$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 3, 2015

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
View map of Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rzukes
Business
North Idaho
Jan 7, 2010

We wouldn't go anywhere else!

We stayed at VDP with a group of 19. there were couples, there were singles, there were families with children. ALL of us had a great experience. The staff takes wonderful care of you. They have a very "can do" attitude. The rooms were above expectations. We did have a 2 room suite which was huge! It was great for entertaining our large group. the pools, the beach, the service..all great. The location and transportation was also very good. We drank the water from the tap and in the bar and restaurant with no problems. Go and be prepared for a wonderful vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are several non-tourist seafood restaurants on the outskirts of down town. Langastino Feliz (happy lobster) and another one about 4 blocks from Feliz.. something like Puescos. Both worth finding! Try the whole broiled Red snapper!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san antonio tx
Jan 6, 2010

awesome

timeshare talk is a drag but optional. super restaurant and reasonable cost

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Vallarta Adventure was incredible. Lots of surprises and brings out adrenaline

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mo&Bo
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 4, 2010

Customer service: a total disaster

Good: The location (easy access to downtown by bus, close to supermarket), the beach, the room. Bad: the staff. Once we rejected to look into the time share options they offered, they didn't bother to show us the room or help with the bags; on our way to the room we got stuck in the elevator and nobody was there when the problem was finally fixed to apologize; two days later I got stuck again in a different elevator; they lied to us that all rooms have ocean view: ours didn't; the maid would make our room every day in spite of the "do not disturb" sign; on the day of the check-out they knocked at the door "just to check" at 9 although the check-out time was 11; the TV remote didn't work, they "fixed" it only to fail again ten minutes later; Karla, our "contact" there vanished for good the moment we refused to discuss time share options; the beach is good but the water is not: rocky, deep, dirty; the policy of not reserving beach umbrellas and chairs is not enforced: people leave towels on chairs at 5 AM and disappear for hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

1) Go to Soriana supermarket (a very short walk, almost across the street from the hotel) rather than being ripped off at their market place. 2) It is straightforward to get to the airport by public bus (50 US cents) instead of using the overpriced cabs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yolda
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Jan 4, 2010

Nice hotel

The hotel was nice, but if we were woken up every morning before 9 due to the noise outside. Our rooms were not cleaned for 2 days and on the other days the house keeping would come after 6pm. Be careful because a charge for tipping the house keepers is being applied to your room every day. You can ask the front desk to remove that for you if you don't feel they deserve it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Very tastety dining places, especially in the south side of downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Dec 30, 2009

Wouldn't go Back

We moved to this hotel because we were told there would be more action at night for our son in his twenties. This was not true at all. The place died after 7:00 pm. The worst part is that sleeping was impossible. The doors were banging so loud it sounding like gun shots and people were very loud in the hallway. The pool area and beach were okay but since the hotel was fully booked, it was very difficult to find a chair. The beach volleyball was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 29, 2009

Fabulous Vacation Place!

It was a fabulous vacation. The staff and resort were excellent. The room was comfortable and clean. The location of the hotel on the beach was perfect. Puerto Vallarta's downtown and shopping is just a short cab drive away. The guys dressed in white on the beach are able to line you up with any trip you desire on the water. Vendors did not persist. They accepted "no thanks" and walked away. Gotta love Mexico!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We asked around to find a restaurant with authentic Mexican food at an average price. We ended up taking a taxi cab driver's advice and he brought us to a great place up in the hills overlooking the city. It was fabulous, but a bit expensive. Trust the restaurant reviews online. Cafe de Olla in Old Downtown was awesome and reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling firemen
Business
Lodi Ca
Dec 19, 2009

First time in Mexico

Nice room Nothing extremly fancy. The maid service was great. The pool area was clean. Only complaint is too many Salesman on the beach. The staff was very friendly. The food and drink prices were expensive for Mexico but average for hotels. The beach party the first night was fun, BBQ mahi was under cooked thou. The beach water was a bit murky 2-4 ft visibility underwater. Very Very safe location. We walked the streets after dinner downtown. no problems with locals or police. I reconmend the Hotel and Location in Mexico. Warning to new travelers to mexico*** Beware of the time shares salesmen, they try to get you at the airport ***

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Zion , IL
Dec 15, 2009

Fantastic family and or couple getaway

My husband and I were there to celebrate his birthday. And had a great time. The only thing that we did'nt like were that there were to many vendors on the beach. Other than that the staff were very helpful and kind. The resort offers many activites that are very fun. We will definitly return w/ our kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The place was great and we enjoyed the downtown and the food. The nightlife in the downtown was great. A great place to visit

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 14, 2009

I will never stay here again!!

The first night my boyfriend got food poisoning. The stay was rude. I forgot something in my room and told them I was coming back and when I got there they said they couldn't get it for me and I would have to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, Nevada
Dec 5, 2009

Will never return.

This was the worse trip that I have ever taken and I travel 3-4 times a year. I will never return. I used my credit card to pay for two transactons (drinks or dinner); was asked for my credit card and license ID. Neither card was returned to me. When I asked about my cards they said they knew nothing. Front desk said that I probably mislaid it. They made absolutely NO effort to help me get in contact with the U.S. to cancel my credit card. They all said--"we know nothing" and even the manager on the day staff sent me three blocks down the street to buy phone cards and use the pay phones on the street. I will NEVER return to their facility. Questions went unanswered or we were passed around to other staffers for help or lack thereof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

I spent most of my time on beach or in Old Town, rather than stay at the hotel. They absolutely infuriated me with their lack of assistance or response. I have two receipts for charge purchases from that hotel and yet they say they know nothing about my charge card or drivers' license.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top