are great places to eat in town and the public bus was under $2 for the two of us. Actually wish we had spent the 10 day here,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ripped Off in Mexico
Business
Grand Island, NE
Oct 15, 2009

Lied to and cheated

We arrived in Mexico and were taken to our hotel. It wasnot even the Hotel we booked. We were taken to another very cheap run down hotel. The hotel staff tried to lie to us and tell us is was the same hotel. My wife's family is from Puerto Vallarta, so we are not so easily fooled. [...]We were forced under duress to move to a hotel in another Mexican State. many miles from my wifes family and were forced to spend our vaction budget on taxi fare. It was a complete rip-off and scam. The hotel shows you pictures of wonderful rooms and resorts. These resorts are closed and them move you to the Mexican verson of motel 6 and try to tell you how lucky you are to even have a room .[...]Beware!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Feb 21, 2010

Horrible Resort, would not recommend

From the moment we entered the resort we had nothing but trouble. Our room was not ready so we decided to grab a drink at the local bar/restaurant since we were "All-Inclusive". We got one drink and had to sign our bill with our name, room number, bracelet number, etc. All-Inclusive means you should not have to sign for something each time. They would only allow one drink per person and we had trouble even getting water for our room. We noticed we were not getting good service because we WERE All-Inclusive. The staff would serve the other guests first because they knew they would get a good tip. The staff was extremely rude to us and did not treat us like guests. Our room finally became available and it was this dungeon of a room that smelled like mold. I called to request a nice room a week prior to leaving and that is the room we received. We finally made it out to the beach and were swarmed by vendors all day. If you wanted a chair you either had to get up at 7:00AM to save one or carry the heavy lounge chairs over yourself (all were definitely gone by 10:00AM). By the way, you have to remember your towel ticket (which is a little paper strip) in order to receive any towels. If you misplace your towel they will charge you $30/towel. I was absolutely baffled by how people would go back to this resort. I've been to Mexico many of times and I never have experienced such poor service and a resort that was so unorganized and unprofessional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose, ca
Oct 13, 2009

remodeling NIGHTMARE!!

horrible! the entire hotel is under renovation. didn't see this information offered anywhere before we left. furthermore, their time share salesmen are overly aggressive. we will never stay there again. the hotel stay basically ruined the entire vacation. stay far, far away!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 14, 2009

I will never stay here again!!

The first night my boyfriend got food poisoning. The stay was rude. I forgot something in my room and told them I was coming back and when I got there they said they couldn't get it for me and I would have to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 7, 2008

Money Trap

If you are considering staying with Villa del Palmar-be prepared to pay the price. First,They charge for everything- 1)a daily tip (whether you buy anything or not - it is added on), 2) pool towels (cruddy blue towels)which they will assume you lost and charge you $53 to replace. Then any time you use the money exchange - they charge $4, $5 or $6 depending on their whim and you were never informed they charged for the service besides having the worst exchange rate. Secondly, the Time share pressure sales job right at the entry. Before you have a chance - bang, you are routed to a sales desk. You can barely escape. Lastly, be prepared for the most pathetic service staff you have ever seen. The front desk personnel roll their eyes at anything you try to discuss with them and the answer is always - I have to talk to the manager - who, by the way, is never around. Try to avoid this place if you want a good Mexician experience and a place that appreciates you not just your money. The rooms are nice and clean but the experience is painful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top