$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 17, 2015 Check-out: Jun 20, 2015

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
View map of Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dmaxx
Business
San Jose,Ca
Jan 18, 2010

The perfect place

It was a nice place for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
margarita for carlita
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Jan 18, 2010

Great Family Relaxation

This is the place my family and our friends go every year. The location is perfect! It's a resort right on the beach only minutes away from the airport as well as downtown Puerto Vallarta. It seems standard practice for this hotel to try to put you at the rooms that are right on the road. I was aware of this practice from staying here so many times, and yet they still claim they had nothing available until the next day even though I had made a specific request a week prior for the area in which I wanted to be located. The first room was horrendously noisy and I was surprised by how little the front desk staff and supervisor care for the comfort of their arriving guests. And after a lengthy check in, they insisted on trying to sign us up for their "free breakfast" which is a thinly veiled time-share presentation. What was super about this place was the beach. They do a nice job of keeping it clean, and providing enough chairs and umbrellas for all. The waiters and the bellmen are absolutely wonderful. Always a smile and they really get to know their guests. The rooms are clean but perhaps a little dated. It's not a super-plush resort that you'd find in an area with endless space, but it does have everything you need for a fun vacation. All things considered, it's a good value for the money, but be patient and persistent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are so many wonderful places to eat in downtown and Old Town, but Pipi's is consistently a great time, with the BEST margaritas.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Poohdah
Business
Silver Spring, Maryland
Jan 15, 2010

Unbeatable location Villa Del Palmar

Arrived in the afternoon went to the room loved it clean, cormfortable lovely view of the surrounding mountain. First night dinner party on the beach with live entertainment, great food great music. Easy access from the resort to many of touriat hot spots. Staff was friendly and very helpful. My friends got massages on the beach for no more than it cost to have it in the spa! I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 9, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Excellent location. Helpful and friendly staff. Two small problems - hospitality room provided showers but no towels and harrassment by time share agents before we even checked in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Altos Hills, California
Jan 8, 2010

December 2009

The hotel was complete misrepresented by [...]. You need to be more careful about how you describe and represent things. The check in staff was extremely rude and disorganized. The waiter staff was friendly. Restaurants were ok. I would never go back to this hotel [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Do not go to the downtown to shop. Go to the Marina area. For better shopping.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rzukes
Business
North Idaho
Jan 7, 2010

We wouldn't go anywhere else!

We stayed at VDP with a group of 19. there were couples, there were singles, there were families with children. ALL of us had a great experience. The staff takes wonderful care of you. They have a very "can do" attitude. The rooms were above expectations. We did have a 2 room suite which was huge! It was great for entertaining our large group. the pools, the beach, the service..all great. The location and transportation was also very good. We drank the water from the tap and in the bar and restaurant with no problems. Go and be prepared for a wonderful vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are several non-tourist seafood restaurants on the outskirts of down town. Langastino Feliz (happy lobster) and another one about 4 blocks from Feliz.. something like Puescos. Both worth finding! Try the whole broiled Red snapper!

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san antonio tx
Jan 6, 2010

awesome

timeshare talk is a drag but optional. super restaurant and reasonable cost

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Vallarta Adventure was incredible. Lots of surprises and brings out adrenaline

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san antonio tx
Jan 6, 2010

awesome

timeshare talk is a drag but optional. super restaurant and reasonable cost

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Vallarta Adventure was incredible. Lots of surprises and brings out adrenaline

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mo&Bo
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 4, 2010

Customer service: a total disaster

Good: The location (easy access to downtown by bus, close to supermarket), the beach, the room. Bad: the staff. Once we rejected to look into the time share options they offered, they didn't bother to show us the room or help with the bags; on our way to the room we got stuck in the elevator and nobody was there when the problem was finally fixed to apologize; two days later I got stuck again in a different elevator; they lied to us that all rooms have ocean view: ours didn't; the maid would make our room every day in spite of the "do not disturb" sign; on the day of the check-out they knocked at the door "just to check" at 9 although the check-out time was 11; the TV remote didn't work, they "fixed" it only to fail again ten minutes later; Karla, our "contact" there vanished for good the moment we refused to discuss time share options; the beach is good but the water is not: rocky, deep, dirty; the policy of not reserving beach umbrellas and chairs is not enforced: people leave towels on chairs at 5 AM and disappear for hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

1) Go to Soriana supermarket (a very short walk, almost across the street from the hotel) rather than being ripped off at their market place. 2) It is straightforward to get to the airport by public bus (50 US cents) instead of using the overpriced cabs.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yolda
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Jan 4, 2010

Nice hotel

The hotel was nice, but if we were woken up every morning before 9 due to the noise outside. Our rooms were not cleaned for 2 days and on the other days the house keeping would come after 6pm. Be careful because a charge for tipping the house keepers is being applied to your room every day. You can ask the front desk to remove that for you if you don't feel they deserve it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Very tastety dining places, especially in the south side of downtown.

Back to menu Return to top