$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 22, 2015 Check-out: Mar 23, 2015

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
View map of Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
219 reviews
Older resort-still a gem

Stayed at Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & spa January 12th-29th, 2015. This was a vacation getaway... See full review

  • Mnretiree
  • Feb 3, 2015
Great trip back to VDP

VDP is a great place to stay. Perfect location and hotel is maintained very well. Great... See full review

  • landm
  • Dec 29, 2014
Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms with balconies and kitchenettes
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta defines the all-inclusive experience. Guests can fill their days with the numerous planned activities -- including Spanish lessons, water aerobics and volleyball -- or simply sit by the pool, where a water slide shaped like a whale is an endless source of entertainment. Rooms, meanwhile, feel like Mexican villas thanks to full refrigerators, kitchenettes and quaint pottery and furniture.
Highlights
  • 463 suites with kitchenettes and full refrigerators
  • Extensive activities, from nightly dinner and theme shows to craft-making
  • Off-site tours Spa and hair salon
  • Gorgeous views of Banderas Bay
Rooms
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta caters to extended-stay travelers who appreciate the convenience of kitchenettes, full-size refrigerators, cookware and the other necessities for preparing their own meals. All 463 suites brim with regional style -- right down to the folksy pottery. Bright fabrics and cozy furniture further the relaxed appeal. When the day is done, guests sit on furnished balconies to admire the pool and bay views. All rooms boast digital TV, a dining table, central air-conditioning, ceramic-tile floors and purified water.
Features
An all-day schedule of planned activities ensures that Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta guests can play from morning until night. On-site diversions run the gamut, from water aerobics, pottery classes and nightly dinner shows to tennis and a fitness center equipped with cardio and weight machines. Guests can also go off-site for ATV excursions and glass-bottom-boat cruises, among many other tour options.

Even with all those choices, many guests opt to sunbathe at the pool, which features a curious conversation piece: an enormous water slide shaped like a whale.
Dining
Whether the occasion calls for outdoor dining or a more upscale meal, Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta tempts with a global menu of dishes and ambiance-filled restaurants. Guests start at La Cucina, where the full breakfast buffet is not to be outdone by the gorgeous patio overlooking Banderas Bay. Jalisco, open seasonally, dishes up regional family-style Mexican cuisine in an Old World setting. Diners can also request to be seated in the outdoor palapa (an open-sided hut with a thatched roof). Los Equipales Sports Bar invites guests to enjoy tapas and sports by the pool.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Old Town (3.4 mi/5.5 km) Downtown Vallarta (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (3 mi/4.8 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Two Bedroom Villa Suite
(900 Sq Ft.) Enjoy one King , and a choice of one Queen or Double bed in second bedroom and sofa bed in the living room. Have up to 2 bathrooms with travertine marble decor as well as upscale amenities. In the room a dining table and six chairs. Its exterior balcony is furnished with patio furniture for up to 6 people.
Deluxe Room
(500 Sq F) Enjoy one king-sized bed or two double beds at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture for 2 people. Outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning, a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
One Bedroom Villa Suite
(650 Sq Ft) Enjoy one king and one sofa bed at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture up to 4 people. This room is outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning , a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Patron
Impressively located on the oceanfront overlooking the Banderas Bay, restaurant El Patrn offers contemporary presentations of traditional Mexican cuisine. A truly sensorial experience, here you appreciate the flavors, sounds, sights, and smells. Breakfast served as buffet and a la carte. Lunch and dinner are offered a la carte.
La Trattoria
Sitting right on the oceanfront and providing a romantic candlelight dinner atmosphere, this open-air restaurant serves traditional and contemporary Italian specialties, prepared with Mediterranean flavors and a lot of "lamore per la cucina Italiana," offering also an excellent wine selection.
The Market
Introducing the fresh market concept of fish and seafood at Villa de Palmar Flamingos. Choose your catch of the day or select your whole lobster. Add some shrimps, a few mussels, and maybe a slice of fresh tuna. Just pick directly with our Chef from our display and enjoy - you decide how you want us to prepare your selection of fish and seafood at our oceanfront terrace market.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Mar 10, 2008

Excellent location

The location of the Villa Del Palmar is excellent. It is about 1/2 way between downtown and the airport. The bus stops right in front and it is only 1-2 blocks from a large grocery store. The outside property is well maintained and there are 3 pools and two hot tubs. Our room was disppointing. We were put in the older section and our room faced the very noisy main street. The room itself was in need of repair. We left money daily for maid service but were surprised that on our final bill there was a daily gratuity charge imposed. The check in is all about the time share tour they want you to take and they don't take no for an answer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel has excellent breakfast buffett.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Dec 30, 2009

Wouldn't go Back

We moved to this hotel because we were told there would be more action at night for our son in his twenties. This was not true at all. The place died after 7:00 pm. The worst part is that sleeping was impossible. The doors were banging so loud it sounding like gun shots and people were very loud in the hallway. The pool area and beach were okay but since the hotel was fully booked, it was very difficult to find a chair. The beach volleyball was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,il
Feb 21, 2011

Family getaway

The hotel is a bit old but overall nice room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just say NO
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 14, 2009

[...] blew it!

When we arrived we found out that the hotel was under re-CONSTRUCTION. [...] never notified us even though the hotel did notify those that booked directly. While Villa Del Palmar described it as renovation it was a construction job. So, the nice pool was closed and the beach pool as well as the beach had the wonderful sound of jackhammers and saws all day long. If we were in our room we got the joy of seeing the construction crew at work. Though they were willing to let us move the other room was street side and just seemed dirtier.Like many others have commented it's nice but aged which is what it seems they are trying to fix.However, the staff once you get past the initial attempt to try and get you to listen to the sales pitch for ownership was fantastic. They do have a wonderful crew working for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

From the airport walk over the bridge to the yellow Jalisco cabs and take them to the hotels and back. We're talking $12 bucks there and back vs. the [...] deal at $80.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 22, 2008

Good and Bad

For the price that we paid, the hotel was great. There were a couple things that seemed cheesy. One, you only got coffee the first night you were there. After that you had to purchase your own, which is difficult to do for 6 nights. Who wants to buy filters and coffee just to have one cup in the moring prior to going to breakfast. Also, you have to wash your own dishes and they will not provide dish soap. This means you have to purchase soap and hope the person prior to you did not just rinse them and put them away since it was such an inconvenience. Kind of disgusting if you think about germs and such. The towel voucher was a pain. If it was computerized, you would not have to remember a piece of paper everytime you left the room. My last complaint is that if you find an error with dining charges to your room, they make you go back to the restaurant to get it fixed. We did not receive our 20% gold card discount on one of our dinners and they refused to adjust it at the front desk. Like I said for the money we paid, this was a good deal. If I would have paid full price our had gotten the all inclusive package, I would have been disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Papa King
Business
Lincoln, Nebraska
Feb 8, 2010

Stand Your Ground

Location to far from central town. Had to bus or cab ride to good selection of fine resturants. It's more than a half hour walk. Bus ride about 20 min. Hotel overall was fine for the price. Friendly helpful staff. If you don't do the time share presentation you won't get 20% off discount at the hotel. Very accomidating on getting out of the room late our final day as our flight didn't leave untill 4:30pm. They allowed us to stay with no extra charge in our room untill 1pm which was very helpful. Checkout the night before your departure, 5 minutes and we were settled up we went down about 7pm to accomplish this. Bus rides anyware 6.5 pecos very reasonable compared to a cab at 5/10 dollars, alwawy get price from cab driver before going, they will negociate with you. We were told tourisum is down about 55% from the normal this time of year. We had two solid days of rain which we were told hasn't happened in 30 years for this time of the year. Massages 2 for $70.00 next door on the beach at Holiday Inn, very well worth it. Beach vendors not bad if you say no they will leave you alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to old town for a great time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LODI WI
Feb 28, 2010

GREAT PRICE

I STAYED HERE BEFORE. THE ROOM WE HAD WAS A VERY SMALL STUDIO, ON TH 2ND FLOOR. IT OVERLOOKED THE ROOF OF A RESTRAUNT. LOSEY LOCATION.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling firemen
Business
Lodi Ca
Dec 19, 2009

First time in Mexico

Nice room Nothing extremly fancy. The maid service was great. The pool area was clean. Only complaint is too many Salesman on the beach. The staff was very friendly. The food and drink prices were expensive for Mexico but average for hotels. The beach party the first night was fun, BBQ mahi was under cooked thou. The beach water was a bit murky 2-4 ft visibility underwater. Very Very safe location. We walked the streets after dinner downtown. no problems with locals or police. I reconmend the Hotel and Location in Mexico. Warning to new travelers to mexico*** Beware of the time shares salesmen, they try to get you at the airport ***

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 3, 2009

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort

This hotel was just "ok". Even though we booked well in advance, we were put in the very back building....that overlooks the main road. It was VERY noisy. We had to actually close the door between the bathroom and the rest of the place to not hear the constant traffic on the road. Also, beware because they put an almost $400 hold on my credit card for incidentals, however, this was never discussed, and was well beyond the normal hold placed. Also, you cannot use cash at the bar, restaurants, etc. We were all paying separately, and they didn't want to separate our bills, which became a very big issue. The bell boys were the best part. Definitely worth asking for recommendations on restaurants. They never steered us the wrong way. The room was huge...but felt cold and not welcoming. There was a space under the front door that allowed iquanas to crawl into our room, which can be scary when you aren't expecting it. Location was great. Pretty close to downtown. I suppose that, for the money, it was a good value, but if you are looking for 4 star or above, this isn't a hotel for you. Make sure you tell them you don't want to participate in the Gratuity Plan when you get there, otherwise, they automatically charge it to your room, and it's definitely more than I would have tipped! Oh yea, and the food at the restaurant by the pool was very good. I was pleasantly surprised!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely go to El Barracuda! Fabulous, water-front location. If you don't know it's there, you would easily never see it. Very good prices, EXCELLENT food. Also, the ambiance at Si Senior was phenominal! And don't forget to go have the best fish and shrimp tacos you'll ever have at Joe Jack's Fish Shack!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yolda
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Jan 4, 2010

Nice hotel

The hotel was nice, but if we were woken up every morning before 9 due to the noise outside. Our rooms were not cleaned for 2 days and on the other days the house keeping would come after 6pm. Be careful because a charge for tipping the house keepers is being applied to your room every day. You can ask the front desk to remove that for you if you don't feel they deserve it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Very tastety dining places, especially in the south side of downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top