$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 13, 2015 Check-out: Apr 14, 2015

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
View map of Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim, Ca
Jun 30, 2011

Great Vacation!

After having a less than desirable flying experience, we arrived at our hotel 6 hours later than expected. Tired and grumpy, we were greeted immediately with friendly staff who took care of our check-in quickly and set us up in our room.For the entire week, we had a really fantastic time! The cleaning services were pretty fast and very thorough and the front desk/lobby staff were very friendly and helpful. When we encountered issues getting internet in our room, a staff member came up to our room to personally resolve the issue. Getting taxis were very easy and the staff was also a great source for food recommendations (for good fairly authentic mexican food that is within walking distance of the hotel and the nearby mall, try Adelita's, for a super great meal, check out Cafe la Olla in town, that you can take by taxi or by a very cheap--but long--bus ride).The hotel food was expensive and did not seem all that great, so we opted to eat from the local deli and different restaurants in town.In terms of the services they had available, we took advantage of a special they had on couples massages which was fantastic! The pools and spa are very nice and weren't too crowded.As with other reviewers, my only caveat is to be mindful of people selling timeshares, wares, or trips. I happen to speak Spanish (which helps) but honestly, the best way to gently handle these situations is to just persistently say "no thank you" and "not interested." Though I understand that these requests aggravate many people, if you are smart about what you say (don't tell them where you are from!) and are polite, they will leave you alone. Remember that these are people who need to make a living, too. Just try to be respectful!Overall, we had a fantastic time and couldn't have asked for a better hotel! Perfect for a young couple on a budget who aren't looking for a party town, but still like the little luxuries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Jun 27, 2011

Great for Family

The hotel is old but taken care of the pool areas are great. Our check in was smooth, of course ther are the time share sharks but I made it very clear that we were not Intrested.... The food was good better than most all inclusive, we liked the fact that you can order from a menu and not a buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If traveling with kids and young audlts it is actualy worth going all inclusive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arizona
Jun 19, 2011

Livin the Good Life

The location is outstanding close to everything for traval comfort, ideal for activities both inside and outside the resort. The resort has everything and the staff is outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

They have plenty of activities for all ages

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gram barbi
Business
Winona Mn.
May 29, 2011

Great Resort! Perfect for bus users.

We were impressed by how nice the entire staff treated us. The studio was spacious and cleaned daily. The choice of 3 pools was nice. we enjoyed having a quiet pool at del mar. The beach area was nice and I enjoyed the variety of vendors. We went all over and especially enjoyed eating in old town. We can hardly wait to go again in Nov.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Marina was very good for restaurant choices. Old town also. Didnt find the hotel food as good for the prices and choices. The store deli was great for breakfast and lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 23, 2011

Great location

We have been going to this hotel for 15 plus years. We like the location 1/2 way between downtown and the airport. Close to a big grocery store and the bus stops right out front, to head into town. We usually go in Jan/Feb to escape the winters of Chicago. We have been so many times that we do not do any sight seeing, we prefer to lay poolside playing travel scrabble all day long, I know sounds boring, but it really makes the time fly by and allows us to tan without really trying. The hotel has 2 distinct areas. The larger side offers fun, games, music, etc. while the other side is quiet and more laid back, however the quiet side does seem to be ignored most of the time for waiter service for drinks and lunch. All in all it is a great place to go. We have decided that this will be our last trip there due to the increased crime of the drug lords. We have decided it is time to find a new winter getaway. Nothing to do with the hotel, but I must mention that we were told that they will start tearing down the quiet side of the complex to rebuild more modern and spacious rooms. Glad to have had the heads up on this one, would hate to get to a vacation destination only to find out that there is construction noise and dust, ruining any R&R, which was the main focus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the grocery store and purchase breakfast items. Who needs to eat the $15-$20 breakfast buffet? Fruit, yogurt and some baked goods work out well, not to mention having coffee in the room, instead of having to roll out of bed, only to have to go and get coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Apr 21, 2011

relentless pressure to buy

upon arrival and after checking in at front desk, we were confronted with the hotel manager in charge of guest sevices. She stated that we needed to come to her desk and listen to the courtisies offered by the hotel( in reality a sales pitch to buy into a new wing). We told her we had been traveling all day and would not be interested. As we headed to our room she followed and would not leave us. She became very pushy and stated it was hotel policy and that if we did not comply she would lose her job. We like to treat people with respect and do not like to be rude,but we were not given any choice and ignored her. Once in our room the phone rang. I answered and to my surprise, it was she and still insisting we come to her desk! I hung up and unplugged the phone. We stayed five nights and out of those five, we had no hot water for three days(co-incedence?) Another couple we spoke with had the same experience and the wife said she cried. We will not return!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rockin
Business
Mpls., MN
Apr 14, 2011

Great except manditory timeshare talk

Clean rooms, great staff, good food but a little overpriced, great beach and pool. Hated the arm twisting to go see a timeshare presentation. Would not take no for an answer. Took me two tequilas to calm down after that. This was my fourth time there and I love everything except the timeshare baloney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cheeky Monkey has one dollar margaritas and beers and great onion rings all with a fantastic view of the ocean.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shoreline, WA
Mar 30, 2011

Nice bait and switch

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
judie
Business
fort st john
Mar 21, 2011

wonderful weekend

Check in was great...10min max!!! We were not asked EVEN once about a timeshare. The rooms were clean, in fact all areas of the hotel were clean. We were there mainly to realx by the pool and do a littel shopping. The busboys were helpful at telling us which buses to take and how much etc. They were always able to answer our questions. [...] was the tour operator for our transfers to/from hotel. We walked right thru the airport and they were waiting with a large sign with our name, 3 min later we were in a car on the way to the hotel. At the end of the trip, the car was ready exacatly when they said they would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fellow vacationners told us to got to Vista Grill one night for supper. It is about a $6 cab ride. The restaurant was amazing!! The views were breathtaking and the food DELICIOUS!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Mar 14, 2011

Worth Going Back--Again and Again

Our third trip to Villa Del Palmar--and we can't wait for our fourth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

El Palomar was wonderful--good food and one of the best views in Puerto Vallarta. The restaurant is a converted house--gorgeous--and the 84-year-old owner still visits with guests. She's enchanting!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top