$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
214 reviews
Villa Del Palmar PVR

We have stayed at this hotel several times and love it here. The staff is great and the resort and... See full review

  • landm
  • Jan 3, 2014
Better than expected

After reading other reviews we were a bit skeptical since we thought we were booking the Villa Del... See full review

  • Bossleader
  • Jul 9, 2014
Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms with balconies and kitchenettes
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta defines the all-inclusive experience. Guests can fill their days with the numerous planned activities -- including Spanish lessons, water aerobics and volleyball -- or simply sit by the pool, where a water slide shaped like a whale is an endless source of entertainment. Rooms, meanwhile, feel like Mexican villas thanks to full refrigerators, kitchenettes and quaint pottery and furniture.
Highlights
  • 463 suites with kitchenettes and full refrigerators
  • Extensive activities, from nightly dinner and theme shows to craft-making
  • Off-site tours Spa and hair salon
  • Gorgeous views of Banderas Bay
Rooms
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta caters to extended-stay travelers who appreciate the convenience of kitchenettes, full-size refrigerators, cookware and the other necessities for preparing their own meals. All 463 suites brim with regional style -- right down to the folksy pottery. Bright fabrics and cozy furniture further the relaxed appeal. When the day is done, guests sit on furnished balconies to admire the pool and bay views. All rooms boast digital TV, a dining table, central air-conditioning, ceramic-tile floors and purified water.
Features
An all-day schedule of planned activities ensures that Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta guests can play from morning until night. On-site diversions run the gamut, from water aerobics, pottery classes and nightly dinner shows to tennis and a fitness center equipped with cardio and weight machines. Guests can also go off-site for ATV excursions and glass-bottom-boat cruises, among many other tour options.

Even with all those choices, many guests opt to sunbathe at the pool, which features a curious conversation piece: an enormous water slide shaped like a whale.
Dining
Whether the occasion calls for outdoor dining or a more upscale meal, Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta tempts with a global menu of dishes and ambiance-filled restaurants. Guests start at La Cucina, where the full breakfast buffet is not to be outdone by the gorgeous patio overlooking Banderas Bay. Jalisco, open seasonally, dishes up regional family-style Mexican cuisine in an Old World setting. Diners can also request to be seated in the outdoor palapa (an open-sided hut with a thatched roof). Los Equipales Sports Bar invites guests to enjoy tapas and sports by the pool.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Old Town (3.4 mi/5.5 km) Downtown Vallarta (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (3 mi/4.8 km)

Hotel Map

20.642 -105.2375
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz (PVR) Airport
Area description
The property is located five miles West of Downtown Puerto Vallarta, close to golf courses, marina and shopping.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Signature One Bedroom Suite
This beautiful renewed One Bedroom Suite features the same amenities as the One Bedroom plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathrooms amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottle water when booking just room, and with bear and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone, fine cuts and shripms on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room.
Two Bedroom Villa Suite
(900 Sq Ft.) Enjoy one King , and a choice of one Queen or Double bed in second bedroom and sofa bed in the living room. Have up to 2 bathrooms with travertine marble decor as well as upscale amenities. In the room a dining table and six chairs. Its exterior balcony is furnished with patio furniture for up to 6 people.
Deluxe Room
(500 Sq F) Enjoy one king-sized bed or two double beds at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture for 2 people. Outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning, a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
One Bedroom Villa Suite
(650 Sq Ft) Enjoy one king and one sofa bed at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture up to 4 people. This room is outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning , a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Signature Deluxe Studio
This beautiful renewed Signature Deluxe Studio features the same amenities as the Deluxe Studio plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottled water when booking just room, and with beer and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone calls, fine cuts and shrimps on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room. Amenities Deluxe Studio: -Complete kitchen -Coffee maker -Refrigerator -Tableware -Blender -Microwave Oven -Toaster -Pots + Pans -Ceramic Stove top -Welcome Pack (Coffee, salt, pepper + dish soap) -Individually-controlled central air conditioning -Ceiling fans -73-channel cable television -Direct dial telephone with voice mail -Hair dryer -In-room safe -Iron with ironing board -Clock Radio -Daily Housekeeping Service

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Trattoria
Sitting right on the oceanfront and providing a romantic candlelight dinner atmosphere, this open-air restaurant serves traditional and contemporary Italian specialties, prepared with Mediterranean flavors and a lot of "lamore per la cucina Italiana," offering also an excellent wine selection.
The Market
Introducing the fresh market concept of fish and seafood at Villa de Palmar Flamingos. Choose your catch of the day or select your whole lobster. Add some shrimps, a few mussels, and maybe a slice of fresh tuna. Just pick directly with our Chef from our display and enjoy - you decide how you want us to prepare your selection of fish and seafood at our oceanfront terrace market.
El Patron
Impressively located on the oceanfront overlooking the Banderas Bay, restaurant El Patrn offers contemporary presentations of traditional Mexican cuisine. A truly sensorial experience, here you appreciate the flavors, sounds, sights, and smells. Breakfast served as buffet and a la carte. Lunch and dinner are offered a la carte.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fayla
Business
Chichester, NH
Mar 3, 2012

Three day stay

We did our time share for the first week and then spent 3 days here. Everything was great and even got to see the whales from beach in front of the hotel. Thought their all-Inclusive was a bit high and you had to sign every time but there are great places to eat in town and the public bus was under $2 for the two of us. Actually wish we had spent the 10 day here,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whatshisname
Business
Alaska
Jan 23, 2012

Excellent for mature persons

This was our second stay. Our first stay was in a studio unit which was a little snug especially the shower. Our last stay was in a handicap room which was excellent for us. However a person in a wheel chair could not roll into the shower. Location is excellent and taxi fare is usually less than $5.00 to every thing you need. including down town Puerto Vallarta, an excellent shopping center, equal to or better than most state side centers, gambling, excellent restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Liverpool Department Store, Walmart

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Diwill
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jan 12, 2012

Fantastic Senior Citizen getaway

Hotel is a half and half between families and senior citizens. Quit please after 11:00pm Food , amenities and activities very nice. Need more Room Clealiness. Smell a food due kitchen in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TD300C
Business
Illinois, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Pretty Nice Place

It's pretty hard not to have a good time at an all-inclusive resort in Puerto Vallarta. I went with a large group of friends to Villa Del Palmar and we had a lot of fun. However, I've been to other resorts in Puerto Vallarta and Villa Del Palmar was probably my least favorite. Other all-inclusive resorts seem to have much more to offer. More restaurants, bars, activities, entertainment, etc. My friends and I are in our mid-to-late 20's, so we like to drink and have a good time. We were very disappointed when we found out that Villa Del Palmar's bars only stay open until 10:45 PM! It definitely seems like an older crowd at Villa Del Palmar, so maybe that's why the bars close so early. My family has a timeshare at Marival in Nuevo Vallarta and it has 5-6 restaurants, a nightclub, and it's bars stay open until 1-2 AM. Villa Del Palmar's two restaurants/bars that close early was a let-down. I also was not a big fan of the beaches in this area of Puerto Vallarta. My girlfriend and I wanted to take a walk on the beach and our feet were hurting within minutes because of the rough sand. It's almost like small rocks/pebbles the further away from the water you are. I also like bigger waves for boogie-boarding and surfing, which this area did not really have. Lastly, the beach vendors are NON-STOP in this area of Puerto Vallarta. Soooo many vendors coming up to you all day long trying to sell their stuff. I expect this every time I go to Mexico, but this was ridiculous. Overall, the beaches in Nuevo Vallarta are much nicer. Some things that I did like about Villa Del Palmar were the staff and the proximity to downtown Puerto Vallarta. The staff members were extremely nice and helpful to our entire group. They brought us drinks and food down to the beach all day long. They definitely worked their butts off. The location of this resort is awesome, too. You're just a short cab ride away from everything. Overall, Villa Del Palmar was a pretty nice place, but I probably won't go back. For the same amount of money (or maybe a little more) you can go to much better resorts with much more to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

You can go pretty much anywhere for an $8.00 cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tommieet
Business
Royal Oak, Michigan
Dec 19, 2011

Graeat Vacation

The staff at the hotel were exceptional in all regards.The hotel was quite clean and well kept up. We'd stay there again in a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dorite
Business
MI
Dec 17, 2011

friends

they never stopped cleaning. staff was helpful. room were nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deknees
Business
Victoria, BC, Canada
Dec 2, 2011

Very good overall get away

we really enjoyed our time at this hotel. Breakfast was included in our hotel price. This was fantastic and although we are not great fans of anything all inclusive,the daily breakfast ended being something we enjoyed immensely. Sitting outside every morning in the cooler air and eating was very relaxing and a great start to our day! So thank you for this bonus!!!! Room comfort rated lower due to significant air conditioned fan noise from nearby hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice pizza at nearby De Santos restaurant in Peninsula Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lynn123
Business
Vancouver, WA, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Nightmare Resort, best to go elsewhere.

Our stay was from November 09th through November 24th. Please listen to the reviews left by myself and others as they are the REAL thing and not an exaggeration. We choose the VDP for our wedding party and we ended up also staying at the resort instead of going to another resort because of the proximity of our guests and the downtown area. It was our first time to PV and we were married at Lekliff (beautiful!!). VDP pretty much ruined our trip, honeymoon and embarrassed us dearly!! I wish we would’ve taken the time and effort to move resorts earlier in on our trip. How did they do this well…… first off the rooms are old and not clean at all. My Mom took pictures of the bed in her 2 bedroom suite and it had sand, dirt and hair in the sheets. When she called the front desk they said sorry no speak English. She went down to the front and showed the picture on her phone and they played dumb and said “no English”, she ended up sleeping on top of her coat she laid down the first night. The room we were promised did not happen, they stuck us in a room facing the tennis court.. When I told them I had called and spoke to ____ prior to our arrival and was promised a garden view room with a view of the ocean for our honeymoon they again played dumb and said sorry no understand you. The bed sheets and bedspread had stains and smelt of mold. Do not even waste your time with the VIP card because it’s no good and they will just find another way to charge you for any savings you may ended up getting. The resort is close to downtown but watch out if they place you in a room upfront you will have the noise of the roads and the front check in area. When we went to check out we paid in full and left our ID in order to use the towels for the pool area until we had to leave for the airport. What a mistake that was! When we went to pick up the ID’s the lady at the front desk said that they made a mistake and we owed them $650.00 pesos more and when asked why she said I can’t explain to you in english, so I said show me on paper, she could not do this either. I asked to speak to a Supervisor and told her that we need to leave for the airport. The Supervisor couldn’t not tell us why either but all she said was we need to pay. I had never wanted out of a place so bad before in my life! I told my husband to pay and let’s get out of here before they make us miss our flight or charge us more. I have no idea what the charge was for but trust me when I say it’s not worth me contacting them now over it. They are rude, liars and are only out for your money. Harsh words I know but it’s the truth. The best part of the hotel is the deli in the store, the two young men in there that cook the food were wonderful and the food they cooked was very delicious, much better then the restaurants located in the actual hotel. The price was very inexpensive. These two young men were the only ones at the hotel that seemed genuine, polite and was not trying to take you for all you had. Going in to this trip we knew that some things were going to go wrong because of all the people we had traveling to PV and the fact that we were getting married away from home. We told ourselves that we would go with the flow but had no idea that it would be the resort we were staying at that would be such a problem for us. I felt used, angry and completely helpless. They will act as if they can’t speak English if you ask for their help but watch out if they want something from you they will speak it just fine. I will not recommend this resort to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BeckySquared
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Nov 23, 2011

Wil not be back

This is my 5th stay at the Villa and boy has it gone downhill! Front desk staff are rude, not helpful, lose reservations and do not honour packages that have been purchased online. When trying to voice concerns or have problems fixed, we were ignored and lied too - being told the Manager was in meetings or busy when he in fact, he wasn't even on the hotel property. Time share people and their "gold card" hawkers are plain annoying and do not stop. Room cleanlinessneeds to be addressed - who wants to see mold on their sheets? GROSS!Would not recommened anybody stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop at the large grocery store across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
October100
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Nov 16, 2011

Go Anywhere Else

When you look for a resort, you're looking for a nice refuge from your everyday, hectic life. You want good food, drinks, kind staff, beautiful premises, and above all else you want to trust the business. So please go anywhere but here. The staff are inattentive at best, but for the most part they are all too eager to prey on your money. They will do anything to scam a dollar from you and this is obviously from the top-down. Wi-fi at $12/day. Hidden fees. Overcharging. Double-charging. You name it! Some guests we travelled with couldn't even get Villa Del Palmar to honour their All-Inclusive status. They were forced to eat Ichiban and go WAY over budget because VdP was unwilling to fulfill their service agreement and completely unwilling to work with the guests in any customer service capacity. I, myself, was faced with a situation where staff was discussing how to scam me for more money right while I was listening (they thought I didn't speak Spanish). Also, my sheets had mildew on them; you had to do your own dishes; and the water filters in the room had never been changed. God forbid you lose your beach towel! ($25 for a sweat-stained rag if you do) The beach is overrun by people pushing their wares and while that’s not unique to VdP, there was almost nowhere near the ocean that could be described as peaceful. It’s best to avoid the area entirely unless you want to play beach volleyball and whack it at them. Now the good: The drinks were priced ok for those without all-inclusive. Sadly, that was many people including several who had paid for it (there was also a lot that was NOT covered by all-inclusive). The food was fine even at times excellent and no one had any digestive issues. The main pool area was clean and pleasant with activities throughout the day. At night there were a few activities you could pay for but expect to have another hand too deep into your pocket for those experiences. My vacation was good because of the people we met and the friends we made. But there's always an asterisk i have to add anytime I'm talking about my trip. I always have to explain how terrible this resort was and how it cast such a dark shadow over my time in Mexico. I wish this wasn't so because I needed a vacation and what I got was stress near a pool. Last thoughts: We were given notice on our last day that we had to be out of the place by 11:00 sharp and if we were still in line for checkout we would be charged another day’s stay. Knowing that this place was a con-artist’s dream we decided to play it safe and line-up at 8:00. We found that they strategically cut front staff to 1 just for the checkout time and the line-up was epic. They must have found that was another nice way to weasel money from guests… We checked-out on time and were nearly pushed to the doormen who ordered us a cab at twice the rate it would normally have been and pocketed the kick-back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Pipi's downtown. It's the most amazing food experience I've had in years and they really care about their customers. It's the kind of hospitality and value you love to see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top