$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
350 reviews
Villa Del Palmar PVR

We have stayed at this hotel several times and love it here. The staff is great and the resort and... See full review

  • landm
  • Jan 3, 2014
Great trip - 4th time!

The hotel is slightly older than some but in a great location and very well kept. It is walking... See full review

  • Great time here
  • Mar 29, 2013
Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms with balconies and kitchenettes
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta defines the all-inclusive experience. Guests can fill their days with the numerous planned activities -- including Spanish lessons, water aerobics and volleyball -- or simply sit by the pool, where a water slide shaped like a whale is an endless source of entertainment. Rooms, meanwhile, feel like Mexican villas thanks to full refrigerators, kitchenettes and quaint pottery and furniture.
Highlights
  • 463 suites with kitchenettes and full refrigerators
  • Extensive activities, from nightly dinner and theme shows to craft-making
  • Off-site tours Spa and hair salon
  • Gorgeous views of Banderas Bay
Rooms
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta caters to extended-stay travelers who appreciate the convenience of kitchenettes, full-size refrigerators, cookware and the other necessities for preparing their own meals. All 463 suites brim with regional style -- right down to the folksy pottery. Bright fabrics and cozy furniture further the relaxed appeal. When the day is done, guests sit on furnished balconies to admire the pool and bay views. All rooms boast digital TV, a dining table, central air-conditioning, ceramic-tile floors and purified water.
Features
An all-day schedule of planned activities ensures that Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta guests can play from morning until night. On-site diversions run the gamut, from water aerobics, pottery classes and nightly dinner shows to tennis and a fitness center equipped with cardio and weight machines. Guests can also go off-site for ATV excursions and glass-bottom-boat cruises, among many other tour options.

Even with all those choices, many guests opt to sunbathe at the pool, which features a curious conversation piece: an enormous water slide shaped like a whale.
Dining
Whether the occasion calls for outdoor dining or a more upscale meal, Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta tempts with a global menu of dishes and ambiance-filled restaurants. Guests start at La Cucina, where the full breakfast buffet is not to be outdone by the gorgeous patio overlooking Banderas Bay. Jalisco, open seasonally, dishes up regional family-style Mexican cuisine in an Old World setting. Diners can also request to be seated in the outdoor palapa (an open-sided hut with a thatched roof). Los Equipales Sports Bar invites guests to enjoy tapas and sports by the pool.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Old Town (3.4 mi/5.5 km) Downtown Vallarta (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (3 mi/4.8 km)

Hotel Map

20.642 -105.2375
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz (PVR) Airport
Area description
The property is located five miles West of Downtown Puerto Vallarta, close to golf courses, marina and shopping.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Signature One Bedroom Suite
This beautiful renewed One Bedroom Suite features the same amenities as the One Bedroom plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathrooms amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottle water when booking just room, and with bear and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone, fine cuts and shripms on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room.
Two Bedroom Villa Suite
(900 Sq Ft.) Enjoy one King , and a choice of one Queen or Double bed in second bedroom and sofa bed in the living room. Have up to 2 bathrooms with travertine marble decor as well as upscale amenities. In the room a dining table and six chairs. Its exterior balcony is furnished with patio furniture for up to 6 people.
Deluxe Room
(500 Sq F) Enjoy one king-sized bed or two double beds at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture for 2 people. Outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning, a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
One Bedroom Villa Suite
(650 Sq Ft) Enjoy one king and one sofa bed at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture up to 4 people. This room is outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning , a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Signature Deluxe Studio
This beautiful renewed Signature Deluxe Studio features the same amenities as the Deluxe Studio plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottled water when booking just room, and with beer and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone calls, fine cuts and shrimps on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room. Amenities Deluxe Studio: -Complete kitchen -Coffee maker -Refrigerator -Tableware -Blender -Microwave Oven -Toaster -Pots + Pans -Ceramic Stove top -Welcome Pack (Coffee, salt, pepper + dish soap) -Individually-controlled central air conditioning -Ceiling fans -73-channel cable television -Direct dial telephone with voice mail -Hair dryer -In-room safe -Iron with ironing board -Clock Radio -Daily Housekeeping Service

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Trattoria
Sitting right on the oceanfront and providing a romantic candlelight dinner atmosphere, this open-air restaurant serves traditional and contemporary Italian specialties, prepared with Mediterranean flavors and a lot of "lamore per la cucina Italiana," offering also an excellent wine selection.
The Market
Introducing the fresh market concept of fish and seafood at Villa de Palmar Flamingos. Choose your catch of the day or select your whole lobster. Add some shrimps, a few mussels, and maybe a slice of fresh tuna. Just pick directly with our Chef from our display and enjoy - you decide how you want us to prepare your selection of fish and seafood at our oceanfront terrace market.
El Patron
Impressively located on the oceanfront overlooking the Banderas Bay, restaurant El Patrn offers contemporary presentations of traditional Mexican cuisine. A truly sensorial experience, here you appreciate the flavors, sounds, sights, and smells. Breakfast served as buffet and a la carte. Lunch and dinner are offered a la carte.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (350)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
350 out of 350
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Nov 22, 2010

Some good, some bad

Did not have all inclusive, found the drinks and food very expensive. Hounded by too many timeshare sales people. The employees at the hotel were excellent, especially [...] at the bell desk, [...] at the front desk,[...] in sales and [...] our maid. Enjoyed the pool time fun and games. Too much cigarette smoking everywhere. Hotel room was too small. Cribs were old and rickety. Need new ones. Elevators were very small for the stroller. Thought the hotel should provide soap for dishes, coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The canopy zip line tour was great and you can take a shuttle. The zoo was an interesting experience.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Mar 3, 2009

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort

This hotel was just "ok". Even though we booked well in advance, we were put in the very back building....that overlooks the main road. It was VERY noisy. We had to actually close the door between the bathroom and the rest of the place to not hear the constant traffic on the road. Also, beware because they put an almost $400 hold on my credit card for incidentals, however, this was never discussed, and was well beyond the normal hold placed. Also, you cannot use cash at the bar, restaurants, etc. We were all paying separately, and they didn't want to separate our bills, which became a very big issue. The bell boys were the best part. Definitely worth asking for recommendations on restaurants. They never steered us the wrong way. The room was huge...but felt cold and not welcoming. There was a space under the front door that allowed iquanas to crawl into our room, which can be scary when you aren't expecting it. Location was great. Pretty close to downtown. I suppose that, for the money, it was a good value, but if you are looking for 4 star or above, this isn't a hotel for you. Make sure you tell them you don't want to participate in the Gratuity Plan when you get there, otherwise, they automatically charge it to your room, and it's definitely more than I would have tipped! Oh yea, and the food at the restaurant by the pool was very good. I was pleasantly surprised!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely go to El Barracuda! Fabulous, water-front location. If you don't know it's there, you would easily never see it. Very good prices, EXCELLENT food. Also, the ambiance at Si Senior was phenominal! And don't forget to go have the best fish and shrimp tacos you'll ever have at Joe Jack's Fish Shack!!!

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Mar 3, 2009

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort

This hotel was just "ok". Even though we booked well in advance, we were put in the very back building....that overlooks the main road. It was VERY noisy. We had to actually close the door between the bathroom and the rest of the place to not hear the constant traffic on the road. Also, beware because they put an almost $400 hold on my credit card for incidentals, however, this was never discussed, and was well beyond the normal hold placed. Also, you cannot use cash at the bar, restaurants, etc. We were all paying separately, and they didn't want to separate our bills, which became a very big issue. The bell boys were the best part. Definitely worth asking for recommendations on restaurants. They never steered us the wrong way. The room was huge...but felt cold and not welcoming. There was a space under the front door that allowed iquanas to crawl into our room, which can be scary when you aren't expecting it. Location was great. Pretty close to downtown. I suppose that, for the money, it was a good value, but if you are looking for 4 star or above, this isn't a hotel for you. Make sure you tell them you don't want to participate in the Gratuity Plan when you get there, otherwise, they automatically charge it to your room, and it's definitely more than I would have tipped! Oh yea, and the food at the restaurant by the pool was very good. I was pleasantly surprised!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely go to El Barracuda! Fabulous, water-front location. If you don't know it's there, you would easily never see it. Very good prices, EXCELLENT food. Also, the ambiance at Si Senior was phenominal! And don't forget to go have the best fish and shrimp tacos you'll ever have at Joe Jack's Fish Shack!!!

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oregon, WI
Apr 22, 2009

"All was good, we don't require much"

I believe this hotel was fantastic in its time. It now is in need of renovation, however, very clean and well organized -- good value. The restaurants we well managed and the food was good. The service was very good and staff was friendly. The beach was fabulous, you can walk for at a couple of miles. Nearby there were a few small interesting towns: La Penita and Salulito (I apologize I don't know if the spelling is correct). If you want to experience real Mexican culture: family and friends. This is the place to visit. It has not been engulfed in Americanization. It still has a lot character and fascinating natural beauty. Great place to relax! With Puerto Vallarta so close, you can get it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Paul Minnesota
Mar 2, 2010

Good & Bad

Please be aware that you will collared right when you get off the plane by people you assume work for the hotel shuttle but really are trying to sell you a time share. While the Villa Del Palmar Resort is very nice there are multiple buildings in the complex. We were put in the building on a busy, noisy street. The room was very big will a second interior door that muted the street noise. Unfortunately the balcony faced the grass roof of an outdoor party area and a bank of air conditioning units next to it. All in all a lot of noise. We did like the kitchenette in our room, we shopped at a Mexican supermarket half a block away and ate one or two meals a day at home. Make sure you don't get a room in building C! The rest of the complex is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Soriana grocery store is just down the block. Great bakery inside.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yolda
Vancouver, Canada
Jan 4, 2010

Nice hotel

The hotel was nice, but if we were woken up every morning before 9 due to the noise outside. Our rooms were not cleaned for 2 days and on the other days the house keeping would come after 6pm. Be careful because a charge for tipping the house keepers is being applied to your room every day. You can ask the front desk to remove that for you if you don't feel they deserve it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Very tastety dining places, especially in the south side of downtown.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Casual Traveler Marc
Portland, OR, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Fun for the Price

For a week vacation we booked the Villa Del Palmer because it is close to downtown, is relatively cheap, and got pretty good reviews. Upon arrival we were hounded by time share sales people after getting through customs. Many asked our hotel and posed as employees or workers in association with our hotel. Finally we got to someone associated with the hotel and he tried to persuade us to attend a "breakfast" time share presentation. We said no and we finally provided direction to our shuttle. During this whole time our baggage handler played dumb and did not tell us who was the real Villa Del Palmer employee or just a sales person. After taking a ride in our shuttle we checked in and took a ride to our room on the one working elevator. We had a pretty good room with two full beds and a small kitchenette with a stove and small fridge. Our bathroom was beautiful and clean. We had a balcony that overlooked the main pool and restaurants. It was a pretty good view. The down side of our room was not having a big enough kitchen. There were drawers and cabinets with silverware, plates, glasses, pots and pans but no room for extra food or snacks. On the counter we had a blender and coffee machine we never used. They just took up space. Our first night we ate at the hotel restaurant and had some alright food but nothing great. We ate the at restaurant a few more times and did not get much better food. This being said the American style breakfasts are not too bad. The prices for the food and drinks are not great, there were no happy hour deals and we did not get the all inclusive package. Upon walking around the pool was pretty clean and tranquil. The hot tube was comfortable and not overheated. The beach by the hotel is great. Like any beach front hotel sales men and women try to show various clothing, jewelry, and excursions. A simple no gracias or no thanks works fine. A majority of the time we headed into town we took a cab from the lobby. The bellman was very prompt and friendly. The cab rides are pretty cheap to town (centro or malecon). A few times we walked to the street and took the bus for a much cheaper but slightly longer ride. A cab is good for shopping, short trips, and dancing/late nights. Buses are good for longer trips. We booked one excursion through the hotel Rhythms of the Night. This is one of the best adult excursions I have been on. It is mainly for couples and well worth the money. A boat ride with drink, food, a show, and a buffet. Other than our activities we always returned to a air conditioned and clean room. I left my wallet on the table by accident and everything was left in it after the maids came through. The room did have a safe but we did not use it. Overall we had a great time and good room. I would probably recommend getting a all inclusive package unless the room has a decent size kitchen and fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jul 26, 2011

Villa Del Palmar

Villa Del Palmar has a nice location and easy and convenient access to local buses/Taxi to get down town Puerto Vallarta. Nice Pools and a top class Gym. Arriving late after a day of cancelled/changed flights though, they could not find my reservation, and after about 30 minutes of looking around, they located it, and then,..., thats when they tried to book me on presentations of their other facilities and to have me attend breakfast meetings at 8AM on my vacation... Second pet peeve was that none of their bars could make a Mojito..., didn't have the mint leaves. The response I would have preferred was we can get leaves, and tomorrow you can have a Mojito... A few mnonth ago I stayed with the neighbor hotel, Fiesta Americana, a little bit higher rates, but the experience was a newer and nicer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington
Jan 26, 2011

Not Impressed

I found the front desk to be somewhat unhelpful. The room wasn't ready until after 5:00. They also add in a daily gratuity on your bill that is not appropriate and you have to get rather forceful to have it removed. You are tipping everyone all the time down in PV. I won't stay there again. Not to mention daily phone calls asking me to buy a time share. It never ended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 22, 2008

Good and Bad

For the price that we paid, the hotel was great. There were a couple things that seemed cheesy. One, you only got coffee the first night you were there. After that you had to purchase your own, which is difficult to do for 6 nights. Who wants to buy filters and coffee just to have one cup in the moring prior to going to breakfast. Also, you have to wash your own dishes and they will not provide dish soap. This means you have to purchase soap and hope the person prior to you did not just rinse them and put them away since it was such an inconvenience. Kind of disgusting if you think about germs and such. The towel voucher was a pain. If it was computerized, you would not have to remember a piece of paper everytime you left the room. My last complaint is that if you find an error with dining charges to your room, they make you go back to the restaurant to get it fixed. We did not receive our 20% gold card discount on one of our dinners and they refused to adjust it at the front desk. Like I said for the money we paid, this was a good deal. If I would have paid full price our had gotten the all inclusive package, I would have been disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top