$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 18, 2014 Check-out: Oct 21, 2014

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
214 reviews
Villa Del Palmar PVR

We have stayed at this hotel several times and love it here. The staff is great and the resort and... See full review

  • landm
  • Jan 3, 2014
Great trip - 4th time!

The hotel is slightly older than some but in a great location and very well kept. It is walking... See full review

  • Great time here
  • Mar 29, 2013
Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms with balconies and kitchenettes
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta defines the all-inclusive experience. Guests can fill their days with the numerous planned activities -- including Spanish lessons, water aerobics and volleyball -- or simply sit by the pool, where a water slide shaped like a whale is an endless source of entertainment. Rooms, meanwhile, feel like Mexican villas thanks to full refrigerators, kitchenettes and quaint pottery and furniture.
Highlights
  • 463 suites with kitchenettes and full refrigerators
  • Extensive activities, from nightly dinner and theme shows to craft-making
  • Off-site tours Spa and hair salon
  • Gorgeous views of Banderas Bay
Rooms
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta caters to extended-stay travelers who appreciate the convenience of kitchenettes, full-size refrigerators, cookware and the other necessities for preparing their own meals. All 463 suites brim with regional style -- right down to the folksy pottery. Bright fabrics and cozy furniture further the relaxed appeal. When the day is done, guests sit on furnished balconies to admire the pool and bay views. All rooms boast digital TV, a dining table, central air-conditioning, ceramic-tile floors and purified water.
Features
An all-day schedule of planned activities ensures that Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta guests can play from morning until night. On-site diversions run the gamut, from water aerobics, pottery classes and nightly dinner shows to tennis and a fitness center equipped with cardio and weight machines. Guests can also go off-site for ATV excursions and glass-bottom-boat cruises, among many other tour options.

Even with all those choices, many guests opt to sunbathe at the pool, which features a curious conversation piece: an enormous water slide shaped like a whale.
Dining
Whether the occasion calls for outdoor dining or a more upscale meal, Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta tempts with a global menu of dishes and ambiance-filled restaurants. Guests start at La Cucina, where the full breakfast buffet is not to be outdone by the gorgeous patio overlooking Banderas Bay. Jalisco, open seasonally, dishes up regional family-style Mexican cuisine in an Old World setting. Diners can also request to be seated in the outdoor palapa (an open-sided hut with a thatched roof). Los Equipales Sports Bar invites guests to enjoy tapas and sports by the pool.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Old Town (3.4 mi/5.5 km) Downtown Vallarta (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (3 mi/4.8 km)

Hotel Map

20.642 -105.2375
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz (PVR) Airport
Area description
The property is located five miles West of Downtown Puerto Vallarta, close to golf courses, marina and shopping.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Signature One Bedroom Suite
This beautiful renewed One Bedroom Suite features the same amenities as the One Bedroom plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathrooms amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottle water when booking just room, and with bear and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone, fine cuts and shripms on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room.
Two Bedroom Villa Suite
(900 Sq Ft.) Enjoy one King , and a choice of one Queen or Double bed in second bedroom and sofa bed in the living room. Have up to 2 bathrooms with travertine marble decor as well as upscale amenities. In the room a dining table and six chairs. Its exterior balcony is furnished with patio furniture for up to 6 people.
Deluxe Room
(500 Sq F) Enjoy one king-sized bed or two double beds at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture for 2 people. Outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning, a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
One Bedroom Villa Suite
(650 Sq Ft) Enjoy one king and one sofa bed at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture up to 4 people. This room is outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning , a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Signature Deluxe Studio
This beautiful renewed Signature Deluxe Studio features the same amenities as the Deluxe Studio plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottled water when booking just room, and with beer and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone calls, fine cuts and shrimps on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room. Amenities Deluxe Studio: -Complete kitchen -Coffee maker -Refrigerator -Tableware -Blender -Microwave Oven -Toaster -Pots + Pans -Ceramic Stove top -Welcome Pack (Coffee, salt, pepper + dish soap) -Individually-controlled central air conditioning -Ceiling fans -73-channel cable television -Direct dial telephone with voice mail -Hair dryer -In-room safe -Iron with ironing board -Clock Radio -Daily Housekeeping Service

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Trattoria
Sitting right on the oceanfront and providing a romantic candlelight dinner atmosphere, this open-air restaurant serves traditional and contemporary Italian specialties, prepared with Mediterranean flavors and a lot of "lamore per la cucina Italiana," offering also an excellent wine selection.
The Market
Introducing the fresh market concept of fish and seafood at Villa de Palmar Flamingos. Choose your catch of the day or select your whole lobster. Add some shrimps, a few mussels, and maybe a slice of fresh tuna. Just pick directly with our Chef from our display and enjoy - you decide how you want us to prepare your selection of fish and seafood at our oceanfront terrace market.
El Patron
Impressively located on the oceanfront overlooking the Banderas Bay, restaurant El Patrn offers contemporary presentations of traditional Mexican cuisine. A truly sensorial experience, here you appreciate the flavors, sounds, sights, and smells. Breakfast served as buffet and a la carte. Lunch and dinner are offered a la carte.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 214
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Momma Bear1030
Chicago
Mar 29, 2014

Clean and safe

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. If was our first time there, and our first time back to Mexico in about 10 years. The hotel was full of activity, we have a six year old who took full advantage of the kids club. They kept her busy for hours and hours at a time. Things were sterile and clean, including the drinking water. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Reserve your chair around the pool before 7:00am if you want an umbrella and side table. The beach chairs are available at any time, but you will be bothered by beach vendors all day. Free wi-fi at the nearby Starbucks is more reliable than the Wifi that you pay for at the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kim.
il
Mar 28, 2014

a few things you should know:

Based on March 2014 stay: 1. Most chairs by main pool are already "reserved" with guests towels & whatnot by 8:30am. 2. You must check your pool/beach towels in & out otherwise you will be charged 3. Maid service does not include doing dishes in your kitchenette 4. Constant parade of vendors on beach. You cannot sit quietly for more than 5 minutes without Someone selling jewelry/trinkets/tshirts/chachkis or activities trying to get your attention 5. Cash only for beach activities (banana boat, parasailing, horseback ride) 6. Wifi is only available in lobby and it costs $12/day 7. A telephone call from your room to USA is very expensive ($35 for a few minutes) 8. Guests were a mix of retirees/Canadians/tattoo enthusiasts with a few spring breakers mixed in 9. Smoking allowed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe de Olla reliably good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mida
Jackson Hole, Wyoming
Jun 21, 2013

Great family vacation

Great hotel, great location. Bring kids here, the pool was great for my children.The staff treated us well. All Amenities(Meals/Drinks) over priced. Tip: buy all inclusive. I recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Groceries stores close to the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IrinaD
Portland, Oregon
Feb 15, 2013

One of the worst experience I've had

So let me start by saying that the only reason this hotel gets 2 stars and not 1 is because prior to arriving there I emailed one of the gentlemen from the hotel group, asking if we could have a room away from the traffic (we've read reviews and that was mentioned there as a huge negative). So they put us up in a pretty good location, facing the ocean, away from the busy road. So that was much appreciated. Upon our arrival everything seemed great, the gal that greeted us was sweet and nice, talked us into doing a timeshare tour (which Ive never done before, so what the heck). Our hotel room was OK at best, it had a balcony, which was nice, the feeling in the hotel room was damp and smelled of mildew a bit, but we were happy non the less, just to be facing the ocean. The good thing about the room, it did have a kitchenette, and plates with utensils. So the nice stops there. After our horrific timeshare tour (which was at the Flamingo hotel on the other side of the town). And the reason it was horrific is because, right after I said "no Im not interested" the attitude completely changed, everyone became extremely rude, and pretty much pushed us out of the area! I mean, if I was even slightly considering this time share business, the treatment we received completely changed that. After getting back to our hotel, things just got worse, the staff was extremely unhelpful, they literally rolled their eyes anytime we had a question. The Concierge service was terrible, booking any trips with them is a joke, they have absolutely zero idea about what the tours include. BTW-you can not use cash at any of their restaurants, just a warning. They advertize as a "kid-friendly" place, they only kid friendly part is that they "allow" the kids there, there are zero amenities for the children. Not even a reasonably shallow area for the kids to play in at the pool. There is a slide for the older kids (like 7 and up). If you have a toddler-you are out of luck. Staff acts like they are doing you a favor by talking to you. I cant tell you how many times we had to go to the front desk for minor little things, and spent at least a half hour there EACH time. from our room keys not working after a few days, to us not being able to charge our beverages to the hotel room (after we already have done it a few times), to us trying to get our deposit back for the timeshare tour (we got send to 3 different places to get it back, with attitude at every stop) We found out that they are going to completely rebuild this hotel, its the oldest property that the company owns, so that should give you an idea of the shape that place is in. No it doesnt have that "old character" just the old smell, and terrible staff. I've never been treated like that, they do not care for return business. Do yourself and favor and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

you do NOT have to pay the tip at the end of your stay-you can tell them you want that taken off

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iziz
Utah
Dec 27, 2012

nice place for a family vacation

The hotel is not brand new (it was build in mid-1980's, I think), but rooms are very clean and staff is friendly. We were not bothered much by the time share people. For under $200/night we got a 2-bedroom condo, which is a good deal. The hotel is close to a shopping center with a Walmart-type store, which was a major plus. The hotel is also close to the downtown. They have a very nice pool, or you can go to the beach. The water is not sparkling clear, but still nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniml72
Villa Del Palmar, Puerto Vallarta
Dec 4, 2012

GREAT TIME

We did the all inclusive and other then a few restrictions it worked out great. The rooms and hallways where clean, the staff was very friendly always saying hello, and many activities during the day. The waiter Edwin was AWESOME. He is a prime example of someone who earns a good tip. My family and I will definately be going back. My only complaint is the people at the money exchange inside the hotel where unfriendly and not helpful. Luckily I only dealt with them a few times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Alma
Arroyo Grande, California
Oct 8, 2012

Absolutely fantastic!

My experience at this hotel was even better than I expected! Everyone was helpful, friendly, and very professional. They were quick to solve any problem even if it didn't have to do with the hotel itself. They have friendly and energetic activity hosts that respectfully try to involve all guests in aqua aerobics and games such as ping-pong, volleyball at the beach and the pool. They have beautiful, skillful shows and great buffets, too. It is close to down town and old town with easy and accessible transportation. My only complaint would be that I was not expecting to have a daily gratuity added to my charges balance. I wish I had known ahead so I could have given it directly to people who serviced me each day as cleaning staff changed daily, and I can't prove that such set charge made by the hotel went directly to the employees. However, it might have been my fault for declining to attend the welcoming introduction offered along with a margarita.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Taking a local bus right outside of the hotel to down town, you can have great meals for very little money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super angelito
Cicero Il.
Aug 11, 2012

Excellent family getaway

Good hotel with excellent location close to everything, good food and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the Peninsula shopping center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt Todd
Ptld., ME
Aug 11, 2012

everything is here

location- midway between airport and centro (perfect, close enough but not amidst) staff-absolutely honest and genuinely nice (exceptional employees are Sandra @ the "gold card" desk and Manuel the gardiner, great guy...the grounds are impeccable!) pool(s)-!!!spot on, inviting and comfortable, yet unpretecious (infinity pools?wtf, not here)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

south and across the street is the Soriano Plaza. Groceries and shops and dining...authentic and inexpensive (5-10 min. walk)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hungergamesfreak
san diego,california
Jul 23, 2012

better then i expexted

it was really good the only thing that i didn't like was that they send you tips bill at the end and they didn't say anything about it but my daughter wanted to go to the canopy tour and an employe offed to go with her everyone was friendly and spoke both English and Spanish

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search