$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
View map of Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
221 out of 221
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 15, 2008

Great service

Great location. Convenient to supermarket, Starbucks, and $5 taxi ride to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenience store on the property sells soft drinks, baked goods, snacks, including small packs of coffee filters at fair prices. Nice store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 15, 2008

family friendly

The Villa Del Palmar was a nice hotel. However due to the timeshare aspect of the hotel I would not recommend it to anyone. The location is excellent and the hotel staff is nice if somewhat slow in responding to requests. So if you don't mind being hounded by timeshare sales people you might like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We took the public bus into the old town and there were lots of shops and dining choices. The bus stops are right across the street from the hotel and only cost 5 pesos or $.50 US.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena
Jul 6, 2008

Perfect Vacation

We took our niece to Puerto Vallarta for her high school graduation. My husband and I have been many times - this was her first. We decided on the one bedroom suite so we could all have our own space. We hadn't stayed here before but after reading the reviews I decided we would give it a try. This is an older property but very clean and well maintained. It was PERFECT for the three of us and we will stay here again on future visits. My husband and I had our own bedroom, the bathroom was in the hall and our niece had her own space in the den area. The sofa pulled out. The first day we went to the store and got popcorn, sodas, beer, water, chips, cookies and snacks to hold us over if we got hungry. The restaurants on the property were pretty expensive so I would say if you are planning on eating at the property to go with the all-inclusive but we like to eat at different places in PV so we only ate a couple of meals there anyway. We did do the timeshare tour and got a couple of really good tours in exchange. I had read that they really pressure you to go so I just figured lets do it and get it over with and then they won't bother us anymore. It was actually enjoyable and they provided us with a nice breakfast, paid the majority of the booze cruise, and gave us a jungle tour in exchange for the 90 minutes of talk. They are pretty high pressure so just be firm and let them know that you are not going to buy a timeshare. We ate at EL SET (very nice gorgeous sunset on the south side) and Si Senior (very good food -downtown. As I said we did not have any complaints with our room. It was PERFECT for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port Orchard
Jun 20, 2008

Great for families and couples

The Palmar is a very clean and beautiful hotel in PV. We had a studio bedroom with a king bed and it was spacious. The bed isn't a true king it is actually the size of a queen but is comfortable. There is a kitchenette with all the supplies you would need to make a meal. And the bathrooms are updated and also very clean. The location provides easy access to everything. They have three pools and a loung area on the beach. Wait staff is abudant easy to get drinks and food by the pool. There are lots of activities pool side if your interested or quiet areas to relax. Very fun and beautiful place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Takeing a left out of Palmar past the Venetian is a small new shopping center(easy walk). Starbucks is there, some great shopping at good prices and a fabulous restraunt. Thiery Steakhouse, awesome food at very good prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburg, *
Jun 7, 2008

Just O.K.

I've been to this hotel before with family members that have a timeshare there. The reason i returned was because of staff friendly and very attendtive. This trip i went without my family members with timeshare and i really notice the difference in how you are treated there. Once they know you don't have a time share they really don't care about you. I paid extra to have my room upgraded and did not get what i paid for. our toilet kept breaking down at least 3 times and they still would not move us to another room. So through out our trip we kept being interrupted by maintenence and ALL hours of the night and day. Housekeeping would not even change our sheets or pillow cases. we had to constantly call and ask to have them changed. Sometimes they would'nt even change our towels!! housekeeping would even walk in to your room WITHOUT KNOCKING. (once i was in the bathroom) I was dissapointed that we were put in a building that had a street view eventhough i paid extra for upgrade. staff would not accomidate me. Needless to say i never even used the pool, or do any activities with them because our building was separated from all the action areas ex: pool, restaurants, activities, beach, etc. watch out for taxi prices! we caught a taxi outside of the hotel and were charged 15.00 dollars to go to the malecon!! This trip should have cost 5 dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice little market on premisis for food, snacks or anything you need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lake oswego
May 26, 2008

vry friendly same was

The room did not have accessibility for the handicap. W had problems putting my daughter into the tube when we needed a shower. The service in the hotel was poor because they did not give us close engouh rooms. The hotel resturant had poor service for we had a problem with the way that they treated us. They acted rude and made us feel unwelcomed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

close stores

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 22, 2008

Good and Bad

For the price that we paid, the hotel was great. There were a couple things that seemed cheesy. One, you only got coffee the first night you were there. After that you had to purchase your own, which is difficult to do for 6 nights. Who wants to buy filters and coffee just to have one cup in the moring prior to going to breakfast. Also, you have to wash your own dishes and they will not provide dish soap. This means you have to purchase soap and hope the person prior to you did not just rinse them and put them away since it was such an inconvenience. Kind of disgusting if you think about germs and such. The towel voucher was a pain. If it was computerized, you would not have to remember a piece of paper everytime you left the room. My last complaint is that if you find an error with dining charges to your room, they make you go back to the restaurant to get it fixed. We did not receive our 20% gold card discount on one of our dinners and they refused to adjust it at the front desk. Like I said for the money we paid, this was a good deal. If I would have paid full price our had gotten the all inclusive package, I would have been disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 1, 2008

My review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

The hotel is a typical resort/spa accomodation. BAD; As soon as you are brought to the lobby a spokesperson for the hotels timeshare accosts you about about taking a tour to their resort.Mistakenly,they are under the impression that we want to spend our vacation time listening to a sales pitch. For a hotel that has such a high rating, we found the service in the main dining area way below average,had to wait to be seated,when only three tables were occupied again had to wait for menus,and even a longer wait to be served drinks/dinner. NEVER would we eat there again. There were no straps on the nets of the tennis courts, the pro said he'd ordered them but was still waiting after several weeks. We were asked before check out to contribute extra monies for the staff behind the scenes, what a crock, at the prices charged the hotel should pay their employees a decent wage. Good: The rooms were clean, the maid service was very good. The hotel gives you tiny pieces of soap, so you have to ask for a refill each day.That's not so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The restaurant Le Petite a few doors from the hotel serves a good varied breakfast till 12;00p.m. never crowded and fast service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 22, 2008

friendly and helpful staff

Had a great time(again) Villa Del Palmar is a great place to stay...moderate prices & good food & drinks. Found the all inclusive the only way to go. Close to centro & easy to get to most anywhere inexpensively. The staff was friendly & very helpful. Planning another trip to PV & will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Isl rio Cuale is just past the end of the Malecon. Fun shopping & 2 restaurants( Oscars is a bit cheaper) Look for iguanas in the trees, they are there. Also go across the swinging bridge into downtown & get great deals...try old town also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 7, 2008

Money Trap

If you are considering staying with Villa del Palmar-be prepared to pay the price. First,They charge for everything- 1)a daily tip (whether you buy anything or not - it is added on), 2) pool towels (cruddy blue towels)which they will assume you lost and charge you $53 to replace. Then any time you use the money exchange - they charge $4, $5 or $6 depending on their whim and you were never informed they charged for the service besides having the worst exchange rate. Secondly, the Time share pressure sales job right at the entry. Before you have a chance - bang, you are routed to a sales desk. You can barely escape. Lastly, be prepared for the most pathetic service staff you have ever seen. The front desk personnel roll their eyes at anything you try to discuss with them and the answer is always - I have to talk to the manager - who, by the way, is never around. Try to avoid this place if you want a good Mexician experience and a place that appreciates you not just your money. The rooms are nice and clean but the experience is painful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top