$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 3, 2015

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
View map of Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago suburbs
May 2, 2009

beautiful place, great staff &location

Excellent last minute inexpensive vacation with upscale facilities, staff, location and amenities. It was so relaxing which was what we were looking for. Usual time-share people but he was actually very helpful and gave us a few enjoyable gifts and helped with small room problem. He obtained a better room for us. To Orbitz: I suggest you list specials on your trip summery papers. Hotel has so many special deals that checkout had to call Obitz or someone to verify our purchased special deal as it was not on our Orbitz paper work. It was easily resolved but somewhat minor delay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at the hotel only a few times and quality was good. We really appreciated the hotel/internet deli. Deli had very good breakfast selections and very reasonable which we usually took back to our room. Very helpful staff with very good in-town dinning suggestions. Also, hotel desk was very knowledgeable of excellent local restaurants in El Centro and old town. We experienced some excellent reasonable dining. Check PV and Trip advisory web sites before you go for very good restaurant selections.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Apr 22, 2009

Awesome property and great staff

We had a great time and all at a very reasonable price. We knew going in that there would be something that wouldn't work out just right but everything turned out great. The pools were all great, the grounds were immaculate and the only thing that i could say that would be on the negative side is that the rooms could use a little updating. The rooms were more than adequate - we had two of the one bedroom suites that were very comfortable just a bit dated but for the price were more than acceptable and comfortable. Initially when we checked in we were concerned that our rooms weren't connected leaving us three floors from our kids, but when we walked around the place and saw that the property was very safe we no longer worried even with our daughters walking between the floors late at night. This property is in a great location close enough to down town, but not too close. Don't be afraid to ask the concierge desk the best way to get around - the buses gonig to and from downtown are very cheap and part of the Mexican experience. The person who helped us to get familiar with the resort right after we checked in was so accommodating and informative that if we ever had any questions she was there to assist. All of the staff were overly accommodating and I would not hesitate in the least to return to this resort or to allow my daughter to visit next year for her sprint break. PV, from everything we could tell from being there for a week, is a very safe environment. This resort is a time share that has been around for over 20 years so many of the people staying there are time share owners that keep coming back year after year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are going to be there for a week, take in a couple of the timeshare presentations - if you hold out before agreeing to attend, they will keep increasing what they can offer - tickets to the various tours that are available in PV plus taxi fare included. We got tickets for the city tour and the zip line tours for a party of five just for attending a couple of the 2-3 hour presentations. Also if you come out of the resort and head towards downtown 2 - 3 blocks there is a big grocery store, Sarianos, in a mall with Pizza Hut, KFC and Dominos if you have a hankerin for a little home town food. Intinially we went to WalMart which is about 5-6 blocks the other way to pick up water, food and the various other items that we didn't bring like suntan lotion, sun glasses for the kids and a boogie board and then hopped in a cab for the trip home. The veggies and fruit at WalMart were not very fresh, and i am being nice, so get the basics at WalMart and then get the rest of the week's supplies at Sarianos. Also you can use your ATM in the local ATM's to get pesos and it only costs about $1 for the transaction fee. The hotel will convert your USD's to peso too with no exchange fee and at a pretty competitive rate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Famouscobb
Business
Green Bay, WI
Aug 16, 2009

Enjoyed stay at VDP

Even though the number of guests at the hotel was unusally small at the time because of the swine flu scare, the staff was especially accommodating and attentive to all my requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paso Robles, CA
Apr 25, 2010

Wonderful Week!

My son and I flew to Puerta Vallarta spontaneously for a Mother/Son vacation. We didn't know anything about the city or the culture. Most of the staff spoke enough English to help us with things like transportation, tipping, money exchange, etc. At the hotel there were a couple of Tour Guides who helped us set up adventures, and gave us all the information needed to get there and have a terrific time. Great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sirenita Roja
Business
Portland
Jul 7, 2010

Great Time!

The location is fantastic, yes the taxi fares start to add up fast, but oh man, being right on the beach is sooo worth it! My husband and I always brace ourselves for the onslaught at the airport and right when we arrive at the hotel. Once we talk our way out of the timeshare push, the fun starts! My note about inconsistent service was not about our house keeper, but more about finding staff in our room at various times of the day after our room had already been cleaned. Once we came back to find a woman in our room saying she was giving us more towels at almost 10pm, that was interesting. The hotel needs to be updated a little bit, but I've been staying at Villa del Palmar for the past eight years and put up with the front desk hassels just to stay here. The staff are great and the activites put together each day make things a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The nightlife on the malecon has really changed from relaxed atmosphere to upscale Vegas-type clubs. Not really what we were looking for, but still quite a bit of fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emz
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 8, 2009

Loved it!

Staff were friendly and helpful, right on the beach, and had tons of fun activities at the pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Not only is taking a bus to different locations way cheaper than taking a taxi, but it's surprisingly really convenient and easy! The bus only costs about 6 pesos (less than 50 cents!) and it comes very frequently and stops right in front of the hotel. It's also a cool experience to do something that locals do and not be in a tourist bubble constantly. :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shoreline, WA
Mar 30, 2011

Nice bait and switch

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carpe Diem!
Business
Pacific North West
Apr 13, 2010

An AMAZING time!

First time to the Villa Del Palmar- and like others- I was a bit skeptical...We were very happy considering the price we paid. We got a great deal at a great location! If you have the Club Med mentality- this place probably is not for you- you get what you pay for! With that said- we would go back and are wanting to bring our kids next time! We arrived the Good Friday which is the end of Holy week- Many locals at the resort- very busy up until Easter- following it was very quiet and nice!Some insights...>We agreed to the time share presentation- We were asked once upon check in and was never asked again. The entire presentation was approx. 3 hours...taxi to and from Flamingos, included a great breakfast buffet, a tour, bottle of T, and the Los Arcos snorkeling all day tour for my wife and I. The presentation went well all the way up to the very end- If you go and the closer ends up being a guy named [...] from Seattle- He will become pretty ugly at the end- very unprofessional and sad that they cross the line in that way!>The room we had was in Building 3, 4th floor over looking the tennis courts- a bit noisy at night at times- people closing their doors, noise from the Atrium- but overall not bad. The room is clean- all things were functioning. The resort was kept clean.>We enjoyed sitting at the beach and never had a problem getting chairs and umbrella! The vendors come by but a "no thanks" to them and they keep on...>We recommend "Chata's" restaurant down on the board walk- great food with a great view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The location is great- if you want to be near grocery stores, restaurants, etc... A large grocery store- Soriana is almost directly across the street. Starbucks is a quick 5 minute walk away, Costco is a 15 minute walk, and downtown- the board walk is a 25 minute walk. We loved the location because we did not have to rely on the bus or taxis. The buses and taxis were easily accessible as well! We visited another resort that was about 15-20 minutes away- NW of the airport- it was an amazing resort- but we were glad we did not book there because if you wanted to go anywhere you would have to take a taxi- not for us!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tijuana
Jul 15, 2007

Great Pool

Very nice Hotel included the Spa, great Pool with the ocean view, the location was great you just are 5 minutes from the Malecon and you can take the bus for .50Cents , only bad point for me was the check in time (4pm) to late!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You must go to the MERCADO MUNICIPAL , her you will fin the best prices for all you are looking for , and if you are hungry you can fin a lot a mexican food here !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Feb 3, 2010

Great, love it there.

This is my 3rd visit to Villa Del Palmar, I enjoy the staff especially the bellhops and the housekeeping service. Had a couple of small problems in my room and they were taken care of within miutes. Very nice setting, all the benefits of a five star hotel. Close to shopping and public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There are just too many good restaurants in PV to go with the all inclusive plans. Glad we have never done that. Fun to try new places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top