$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
View map of Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just say NO
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 14, 2009

[...] blew it!

When we arrived we found out that the hotel was under re-CONSTRUCTION. [...] never notified us even though the hotel did notify those that booked directly. While Villa Del Palmar described it as renovation it was a construction job. So, the nice pool was closed and the beach pool as well as the beach had the wonderful sound of jackhammers and saws all day long. If we were in our room we got the joy of seeing the construction crew at work. Though they were willing to let us move the other room was street side and just seemed dirtier.Like many others have commented it's nice but aged which is what it seems they are trying to fix.However, the staff once you get past the initial attempt to try and get you to listen to the sales pitch for ownership was fantastic. They do have a wonderful crew working for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

From the airport walk over the bridge to the yellow Jalisco cabs and take them to the hotels and back. We're talking $12 bucks there and back vs. the [...] deal at $80.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 22, 2008

Good and Bad

For the price that we paid, the hotel was great. There were a couple things that seemed cheesy. One, you only got coffee the first night you were there. After that you had to purchase your own, which is difficult to do for 6 nights. Who wants to buy filters and coffee just to have one cup in the moring prior to going to breakfast. Also, you have to wash your own dishes and they will not provide dish soap. This means you have to purchase soap and hope the person prior to you did not just rinse them and put them away since it was such an inconvenience. Kind of disgusting if you think about germs and such. The towel voucher was a pain. If it was computerized, you would not have to remember a piece of paper everytime you left the room. My last complaint is that if you find an error with dining charges to your room, they make you go back to the restaurant to get it fixed. We did not receive our 20% gold card discount on one of our dinners and they refused to adjust it at the front desk. Like I said for the money we paid, this was a good deal. If I would have paid full price our had gotten the all inclusive package, I would have been disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Papa King
Business
Lincoln, Nebraska
Feb 8, 2010

Stand Your Ground

Location to far from central town. Had to bus or cab ride to good selection of fine resturants. It's more than a half hour walk. Bus ride about 20 min. Hotel overall was fine for the price. Friendly helpful staff. If you don't do the time share presentation you won't get 20% off discount at the hotel. Very accomidating on getting out of the room late our final day as our flight didn't leave untill 4:30pm. They allowed us to stay with no extra charge in our room untill 1pm which was very helpful. Checkout the night before your departure, 5 minutes and we were settled up we went down about 7pm to accomplish this. Bus rides anyware 6.5 pecos very reasonable compared to a cab at 5/10 dollars, alwawy get price from cab driver before going, they will negociate with you. We were told tourisum is down about 55% from the normal this time of year. We had two solid days of rain which we were told hasn't happened in 30 years for this time of the year. Massages 2 for $70.00 next door on the beach at Holiday Inn, very well worth it. Beach vendors not bad if you say no they will leave you alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to old town for a great time.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LODI WI
Feb 28, 2010

GREAT PRICE

I STAYED HERE BEFORE. THE ROOM WE HAD WAS A VERY SMALL STUDIO, ON TH 2ND FLOOR. IT OVERLOOKED THE ROOF OF A RESTRAUNT. LOSEY LOCATION.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling firemen
Business
Lodi Ca
Dec 19, 2009

First time in Mexico

Nice room Nothing extremly fancy. The maid service was great. The pool area was clean. Only complaint is too many Salesman on the beach. The staff was very friendly. The food and drink prices were expensive for Mexico but average for hotels. The beach party the first night was fun, BBQ mahi was under cooked thou. The beach water was a bit murky 2-4 ft visibility underwater. Very Very safe location. We walked the streets after dinner downtown. no problems with locals or police. I reconmend the Hotel and Location in Mexico. Warning to new travelers to mexico*** Beware of the time shares salesmen, they try to get you at the airport ***

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 3, 2009

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort

This hotel was just "ok". Even though we booked well in advance, we were put in the very back building....that overlooks the main road. It was VERY noisy. We had to actually close the door between the bathroom and the rest of the place to not hear the constant traffic on the road. Also, beware because they put an almost $400 hold on my credit card for incidentals, however, this was never discussed, and was well beyond the normal hold placed. Also, you cannot use cash at the bar, restaurants, etc. We were all paying separately, and they didn't want to separate our bills, which became a very big issue. The bell boys were the best part. Definitely worth asking for recommendations on restaurants. They never steered us the wrong way. The room was huge...but felt cold and not welcoming. There was a space under the front door that allowed iquanas to crawl into our room, which can be scary when you aren't expecting it. Location was great. Pretty close to downtown. I suppose that, for the money, it was a good value, but if you are looking for 4 star or above, this isn't a hotel for you. Make sure you tell them you don't want to participate in the Gratuity Plan when you get there, otherwise, they automatically charge it to your room, and it's definitely more than I would have tipped! Oh yea, and the food at the restaurant by the pool was very good. I was pleasantly surprised!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely go to El Barracuda! Fabulous, water-front location. If you don't know it's there, you would easily never see it. Very good prices, EXCELLENT food. Also, the ambiance at Si Senior was phenominal! And don't forget to go have the best fish and shrimp tacos you'll ever have at Joe Jack's Fish Shack!!!

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yolda
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Jan 4, 2010

Nice hotel

The hotel was nice, but if we were woken up every morning before 9 due to the noise outside. Our rooms were not cleaned for 2 days and on the other days the house keeping would come after 6pm. Be careful because a charge for tipping the house keepers is being applied to your room every day. You can ask the front desk to remove that for you if you don't feel they deserve it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Very tastety dining places, especially in the south side of downtown.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tacoma, WA
Aug 23, 2010

7 days at Villa Del Palmar

I thought the room was nice, but I thought that everything on the property was expensive. There was really only 1 resturant, but you could get food in the bar also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

many resturants on the boardwalk were good and a great view (and cheaper than the hotel). It seemed that when you asked someone to recommend a place to eat, they were getting something from it. Asking other travelers where they liked is the best.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 26, 2011

Villa Del Palmar

Villa Del Palmar has a nice location and easy and convenient access to local buses/Taxi to get down town Puerto Vallarta. Nice Pools and a top class Gym. Arriving late after a day of cancelled/changed flights though, they could not find my reservation, and after about 30 minutes of looking around, they located it, and then,..., thats when they tried to book me on presentations of their other facilities and to have me attend breakfast meetings at 8AM on my vacation... Second pet peeve was that none of their bars could make a Mojito..., didn't have the mint leaves. The response I would have preferred was we can get leaves, and tomorrow you can have a Mojito... A few mnonth ago I stayed with the neighbor hotel, Fiesta Americana, a little bit higher rates, but the experience was a newer and nicer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul Minnesota
Mar 2, 2010

Good & Bad

Please be aware that you will collared right when you get off the plane by people you assume work for the hotel shuttle but really are trying to sell you a time share. While the Villa Del Palmar Resort is very nice there are multiple buildings in the complex. We were put in the building on a busy, noisy street. The room was very big will a second interior door that muted the street noise. Unfortunately the balcony faced the grass roof of an outdoor party area and a bank of air conditioning units next to it. All in all a lot of noise. We did like the kitchenette in our room, we shopped at a Mexican supermarket half a block away and ate one or two meals a day at home. Make sure you don't get a room in building C! The rest of the complex is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Soriana grocery store is just down the block. Great bakery inside.

Back to menu Return to top