$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 22, 2015 Check-out: Mar 23, 2015

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
219 reviews
Older resort-still a gem

Stayed at Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & spa January 12th-29th, 2015. This was a vacation getaway... See full review

  • Mnretiree
  • Feb 3, 2015
Great trip back to VDP

VDP is a great place to stay. Perfect location and hotel is maintained very well. Great... See full review

  • landm
  • Dec 29, 2014
Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms with balconies and kitchenettes
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta defines the all-inclusive experience. Guests can fill their days with the numerous planned activities -- including Spanish lessons, water aerobics and volleyball -- or simply sit by the pool, where a water slide shaped like a whale is an endless source of entertainment. Rooms, meanwhile, feel like Mexican villas thanks to full refrigerators, kitchenettes and quaint pottery and furniture.
Highlights
  • 463 suites with kitchenettes and full refrigerators
  • Extensive activities, from nightly dinner and theme shows to craft-making
  • Off-site tours Spa and hair salon
  • Gorgeous views of Banderas Bay
Rooms
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta caters to extended-stay travelers who appreciate the convenience of kitchenettes, full-size refrigerators, cookware and the other necessities for preparing their own meals. All 463 suites brim with regional style -- right down to the folksy pottery. Bright fabrics and cozy furniture further the relaxed appeal. When the day is done, guests sit on furnished balconies to admire the pool and bay views. All rooms boast digital TV, a dining table, central air-conditioning, ceramic-tile floors and purified water.
Features
An all-day schedule of planned activities ensures that Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta guests can play from morning until night. On-site diversions run the gamut, from water aerobics, pottery classes and nightly dinner shows to tennis and a fitness center equipped with cardio and weight machines. Guests can also go off-site for ATV excursions and glass-bottom-boat cruises, among many other tour options.

Even with all those choices, many guests opt to sunbathe at the pool, which features a curious conversation piece: an enormous water slide shaped like a whale.
Dining
Whether the occasion calls for outdoor dining or a more upscale meal, Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta tempts with a global menu of dishes and ambiance-filled restaurants. Guests start at La Cucina, where the full breakfast buffet is not to be outdone by the gorgeous patio overlooking Banderas Bay. Jalisco, open seasonally, dishes up regional family-style Mexican cuisine in an Old World setting. Diners can also request to be seated in the outdoor palapa (an open-sided hut with a thatched roof). Los Equipales Sports Bar invites guests to enjoy tapas and sports by the pool.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Old Town (3.4 mi/5.5 km) Downtown Vallarta (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (3 mi/4.8 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Two Bedroom Villa Suite
(900 Sq Ft.) Enjoy one King , and a choice of one Queen or Double bed in second bedroom and sofa bed in the living room. Have up to 2 bathrooms with travertine marble decor as well as upscale amenities. In the room a dining table and six chairs. Its exterior balcony is furnished with patio furniture for up to 6 people.
Deluxe Room
(500 Sq F) Enjoy one king-sized bed or two double beds at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture for 2 people. Outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning, a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
One Bedroom Villa Suite
(650 Sq Ft) Enjoy one king and one sofa bed at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture up to 4 people. This room is outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning , a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Patron
Impressively located on the oceanfront overlooking the Banderas Bay, restaurant El Patrn offers contemporary presentations of traditional Mexican cuisine. A truly sensorial experience, here you appreciate the flavors, sounds, sights, and smells. Breakfast served as buffet and a la carte. Lunch and dinner are offered a la carte.
La Trattoria
Sitting right on the oceanfront and providing a romantic candlelight dinner atmosphere, this open-air restaurant serves traditional and contemporary Italian specialties, prepared with Mediterranean flavors and a lot of "lamore per la cucina Italiana," offering also an excellent wine selection.
The Market
Introducing the fresh market concept of fish and seafood at Villa de Palmar Flamingos. Choose your catch of the day or select your whole lobster. Add some shrimps, a few mussels, and maybe a slice of fresh tuna. Just pick directly with our Chef from our display and enjoy - you decide how you want us to prepare your selection of fish and seafood at our oceanfront terrace market.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 29, 2008

great vacation!

Villa del Palmar was a very confortable, a beautiful place to be on your vacation. The food is excellent and the rooms are clean and larger than in many other hotels we've been. On feture a liked a lot was the fact that there was a kichenett in the room, with small refrigerator, microwave and provided with anything you need to make your breakfast, lunch or even a light dinner if you don't to eat out every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Souvenir shopping and small food market are availale withing the hotel property.A large supermarket is just a couple of blocks away. Downtown Vallarta is just few miles away and public transportation is frequent and inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 19, 2008

Poor Check In

The Hotel Overall was nice for the money. We enjoyed everything once we were checked in and got passed the Welcome representative (Timeshare- GoldCard salesman) However, the entire vacation started off on a bad note at the Check in. The Welcome committee will try to sell you a timeshare - Gold Card even if you tell them you don't want one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The family loved the Water Volly Ball game everyday from 1 - 3.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Margarita Time
Business
Spokane, WA
Mar 17, 2008

Great location

This was our first stay at Villa Del Palmar and our first time to PV. It is in a great location, within walking distance to most everything. I had considered staying in Nuevo Viallarta and I was glad we didn't. It is too far out of town! I think we would have spent a fortune on taxies. The resort was nice enought although the rooms were a little date. The maintenance crew was constantly painting, cleaning etc while we were there but not in a disruptive way. They work very hard to keep the property looking good. The only thing that was disappointing about PV is that many of the resorts are all inclusive. We enjoy walking on the beach and stopping to have drinks, dinner, etc but we were refused service TWICE because we were not staying at that particular resort! The beach is nice and you can walk a good distance in both directions. If/when we return to PV we will definitely look into staying at Villa Del Palmar again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try La Panorama. It is at the top of a hill overlooking the whole city...beautiful at night. Also, we went to Rythms of the Night great dinner and show. Worth every penny!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Margarita Time
Business
Spokane, WA
Mar 17, 2008

Great location

This was our first stay at Villa Del Palmar and our first time to PV. It is in a great location, within walking distance to most everything. I had considered staying in Nuevo Viallarta and I was glad we didn't. It is too far out of town! I think we would have spent a fortune on taxies. The resort was nice enought although the rooms were a little date. The maintenance crew was constantly painting, cleaning etc while we were there but not in a disruptive way. They work very hard to keep the property looking good. The only thing that was disappointing about PV is that many of the resorts are all inclusive. We enjoy walking on the beach and stopping to have drinks, dinner, etc but we were refused service TWICE because we were not staying at that particular resort! The beach is nice and you can walk a good distance in both directions. If/when we return to PV we will definitely look into staying at Villa Del Palmar again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try La Panorama. It is at the top of a hill overlooking the whole city...beautiful at night. Also, we went to Rythms of the Night great dinner and show. Worth every penny!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 12, 2008

Family Orientated

The Villa del Palmar is a hotel that caters to families. It is very safe, convenient to everything, staff is helpful.The ususal saving of beach chairs happens there often. We were not happy that the room given us was on the ground floor. We do not feel safe in the ground rooms although I have never heard of any problems. We were assigned a different room after the first day but it seems that you always have to waste one day getting your room changed. Have heard that complaint from many people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Gigante grocery store is two blocks away and you can call the states cheap. The internet cafe charges $4 a half hour when you only pay $1 at the Marina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Mar 10, 2008

In the Center of it All!

We only stayed here for 2 nights but our studio was very roomy with great amenities. We could walk to restaaurants,shopping or take a bus to downtown. The pool and beach areas were comfortable and provided great services.For a quick stay is was most enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You could enjoy fast food like Pizza Hut or an upscale French restaurant. Other hotels were also within walking distance and offered other dining choices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Mar 10, 2008

Excellent location

The location of the Villa Del Palmar is excellent. It is about 1/2 way between downtown and the airport. The bus stops right in front and it is only 1-2 blocks from a large grocery store. The outside property is well maintained and there are 3 pools and two hot tubs. Our room was disppointing. We were put in the older section and our room faced the very noisy main street. The room itself was in need of repair. We left money daily for maid service but were surprised that on our final bill there was a daily gratuity charge imposed. The check in is all about the time share tour they want you to take and they don't take no for an answer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel has excellent breakfast buffett.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fernando
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 18, 2008

Perfect get away

The Villa del palmar is located 10 minute from the airport, 2 minutes from the supermarket. Staff always very a great help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

grocerty shopping center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 13, 2008

Convenient Accomodating Hotel

The Villa del Palmar was extremely close to the airport and fully staffed. I was quite disappointed that the minute I checked in I was already trying to get talked into going to a timeshare presentation where I was promised the moon with discounts if i attended. I was surprised with my room size but faced the back to not an appealing sight. I was extremely disappointed with the beach there. It was a very tiny little strip of sand and the water was more brown then blue. However, extremely staff members recommended great beaches for me to travel to and were very very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The taco stands in downtown was my favorite part of the dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Feb 12, 2008

very nice place great staff

at check in the staff was very pushy for time shares but other then that villa del palmer was a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

take the bus takes you everywhere you want to go

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top