$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
216 reviews
Great trip back to VDP

VDP is a great place to stay. Perfect location and hotel is maintained very well. Great... See full review

  • landm
  • Dec 29, 2014
Great trip back to VDP

VDP is a great place to stay. Perfect location and hotel is maintained very well. Great... See full review

  • landm
  • Dec 19, 2014
Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms with balconies and kitchenettes
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta defines the all-inclusive experience. Guests can fill their days with the numerous planned activities -- including Spanish lessons, water aerobics and volleyball -- or simply sit by the pool, where a water slide shaped like a whale is an endless source of entertainment. Rooms, meanwhile, feel like Mexican villas thanks to full refrigerators, kitchenettes and quaint pottery and furniture.
Highlights
  • 463 suites with kitchenettes and full refrigerators
  • Extensive activities, from nightly dinner and theme shows to craft-making
  • Off-site tours Spa and hair salon
  • Gorgeous views of Banderas Bay
Rooms
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta caters to extended-stay travelers who appreciate the convenience of kitchenettes, full-size refrigerators, cookware and the other necessities for preparing their own meals. All 463 suites brim with regional style -- right down to the folksy pottery. Bright fabrics and cozy furniture further the relaxed appeal. When the day is done, guests sit on furnished balconies to admire the pool and bay views. All rooms boast digital TV, a dining table, central air-conditioning, ceramic-tile floors and purified water.
Features
An all-day schedule of planned activities ensures that Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta guests can play from morning until night. On-site diversions run the gamut, from water aerobics, pottery classes and nightly dinner shows to tennis and a fitness center equipped with cardio and weight machines. Guests can also go off-site for ATV excursions and glass-bottom-boat cruises, among many other tour options.

Even with all those choices, many guests opt to sunbathe at the pool, which features a curious conversation piece: an enormous water slide shaped like a whale.
Dining
Whether the occasion calls for outdoor dining or a more upscale meal, Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta tempts with a global menu of dishes and ambiance-filled restaurants. Guests start at La Cucina, where the full breakfast buffet is not to be outdone by the gorgeous patio overlooking Banderas Bay. Jalisco, open seasonally, dishes up regional family-style Mexican cuisine in an Old World setting. Diners can also request to be seated in the outdoor palapa (an open-sided hut with a thatched roof). Los Equipales Sports Bar invites guests to enjoy tapas and sports by the pool.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Old Town (3.4 mi/5.5 km) Downtown Vallarta (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (3 mi/4.8 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Two Bedroom Villa Suite
(900 Sq Ft.) Enjoy one King , and a choice of one Queen or Double bed in second bedroom and sofa bed in the living room. Have up to 2 bathrooms with travertine marble decor as well as upscale amenities. In the room a dining table and six chairs. Its exterior balcony is furnished with patio furniture for up to 6 people.
Deluxe Room
(500 Sq F) Enjoy one king-sized bed or two double beds at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture for 2 people. Outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning, a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
One Bedroom Villa Suite
(650 Sq Ft) Enjoy one king and one sofa bed at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture up to 4 people. This room is outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning , a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Patron
Impressively located on the oceanfront overlooking the Banderas Bay, restaurant El Patrn offers contemporary presentations of traditional Mexican cuisine. A truly sensorial experience, here you appreciate the flavors, sounds, sights, and smells. Breakfast served as buffet and a la carte. Lunch and dinner are offered a la carte.
La Trattoria
Sitting right on the oceanfront and providing a romantic candlelight dinner atmosphere, this open-air restaurant serves traditional and contemporary Italian specialties, prepared with Mediterranean flavors and a lot of "lamore per la cucina Italiana," offering also an excellent wine selection.
The Market
Introducing the fresh market concept of fish and seafood at Villa de Palmar Flamingos. Choose your catch of the day or select your whole lobster. Add some shrimps, a few mussels, and maybe a slice of fresh tuna. Just pick directly with our Chef from our display and enjoy - you decide how you want us to prepare your selection of fish and seafood at our oceanfront terrace market.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (216)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
216 out of 216
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yolda
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Jan 4, 2010

Nice hotel

The hotel was nice, but if we were woken up every morning before 9 due to the noise outside. Our rooms were not cleaned for 2 days and on the other days the house keeping would come after 6pm. Be careful because a charge for tipping the house keepers is being applied to your room every day. You can ask the front desk to remove that for you if you don't feel they deserve it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Very tastety dining places, especially in the south side of downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mo&Bo
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 4, 2010

Customer service: a total disaster

Good: The location (easy access to downtown by bus, close to supermarket), the beach, the room. Bad: the staff. Once we rejected to look into the time share options they offered, they didn't bother to show us the room or help with the bags; on our way to the room we got stuck in the elevator and nobody was there when the problem was finally fixed to apologize; two days later I got stuck again in a different elevator; they lied to us that all rooms have ocean view: ours didn't; the maid would make our room every day in spite of the "do not disturb" sign; on the day of the check-out they knocked at the door "just to check" at 9 although the check-out time was 11; the TV remote didn't work, they "fixed" it only to fail again ten minutes later; Karla, our "contact" there vanished for good the moment we refused to discuss time share options; the beach is good but the water is not: rocky, deep, dirty; the policy of not reserving beach umbrellas and chairs is not enforced: people leave towels on chairs at 5 AM and disappear for hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

1) Go to Soriana supermarket (a very short walk, almost across the street from the hotel) rather than being ripped off at their market place. 2) It is straightforward to get to the airport by public bus (50 US cents) instead of using the overpriced cabs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Dec 30, 2009

Wouldn't go Back

We moved to this hotel because we were told there would be more action at night for our son in his twenties. This was not true at all. The place died after 7:00 pm. The worst part is that sleeping was impossible. The doors were banging so loud it sounding like gun shots and people were very loud in the hallway. The pool area and beach were okay but since the hotel was fully booked, it was very difficult to find a chair. The beach volleyball was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 29, 2009

Fabulous Vacation Place!

It was a fabulous vacation. The staff and resort were excellent. The room was comfortable and clean. The location of the hotel on the beach was perfect. Puerto Vallarta's downtown and shopping is just a short cab drive away. The guys dressed in white on the beach are able to line you up with any trip you desire on the water. Vendors did not persist. They accepted "no thanks" and walked away. Gotta love Mexico!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We asked around to find a restaurant with authentic Mexican food at an average price. We ended up taking a taxi cab driver's advice and he brought us to a great place up in the hills overlooking the city. It was fabulous, but a bit expensive. Trust the restaurant reviews online. Cafe de Olla in Old Downtown was awesome and reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling firemen
Business
Lodi Ca
Dec 19, 2009

First time in Mexico

Nice room Nothing extremly fancy. The maid service was great. The pool area was clean. Only complaint is too many Salesman on the beach. The staff was very friendly. The food and drink prices were expensive for Mexico but average for hotels. The beach party the first night was fun, BBQ mahi was under cooked thou. The beach water was a bit murky 2-4 ft visibility underwater. Very Very safe location. We walked the streets after dinner downtown. no problems with locals or police. I reconmend the Hotel and Location in Mexico. Warning to new travelers to mexico*** Beware of the time shares salesmen, they try to get you at the airport ***

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Zion , IL
Dec 15, 2009

Fantastic family and or couple getaway

My husband and I were there to celebrate his birthday. And had a great time. The only thing that we did'nt like were that there were to many vendors on the beach. Other than that the staff were very helpful and kind. The resort offers many activites that are very fun. We will definitly return w/ our kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The place was great and we enjoyed the downtown and the food. The nightlife in the downtown was great. A great place to visit

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 14, 2009

I will never stay here again!!

The first night my boyfriend got food poisoning. The stay was rude. I forgot something in my room and told them I was coming back and when I got there they said they couldn't get it for me and I would have to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, Nevada
Dec 5, 2009

Will never return.

This was the worse trip that I have ever taken and I travel 3-4 times a year. I will never return. I used my credit card to pay for two transactons (drinks or dinner); was asked for my credit card and license ID. Neither card was returned to me. When I asked about my cards they said they knew nothing. Front desk said that I probably mislaid it. They made absolutely NO effort to help me get in contact with the U.S. to cancel my credit card. They all said--"we know nothing" and even the manager on the day staff sent me three blocks down the street to buy phone cards and use the pay phones on the street. I will NEVER return to their facility. Questions went unanswered or we were passed around to other staffers for help or lack thereof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

I spent most of my time on beach or in Old Town, rather than stay at the hotel. They absolutely infuriated me with their lack of assistance or response. I have two receipts for charge purchases from that hotel and yet they say they know nothing about my charge card or drivers' license.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bend, Oregon
Nov 29, 2009

Great Location

Great location, Lovely hotel, friendly staff. We loved Puerto Vallarta. Pressure to view time shares was heavy when we first arrived and we were not interested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great restaurants were Epoca, Joe Jacks Fish Shop and Cafe de Olla - all in the Romantic Zone

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
janabanana
Business
utah
Nov 28, 2009

great vacation location

The location was great, the beach was close and nice. It was a bit noisy as they are just finishing the remodeling and updating of the hotel outside. The staff was attentive and helpful. all in all, it was a great vacation spot and one I would definitely do again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top