$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 3, 2015

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
View map of Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
219 reviews
Older resort-still a gem

Stayed at Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & spa January 12th-29th, 2015. This was a vacation getaway... See full review

  • Mnretiree
  • Feb 3, 2015
Great trip back to VDP

VDP is a great place to stay. Perfect location and hotel is maintained very well. Great... See full review

  • landm
  • Dec 29, 2014
Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms with balconies and kitchenettes
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta defines the all-inclusive experience. Guests can fill their days with the numerous planned activities -- including Spanish lessons, water aerobics and volleyball -- or simply sit by the pool, where a water slide shaped like a whale is an endless source of entertainment. Rooms, meanwhile, feel like Mexican villas thanks to full refrigerators, kitchenettes and quaint pottery and furniture.
Highlights
  • 463 suites with kitchenettes and full refrigerators
  • Extensive activities, from nightly dinner and theme shows to craft-making
  • Off-site tours Spa and hair salon
  • Gorgeous views of Banderas Bay
Rooms
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta caters to extended-stay travelers who appreciate the convenience of kitchenettes, full-size refrigerators, cookware and the other necessities for preparing their own meals. All 463 suites brim with regional style -- right down to the folksy pottery. Bright fabrics and cozy furniture further the relaxed appeal. When the day is done, guests sit on furnished balconies to admire the pool and bay views. All rooms boast digital TV, a dining table, central air-conditioning, ceramic-tile floors and purified water.
Features
An all-day schedule of planned activities ensures that Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta guests can play from morning until night. On-site diversions run the gamut, from water aerobics, pottery classes and nightly dinner shows to tennis and a fitness center equipped with cardio and weight machines. Guests can also go off-site for ATV excursions and glass-bottom-boat cruises, among many other tour options.

Even with all those choices, many guests opt to sunbathe at the pool, which features a curious conversation piece: an enormous water slide shaped like a whale.
Dining
Whether the occasion calls for outdoor dining or a more upscale meal, Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta tempts with a global menu of dishes and ambiance-filled restaurants. Guests start at La Cucina, where the full breakfast buffet is not to be outdone by the gorgeous patio overlooking Banderas Bay. Jalisco, open seasonally, dishes up regional family-style Mexican cuisine in an Old World setting. Diners can also request to be seated in the outdoor palapa (an open-sided hut with a thatched roof). Los Equipales Sports Bar invites guests to enjoy tapas and sports by the pool.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Old Town (3.4 mi/5.5 km) Downtown Vallarta (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (3 mi/4.8 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Two Bedroom Villa Suite
(900 Sq Ft.) Enjoy one King , and a choice of one Queen or Double bed in second bedroom and sofa bed in the living room. Have up to 2 bathrooms with travertine marble decor as well as upscale amenities. In the room a dining table and six chairs. Its exterior balcony is furnished with patio furniture for up to 6 people.
Deluxe Room
(500 Sq F) Enjoy one king-sized bed or two double beds at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture for 2 people. Outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning, a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
One Bedroom Villa Suite
(650 Sq Ft) Enjoy one king and one sofa bed at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture up to 4 people. This room is outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning , a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Patron
Impressively located on the oceanfront overlooking the Banderas Bay, restaurant El Patrn offers contemporary presentations of traditional Mexican cuisine. A truly sensorial experience, here you appreciate the flavors, sounds, sights, and smells. Breakfast served as buffet and a la carte. Lunch and dinner are offered a la carte.
La Trattoria
Sitting right on the oceanfront and providing a romantic candlelight dinner atmosphere, this open-air restaurant serves traditional and contemporary Italian specialties, prepared with Mediterranean flavors and a lot of "lamore per la cucina Italiana," offering also an excellent wine selection.
The Market
Introducing the fresh market concept of fish and seafood at Villa de Palmar Flamingos. Choose your catch of the day or select your whole lobster. Add some shrimps, a few mussels, and maybe a slice of fresh tuna. Just pick directly with our Chef from our display and enjoy - you decide how you want us to prepare your selection of fish and seafood at our oceanfront terrace market.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 219
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vegassassy2
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Apr 23, 2013

Villa del Palmar in Puerto Vallarta

This hotel was great. On first floor before hotel entrance, there is deli /gift shop along with 8 or so computer terminals available to use at a reasonable rate. Bus for 6 pesos takes you into downtown where main boardwalk is blocked from cars so nice to walk around and see the ocean. Plenty of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel has deli in front of hotel serves breakfast, sandwiches and goodies. Plus souvenirs on other half of deli.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vegassassy2
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Apr 1, 2013

Great beach location

The room was fantastic and the special included a "book 3 days , pay for only 2". There is deli shop in front of hotel that had pastries and coffee and sandwiches. Also 4 or 5 computer terminals to surf internet or view e-mail. Very nice hotel. Bus for 5 pesos takes you downtown where Malecon is now car free so you can walk at leisure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yogi Asoka
Business
San Francisco, California
Aug 28, 2012

great staff nice installations

I was there for 9 nights. The staying was awesome overall. Kind staff, the food was really good, nice swimming pools and jacuzzis. Beach was good also. The only problem was that it was rainy, nothing the hotel could to to prevent that, but you couldn't get from one building (where my room was) to the main hotel builiding without walking under the rain. They should have an alternative way to protect the guests from rain and giving access to the main building in situations of extreme rain like this, which are not quite unforeseeable. The rain flooded the first floor of the building making it impossible to leave one's room to go to the restaurant for example, for the entire night. There were no problems unrelated to the rain. Staff was great and everything in the room was perfect. Good location close to Soriana to get groceries. I would stay there again but next time I'll check the weather before booking the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

two blocks south is Soriana. Go there and get the beer and other drinks and milk and cereal for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Out4Fun
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Sneaky yet pleasant!!!

Hotel is cozy and attractive with private/public beach access. The staff the took care of our room maintenance was fabulous leaving all kinds of cute folds on the towels etc and none of our things (including laptops, i-pods, radios, jewelry etc) were stolen or misplaced. Only complaint I have is that I paid to be in Villa del Palmar and the day we were checking out I ended finding out that we were placed in their cheaper Villa del Mar rooms... this was upsetting since their price is lower compared to Villa del Palmar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Clubs in either direction taking either the local bus, taxi or even walking if you dare!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PUERTO VALLARTA
Oct 13, 2010

A GET AWAY TO THE OTHER SOUTH

I ENJOYED THE QUIET POOL, AND SURROUNDING AREA SNORKELED, AND ATE AT THE LOCAL RESTAURANTS. MET SOME REALLY NICE PEOPLE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
phoenix arizona
Apr 21, 2010

the place is good no problems at all

it was ok and enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pipi's restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
apachegirl
Business
Skokie, IL
Mar 28, 2010

Better than Florida

Enjoyed my stay. Staff very helpful. Immaculate rooms and grounds. Good recreation staff. Nice beach. Food & drinks too expensive unless you had a VIP card. All in all, a good value vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good restaurants within a mile or two. The buses are close and can be taken anywhere. Fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Feb 3, 2010

Great, love it there.

This is my 3rd visit to Villa Del Palmar, I enjoy the staff especially the bellhops and the housekeeping service. Had a couple of small problems in my room and they were taken care of within miutes. Very nice setting, all the benefits of a five star hotel. Close to shopping and public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There are just too many good restaurants in PV to go with the all inclusive plans. Glad we have never done that. Fun to try new places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent Visitor to PV
Business
San Jose, Ca.
Nov 17, 2009

Not a Pleasant 3 days

I had to change rooms 3 times and spend 12 hours trying to get the type of room that I asked for. No attention was placed on the type of room I requested until insisted on (They gave me a view of the street and TWO beds instead of one until requesting change)). After changed, the TV didn't work until repaired. AND I missed a whole day of activities with someone because the phone was out of order (only realized when the person calling later said that they called and the phone rang off the hook ... it was repaired later that day). I hated getting hammered after check-in by staff trying to coerce me in to a Time-Share purchase (I was told I'd get some benefits (20% off food /drinks and other amenities - WOW) and maybe even a better room if I promised to attend at their other TS Briefing the next day). The are much better and more quaint places to stay unless you like the institutional type of place this is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Entertainment, Nightlife and Activities in PV are endless and great. But only experience can tell you the best places to go or the best people to purchase them from. The worst places to purchse them from are from the vendors who try to sell them to you as you exit the Baggage Area of the Airport and the people who try to make it so convenient for you at the Hotel Check-in. You can usually make much better deals elsewhere (despite their insistence)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Nov 8, 2009

Relaxing get away

I was able to go fishing and the boats were able to pick me up on the beach in front of the resort. There were barbeque grills available and a grocery store close so I was able to cook my own fish and there was also a bar (Ernestos)close that would cook the fish for me. I also spent time reading on the beach and around the pool. It was a good place if you were looking more for a hotel than resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top