$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
View map of Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Great time here
Business
Minnesota
Mar 29, 2013

Great trip - 4th time!

The hotel is slightly older than some but in a great location and very well kept. It is walking distance to a local grocery store/shopping mall and 1/2 way between the airport and downtown. The grounds are very well maintained and clean. The staff is extremely nice and willing to help. They have a nice mix of older and younger people with plenty of activities for all ages. I would avoid the promotional tours (it takes longer than they say) and my only complaint is that check in is slower than it should be. Otherwise, if you like beach, sun, fun activities and good value - this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Soriano grocery store about a block away. It is a 'locals' grocery store so their grocery prices are very good and, for those who prefer not doing all inclusive, you can purchase a weeks worth of breakfast and lunch for under $60. They sell booze there too and the units at Villa del Palmar all have a kitchen of some sort so you can enjoy meals in your room or on your balcony and cut your costs on drinks.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Great time here
Business
Minnesota
Mar 29, 2013

Love this place!

The hotel is slightly older than some but in a great location and very well kept. It is walking distance to a local grocery store/shopping mall and 1/2 way between the airport and downtown. The grounds are very well maintained and clean. The staff is extremely nice and willing to help. They have a nice mix of older and younger people with plenty of activities for all ages. I would avoid the promotional tours (it takes longer than they say) and my only complaint is that check in is slower than it should be. Otherwise, if you like beach, sun, fun activities and good value - this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Soriano grocery store about a block away. It is a 'locals' grocery store so their grocery prices are very good and, for those who prefer not doing all inclusive, you can purchase a weeks worth of breakfast and lunch for under $60. They sell booze there too and the units at Villa del Palmar all have a kitchen of some sort so you can enjoy meals in your room or on your balcony and cut your costs on drinks.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LREE
Business
Guadalajara, Jalisco, México
Mar 4, 2013

Atmosphere

We had a good time. The location is great, staff is nice and long term custumers are fun and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IrinaD
Business
Portland, Oregon
Feb 15, 2013

One of the worst experience I've had

So let me start by saying that the only reason this hotel gets 2 stars and not 1 is because prior to arriving there I emailed one of the gentlemen from the hotel group, asking if we could have a room away from the traffic (we've read reviews and that was mentioned there as a huge negative). So they put us up in a pretty good location, facing the ocean, away from the busy road. So that was much appreciated. Upon our arrival everything seemed great, the gal that greeted us was sweet and nice, talked us into doing a timeshare tour (which Ive never done before, so what the heck). Our hotel room was OK at best, it had a balcony, which was nice, the feeling in the hotel room was damp and smelled of mildew a bit, but we were happy non the less, just to be facing the ocean. The good thing about the room, it did have a kitchenette, and plates with utensils. So the nice stops there. After our horrific timeshare tour (which was at the Flamingo hotel on the other side of the town). And the reason it was horrific is because, right after I said "no Im not interested" the attitude completely changed, everyone became extremely rude, and pretty much pushed us out of the area! I mean, if I was even slightly considering this time share business, the treatment we received completely changed that. After getting back to our hotel, things just got worse, the staff was extremely unhelpful, they literally rolled their eyes anytime we had a question. The Concierge service was terrible, booking any trips with them is a joke, they have absolutely zero idea about what the tours include. BTW-you can not use cash at any of their restaurants, just a warning. They advertize as a "kid-friendly" place, they only kid friendly part is that they "allow" the kids there, there are zero amenities for the children. Not even a reasonably shallow area for the kids to play in at the pool. There is a slide for the older kids (like 7 and up). If you have a toddler-you are out of luck. Staff acts like they are doing you a favor by talking to you. I cant tell you how many times we had to go to the front desk for minor little things, and spent at least a half hour there EACH time. from our room keys not working after a few days, to us not being able to charge our beverages to the hotel room (after we already have done it a few times), to us trying to get our deposit back for the timeshare tour (we got send to 3 different places to get it back, with attitude at every stop) We found out that they are going to completely rebuild this hotel, its the oldest property that the company owns, so that should give you an idea of the shape that place is in. No it doesnt have that "old character" just the old smell, and terrible staff. I've never been treated like that, they do not care for return business. Do yourself and favor and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

you do NOT have to pay the tip at the end of your stay-you can tell them you want that taken off

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iziz
Business
Utah
Dec 27, 2012

nice place for a family vacation

The hotel is not brand new (it was build in mid-1980's, I think), but rooms are very clean and staff is friendly. We were not bothered much by the time share people. For under $200/night we got a 2-bedroom condo, which is a good deal. The hotel is close to a shopping center with a Walmart-type store, which was a major plus. The hotel is also close to the downtown. They have a very nice pool, or you can go to the beach. The water is not sparkling clear, but still nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
landm
Business
Michigan
Dec 13, 2012

VDP - PV

Great trip. Staff is great. Room is comfortable. Happy hours are fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Soriano's is a quick walk away and has just about anything that you could want. Pick up a Soriano's card at checkout and accumulate points and then leave it for your maid.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Schmens
Business
Colorado
Dec 9, 2012

Once a Year Getaway to Mexico

The hotel was excellent. The beds were comfortable and everything we needed was done very quickly. Grounds were kept immaculate. We would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

You can take the bus to Marina Vallarta & go to Mariscos El Colequita. The food is great & inexpensive. Great coconut shrimp & sea bass. Also, great chili rellenos at Nacho Daddy's in Romantic Zone.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniml72
Business
Villa Del Palmar, Puerto Vallarta
Dec 4, 2012

GREAT TIME

We did the all inclusive and other then a few restrictions it worked out great. The rooms and hallways where clean, the staff was very friendly always saying hello, and many activities during the day. The waiter Edwin was AWESOME. He is a prime example of someone who earns a good tip. My family and I will definately be going back. My only complaint is the people at the money exchange inside the hotel where unfriendly and not helpful. Luckily I only dealt with them a few times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PVR traveler
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 20, 2012

Average Hotel

We stayed here because of a living social deal. The deal was fantastic. The hotel and staff are about average. They really push you hard to go on a time share and we spent about the first 45 min. saying "no" over and over again. The food is mediocore. The pool staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old Gardener
Business
Oregon
Oct 27, 2012

Nice Place

We had a good time. The pools were great, the beach very nice. Maid service was late every day. Did not make up the room until late afternoon. Did not replenish coffee for the coffee maker. Warm water for the shower was a long time in coming but did arrive. Restaurants were good. So - only minor complaints. Wi-fi service expensive, but could walk to Starbucks. Avoid time share presentation. It takes too long (several hours, not 90 minutes as told), unless you are in the market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery Store, forgot name. Just ask. Has everything. Bring rolling carry-on.

Back to menu Return to top