$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
351 reviews
Villa Del Palmar PVR

We have stayed at this hotel several times and love it here. The staff is great and the resort and... See full review

  • landm
  • Jan 3, 2014
Great trip - 4th time!

The hotel is slightly older than some but in a great location and very well kept. It is walking... See full review

  • Great time here
  • Mar 29, 2013
Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms with balconies and kitchenettes
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta defines the all-inclusive experience. Guests can fill their days with the numerous planned activities -- including Spanish lessons, water aerobics and volleyball -- or simply sit by the pool, where a water slide shaped like a whale is an endless source of entertainment. Rooms, meanwhile, feel like Mexican villas thanks to full refrigerators, kitchenettes and quaint pottery and furniture.
Highlights
  • 463 suites with kitchenettes and full refrigerators
  • Extensive activities, from nightly dinner and theme shows to craft-making
  • Off-site tours Spa and hair salon
  • Gorgeous views of Banderas Bay
Rooms
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta caters to extended-stay travelers who appreciate the convenience of kitchenettes, full-size refrigerators, cookware and the other necessities for preparing their own meals. All 463 suites brim with regional style -- right down to the folksy pottery. Bright fabrics and cozy furniture further the relaxed appeal. When the day is done, guests sit on furnished balconies to admire the pool and bay views. All rooms boast digital TV, a dining table, central air-conditioning, ceramic-tile floors and purified water.
Features
An all-day schedule of planned activities ensures that Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta guests can play from morning until night. On-site diversions run the gamut, from water aerobics, pottery classes and nightly dinner shows to tennis and a fitness center equipped with cardio and weight machines. Guests can also go off-site for ATV excursions and glass-bottom-boat cruises, among many other tour options.

Even with all those choices, many guests opt to sunbathe at the pool, which features a curious conversation piece: an enormous water slide shaped like a whale.
Dining
Whether the occasion calls for outdoor dining or a more upscale meal, Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta tempts with a global menu of dishes and ambiance-filled restaurants. Guests start at La Cucina, where the full breakfast buffet is not to be outdone by the gorgeous patio overlooking Banderas Bay. Jalisco, open seasonally, dishes up regional family-style Mexican cuisine in an Old World setting. Diners can also request to be seated in the outdoor palapa (an open-sided hut with a thatched roof). Los Equipales Sports Bar invites guests to enjoy tapas and sports by the pool.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Old Town (3.4 mi/5.5 km) Downtown Vallarta (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (3 mi/4.8 km)

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Signature One Bedroom Suite
This beautiful renewed One Bedroom Suite features the same amenities as the One Bedroom plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathrooms amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottle water when booking just room, and with bear and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone, fine cuts and shripms on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room.
Two Bedroom Villa Suite
(900 Sq Ft.) Enjoy one King , and a choice of one Queen or Double bed in second bedroom and sofa bed in the living room. Have up to 2 bathrooms with travertine marble decor as well as upscale amenities. In the room a dining table and six chairs. Its exterior balcony is furnished with patio furniture for up to 6 people.
Deluxe Room
(500 Sq F) Enjoy one king-sized bed or two double beds at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture for 2 people. Outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning, a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
One Bedroom Villa Suite
(650 Sq Ft) Enjoy one king and one sofa bed at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture up to 4 people. This room is outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning , a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Signature Deluxe Studio
This beautiful renewed Signature Deluxe Studio features the same amenities as the Deluxe Studio plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottled water when booking just room, and with beer and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone calls, fine cuts and shrimps on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room. Amenities Deluxe Studio: -Complete kitchen -Coffee maker -Refrigerator -Tableware -Blender -Microwave Oven -Toaster -Pots + Pans -Ceramic Stove top -Welcome Pack (Coffee, salt, pepper + dish soap) -Individually-controlled central air conditioning -Ceiling fans -73-channel cable television -Direct dial telephone with voice mail -Hair dryer -In-room safe -Iron with ironing board -Clock Radio -Daily Housekeeping Service

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.642 -105.2375
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz (PVR) Airport
Area description
The property is located five miles West of Downtown Puerto Vallarta, close to golf courses, marina and shopping.

Dining

La Trattoria
Sitting right on the oceanfront and providing a romantic candlelight dinner atmosphere, this open-air restaurant serves traditional and contemporary Italian specialties, prepared with Mediterranean flavors and a lot of "lamore per la cucina Italiana," offering also an excellent wine selection.
The Market
Introducing the fresh market concept of fish and seafood at Villa de Palmar Flamingos. Choose your catch of the day or select your whole lobster. Add some shrimps, a few mussels, and maybe a slice of fresh tuna. Just pick directly with our Chef from our display and enjoy - you decide how you want us to prepare your selection of fish and seafood at our oceanfront terrace market.
El Patron
Impressively located on the oceanfront overlooking the Banderas Bay, restaurant El Patrn offers contemporary presentations of traditional Mexican cuisine. A truly sensorial experience, here you appreciate the flavors, sounds, sights, and smells. Breakfast served as buffet and a la carte. Lunch and dinner are offered a la carte.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (351)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
351 out of 351
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Casual Traveler Marc
Portland, OR, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Fun for the Price

For a week vacation we booked the Villa Del Palmer because it is close to downtown, is relatively cheap, and got pretty good reviews. Upon arrival we were hounded by time share sales people after getting through customs. Many asked our hotel and posed as employees or workers in association with our hotel. Finally we got to someone associated with the hotel and he tried to persuade us to attend a "breakfast" time share presentation. We said no and we finally provided direction to our shuttle. During this whole time our baggage handler played dumb and did not tell us who was the real Villa Del Palmer employee or just a sales person. After taking a ride in our shuttle we checked in and took a ride to our room on the one working elevator. We had a pretty good room with two full beds and a small kitchenette with a stove and small fridge. Our bathroom was beautiful and clean. We had a balcony that overlooked the main pool and restaurants. It was a pretty good view. The down side of our room was not having a big enough kitchen. There were drawers and cabinets with silverware, plates, glasses, pots and pans but no room for extra food or snacks. On the counter we had a blender and coffee machine we never used. They just took up space. Our first night we ate at the hotel restaurant and had some alright food but nothing great. We ate the at restaurant a few more times and did not get much better food. This being said the American style breakfasts are not too bad. The prices for the food and drinks are not great, there were no happy hour deals and we did not get the all inclusive package. Upon walking around the pool was pretty clean and tranquil. The hot tube was comfortable and not overheated. The beach by the hotel is great. Like any beach front hotel sales men and women try to show various clothing, jewelry, and excursions. A simple no gracias or no thanks works fine. A majority of the time we headed into town we took a cab from the lobby. The bellman was very prompt and friendly. The cab rides are pretty cheap to town (centro or malecon). A few times we walked to the street and took the bus for a much cheaper but slightly longer ride. A cab is good for shopping, short trips, and dancing/late nights. Buses are good for longer trips. We booked one excursion through the hotel Rhythms of the Night. This is one of the best adult excursions I have been on. It is mainly for couples and well worth the money. A boat ride with drink, food, a show, and a buffet. Other than our activities we always returned to a air conditioned and clean room. I left my wallet on the table by accident and everything was left in it after the maids came through. The room did have a safe but we did not use it. Overall we had a great time and good room. I would probably recommend getting a all inclusive package unless the room has a decent size kitchen and fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Duffinator
Plato Center, IL
Mar 8, 2013

Not as advertised

First of all, this hotel was not all-inclusive as advertised. I was sure I had booked it as such, but when we arrived, we found that was not the case. The restaurants were also nothing like they were listed on the website. The bar that is called Los Equipales Sports Bar on the website, was called La Patron and had a full menu. The food was very good. La Cucina might have been there, but we never found it. Instead there was a small place with a breakfast buffet that left much to be desired and the dinner fare was not much better. Maybe in a way, it was better not to be booked all-inclusive. I think they had WiFi, but I didn't need that and I suspect you had to pay extra for it like the internet cafe which only had 3 working computers. That said, the room was nice with comfortable beds and great pillows. Loved the balcony overlooking the swimming pools, and how quiet it was for sleeping at night. As far as location - it was not a bad area as there were places to eat within walking distance. Would I go to Puerto Vallarta again? Yes. Would I stay at this hotel again? Only if they have a more accurate description of their amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mo&Bo
Chicago, IL
Jan 4, 2010

Customer service: a total disaster

Good: The location (easy access to downtown by bus, close to supermarket), the beach, the room. Bad: the staff. Once we rejected to look into the time share options they offered, they didn't bother to show us the room or help with the bags; on our way to the room we got stuck in the elevator and nobody was there when the problem was finally fixed to apologize; two days later I got stuck again in a different elevator; they lied to us that all rooms have ocean view: ours didn't; the maid would make our room every day in spite of the "do not disturb" sign; on the day of the check-out they knocked at the door "just to check" at 9 although the check-out time was 11; the TV remote didn't work, they "fixed" it only to fail again ten minutes later; Karla, our "contact" there vanished for good the moment we refused to discuss time share options; the beach is good but the water is not: rocky, deep, dirty; the policy of not reserving beach umbrellas and chairs is not enforced: people leave towels on chairs at 5 AM and disappear for hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

1) Go to Soriana supermarket (a very short walk, almost across the street from the hotel) rather than being ripped off at their market place. 2) It is straightforward to get to the airport by public bus (50 US cents) instead of using the overpriced cabs.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kim.
il
Mar 28, 2014

a few things you should know:

Based on March 2014 stay: 1. Most chairs by main pool are already "reserved" with guests towels & whatnot by 8:30am. 2. You must check your pool/beach towels in & out otherwise you will be charged 3. Maid service does not include doing dishes in your kitchenette 4. Constant parade of vendors on beach. You cannot sit quietly for more than 5 minutes without Someone selling jewelry/trinkets/tshirts/chachkis or activities trying to get your attention 5. Cash only for beach activities (banana boat, parasailing, horseback ride) 6. Wifi is only available in lobby and it costs $12/day 7. A telephone call from your room to USA is very expensive ($35 for a few minutes) 8. Guests were a mix of retirees/Canadians/tattoo enthusiasts with a few spring breakers mixed in 9. Smoking allowed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe de Olla reliably good food

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
keep traveling
Chicago, IL
May 3, 2010

Nice getaway

I traveled with my 22 year old daughter and had a very pleasant stay but this trip lacked the excitement of previous trips. This was my fourth trip to Puerto Vallarta. Each of the other resorts was all-inclusive with very friendly staff, friendly guests and entertainment staff that bent over backwards for you. This hotel had a totally different feel because it is not all inclusive. People retreated to their rooms for meals and drinks, so that even during happy hour, the bar was empty. There were some very friendly and helpful front desk and vallet staff. Unfortunately, the staff person that served us most often was just not friendly and never smiled even after generous tips. Friendly waitstaff is typical at most hotels in Mexico and makes a trip much more pleasant so this was quite different from my past experiences. Staff recommended some good restaurants. I would have given the hotel 4 stars because the hotel is really nice. Beds were really comfy, and having a kitchen, pool view and balcony was great. Unfriendly staff and lack of any excitement brought their rating down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Soriano grocery store a couple of blocks away for basic items rather than the expensive store connected to the hotel. Near Soriano there is also a internet shop. The hotel charged $5 US per half hour. This shop near Soriano charged 50 cents per half hour.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TD300C
Illinois, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Pretty Nice Place

It's pretty hard not to have a good time at an all-inclusive resort in Puerto Vallarta. I went with a large group of friends to Villa Del Palmar and we had a lot of fun. However, I've been to other resorts in Puerto Vallarta and Villa Del Palmar was probably my least favorite. Other all-inclusive resorts seem to have much more to offer. More restaurants, bars, activities, entertainment, etc. My friends and I are in our mid-to-late 20's, so we like to drink and have a good time. We were very disappointed when we found out that Villa Del Palmar's bars only stay open until 10:45 PM! It definitely seems like an older crowd at Villa Del Palmar, so maybe that's why the bars close so early. My family has a timeshare at Marival in Nuevo Vallarta and it has 5-6 restaurants, a nightclub, and it's bars stay open until 1-2 AM. Villa Del Palmar's two restaurants/bars that close early was a let-down. I also was not a big fan of the beaches in this area of Puerto Vallarta. My girlfriend and I wanted to take a walk on the beach and our feet were hurting within minutes because of the rough sand. It's almost like small rocks/pebbles the further away from the water you are. I also like bigger waves for boogie-boarding and surfing, which this area did not really have. Lastly, the beach vendors are NON-STOP in this area of Puerto Vallarta. Soooo many vendors coming up to you all day long trying to sell their stuff. I expect this every time I go to Mexico, but this was ridiculous. Overall, the beaches in Nuevo Vallarta are much nicer. Some things that I did like about Villa Del Palmar were the staff and the proximity to downtown Puerto Vallarta. The staff members were extremely nice and helpful to our entire group. They brought us drinks and food down to the beach all day long. They definitely worked their butts off. The location of this resort is awesome, too. You're just a short cab ride away from everything. Overall, Villa Del Palmar was a pretty nice place, but I probably won't go back. For the same amount of money (or maybe a little more) you can go to much better resorts with much more to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

You can go pretty much anywhere for an $8.00 cab ride.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tacoma, WA
Aug 23, 2010

7 days at Villa Del Palmar

I thought the room was nice, but I thought that everything on the property was expensive. There was really only 1 resturant, but you could get food in the bar also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

many resturants on the boardwalk were good and a great view (and cheaper than the hotel). It seemed that when you asked someone to recommend a place to eat, they were getting something from it. Asking other travelers where they liked is the best.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mida
Jackson Hole, Wyoming
Jun 21, 2013

Great family vacation

Great hotel, great location. Bring kids here, the pool was great for my children.The staff treated us well. All Amenities(Meals/Drinks) over priced. Tip: buy all inclusive. I recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Groceries stores close to the hotel

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oregon, WI
Apr 22, 2009

"All was good, we don't require much"

I believe this hotel was fantastic in its time. It now is in need of renovation, however, very clean and well organized -- good value. The restaurants we well managed and the food was good. The service was very good and staff was friendly. The beach was fabulous, you can walk for at a couple of miles. Nearby there were a few small interesting towns: La Penita and Salulito (I apologize I don't know if the spelling is correct). If you want to experience real Mexican culture: family and friends. This is the place to visit. It has not been engulfed in Americanization. It still has a lot character and fascinating natural beauty. Great place to relax! With Puerto Vallarta so close, you can get it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mo&Bo
Chicago, IL
Jan 4, 2010

Customer service: a total disaster

Good: The location (easy access to downtown by bus, close to supermarket), the beach, the room. Bad: the staff. Once we rejected to look into the time share options they offered, they didn't bother to show us the room or help with the bags; on our way to the room we got stuck in the elevator and nobody was there when the problem was finally fixed to apologize; two days later I got stuck again in a different elevator; they lied to us that all rooms have ocean view: ours didn't; the maid would make our room every day in spite of the "do not disturb" sign; on the day of the check-out they knocked at the door "just to check" at 9 although the check-out time was 11; the TV remote didn't work, they "fixed" it only to fail again ten minutes later; Karla, our "contact" there vanished for good the moment we refused to discuss time share options; the beach is good but the water is not: rocky, deep, dirty; the policy of not reserving beach umbrellas and chairs is not enforced: people leave towels on chairs at 5 AM and disappear for hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

1) Go to Soriana supermarket (a very short walk, almost across the street from the hotel) rather than being ripped off at their market place. 2) It is straightforward to get to the airport by public bus (50 US cents) instead of using the overpriced cabs.

Back to menu Return to top