$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
View map of Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
judie
Business
fort st john
Mar 21, 2011

wonderful weekend

Check in was great...10min max!!! We were not asked EVEN once about a timeshare. The rooms were clean, in fact all areas of the hotel were clean. We were there mainly to realx by the pool and do a littel shopping. The busboys were helpful at telling us which buses to take and how much etc. They were always able to answer our questions. [...] was the tour operator for our transfers to/from hotel. We walked right thru the airport and they were waiting with a large sign with our name, 3 min later we were in a car on the way to the hotel. At the end of the trip, the car was ready exacatly when they said they would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fellow vacationners told us to got to Vista Grill one night for supper. It is about a $6 cab ride. The restaurant was amazing!! The views were breathtaking and the food DELICIOUS!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rockin
Business
Mpls., MN
Apr 14, 2011

Great except manditory timeshare talk

Clean rooms, great staff, good food but a little overpriced, great beach and pool. Hated the arm twisting to go see a timeshare presentation. Would not take no for an answer. Took me two tequilas to calm down after that. This was my fourth time there and I love everything except the timeshare baloney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cheeky Monkey has one dollar margaritas and beers and great onion rings all with a fantastic view of the ocean.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 23, 2011

Great location

We have been going to this hotel for 15 plus years. We like the location 1/2 way between downtown and the airport. Close to a big grocery store and the bus stops right out front, to head into town. We usually go in Jan/Feb to escape the winters of Chicago. We have been so many times that we do not do any sight seeing, we prefer to lay poolside playing travel scrabble all day long, I know sounds boring, but it really makes the time fly by and allows us to tan without really trying. The hotel has 2 distinct areas. The larger side offers fun, games, music, etc. while the other side is quiet and more laid back, however the quiet side does seem to be ignored most of the time for waiter service for drinks and lunch. All in all it is a great place to go. We have decided that this will be our last trip there due to the increased crime of the drug lords. We have decided it is time to find a new winter getaway. Nothing to do with the hotel, but I must mention that we were told that they will start tearing down the quiet side of the complex to rebuild more modern and spacious rooms. Glad to have had the heads up on this one, would hate to get to a vacation destination only to find out that there is construction noise and dust, ruining any R&R, which was the main focus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the grocery store and purchase breakfast items. Who needs to eat the $15-$20 breakfast buffet? Fruit, yogurt and some baked goods work out well, not to mention having coffee in the room, instead of having to roll out of bed, only to have to go and get coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gram barbi
Business
Winona Mn.
May 29, 2011

Great Resort! Perfect for bus users.

We were impressed by how nice the entire staff treated us. The studio was spacious and cleaned daily. The choice of 3 pools was nice. we enjoyed having a quiet pool at del mar. The beach area was nice and I enjoyed the variety of vendors. We went all over and especially enjoyed eating in old town. We can hardly wait to go again in Nov.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Marina was very good for restaurant choices. Old town also. Didnt find the hotel food as good for the prices and choices. The store deli was great for breakfast and lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whatshisname
Business
Alaska
Jan 23, 2012

Excellent for mature persons

This was our second stay. Our first stay was in a studio unit which was a little snug especially the shower. Our last stay was in a handicap room which was excellent for us. However a person in a wheel chair could not roll into the shower. Location is excellent and taxi fare is usually less than $5.00 to every thing you need. including down town Puerto Vallarta, an excellent shopping center, equal to or better than most state side centers, gambling, excellent restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Liverpool Department Store, Walmart

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
supersaver1973
Business
Ramsey
Mar 22, 2012

Great food

It would have been perfect if it had a swim up bar opened again. The rooms were clean and food was the best I have had in Mexico in my eight trips. Nothing perfect but a value in travel. This resort needs more direction with getting people involved in activities. The place offers them but doesn't ask people to participate in them. Decent gym with a nice beach. Wifi could be upgraded like every resort in Mexico. This allows a person to get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Make sure you sign up for the nights entertainment or they may not provide it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kayaking kirk
Business
erie, pa.
Jul 9, 2012

cozy, quiet

Clean, good location with 3 nice pools. Great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus stop is right there and only 6.5 pesos

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kidz traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 16, 2012

Good family Spot

This hotel is located one block from a big chain supermarket which makes it pretty conveniente if you are travelling with kids. If you are spending like we did a week there. You can go get graceries, snacks, drinks, etc. and don{t have to pay taxis. The place is right by the beach which is also very nice. You get out of your room and in 2 minutes you are walking on sand. It also has 2 big pools and 2 jacuzzies. The kids love the water slide in the main pool. They also have a Kids Club that takes care of the kids while you take special time with you significant other.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grana2
Business
Zion, Illinois
Jul 16, 2012

Anniversay Celebration

The location is perfect & close to the downtown. Very clean & friendly staff, except the lady at the Currency teller (Maria Dolores Rolon Padilla) she was very rude and had a bad attitude. We spoke to the manager & the manager saw the incident. Then the manager told us Padilla did not work for the resort. The next day we see Padilla at the cash register thats in the bar. We were lied too. This is our second time in Puerto Vallarta we had a great time. The people out there are very friendly and kind. The food was great in the Malecon, there is a small place that had the best wings.( Pepe"s wings)Overall it was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hungergamesfreak
Business
san diego,california
Jul 23, 2012

better then i expexted

it was really good the only thing that i didn't like was that they send you tips bill at the end and they didn't say anything about it but my daughter wanted to go to the canopy tour and an employe offed to go with her everyone was friendly and spoke both English and Spanish

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top