$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
214 reviews
Villa Del Palmar PVR

We have stayed at this hotel several times and love it here. The staff is great and the resort and... See full review

  • landm
  • Jan 3, 2014
Better than expected

After reading other reviews we were a bit skeptical since we thought we were booking the Villa Del... See full review

  • Bossleader
  • Jul 9, 2014
Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms with balconies and kitchenettes
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta defines the all-inclusive experience. Guests can fill their days with the numerous planned activities -- including Spanish lessons, water aerobics and volleyball -- or simply sit by the pool, where a water slide shaped like a whale is an endless source of entertainment. Rooms, meanwhile, feel like Mexican villas thanks to full refrigerators, kitchenettes and quaint pottery and furniture.
Highlights
  • 463 suites with kitchenettes and full refrigerators
  • Extensive activities, from nightly dinner and theme shows to craft-making
  • Off-site tours Spa and hair salon
  • Gorgeous views of Banderas Bay
Rooms
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta caters to extended-stay travelers who appreciate the convenience of kitchenettes, full-size refrigerators, cookware and the other necessities for preparing their own meals. All 463 suites brim with regional style -- right down to the folksy pottery. Bright fabrics and cozy furniture further the relaxed appeal. When the day is done, guests sit on furnished balconies to admire the pool and bay views. All rooms boast digital TV, a dining table, central air-conditioning, ceramic-tile floors and purified water.
Features
An all-day schedule of planned activities ensures that Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta guests can play from morning until night. On-site diversions run the gamut, from water aerobics, pottery classes and nightly dinner shows to tennis and a fitness center equipped with cardio and weight machines. Guests can also go off-site for ATV excursions and glass-bottom-boat cruises, among many other tour options.

Even with all those choices, many guests opt to sunbathe at the pool, which features a curious conversation piece: an enormous water slide shaped like a whale.
Dining
Whether the occasion calls for outdoor dining or a more upscale meal, Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta tempts with a global menu of dishes and ambiance-filled restaurants. Guests start at La Cucina, where the full breakfast buffet is not to be outdone by the gorgeous patio overlooking Banderas Bay. Jalisco, open seasonally, dishes up regional family-style Mexican cuisine in an Old World setting. Diners can also request to be seated in the outdoor palapa (an open-sided hut with a thatched roof). Los Equipales Sports Bar invites guests to enjoy tapas and sports by the pool.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Old Town (3.4 mi/5.5 km) Downtown Vallarta (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (3 mi/4.8 km)

Hotel Map

20.642 -105.2375
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz (PVR) Airport
Area description
The property is located five miles West of Downtown Puerto Vallarta, close to golf courses, marina and shopping.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Signature One Bedroom Suite
This beautiful renewed One Bedroom Suite features the same amenities as the One Bedroom plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathrooms amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottle water when booking just room, and with bear and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone, fine cuts and shripms on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room.
Two Bedroom Villa Suite
(900 Sq Ft.) Enjoy one King , and a choice of one Queen or Double bed in second bedroom and sofa bed in the living room. Have up to 2 bathrooms with travertine marble decor as well as upscale amenities. In the room a dining table and six chairs. Its exterior balcony is furnished with patio furniture for up to 6 people.
Deluxe Room
(500 Sq F) Enjoy one king-sized bed or two double beds at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture for 2 people. Outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning, a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
One Bedroom Villa Suite
(650 Sq Ft) Enjoy one king and one sofa bed at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture up to 4 people. This room is outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning , a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Signature Deluxe Studio
This beautiful renewed Signature Deluxe Studio features the same amenities as the Deluxe Studio plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottled water when booking just room, and with beer and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone calls, fine cuts and shrimps on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room. Amenities Deluxe Studio: -Complete kitchen -Coffee maker -Refrigerator -Tableware -Blender -Microwave Oven -Toaster -Pots + Pans -Ceramic Stove top -Welcome Pack (Coffee, salt, pepper + dish soap) -Individually-controlled central air conditioning -Ceiling fans -73-channel cable television -Direct dial telephone with voice mail -Hair dryer -In-room safe -Iron with ironing board -Clock Radio -Daily Housekeeping Service

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Trattoria
Sitting right on the oceanfront and providing a romantic candlelight dinner atmosphere, this open-air restaurant serves traditional and contemporary Italian specialties, prepared with Mediterranean flavors and a lot of "lamore per la cucina Italiana," offering also an excellent wine selection.
The Market
Introducing the fresh market concept of fish and seafood at Villa de Palmar Flamingos. Choose your catch of the day or select your whole lobster. Add some shrimps, a few mussels, and maybe a slice of fresh tuna. Just pick directly with our Chef from our display and enjoy - you decide how you want us to prepare your selection of fish and seafood at our oceanfront terrace market.
El Patron
Impressively located on the oceanfront overlooking the Banderas Bay, restaurant El Patrn offers contemporary presentations of traditional Mexican cuisine. A truly sensorial experience, here you appreciate the flavors, sounds, sights, and smells. Breakfast served as buffet and a la carte. Lunch and dinner are offered a la carte.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon, WI
Apr 22, 2009

"All was good, we don't require much"

I believe this hotel was fantastic in its time. It now is in need of renovation, however, very clean and well organized -- good value. The restaurants we well managed and the food was good. The service was very good and staff was friendly. The beach was fabulous, you can walk for at a couple of miles. Nearby there were a few small interesting towns: La Penita and Salulito (I apologize I don't know if the spelling is correct). If you want to experience real Mexican culture: family and friends. This is the place to visit. It has not been engulfed in Americanization. It still has a lot character and fascinating natural beauty. Great place to relax! With Puerto Vallarta so close, you can get it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
margarita for carlita
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Jan 18, 2010

Great Family Relaxation

This is the place my family and our friends go every year. The location is perfect! It's a resort right on the beach only minutes away from the airport as well as downtown Puerto Vallarta. It seems standard practice for this hotel to try to put you at the rooms that are right on the road. I was aware of this practice from staying here so many times, and yet they still claim they had nothing available until the next day even though I had made a specific request a week prior for the area in which I wanted to be located. The first room was horrendously noisy and I was surprised by how little the front desk staff and supervisor care for the comfort of their arriving guests. And after a lengthy check in, they insisted on trying to sign us up for their "free breakfast" which is a thinly veiled time-share presentation. What was super about this place was the beach. They do a nice job of keeping it clean, and providing enough chairs and umbrellas for all. The waiters and the bellmen are absolutely wonderful. Always a smile and they really get to know their guests. The rooms are clean but perhaps a little dated. It's not a super-plush resort that you'd find in an area with endless space, but it does have everything you need for a fun vacation. All things considered, it's a good value for the money, but be patient and persistent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are so many wonderful places to eat in downtown and Old Town, but Pipi's is consistently a great time, with the BEST margaritas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Mar 10, 2008

Excellent location

The location of the Villa Del Palmar is excellent. It is about 1/2 way between downtown and the airport. The bus stops right in front and it is only 1-2 blocks from a large grocery store. The outside property is well maintained and there are 3 pools and two hot tubs. Our room was disppointing. We were put in the older section and our room faced the very noisy main street. The room itself was in need of repair. We left money daily for maid service but were surprised that on our final bill there was a daily gratuity charge imposed. The check in is all about the time share tour they want you to take and they don't take no for an answer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel has excellent breakfast buffett.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Dec 30, 2009

Wouldn't go Back

We moved to this hotel because we were told there would be more action at night for our son in his twenties. This was not true at all. The place died after 7:00 pm. The worst part is that sleeping was impossible. The doors were banging so loud it sounding like gun shots and people were very loud in the hallway. The pool area and beach were okay but since the hotel was fully booked, it was very difficult to find a chair. The beach volleyball was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,il
Feb 21, 2011

Family getaway

The hotel is a bit old but overall nice room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just say NO
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 14, 2009

[...] blew it!

When we arrived we found out that the hotel was under re-CONSTRUCTION. [...] never notified us even though the hotel did notify those that booked directly. While Villa Del Palmar described it as renovation it was a construction job. So, the nice pool was closed and the beach pool as well as the beach had the wonderful sound of jackhammers and saws all day long. If we were in our room we got the joy of seeing the construction crew at work. Though they were willing to let us move the other room was street side and just seemed dirtier.Like many others have commented it's nice but aged which is what it seems they are trying to fix.However, the staff once you get past the initial attempt to try and get you to listen to the sales pitch for ownership was fantastic. They do have a wonderful crew working for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

From the airport walk over the bridge to the yellow Jalisco cabs and take them to the hotels and back. We're talking $12 bucks there and back vs. the [...] deal at $80.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 22, 2008

Good and Bad

For the price that we paid, the hotel was great. There were a couple things that seemed cheesy. One, you only got coffee the first night you were there. After that you had to purchase your own, which is difficult to do for 6 nights. Who wants to buy filters and coffee just to have one cup in the moring prior to going to breakfast. Also, you have to wash your own dishes and they will not provide dish soap. This means you have to purchase soap and hope the person prior to you did not just rinse them and put them away since it was such an inconvenience. Kind of disgusting if you think about germs and such. The towel voucher was a pain. If it was computerized, you would not have to remember a piece of paper everytime you left the room. My last complaint is that if you find an error with dining charges to your room, they make you go back to the restaurant to get it fixed. We did not receive our 20% gold card discount on one of our dinners and they refused to adjust it at the front desk. Like I said for the money we paid, this was a good deal. If I would have paid full price our had gotten the all inclusive package, I would have been disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Papa King
Business
Lincoln, Nebraska
Feb 8, 2010

Stand Your Ground

Location to far from central town. Had to bus or cab ride to good selection of fine resturants. It's more than a half hour walk. Bus ride about 20 min. Hotel overall was fine for the price. Friendly helpful staff. If you don't do the time share presentation you won't get 20% off discount at the hotel. Very accomidating on getting out of the room late our final day as our flight didn't leave untill 4:30pm. They allowed us to stay with no extra charge in our room untill 1pm which was very helpful. Checkout the night before your departure, 5 minutes and we were settled up we went down about 7pm to accomplish this. Bus rides anyware 6.5 pecos very reasonable compared to a cab at 5/10 dollars, alwawy get price from cab driver before going, they will negociate with you. We were told tourisum is down about 55% from the normal this time of year. We had two solid days of rain which we were told hasn't happened in 30 years for this time of the year. Massages 2 for $70.00 next door on the beach at Holiday Inn, very well worth it. Beach vendors not bad if you say no they will leave you alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to old town for a great time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LODI WI
Feb 28, 2010

GREAT PRICE

I STAYED HERE BEFORE. THE ROOM WE HAD WAS A VERY SMALL STUDIO, ON TH 2ND FLOOR. IT OVERLOOKED THE ROOF OF A RESTRAUNT. LOSEY LOCATION.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling firemen
Business
Lodi Ca
Dec 19, 2009

First time in Mexico

Nice room Nothing extremly fancy. The maid service was great. The pool area was clean. Only complaint is too many Salesman on the beach. The staff was very friendly. The food and drink prices were expensive for Mexico but average for hotels. The beach party the first night was fun, BBQ mahi was under cooked thou. The beach water was a bit murky 2-4 ft visibility underwater. Very Very safe location. We walked the streets after dinner downtown. no problems with locals or police. I reconmend the Hotel and Location in Mexico. Warning to new travelers to mexico*** Beware of the time shares salesmen, they try to get you at the airport ***

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top