$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
View map of Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
221 out of 221
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pine City, Mn
Mar 16, 2010

warm weather getaway

very clean ,spa treatment was great & good value, food & drinks too expensive even with 20% discount card for area. cocierge did not give us all the info. we need when booking a golf outing. I have stayed in P.V. 8 times and this was the first time in hotel zone, and probably won't stay in that area again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining was wonderful in marina area and shopping in old town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Mar 15, 2010

Great Value and location!!

I have stayed at this resort many times in past years and have always had a positive experience for the most part. Lounges around the pools being held for extended periods of time can be frustrating but this seems to happen at most resorts as there seem to be more guests than lounges. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure and visit Blake's Sports Bar - food is wonderful and the service is great!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gary {cutter}
Business
Alexandria Minnesota
Mar 13, 2010

Puerto Vallarta, Villa Del Palmer Spa&B

The location was fine easy to get to and easy to get around First we were not givin the rooms we were booked for, then next day had to get out of the room they gave us,they just overbooked The beach is not big enough for the amount of rooms they have, we had to get up ay 4.am to place towels on chairs to have a place to sit and already half the chairs were taken.the food was fine, very expensive, from people who have been goin for years say,it has doubled this year,example breakfest buffet 20.00 each we love puerto vallarta but we will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining in pto is excellent many fine places to eat my wife and I would never do all inclusive again, once was enough.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roob64
Business
Milwaukee WI
Mar 11, 2010

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa,

Checked in myself and my parents. Some outer buildings -part of VILLA DEL MAR( a cheaper property), do not have elevators and my parents were placed on the 4th floor. We went back and got them moved to the main building after showing them their knee replacements. VILLA DEL PALMAR is part of the main building with ocean and pool view rooms, and pricier rates. VILLA DEL MAR is a few older building set back from the ocean with a lower room rate. BE CAREFUL YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.... Hotel does not like to enforce it's own noise policy because the people are OWNERS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

ALL INCLUSIVE does not include certain top rail liquors. We've seen a few guests complaining about it not really being all inclusive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mcdown75
Business
Russellville, MO
Mar 10, 2010

Fun in the Sun - Beware the sharks

The hotel itself is spectacular. The maids, bell boys, bar staff, are all fabulous. The time share sharks ruin the complete effect. This was our second trip and we finally agreed to go on the time share. We were really interested to get the info, but told them up front we were NOT going to buy right now. We never got the things they promised for the tour and the concierge's "helpfullness" disappeared after our tour when we said no. But for that one little thing, it was a perfect vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus! It's 6.50 pesos (thats about 65 cents us), and you can go anywhere you want to. The drivers are helpful even if the ride is not up to US standards. They are bumpy, but it's an experience! We are still laughing about the trips!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judy that loves Mexico
Business
Blaine, MN
Mar 5, 2010

Some Good - Some Bad

We have stayed at this hotel several times before and we love the location, the large rooms with kitchens, cleanliness and the friendly staff. They do try and push time shares, however. Sometimes you have to be pushy to get a good room location - they usually try and put you in the less desirable rooms first but generally will move you upon your request. We were suppose to get a $150 hotel credit during our stay which was not honored and there was no one available to help us - we had written documentation but [...] supposedly had a note that it was not available. Not sure whose fault that was. The restraurants and bars are very expensive within the hotel if you are not all inclusive. But the location is great to get to downtown by either cab or bus where there are many eating establishments to choose from. Plus, you can do your own cooking if you prefer because of the kitchens in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a shopping mall just a short walk from the hotel that contains a large grocery store as well as shops and small dining cafes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul Minnesota
Mar 2, 2010

Good & Bad

Please be aware that you will collared right when you get off the plane by people you assume work for the hotel shuttle but really are trying to sell you a time share. While the Villa Del Palmar Resort is very nice there are multiple buildings in the complex. We were put in the building on a busy, noisy street. The room was very big will a second interior door that muted the street noise. Unfortunately the balcony faced the grass roof of an outdoor party area and a bank of air conditioning units next to it. All in all a lot of noise. We did like the kitchenette in our room, we shopped at a Mexican supermarket half a block away and ate one or two meals a day at home. Make sure you don't get a room in building C! The rest of the complex is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Soriana grocery store is just down the block. Great bakery inside.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LODI WI
Feb 28, 2010

GREAT PRICE

I STAYED HERE BEFORE. THE ROOM WE HAD WAS A VERY SMALL STUDIO, ON TH 2ND FLOOR. IT OVERLOOKED THE ROOF OF A RESTRAUNT. LOSEY LOCATION.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bjb
Business
Winnipeg
Feb 25, 2010

Good Value

Good value. Clean facilities with lots of amenities. Good for adults as well as for kids. Avoid the units facing the main road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the El Centro bus to Malecon area of PV...very cheap and very dependable....Also much fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Feb 21, 2010

Horrible Resort, would not recommend

From the moment we entered the resort we had nothing but trouble. Our room was not ready so we decided to grab a drink at the local bar/restaurant since we were "All-Inclusive". We got one drink and had to sign our bill with our name, room number, bracelet number, etc. All-Inclusive means you should not have to sign for something each time. They would only allow one drink per person and we had trouble even getting water for our room. We noticed we were not getting good service because we WERE All-Inclusive. The staff would serve the other guests first because they knew they would get a good tip. The staff was extremely rude to us and did not treat us like guests. Our room finally became available and it was this dungeon of a room that smelled like mold. I called to request a nice room a week prior to leaving and that is the room we received. We finally made it out to the beach and were swarmed by vendors all day. If you wanted a chair you either had to get up at 7:00AM to save one or carry the heavy lounge chairs over yourself (all were definitely gone by 10:00AM). By the way, you have to remember your towel ticket (which is a little paper strip) in order to receive any towels. If you misplace your towel they will charge you $30/towel. I was absolutely baffled by how people would go back to this resort. I've been to Mexico many of times and I never have experienced such poor service and a resort that was so unorganized and unprofessional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top