$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
215 reviews
Great trip back to VDP

VDP is a great place to stay. Perfect location and hotel is maintained very well. Great... See full review

  • landm
  • Dec 19, 2014
Villa Del Palmar PVR

We have stayed at this hotel several times and love it here. The staff is great and the resort and... See full review

  • landm
  • Jan 3, 2014
Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms with balconies and kitchenettes
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta defines the all-inclusive experience. Guests can fill their days with the numerous planned activities -- including Spanish lessons, water aerobics and volleyball -- or simply sit by the pool, where a water slide shaped like a whale is an endless source of entertainment. Rooms, meanwhile, feel like Mexican villas thanks to full refrigerators, kitchenettes and quaint pottery and furniture.
Highlights
  • 463 suites with kitchenettes and full refrigerators
  • Extensive activities, from nightly dinner and theme shows to craft-making
  • Off-site tours Spa and hair salon
  • Gorgeous views of Banderas Bay
Rooms
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta caters to extended-stay travelers who appreciate the convenience of kitchenettes, full-size refrigerators, cookware and the other necessities for preparing their own meals. All 463 suites brim with regional style -- right down to the folksy pottery. Bright fabrics and cozy furniture further the relaxed appeal. When the day is done, guests sit on furnished balconies to admire the pool and bay views. All rooms boast digital TV, a dining table, central air-conditioning, ceramic-tile floors and purified water.
Features
An all-day schedule of planned activities ensures that Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta guests can play from morning until night. On-site diversions run the gamut, from water aerobics, pottery classes and nightly dinner shows to tennis and a fitness center equipped with cardio and weight machines. Guests can also go off-site for ATV excursions and glass-bottom-boat cruises, among many other tour options.

Even with all those choices, many guests opt to sunbathe at the pool, which features a curious conversation piece: an enormous water slide shaped like a whale.
Dining
Whether the occasion calls for outdoor dining or a more upscale meal, Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta tempts with a global menu of dishes and ambiance-filled restaurants. Guests start at La Cucina, where the full breakfast buffet is not to be outdone by the gorgeous patio overlooking Banderas Bay. Jalisco, open seasonally, dishes up regional family-style Mexican cuisine in an Old World setting. Diners can also request to be seated in the outdoor palapa (an open-sided hut with a thatched roof). Los Equipales Sports Bar invites guests to enjoy tapas and sports by the pool.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Old Town (3.4 mi/5.5 km) Downtown Vallarta (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (3 mi/4.8 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Signature One Bedroom Suite
This beautiful renewed One Bedroom Suite features the same amenities as the One Bedroom plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathrooms amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottle water when booking just room, and with bear and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone, fine cuts and shripms on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room.
Two Bedroom Villa Suite
(900 Sq Ft.) Enjoy one King , and a choice of one Queen or Double bed in second bedroom and sofa bed in the living room. Have up to 2 bathrooms with travertine marble decor as well as upscale amenities. In the room a dining table and six chairs. Its exterior balcony is furnished with patio furniture for up to 6 people.
Deluxe Room
(500 Sq F) Enjoy one king-sized bed or two double beds at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture for 2 people. Outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning, a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
One Bedroom Villa Suite
(650 Sq Ft) Enjoy one king and one sofa bed at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture up to 4 people. This room is outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning , a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Signature Deluxe Studio
This beautiful renewed Signature Deluxe Studio features the same amenities as the Deluxe Studio plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottled water when booking just room, and with beer and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone calls, fine cuts and shrimps on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room. Amenities Deluxe Studio: -Complete kitchen -Coffee maker -Refrigerator -Tableware -Blender -Microwave Oven -Toaster -Pots + Pans -Ceramic Stove top -Welcome Pack (Coffee, salt, pepper + dish soap) -Individually-controlled central air conditioning -Ceiling fans -73-channel cable television -Direct dial telephone with voice mail -Hair dryer -In-room safe -Iron with ironing board -Clock Radio -Daily Housekeeping Service

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Patron
Impressively located on the oceanfront overlooking the Banderas Bay, restaurant El Patrn offers contemporary presentations of traditional Mexican cuisine. A truly sensorial experience, here you appreciate the flavors, sounds, sights, and smells. Breakfast served as buffet and a la carte. Lunch and dinner are offered a la carte.
La Trattoria
Sitting right on the oceanfront and providing a romantic candlelight dinner atmosphere, this open-air restaurant serves traditional and contemporary Italian specialties, prepared with Mediterranean flavors and a lot of "lamore per la cucina Italiana," offering also an excellent wine selection.
The Market
Introducing the fresh market concept of fish and seafood at Villa de Palmar Flamingos. Choose your catch of the day or select your whole lobster. Add some shrimps, a few mussels, and maybe a slice of fresh tuna. Just pick directly with our Chef from our display and enjoy - you decide how you want us to prepare your selection of fish and seafood at our oceanfront terrace market.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (215)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Nov 22, 2010

Some good, some bad

Did not have all inclusive, found the drinks and food very expensive. Hounded by too many timeshare sales people. The employees at the hotel were excellent, especially [...] at the bell desk, [...] at the front desk,[...] in sales and [...] our maid. Enjoyed the pool time fun and games. Too much cigarette smoking everywhere. Hotel room was too small. Cribs were old and rickety. Need new ones. Elevators were very small for the stroller. Thought the hotel should provide soap for dishes, coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The canopy zip line tour was great and you can take a shuttle. The zoo was an interesting experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IrinaD
Business
Portland, Oregon
Feb 15, 2013

One of the worst experience I've had

So let me start by saying that the only reason this hotel gets 2 stars and not 1 is because prior to arriving there I emailed one of the gentlemen from the hotel group, asking if we could have a room away from the traffic (we've read reviews and that was mentioned there as a huge negative). So they put us up in a pretty good location, facing the ocean, away from the busy road. So that was much appreciated. Upon our arrival everything seemed great, the gal that greeted us was sweet and nice, talked us into doing a timeshare tour (which Ive never done before, so what the heck). Our hotel room was OK at best, it had a balcony, which was nice, the feeling in the hotel room was damp and smelled of mildew a bit, but we were happy non the less, just to be facing the ocean. The good thing about the room, it did have a kitchenette, and plates with utensils. So the nice stops there. After our horrific timeshare tour (which was at the Flamingo hotel on the other side of the town). And the reason it was horrific is because, right after I said "no Im not interested" the attitude completely changed, everyone became extremely rude, and pretty much pushed us out of the area! I mean, if I was even slightly considering this time share business, the treatment we received completely changed that. After getting back to our hotel, things just got worse, the staff was extremely unhelpful, they literally rolled their eyes anytime we had a question. The Concierge service was terrible, booking any trips with them is a joke, they have absolutely zero idea about what the tours include. BTW-you can not use cash at any of their restaurants, just a warning. They advertize as a "kid-friendly" place, they only kid friendly part is that they "allow" the kids there, there are zero amenities for the children. Not even a reasonably shallow area for the kids to play in at the pool. There is a slide for the older kids (like 7 and up). If you have a toddler-you are out of luck. Staff acts like they are doing you a favor by talking to you. I cant tell you how many times we had to go to the front desk for minor little things, and spent at least a half hour there EACH time. from our room keys not working after a few days, to us not being able to charge our beverages to the hotel room (after we already have done it a few times), to us trying to get our deposit back for the timeshare tour (we got send to 3 different places to get it back, with attitude at every stop) We found out that they are going to completely rebuild this hotel, its the oldest property that the company owns, so that should give you an idea of the shape that place is in. No it doesnt have that "old character" just the old smell, and terrible staff. I've never been treated like that, they do not care for return business. Do yourself and favor and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

you do NOT have to pay the tip at the end of your stay-you can tell them you want that taken off

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Loco Tom
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 19, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

The hotel Villa del Palmar was undergoing renovations so they moved us next door to the Villa del Mar. The amenitities were not as advertized but the staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was a throughback to the sixties but the room was clean and in good repair. The main purpose of the trip was fishing and the Hotel was convinent to the harbor and docks. The fishing was fantastic and the charter reasonable. The snorkling was not good and I would not recommend it. The dining at the hotel was not good but excelent food was available a short cab ride away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Los Arbolitos was a resonably priced Mexican Seafood Restarant, with unique and delightful recipies.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 1, 2008

My review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

The hotel is a typical resort/spa accomodation. BAD; As soon as you are brought to the lobby a spokesperson for the hotels timeshare accosts you about about taking a tour to their resort.Mistakenly,they are under the impression that we want to spend our vacation time listening to a sales pitch. For a hotel that has such a high rating, we found the service in the main dining area way below average,had to wait to be seated,when only three tables were occupied again had to wait for menus,and even a longer wait to be served drinks/dinner. NEVER would we eat there again. There were no straps on the nets of the tennis courts, the pro said he'd ordered them but was still waiting after several weeks. We were asked before check out to contribute extra monies for the staff behind the scenes, what a crock, at the prices charged the hotel should pay their employees a decent wage. Good: The rooms were clean, the maid service was very good. The hotel gives you tiny pieces of soap, so you have to ask for a refill each day.That's not so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The restaurant Le Petite a few doors from the hotel serves a good varied breakfast till 12;00p.m. never crowded and fast service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburg, *
Jun 7, 2008

Just O.K.

I've been to this hotel before with family members that have a timeshare there. The reason i returned was because of staff friendly and very attendtive. This trip i went without my family members with timeshare and i really notice the difference in how you are treated there. Once they know you don't have a time share they really don't care about you. I paid extra to have my room upgraded and did not get what i paid for. our toilet kept breaking down at least 3 times and they still would not move us to another room. So through out our trip we kept being interrupted by maintenence and ALL hours of the night and day. Housekeeping would not even change our sheets or pillow cases. we had to constantly call and ask to have them changed. Sometimes they would'nt even change our towels!! housekeeping would even walk in to your room WITHOUT KNOCKING. (once i was in the bathroom) I was dissapointed that we were put in a building that had a street view eventhough i paid extra for upgrade. staff would not accomidate me. Needless to say i never even used the pool, or do any activities with them because our building was separated from all the action areas ex: pool, restaurants, activities, beach, etc. watch out for taxi prices! we caught a taxi outside of the hotel and were charged 15.00 dollars to go to the malecon!! This trip should have cost 5 dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice little market on premisis for food, snacks or anything you need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Apr 21, 2011

relentless pressure to buy

upon arrival and after checking in at front desk, we were confronted with the hotel manager in charge of guest sevices. She stated that we needed to come to her desk and listen to the courtisies offered by the hotel( in reality a sales pitch to buy into a new wing). We told her we had been traveling all day and would not be interested. As we headed to our room she followed and would not leave us. She became very pushy and stated it was hotel policy and that if we did not comply she would lose her job. We like to treat people with respect and do not like to be rude,but we were not given any choice and ignored her. Once in our room the phone rang. I answered and to my surprise, it was she and still insisting we come to her desk! I hung up and unplugged the phone. We stayed five nights and out of those five, we had no hot water for three days(co-incedence?) Another couple we spoke with had the same experience and the wife said she cried. We will not return!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lake oswego
May 26, 2008

vry friendly same was

The room did not have accessibility for the handicap. W had problems putting my daughter into the tube when we needed a shower. The service in the hotel was poor because they did not give us close engouh rooms. The hotel resturant had poor service for we had a problem with the way that they treated us. They acted rude and made us feel unwelcomed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

close stores

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane, WA
Apr 2, 2008

Watch out for Time Shares

We were disappointed upon our arrival by being told that that our room was not ready (about 4pm). They took us aside and offered us drinks and then started telling us about the new hotel and pushing us to get a Gold Card. Unfortunately, we fell for it and ended up doing a 3-hour tour of the new hotel. (We were treated very well, free breakfast, etc., until we told them outright that we did not want a time-share and then it felt like they couldn't get rid of us fast enough!) In hindsight, I'm sure our room was ready the whole time. If you are planning to do a lot of tours booked through the hotel, the Gold Card is probably worth having to sit through the tour - otherwise skip it! Back to check-in - As soon as we were done with the Free drinks our room (the one right next to the highway!) was miraculously ready. Villa Del Palmar is a beautiful hotel and we were able to transfer to a room (with the KING bed we had booked!) that opened to the pool with no problems. The the rooms are large and the full kitchen was a definite plus as location is very convenient to the grocery store (about two blocks down - to the right outside the resort), etc. There is a little shop just outside and to the left that has good prices for souveniers and street venders every afternoon to the right. The venders on the beach are pretty good about not hitting you up if you are inside the rope. The kids loved the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Upon airport arrival, go straight to the street and get a yellow cab (50 pesos, ask before how much-not after).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sherwood
Dec 31, 2008

convenient location, but front dest people can be more professional

When we were checking in hotel, they were going to put our family into Villa del Mar which is the older building with the view of the street and far away from the ocean. Hotel was in very convenient location and the big grocery store in walking distance really came in handy. The gym was very clean, and the whole resort was constanly kept clean by these low position people. I did not mind paying the tip for these people when we were checking out. The ground keepers and maids and beach cleaners were the people I appreciated and they were nice, not the front desk people nor the ladies in black uniform with high heels looking snubbish. They do not offer help when you ask them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store had everything with reasonable price in walking distance. Going to down town or old town is all same thing. Just take the blue bus, and it is an experiene you can't get in U.S. It is also cheap than taking taxi which cost us $5-8 depending on the driver. I think blue bus only costs 40 Cents.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Critical Cathy
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 23, 2010

A nice place to stay!

This hotel had just about everything to offer that you could want. Several tours to choose from, spa services, 3 pools, beach front, pool side service, good food, comfortable rooms. To visit other locations near the hotel you could take a taxi or the local bus service, which I would only recommend if you speak spanish well or have someone with you with some experience, but the bus itself is an experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

NOTHING in Mexico is free & prices are negotiable for most things and be sure to ask!!! Taxis from the airport seem to cost more than to the airport so make sure you ask & negotiate!!! Also, I CAN NOT stress enough, at the airport DO NOT stop & talk to anyone, keep walking out the door, as you know everyone wants to get you to see a time share presentation & so do they at the airport, and they are good, just say NO & keep walking no matter what they say!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top