$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
214 reviews
Villa Del Palmar PVR

We have stayed at this hotel several times and love it here. The staff is great and the resort and... See full review

  • landm
  • Jan 3, 2014
Better than expected

After reading other reviews we were a bit skeptical since we thought we were booking the Villa Del... See full review

  • Bossleader
  • Jul 9, 2014
Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms with balconies and kitchenettes
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta defines the all-inclusive experience. Guests can fill their days with the numerous planned activities -- including Spanish lessons, water aerobics and volleyball -- or simply sit by the pool, where a water slide shaped like a whale is an endless source of entertainment. Rooms, meanwhile, feel like Mexican villas thanks to full refrigerators, kitchenettes and quaint pottery and furniture.
Highlights
  • 463 suites with kitchenettes and full refrigerators
  • Extensive activities, from nightly dinner and theme shows to craft-making
  • Off-site tours Spa and hair salon
  • Gorgeous views of Banderas Bay
Rooms
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta caters to extended-stay travelers who appreciate the convenience of kitchenettes, full-size refrigerators, cookware and the other necessities for preparing their own meals. All 463 suites brim with regional style -- right down to the folksy pottery. Bright fabrics and cozy furniture further the relaxed appeal. When the day is done, guests sit on furnished balconies to admire the pool and bay views. All rooms boast digital TV, a dining table, central air-conditioning, ceramic-tile floors and purified water.
Features
An all-day schedule of planned activities ensures that Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta guests can play from morning until night. On-site diversions run the gamut, from water aerobics, pottery classes and nightly dinner shows to tennis and a fitness center equipped with cardio and weight machines. Guests can also go off-site for ATV excursions and glass-bottom-boat cruises, among many other tour options.

Even with all those choices, many guests opt to sunbathe at the pool, which features a curious conversation piece: an enormous water slide shaped like a whale.
Dining
Whether the occasion calls for outdoor dining or a more upscale meal, Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta tempts with a global menu of dishes and ambiance-filled restaurants. Guests start at La Cucina, where the full breakfast buffet is not to be outdone by the gorgeous patio overlooking Banderas Bay. Jalisco, open seasonally, dishes up regional family-style Mexican cuisine in an Old World setting. Diners can also request to be seated in the outdoor palapa (an open-sided hut with a thatched roof). Los Equipales Sports Bar invites guests to enjoy tapas and sports by the pool.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Old Town (3.4 mi/5.5 km) Downtown Vallarta (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (3 mi/4.8 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Signature One Bedroom Suite
This beautiful renewed One Bedroom Suite features the same amenities as the One Bedroom plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathrooms amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottle water when booking just room, and with bear and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone, fine cuts and shripms on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room.
Two Bedroom Villa Suite
(900 Sq Ft.) Enjoy one King , and a choice of one Queen or Double bed in second bedroom and sofa bed in the living room. Have up to 2 bathrooms with travertine marble decor as well as upscale amenities. In the room a dining table and six chairs. Its exterior balcony is furnished with patio furniture for up to 6 people.
Deluxe Room
(500 Sq F) Enjoy one king-sized bed or two double beds at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture for 2 people. Outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning, a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
One Bedroom Villa Suite
(650 Sq Ft) Enjoy one king and one sofa bed at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture up to 4 people. This room is outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning , a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Signature Deluxe Studio
This beautiful renewed Signature Deluxe Studio features the same amenities as the Deluxe Studio plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottled water when booking just room, and with beer and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone calls, fine cuts and shrimps on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room. Amenities Deluxe Studio: -Complete kitchen -Coffee maker -Refrigerator -Tableware -Blender -Microwave Oven -Toaster -Pots + Pans -Ceramic Stove top -Welcome Pack (Coffee, salt, pepper + dish soap) -Individually-controlled central air conditioning -Ceiling fans -73-channel cable television -Direct dial telephone with voice mail -Hair dryer -In-room safe -Iron with ironing board -Clock Radio -Daily Housekeeping Service

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Trattoria
Sitting right on the oceanfront and providing a romantic candlelight dinner atmosphere, this open-air restaurant serves traditional and contemporary Italian specialties, prepared with Mediterranean flavors and a lot of "lamore per la cucina Italiana," offering also an excellent wine selection.
The Market
Introducing the fresh market concept of fish and seafood at Villa de Palmar Flamingos. Choose your catch of the day or select your whole lobster. Add some shrimps, a few mussels, and maybe a slice of fresh tuna. Just pick directly with our Chef from our display and enjoy - you decide how you want us to prepare your selection of fish and seafood at our oceanfront terrace market.
El Patron
Impressively located on the oceanfront overlooking the Banderas Bay, restaurant El Patrn offers contemporary presentations of traditional Mexican cuisine. A truly sensorial experience, here you appreciate the flavors, sounds, sights, and smells. Breakfast served as buffet and a la carte. Lunch and dinner are offered a la carte.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JWind
Business
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Nov 14, 2011

We won't be back

This was our fifth visit to Villa Del Palmar in Puerto Vallarta -- we were very much looking forward to our trip -- it was for a wedding and we were there with 26 others from Oct 29 to Nov 5, 2011 and it was so disappointing. I am not sure what has happened to the hotel that we knew and loved but the whole visit left us with a bad taste. From check in there were issues -- luckily our room was fine but when you are arriving with a large party you expect some continuity. Of the 28 of us that travelled down -- only 2 rooms were okay. Some had booked rooms and were given accomodations that were seriously in need of review and the common excuse was that they were full -- which was laughable as this is a slow point in their season and the hotel was only at 50% capacity. Several of our guests had booked 1 bedroom suites that are depicted as an apartment style -- certainly not what you get in reality -- apparently those photos are time share units. Those using the all inclusive bracelets certainly weren't happy with all of the hoops they had to go through -- in fact -- when one of our group who was all inclusive went to dinner with a member of our party who wasn't all inclusive -- they were charged for their meals -- after arguing with the front desk it was taken off but the hassles that were given were ridiculous. The front desk was rude -- quite often argumentative and speaking Spanish deliberately when they felt people wouldn't understand. When faced with a problem -- they were unwilling to help and gave the impression that they didn't care. The service at the restaurants was spotty at best -- one evening it took us over an hour and half to get our meals even asking twice what the delay was and being told they were ready. At one point I was told that it was my meal -- stuffed chicken holding up everyone's meals -- when my meal arrived it had obviously sat under a lamp for a while and was dried out. My husband's dinner was cold ...and we weren't impressed. The waiter realizing how ticked off we were did offer free desserts but it was too little too late --all we wanted was hot food and good service. Service at pool side is definitely not what it used to be -- the food is okay at best and the service really doesn't shine like it used to. They seem to spend more time hounding you to sign your bill than anything else. We were fortunate that our housekeeping experiences was a good one -- too many of our party had atrocious issues. No towels, no cleaning, bathrooms were filthy upon check in, mildew on the comforters .... Check out was difficult -- we were given hassle about not asking for coupons for a credit that this website had been running -- when it was clear on the website that it was to be taken off at time of check out. (In one instance one of my daughter's was their credit at time of check in but isn't wasn't explained clearly and was contrary to what was on the website and she had to fight to get them to honor it -- she did try and use it at the pool but was told that they would not take it -- if it's a hotel credit why wouldn't the take the coupon? It was if the resort wanted to make it difficult to use and have people figure it wasn't worth the hassle ....). We did take our concerns to hotel management both in person and by email but unfortunately it seems that once we paid the money they weren't interested in us ...which is a shame because we used to rave about this resort. We will NOT be going back and will NOT be recommending the Villa Del Palmar to any of our friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Trites
Business
San Pedro, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Dream vacation

Fabulous!!!!!!!! Pools Beach Food Staff Total recommendation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Casual Traveler Marc
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Fun for the Price

For a week vacation we booked the Villa Del Palmer because it is close to downtown, is relatively cheap, and got pretty good reviews. Upon arrival we were hounded by time share sales people after getting through customs. Many asked our hotel and posed as employees or workers in association with our hotel. Finally we got to someone associated with the hotel and he tried to persuade us to attend a "breakfast" time share presentation. We said no and we finally provided direction to our shuttle. During this whole time our baggage handler played dumb and did not tell us who was the real Villa Del Palmer employee or just a sales person. After taking a ride in our shuttle we checked in and took a ride to our room on the one working elevator. We had a pretty good room with two full beds and a small kitchenette with a stove and small fridge. Our bathroom was beautiful and clean. We had a balcony that overlooked the main pool and restaurants. It was a pretty good view. The down side of our room was not having a big enough kitchen. There were drawers and cabinets with silverware, plates, glasses, pots and pans but no room for extra food or snacks. On the counter we had a blender and coffee machine we never used. They just took up space. Our first night we ate at the hotel restaurant and had some alright food but nothing great. We ate the at restaurant a few more times and did not get much better food. This being said the American style breakfasts are not too bad. The prices for the food and drinks are not great, there were no happy hour deals and we did not get the all inclusive package. Upon walking around the pool was pretty clean and tranquil. The hot tube was comfortable and not overheated. The beach by the hotel is great. Like any beach front hotel sales men and women try to show various clothing, jewelry, and excursions. A simple no gracias or no thanks works fine. A majority of the time we headed into town we took a cab from the lobby. The bellman was very prompt and friendly. The cab rides are pretty cheap to town (centro or malecon). A few times we walked to the street and took the bus for a much cheaper but slightly longer ride. A cab is good for shopping, short trips, and dancing/late nights. Buses are good for longer trips. We booked one excursion through the hotel Rhythms of the Night. This is one of the best adult excursions I have been on. It is mainly for couples and well worth the money. A boat ride with drink, food, a show, and a buffet. Other than our activities we always returned to a air conditioned and clean room. I left my wallet on the table by accident and everything was left in it after the maids came through. The room did have a safe but we did not use it. Overall we had a great time and good room. I would probably recommend getting a all inclusive package unless the room has a decent size kitchen and fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
san antonio texas
Jul 26, 2011

THE GOOD,THE BAD,and the really ugly"

I WOULD HAVE HAD A MUCH BEETER VACATION IF SO MANY pepole FROM THE HOTEL,WOULD have STOP TRYING TO SELL ME AND MY wife TIME SHARES.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 26, 2011

Villa Del Palmar

Villa Del Palmar has a nice location and easy and convenient access to local buses/Taxi to get down town Puerto Vallarta. Nice Pools and a top class Gym. Arriving late after a day of cancelled/changed flights though, they could not find my reservation, and after about 30 minutes of looking around, they located it, and then,..., thats when they tried to book me on presentations of their other facilities and to have me attend breakfast meetings at 8AM on my vacation... Second pet peeve was that none of their bars could make a Mojito..., didn't have the mint leaves. The response I would have preferred was we can get leaves, and tomorrow you can have a Mojito... A few mnonth ago I stayed with the neighbor hotel, Fiesta Americana, a little bit higher rates, but the experience was a newer and nicer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Leandro, CA
Jul 18, 2011

Can't wait to go back!

The Villa Del Palmar in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico was definatly a great place to go. I would reccomend friends to stay here. The room was perfect for a couple and the grounds were nice. The pool was definatly the place to be during the day there. They had activities at the pool such as games, dancing, and best of all tequilla volleyball. Definatly a family atmosphere there though, lots of kids enjoying the pool and its waterslide along with waterfall. If your looking for something more intimate I wouldn't recommend this place just because it seems to be a more family orientated and retired person get away. But it was still nice! The beach was just steps away with vendors and watersports. And the drinks were good. It also had the all inclusive option which we did not take, it worked out well with us, but seeing the price [...]had for it and the hotels (which was doubled) definatly book that sort of thing online!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim, Ca
Jun 30, 2011

Great Vacation!

After having a less than desirable flying experience, we arrived at our hotel 6 hours later than expected. Tired and grumpy, we were greeted immediately with friendly staff who took care of our check-in quickly and set us up in our room.For the entire week, we had a really fantastic time! The cleaning services were pretty fast and very thorough and the front desk/lobby staff were very friendly and helpful. When we encountered issues getting internet in our room, a staff member came up to our room to personally resolve the issue. Getting taxis were very easy and the staff was also a great source for food recommendations (for good fairly authentic mexican food that is within walking distance of the hotel and the nearby mall, try Adelita's, for a super great meal, check out Cafe la Olla in town, that you can take by taxi or by a very cheap--but long--bus ride).The hotel food was expensive and did not seem all that great, so we opted to eat from the local deli and different restaurants in town.In terms of the services they had available, we took advantage of a special they had on couples massages which was fantastic! The pools and spa are very nice and weren't too crowded.As with other reviewers, my only caveat is to be mindful of people selling timeshares, wares, or trips. I happen to speak Spanish (which helps) but honestly, the best way to gently handle these situations is to just persistently say "no thank you" and "not interested." Though I understand that these requests aggravate many people, if you are smart about what you say (don't tell them where you are from!) and are polite, they will leave you alone. Remember that these are people who need to make a living, too. Just try to be respectful!Overall, we had a fantastic time and couldn't have asked for a better hotel! Perfect for a young couple on a budget who aren't looking for a party town, but still like the little luxuries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Jun 27, 2011

Great for Family

The hotel is old but taken care of the pool areas are great. Our check in was smooth, of course ther are the time share sharks but I made it very clear that we were not Intrested.... The food was good better than most all inclusive, we liked the fact that you can order from a menu and not a buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If traveling with kids and young audlts it is actualy worth going all inclusive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arizona
Jun 19, 2011

Livin the Good Life

The location is outstanding close to everything for traval comfort, ideal for activities both inside and outside the resort. The resort has everything and the staff is outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

They have plenty of activities for all ages

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gram barbi
Business
Winona Mn.
May 29, 2011

Great Resort! Perfect for bus users.

We were impressed by how nice the entire staff treated us. The studio was spacious and cleaned daily. The choice of 3 pools was nice. we enjoyed having a quiet pool at del mar. The beach area was nice and I enjoyed the variety of vendors. We went all over and especially enjoyed eating in old town. We can hardly wait to go again in Nov.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Marina was very good for restaurant choices. Old town also. Didnt find the hotel food as good for the prices and choices. The store deli was great for breakfast and lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top