$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
View map of Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
246 reviews
great

Our 4 th time here. Easy relaxing to get around,find things,everyone is helpful friendly and most... See full review

  • Ralph W
  • Apr 27, 2015
Older resort-still a gem

Stayed at Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & spa January 12th-29th, 2015. This was a vacation getaway... See full review

  • Mnretiree
  • Feb 3, 2015
Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms with balconies and kitchenettes
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta defines the all-inclusive experience. Guests can fill their days with the numerous planned activities -- including Spanish lessons, water aerobics and volleyball -- or simply sit by the pool, where a water slide shaped like a whale is an endless source of entertainment. Rooms, meanwhile, feel like Mexican villas thanks to full refrigerators, kitchenettes and quaint pottery and furniture.
Highlights
  • 463 suites with kitchenettes and full refrigerators
  • Extensive activities, from nightly dinner and theme shows to craft-making
  • Off-site tours Spa and hair salon
  • Gorgeous views of Banderas Bay
Rooms
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta caters to extended-stay travelers who appreciate the convenience of kitchenettes, full-size refrigerators, cookware and the other necessities for preparing their own meals. All 463 suites brim with regional style -- right down to the folksy pottery. Bright fabrics and cozy furniture further the relaxed appeal. When the day is done, guests sit on furnished balconies to admire the pool and bay views. All rooms boast digital TV, a dining table, central air-conditioning, ceramic-tile floors and purified water.
Features
An all-day schedule of planned activities ensures that Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta guests can play from morning until night. On-site diversions run the gamut, from water aerobics, pottery classes and nightly dinner shows to tennis and a fitness center equipped with cardio and weight machines. Guests can also go off-site for ATV excursions and glass-bottom-boat cruises, among many other tour options.

Even with all those choices, many guests opt to sunbathe at the pool, which features a curious conversation piece: an enormous water slide shaped like a whale.
Dining
Whether the occasion calls for outdoor dining or a more upscale meal, Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta tempts with a global menu of dishes and ambiance-filled restaurants. Guests start at La Cucina, where the full breakfast buffet is not to be outdone by the gorgeous patio overlooking Banderas Bay. Jalisco, open seasonally, dishes up regional family-style Mexican cuisine in an Old World setting. Diners can also request to be seated in the outdoor palapa (an open-sided hut with a thatched roof). Los Equipales Sports Bar invites guests to enjoy tapas and sports by the pool.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Old Town (3.4 mi/5.5 km) Downtown Vallarta (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (3 mi/4.8 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

One Bedroom Villa Suite
(650 Sq Ft) Enjoy one king and one sofa bed at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture up to 4 people. This room is outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning , a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Two Bedroom Villa Suite
(900 Sq Ft.) Enjoy one King , and a choice of one Queen or Double bed in second bedroom and sofa bed in the living room. Have up to 2 bathrooms with travertine marble decor as well as upscale amenities. In the room a dining table and six chairs. Its exterior balcony is furnished with patio furniture for up to 6 people.
Deluxe Room
(500 Sq F) Enjoy one king-sized bed or two double beds at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture for 2 people. Outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning, a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Patron
Impressively located on the oceanfront overlooking the Banderas Bay, restaurant El Patrn offers contemporary presentations of traditional Mexican cuisine. A truly sensorial experience, here you appreciate the flavors, sounds, sights, and smells. Breakfast served as buffet and a la carte. Lunch and dinner are offered a la carte.
La Trattoria
Sitting right on the oceanfront and providing a romantic candlelight dinner atmosphere, this open-air restaurant serves traditional and contemporary Italian specialties, prepared with Mediterranean flavors and a lot of "lamore per la cucina Italiana," offering also an excellent wine selection.
The Market
Introducing the fresh market concept of fish and seafood at Villa de Palmar Flamingos. Choose your catch of the day or select your whole lobster. Add some shrimps, a few mussels, and maybe a slice of fresh tuna. Just pick directly with our Chef from our display and enjoy - you decide how you want us to prepare your selection of fish and seafood at our oceanfront terrace market.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 246
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ralph W
Business
N/A
Apr 27, 2015

great

Our 4 th time here. Easy relaxing to get around,find things,everyone is helpful friendly and most can speak English or at least help you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
countryclub librarian
Business
berkley
Apr 23, 2015

Winter Get Away

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa is not the newest hotel (kid) on the block but it has everything that you need. Beach front (go out EARLY to make sure that you get chairs and an umbrella), friendly staff, clean room. We don't spend much time in our room...we prefer to be pool side or beach side. The hotel employees are VERY friendly and are attentive to your needs. We do not buy all inclusive as we love to experience all the different restaurants in town. This hotel is located sort of in the middle of hotel strip which makes it nice when you want to go somewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Very pleasant stay
Business
N/A
Feb 10, 2015

nice stay, good value for the money

wonderful time, great value for the money. ideal location. would recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
landm
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Great trip back to VDP

VDP is a great place to stay. Perfect location and hotel is maintained very well. Great staff. Amenities was a four due to the tennis court being closed. Cleanliness was a four for two reasons. First - there was still a bit of construction dust. Second - there were people feeding the pigeons at the pool which meant that there were pigeon droppings around the chairs at the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
landm
Business
N/A
Dec 19, 2014

Great trip back to VDP

VDP is a great place to stay. Perfect location and hotel is maintained very well. Great staff. Amenities was a four due to the tennis court being closed. Cleanliness was a four for two reasons. First - there was still a bit of construction dust. Second - there were people feeding the pigeons at the pool which meant that there were pigeon droppings around the chairs at the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bossleader
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 9, 2014

Better than expected

After reading other reviews we were a bit skeptical since we thought we were booking the Villa Del Palmar Flamingo's which we stayed at before. In any event we went to this location and stayed in the "newer" rooms. They were nice and updated. Lots of marble everywhere. The food was average to above average but not spectacular. The service was excellent. We only had one issue on one evening and after mentioning it to other staff members they went out of their way to make up for the small issue we had. For the most part everyone ran quickly to help us and even overhearing a breakfast discussion brought us what we were mentioning to each other that we would have liked on the buffet that morning. Again, we had low expectations base on the ratings here but we felt we had a better than expected experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get the all inclusive. We went out for dinner a few evenings but just the breakfast, lunch, snacks and occasional dinner a the hotel payed for itself and made it so easy. The tip is included in each bill. We added a few dollars to 5 dollars per bill and that went a long way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricomalo
Business
Sacramento, California
Apr 28, 2014

The Beach Hotel

Everything was basically very good. The Conciere was too aggressive and bothersome about timeshares. The hotel mainly caters to Mexican tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pappy and Nanna
Business
Texas
Feb 16, 2014

February 7-15, 2014

Wife and I have stayed @ Villa del Palmar at least 10x over last 10 yrs. We never eat there because we like to experience restaurants throughout PV. Best part of Villa del Palmar is the staff, especially Bellman Jamie. He is absolutely the best. We will stay there again, however, we have a couple complaints. 1) Money exchange never has enough $20 peso bills or $100 peso bills 2) Linens. Specifically sheets. They must be 10yrs old because it was like sleeping on grit. Had to sleep in pajama's. Will bring personal sheets next trip. 3) Margarita's are horrible, however, Beer is cold. Ps. AC works great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Indie traveller
Business
WA
Feb 9, 2014

Not going back. All they want is your money.

Hotel was really nice, but it is located in the resort zone which has really nothing around except the beach and shopping malls. If you are there just for the beach, then you may like it. But, we didn't. We stayed initial few days in Zona Romantica, old town and it was fabulous. When we moved to Villa del Palmar, it was all dull around. We were paying for taxis and buses everyday to go back to old town for lunch and dinner. Most annoying part of this place was, they are only after your money. They had housekeeping charge, which we got waived off by not using house keeping. Then they were trying to sell their vacation packages. We were told we can have free breakfast at their Nuevo Vallarta resort and if we attend a sales presentation, we will get discount in other activities, but it was not merely a presentation, rather a sales agent was with us all the time and was pushing us to buy their packages. We were really regretting, why did we sign up for this at first place despite all the discounts and gifts it came with. Bottom line, if you are going to Mexico for beaches, good weather and above all good food, drinks and culture, then do yourself a favour and stay in old town hotels. Old town has everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are staying in resort area or old town, you can take Blue and white buses which costs only 7.50 pesos to travel around. You will also be able to see the city this way. We found them safe and they run as late as 12AM. Taxis on other hand can be from 50-80 pesos, and you do the math. To save money on eating: Best place to find good food is no doubt in the old town, but places close to beach are expensive. Ask local shopkeepers (of course after buying something from them), where they would eat for cheap and they will tell you hidden secrets. Eating on street side shops is okay, only be careful about drinking water and only use bottled. Don't hesitate to negotiate on price while buying anything, you will be surprised to see nearly 50% drop in price by just negotiating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MEandHIM
Business
Texas
Jan 27, 2014

Great Stay at Villa del Palmar

We were some of the youngest (in our late 40's) at this hotel - most guests were retired, but a very friendly group of guests and staff here. We got a little tired of the food since we did an AI but the theme nights were great, the bar service terrific and we would definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the Ocean Resturant on the Malecon when they play live music. It was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top