$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 18, 2014 Check-out: Oct 19, 2014

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
214 reviews
Villa Del Palmar PVR

We have stayed at this hotel several times and love it here. The staff is great and the resort and... See full review

  • landm
  • Jan 3, 2014
Better than expected

After reading other reviews we were a bit skeptical since we thought we were booking the Villa Del... See full review

  • Bossleader
  • Jul 9, 2014
Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms with balconies and kitchenettes
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta defines the all-inclusive experience. Guests can fill their days with the numerous planned activities -- including Spanish lessons, water aerobics and volleyball -- or simply sit by the pool, where a water slide shaped like a whale is an endless source of entertainment. Rooms, meanwhile, feel like Mexican villas thanks to full refrigerators, kitchenettes and quaint pottery and furniture.
Highlights
  • 463 suites with kitchenettes and full refrigerators
  • Extensive activities, from nightly dinner and theme shows to craft-making
  • Off-site tours Spa and hair salon
  • Gorgeous views of Banderas Bay
Rooms
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta caters to extended-stay travelers who appreciate the convenience of kitchenettes, full-size refrigerators, cookware and the other necessities for preparing their own meals. All 463 suites brim with regional style -- right down to the folksy pottery. Bright fabrics and cozy furniture further the relaxed appeal. When the day is done, guests sit on furnished balconies to admire the pool and bay views. All rooms boast digital TV, a dining table, central air-conditioning, ceramic-tile floors and purified water.
Features
An all-day schedule of planned activities ensures that Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta guests can play from morning until night. On-site diversions run the gamut, from water aerobics, pottery classes and nightly dinner shows to tennis and a fitness center equipped with cardio and weight machines. Guests can also go off-site for ATV excursions and glass-bottom-boat cruises, among many other tour options.

Even with all those choices, many guests opt to sunbathe at the pool, which features a curious conversation piece: an enormous water slide shaped like a whale.
Dining
Whether the occasion calls for outdoor dining or a more upscale meal, Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta tempts with a global menu of dishes and ambiance-filled restaurants. Guests start at La Cucina, where the full breakfast buffet is not to be outdone by the gorgeous patio overlooking Banderas Bay. Jalisco, open seasonally, dishes up regional family-style Mexican cuisine in an Old World setting. Diners can also request to be seated in the outdoor palapa (an open-sided hut with a thatched roof). Los Equipales Sports Bar invites guests to enjoy tapas and sports by the pool.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Old Town (3.4 mi/5.5 km) Downtown Vallarta (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (3 mi/4.8 km)

Hotel Map

20.642 -105.2375
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz (PVR) Airport
Area description
The property is located five miles West of Downtown Puerto Vallarta, close to golf courses, marina and shopping.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Signature One Bedroom Suite
This beautiful renewed One Bedroom Suite features the same amenities as the One Bedroom plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathrooms amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottle water when booking just room, and with bear and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone, fine cuts and shripms on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room.
Two Bedroom Villa Suite
(900 Sq Ft.) Enjoy one King , and a choice of one Queen or Double bed in second bedroom and sofa bed in the living room. Have up to 2 bathrooms with travertine marble decor as well as upscale amenities. In the room a dining table and six chairs. Its exterior balcony is furnished with patio furniture for up to 6 people.
Deluxe Room
(500 Sq F) Enjoy one king-sized bed or two double beds at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture for 2 people. Outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning, a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
One Bedroom Villa Suite
(650 Sq Ft) Enjoy one king and one sofa bed at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture up to 4 people. This room is outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning , a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Signature Deluxe Studio
This beautiful renewed Signature Deluxe Studio features the same amenities as the Deluxe Studio plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottled water when booking just room, and with beer and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone calls, fine cuts and shrimps on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room. Amenities Deluxe Studio: -Complete kitchen -Coffee maker -Refrigerator -Tableware -Blender -Microwave Oven -Toaster -Pots + Pans -Ceramic Stove top -Welcome Pack (Coffee, salt, pepper + dish soap) -Individually-controlled central air conditioning -Ceiling fans -73-channel cable television -Direct dial telephone with voice mail -Hair dryer -In-room safe -Iron with ironing board -Clock Radio -Daily Housekeeping Service

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Trattoria
Sitting right on the oceanfront and providing a romantic candlelight dinner atmosphere, this open-air restaurant serves traditional and contemporary Italian specialties, prepared with Mediterranean flavors and a lot of "lamore per la cucina Italiana," offering also an excellent wine selection.
The Market
Introducing the fresh market concept of fish and seafood at Villa de Palmar Flamingos. Choose your catch of the day or select your whole lobster. Add some shrimps, a few mussels, and maybe a slice of fresh tuna. Just pick directly with our Chef from our display and enjoy - you decide how you want us to prepare your selection of fish and seafood at our oceanfront terrace market.
El Patron
Impressively located on the oceanfront overlooking the Banderas Bay, restaurant El Patrn offers contemporary presentations of traditional Mexican cuisine. A truly sensorial experience, here you appreciate the flavors, sounds, sights, and smells. Breakfast served as buffet and a la carte. Lunch and dinner are offered a la carte.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BeckySquared
Calgary, AB, Canada
Nov 23, 2011

Wil not be back

This is my 5th stay at the Villa and boy has it gone downhill! Front desk staff are rude, not helpful, lose reservations and do not honour packages that have been purchased online. When trying to voice concerns or have problems fixed, we were ignored and lied too - being told the Manager was in meetings or busy when he in fact, he wasn't even on the hotel property. Time share people and their "gold card" hawkers are plain annoying and do not stop. Room cleanlinessneeds to be addressed - who wants to see mold on their sheets? GROSS!Would not recommened anybody stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop at the large grocery store across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fairlawn
Jan 2, 2009

Worst Hotel ever!

The reason it is the worse hotel. This was the worst vacation ever and I am so disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Altos Hills, California
Jan 8, 2010

December 2009

The hotel was complete misrepresented by [...]. You need to be more careful about how you describe and represent things. The check in staff was extremely rude and disorganized. The waiter staff was friendly. Restaurants were ok. I would never go back to this hotel [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Do not go to the downtown to shop. Go to the Marina area. For better shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aliso Viejo California
Apr 2, 2010

Timeshare Sales Trap

When I booked this trip there wasn't any option to select ocean view so I assumed that is what we would get. We arrived at 4pm and told our room was not ready and were met by one of the "greeters" who told us she would give us a map of the property and help us plan events for our trip while we waited. She offered to let us go to their sister property as a courtesy and guaranteed that it would not involve a Timeshare presentation. We thanked her for her help and proceeded to our room which was on the 2nd floor facing a busy street and parking lot. We asked for an upgrade to a pool / mini ocean view in which we were told we could move the next day. We went out had a great evening. They have fun clubs with 80's music, welcome to all groups. Woke up the next day and decided not to go the sister facility and just hang around Villa Del Mar. We had numerous calls from our greeter, telling us we need to go the sister facility. Turns out she had signed us up for a Timeshare presentation, against our wishes. We told her we weren't interested, and she threatened to move us out of our room. It was horrible, we were being blackmailed into the Timeshare, weren't sure what she would do if we did not attend, so my 2 friends went. I found out later from a Taxi Cab driver they receive a fair commission for each person they send to a presentation - $200 pp (Be careful around the Huichol shops and other shops on the Malecon, they all double as Timeshare sales reps). It's unfortunate this hotel uses guests as bait for their Timeshare sales. I have stayed at both the Marriott and Hyatt and have received top service. I will never stay at this hotel again. I wanted a vacation and rest and that is not what I received at this facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Mismaloya Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Apr 15, 2010

Many better places for the money

We ordered the upgraded room and the all inclusive package, as we have had many great visits to other places in Puerto Vallarta and thought this would be the same. Unfortunately the food was very poor and there was often only 1 restaurant available to eat at. Also be warned the service is SLOW, and they make you sign a CREDIT CARD looking slip for everything, every drink every item of food, and most of the good looking food and drink is not included in the all inclusive price. For example shrimp taco's were like an extra twenty bucks, basically only vegetarian and chicken were included. Also everyone solicits tips including the checker at the grocery store on the property.Also they all but ask for tips everywhere and then add a daily gratuity on to the bill.They also hawked us non stop about the VIP package/time share, even though we already had the all inclusive package. They said they could get us a 20% discount on all the adventures, none of which we could have gone to had we wanted to with our nine month old baby. Spend the same money and get a better vacaion at Rui or Marival, or Palace. Also very loud not restful at all. No soap etc in room when we arrived and fridge didn't work. pluses-beds were remarkable comfortable with lots of pillows, and the quiet side pool was nice and not to cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The pool on the quiet side is much nicer and protected from wind.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Dec 14, 2009

I will never stay here again!!

The first night my boyfriend got food poisoning. The stay was rude. I forgot something in my room and told them I was coming back and when I got there they said they couldn't get it for me and I would have to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
Feb 21, 2010

Horrible Resort, would not recommend

From the moment we entered the resort we had nothing but trouble. Our room was not ready so we decided to grab a drink at the local bar/restaurant since we were "All-Inclusive". We got one drink and had to sign our bill with our name, room number, bracelet number, etc. All-Inclusive means you should not have to sign for something each time. They would only allow one drink per person and we had trouble even getting water for our room. We noticed we were not getting good service because we WERE All-Inclusive. The staff would serve the other guests first because they knew they would get a good tip. The staff was extremely rude to us and did not treat us like guests. Our room finally became available and it was this dungeon of a room that smelled like mold. I called to request a nice room a week prior to leaving and that is the room we received. We finally made it out to the beach and were swarmed by vendors all day. If you wanted a chair you either had to get up at 7:00AM to save one or carry the heavy lounge chairs over yourself (all were definitely gone by 10:00AM). By the way, you have to remember your towel ticket (which is a little paper strip) in order to receive any towels. If you misplace your towel they will charge you $30/towel. I was absolutely baffled by how people would go back to this resort. I've been to Mexico many of times and I never have experienced such poor service and a resort that was so unorganized and unprofessional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 7, 2008

Money Trap

If you are considering staying with Villa del Palmar-be prepared to pay the price. First,They charge for everything- 1)a daily tip (whether you buy anything or not - it is added on), 2) pool towels (cruddy blue towels)which they will assume you lost and charge you $53 to replace. Then any time you use the money exchange - they charge $4, $5 or $6 depending on their whim and you were never informed they charged for the service besides having the worst exchange rate. Secondly, the Time share pressure sales job right at the entry. Before you have a chance - bang, you are routed to a sales desk. You can barely escape. Lastly, be prepared for the most pathetic service staff you have ever seen. The front desk personnel roll their eyes at anything you try to discuss with them and the answer is always - I have to talk to the manager - who, by the way, is never around. Try to avoid this place if you want a good Mexician experience and a place that appreciates you not just your money. The rooms are nice and clean but the experience is painful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
san jose, ca
Oct 13, 2009

remodeling NIGHTMARE!!

horrible! the entire hotel is under renovation. didn't see this information offered anywhere before we left. furthermore, their time share salesmen are overly aggressive. we will never stay there again. the hotel stay basically ruined the entire vacation. stay far, far away!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
October100
Calgary, AB, Canada
Nov 16, 2011

Go Anywhere Else

When you look for a resort, you're looking for a nice refuge from your everyday, hectic life. You want good food, drinks, kind staff, beautiful premises, and above all else you want to trust the business. So please go anywhere but here. The staff are inattentive at best, but for the most part they are all too eager to prey on your money. They will do anything to scam a dollar from you and this is obviously from the top-down. Wi-fi at $12/day. Hidden fees. Overcharging. Double-charging. You name it! Some guests we travelled with couldn't even get Villa Del Palmar to honour their All-Inclusive status. They were forced to eat Ichiban and go WAY over budget because VdP was unwilling to fulfill their service agreement and completely unwilling to work with the guests in any customer service capacity. I, myself, was faced with a situation where staff was discussing how to scam me for more money right while I was listening (they thought I didn't speak Spanish). Also, my sheets had mildew on them; you had to do your own dishes; and the water filters in the room had never been changed. God forbid you lose your beach towel! ($25 for a sweat-stained rag if you do) The beach is overrun by people pushing their wares and while that’s not unique to VdP, there was almost nowhere near the ocean that could be described as peaceful. It’s best to avoid the area entirely unless you want to play beach volleyball and whack it at them. Now the good: The drinks were priced ok for those without all-inclusive. Sadly, that was many people including several who had paid for it (there was also a lot that was NOT covered by all-inclusive). The food was fine even at times excellent and no one had any digestive issues. The main pool area was clean and pleasant with activities throughout the day. At night there were a few activities you could pay for but expect to have another hand too deep into your pocket for those experiences. My vacation was good because of the people we met and the friends we made. But there's always an asterisk i have to add anytime I'm talking about my trip. I always have to explain how terrible this resort was and how it cast such a dark shadow over my time in Mexico. I wish this wasn't so because I needed a vacation and what I got was stress near a pool. Last thoughts: We were given notice on our last day that we had to be out of the place by 11:00 sharp and if we were still in line for checkout we would be charged another day’s stay. Knowing that this place was a con-artist’s dream we decided to play it safe and line-up at 8:00. We found that they strategically cut front staff to 1 just for the checkout time and the line-up was epic. They must have found that was another nice way to weasel money from guests… We checked-out on time and were nearly pushed to the doormen who ordered us a cab at twice the rate it would normally have been and pocketed the kick-back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Pipi's downtown. It's the most amazing food experience I've had in years and they really care about their customers. It's the kind of hospitality and value you love to see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top