$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
View map of Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pixelwebmx
los mochis, sinaloa, mexico
Apr 10, 2012

excellent hotel

vallarta is very beautiful place, and vista del palmar is a excellent hotel with kitchens in each room, thats helps to make a lot of saving in food. The food at the hotel is okey, but not the best in vallarta. All staff is very helpfully and honest (they tell us all time to take care about pricing in town, like taxis or restaurants) ... all the hotel have excellent instalations! , the only bad thing is the time of we went (semana santa 3/apr to 9/apr) the hotel was very full, like the beach and pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Momma Bear1030
Business
Chicago
Mar 29, 2014

Clean and safe

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. If was our first time there, and our first time back to Mexico in about 10 years. The hotel was full of activity, we have a six year old who took full advantage of the kids club. They kept her busy for hours and hours at a time. Things were sterile and clean, including the drinking water. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Reserve your chair around the pool before 7:00am if you want an umbrella and side table. The beach chairs are available at any time, but you will be bothered by beach vendors all day. Free wi-fi at the nearby Starbucks is more reliable than the Wifi that you pay for at the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kim.
Business
il
Mar 28, 2014

a few things you should know:

Based on March 2014 stay: 1. Most chairs by main pool are already "reserved" with guests towels & whatnot by 8:30am. 2. You must check your pool/beach towels in & out otherwise you will be charged 3. Maid service does not include doing dishes in your kitchenette 4. Constant parade of vendors on beach. You cannot sit quietly for more than 5 minutes without Someone selling jewelry/trinkets/tshirts/chachkis or activities trying to get your attention 5. Cash only for beach activities (banana boat, parasailing, horseback ride) 6. Wifi is only available in lobby and it costs $12/day 7. A telephone call from your room to USA is very expensive ($35 for a few minutes) 8. Guests were a mix of retirees/Canadians/tattoo enthusiasts with a few spring breakers mixed in 9. Smoking allowed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe de Olla reliably good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pappy and Nanna
Business
Texas
Feb 16, 2014

February 7-15, 2014

Wife and I have stayed @ Villa del Palmar at least 10x over last 10 yrs. We never eat there because we like to experience restaurants throughout PV. Best part of Villa del Palmar is the staff, especially Bellman Jamie. He is absolutely the best. We will stay there again, however, we have a couple complaints. 1) Money exchange never has enough $20 peso bills or $100 peso bills 2) Linens. Specifically sheets. They must be 10yrs old because it was like sleeping on grit. Had to sleep in pajama's. Will bring personal sheets next trip. 3) Margarita's are horrible, however, Beer is cold. Ps. AC works great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Indie traveller
Business
WA
Feb 9, 2014

Not going back. All they want is your money.

Hotel was really nice, but it is located in the resort zone which has really nothing around except the beach and shopping malls. If you are there just for the beach, then you may like it. But, we didn't. We stayed initial few days in Zona Romantica, old town and it was fabulous. When we moved to Villa del Palmar, it was all dull around. We were paying for taxis and buses everyday to go back to old town for lunch and dinner. Most annoying part of this place was, they are only after your money. They had housekeeping charge, which we got waived off by not using house keeping. Then they were trying to sell their vacation packages. We were told we can have free breakfast at their Nuevo Vallarta resort and if we attend a sales presentation, we will get discount in other activities, but it was not merely a presentation, rather a sales agent was with us all the time and was pushing us to buy their packages. We were really regretting, why did we sign up for this at first place despite all the discounts and gifts it came with. Bottom line, if you are going to Mexico for beaches, good weather and above all good food, drinks and culture, then do yourself a favour and stay in old town hotels. Old town has everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are staying in resort area or old town, you can take Blue and white buses which costs only 7.50 pesos to travel around. You will also be able to see the city this way. We found them safe and they run as late as 12AM. Taxis on other hand can be from 50-80 pesos, and you do the math. To save money on eating: Best place to find good food is no doubt in the old town, but places close to beach are expensive. Ask local shopkeepers (of course after buying something from them), where they would eat for cheap and they will tell you hidden secrets. Eating on street side shops is okay, only be careful about drinking water and only use bottled. Don't hesitate to negotiate on price while buying anything, you will be surprised to see nearly 50% drop in price by just negotiating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MEandHIM
Business
Texas
Jan 27, 2014

Great Stay at Villa del Palmar

We were some of the youngest (in our late 40's) at this hotel - most guests were retired, but a very friendly group of guests and staff here. We got a little tired of the food since we did an AI but the theme nights were great, the bar service terrific and we would definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the Ocean Resturant on the Malecon when they play live music. It was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
landm
Business
Michigan
Jan 3, 2014

Villa Del Palmar PVR

We have stayed at this hotel several times and love it here. The staff is great and the resort and gardens are beautifully maintained. Good location, easy to get in to town and close to stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Woodrow the fisherman
Business
Burnsville, MN.
Dec 9, 2013

Nice clean hotel

Super clean resort. Staff very friendly and helpful. Couple good happy hours but buffet has dropped off a bit from last few years. Location great...between downtown and the Marinas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
como siempre
Business
san antonio, tx
Oct 23, 2013

our return to P.V.

The meet and greet person's roll is to get you to their new property, our room had condensation issues so the floors were soaking wet and then we had to wait for someone to recalibrate the lockbox so our first day was spent fixing these issues. The condensation was so bad we had to ask for another room. But that said the property is beautiful, older crowd that bring their families so if you are young, hip and cool this may not be place for you, just saying. We personally liked it because we are not young, hip and cool. Things are geared toward "members" like free internet, discount tours, etc. All of store front properties are owned by hotel like Laundromat, mini store. 5 dollars to wash or dry but lady there will take care of it for a tip. Try going to Ocean Grill, it's a little adventure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

of course food at hotel is expensive, find somewhere else to eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mida
Business
Jackson Hole, Wyoming
Jun 21, 2013

Great family vacation

Great hotel, great location. Bring kids here, the pool was great for my children.The staff treated us well. All Amenities(Meals/Drinks) over priced. Tip: buy all inclusive. I recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Groceries stores close to the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vegassassy2
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Apr 23, 2013

Villa del Palmar in Puerto Vallarta

This hotel was great. On first floor before hotel entrance, there is deli /gift shop along with 8 or so computer terminals available to use at a reasonable rate. Bus for 6 pesos takes you into downtown where main boardwalk is blocked from cars so nice to walk around and see the ocean. Plenty of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel has deli in front of hotel serves breakfast, sandwiches and goodies. Plus souvenirs on other half of deli.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top