$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
351 reviews
Villa Del Palmar PVR

We have stayed at this hotel several times and love it here. The staff is great and the resort and... See full review

  • landm
  • Jan 3, 2014
Great trip - 4th time!

The hotel is slightly older than some but in a great location and very well kept. It is walking... See full review

  • Great time here
  • Mar 29, 2013
Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms with balconies and kitchenettes
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta defines the all-inclusive experience. Guests can fill their days with the numerous planned activities -- including Spanish lessons, water aerobics and volleyball -- or simply sit by the pool, where a water slide shaped like a whale is an endless source of entertainment. Rooms, meanwhile, feel like Mexican villas thanks to full refrigerators, kitchenettes and quaint pottery and furniture.
Highlights
  • 463 suites with kitchenettes and full refrigerators
  • Extensive activities, from nightly dinner and theme shows to craft-making
  • Off-site tours Spa and hair salon
  • Gorgeous views of Banderas Bay
Rooms
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta caters to extended-stay travelers who appreciate the convenience of kitchenettes, full-size refrigerators, cookware and the other necessities for preparing their own meals. All 463 suites brim with regional style -- right down to the folksy pottery. Bright fabrics and cozy furniture further the relaxed appeal. When the day is done, guests sit on furnished balconies to admire the pool and bay views. All rooms boast digital TV, a dining table, central air-conditioning, ceramic-tile floors and purified water.
Features
An all-day schedule of planned activities ensures that Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta guests can play from morning until night. On-site diversions run the gamut, from water aerobics, pottery classes and nightly dinner shows to tennis and a fitness center equipped with cardio and weight machines. Guests can also go off-site for ATV excursions and glass-bottom-boat cruises, among many other tour options.

Even with all those choices, many guests opt to sunbathe at the pool, which features a curious conversation piece: an enormous water slide shaped like a whale.
Dining
Whether the occasion calls for outdoor dining or a more upscale meal, Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta tempts with a global menu of dishes and ambiance-filled restaurants. Guests start at La Cucina, where the full breakfast buffet is not to be outdone by the gorgeous patio overlooking Banderas Bay. Jalisco, open seasonally, dishes up regional family-style Mexican cuisine in an Old World setting. Diners can also request to be seated in the outdoor palapa (an open-sided hut with a thatched roof). Los Equipales Sports Bar invites guests to enjoy tapas and sports by the pool.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Old Town (3.4 mi/5.5 km) Downtown Vallarta (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (3 mi/4.8 km)

Hotel Map

20.642 -105.2375
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz (PVR) Airport
Area description
The property is located five miles West of Downtown Puerto Vallarta, close to golf courses, marina and shopping.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Signature One Bedroom Suite
This beautiful renewed One Bedroom Suite features the same amenities as the One Bedroom plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathrooms amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottle water when booking just room, and with bear and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone, fine cuts and shripms on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room.
Two Bedroom Villa Suite
(900 Sq Ft.) Enjoy one King , and a choice of one Queen or Double bed in second bedroom and sofa bed in the living room. Have up to 2 bathrooms with travertine marble decor as well as upscale amenities. In the room a dining table and six chairs. Its exterior balcony is furnished with patio furniture for up to 6 people.
Deluxe Room
(500 Sq F) Enjoy one king-sized bed or two double beds at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture for 2 people. Outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning, a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
One Bedroom Villa Suite
(650 Sq Ft) Enjoy one king and one sofa bed at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture up to 4 people. This room is outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning , a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Signature Deluxe Studio
This beautiful renewed Signature Deluxe Studio features the same amenities as the Deluxe Studio plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottled water when booking just room, and with beer and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone calls, fine cuts and shrimps on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room. Amenities Deluxe Studio: -Complete kitchen -Coffee maker -Refrigerator -Tableware -Blender -Microwave Oven -Toaster -Pots + Pans -Ceramic Stove top -Welcome Pack (Coffee, salt, pepper + dish soap) -Individually-controlled central air conditioning -Ceiling fans -73-channel cable television -Direct dial telephone with voice mail -Hair dryer -In-room safe -Iron with ironing board -Clock Radio -Daily Housekeeping Service

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Trattoria
Sitting right on the oceanfront and providing a romantic candlelight dinner atmosphere, this open-air restaurant serves traditional and contemporary Italian specialties, prepared with Mediterranean flavors and a lot of "lamore per la cucina Italiana," offering also an excellent wine selection.
The Market
Introducing the fresh market concept of fish and seafood at Villa de Palmar Flamingos. Choose your catch of the day or select your whole lobster. Add some shrimps, a few mussels, and maybe a slice of fresh tuna. Just pick directly with our Chef from our display and enjoy - you decide how you want us to prepare your selection of fish and seafood at our oceanfront terrace market.
El Patron
Impressively located on the oceanfront overlooking the Banderas Bay, restaurant El Patrn offers contemporary presentations of traditional Mexican cuisine. A truly sensorial experience, here you appreciate the flavors, sounds, sights, and smells. Breakfast served as buffet and a la carte. Lunch and dinner are offered a la carte.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (351)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
351 out of 351
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling firemen
Lodi Ca
Dec 19, 2009

First time in Mexico

Nice room Nothing extremly fancy. The maid service was great. The pool area was clean. Only complaint is too many Salesman on the beach. The staff was very friendly. The food and drink prices were expensive for Mexico but average for hotels. The beach party the first night was fun, BBQ mahi was under cooked thou. The beach water was a bit murky 2-4 ft visibility underwater. Very Very safe location. We walked the streets after dinner downtown. no problems with locals or police. I reconmend the Hotel and Location in Mexico. Warning to new travelers to mexico*** Beware of the time shares salesmen, they try to get you at the airport ***

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Mar 10, 2008

Excellent location

The location of the Villa Del Palmar is excellent. It is about 1/2 way between downtown and the airport. The bus stops right in front and it is only 1-2 blocks from a large grocery store. The outside property is well maintained and there are 3 pools and two hot tubs. Our room was disppointing. We were put in the older section and our room faced the very noisy main street. The room itself was in need of repair. We left money daily for maid service but were surprised that on our final bill there was a daily gratuity charge imposed. The check in is all about the time share tour they want you to take and they don't take no for an answer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel has excellent breakfast buffett.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 19, 2008

Poor Check In

The Hotel Overall was nice for the money. We enjoyed everything once we were checked in and got passed the Welcome representative (Timeshare- GoldCard salesman) However, the entire vacation started off on a bad note at the Check in. The Welcome committee will try to sell you a timeshare - Gold Card even if you tell them you don't want one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The family loved the Water Volly Ball game everyday from 1 - 3.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
keep traveling
Chicago, IL
May 3, 2010

Nice getaway

I traveled with my 22 year old daughter and had a very pleasant stay but this trip lacked the excitement of previous trips. This was my fourth trip to Puerto Vallarta. Each of the other resorts was all-inclusive with very friendly staff, friendly guests and entertainment staff that bent over backwards for you. This hotel had a totally different feel because it is not all inclusive. People retreated to their rooms for meals and drinks, so that even during happy hour, the bar was empty. There were some very friendly and helpful front desk and vallet staff. Unfortunately, the staff person that served us most often was just not friendly and never smiled even after generous tips. Friendly waitstaff is typical at most hotels in Mexico and makes a trip much more pleasant so this was quite different from my past experiences. Staff recommended some good restaurants. I would have given the hotel 4 stars because the hotel is really nice. Beds were really comfy, and having a kitchen, pool view and balcony was great. Unfriendly staff and lack of any excitement brought their rating down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Soriano grocery store a couple of blocks away for basic items rather than the expensive store connected to the hotel. Near Soriano there is also a internet shop. The hotel charged $5 US per half hour. This shop near Soriano charged 50 cents per half hour.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Indie traveller
WA
Feb 9, 2014

Not going back. All they want is your money.

Hotel was really nice, but it is located in the resort zone which has really nothing around except the beach and shopping malls. If you are there just for the beach, then you may like it. But, we didn't. We stayed initial few days in Zona Romantica, old town and it was fabulous. When we moved to Villa del Palmar, it was all dull around. We were paying for taxis and buses everyday to go back to old town for lunch and dinner. Most annoying part of this place was, they are only after your money. They had housekeeping charge, which we got waived off by not using house keeping. Then they were trying to sell their vacation packages. We were told we can have free breakfast at their Nuevo Vallarta resort and if we attend a sales presentation, we will get discount in other activities, but it was not merely a presentation, rather a sales agent was with us all the time and was pushing us to buy their packages. We were really regretting, why did we sign up for this at first place despite all the discounts and gifts it came with. Bottom line, if you are going to Mexico for beaches, good weather and above all good food, drinks and culture, then do yourself a favour and stay in old town hotels. Old town has everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are staying in resort area or old town, you can take Blue and white buses which costs only 7.50 pesos to travel around. You will also be able to see the city this way. We found them safe and they run as late as 12AM. Taxis on other hand can be from 50-80 pesos, and you do the math. To save money on eating: Best place to find good food is no doubt in the old town, but places close to beach are expensive. Ask local shopkeepers (of course after buying something from them), where they would eat for cheap and they will tell you hidden secrets. Eating on street side shops is okay, only be careful about drinking water and only use bottled. Don't hesitate to negotiate on price while buying anything, you will be surprised to see nearly 50% drop in price by just negotiating.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling firemen
Lodi Ca
Dec 19, 2009

First time in Mexico

Nice room Nothing extremly fancy. The maid service was great. The pool area was clean. Only complaint is too many Salesman on the beach. The staff was very friendly. The food and drink prices were expensive for Mexico but average for hotels. The beach party the first night was fun, BBQ mahi was under cooked thou. The beach water was a bit murky 2-4 ft visibility underwater. Very Very safe location. We walked the streets after dinner downtown. no problems with locals or police. I reconmend the Hotel and Location in Mexico. Warning to new travelers to mexico*** Beware of the time shares salesmen, they try to get you at the airport ***

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vixen2
Centennial, Colorado
Apr 16, 2012

Great Location

We have stayed at this resort three times and have always enjoyed it. The location is the best part of the resort. The food is good but not exceptional. We do not go inclusive because we like to go into town for dinner, the all you can eat breakfast is worth the price. The barrage of sales tactics when you arrive is annoying and they won't give you the discount card unless you spend a day "touring" their other resort. Check out took 45 minutes and was terrible mismanaged. Not sure we will return again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Taxi into town to Malacon for some great dining spots.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, Ohio
Dec 30, 2009

Wouldn't go Back

We moved to this hotel because we were told there would be more action at night for our son in his twenties. This was not true at all. The place died after 7:00 pm. The worst part is that sleeping was impossible. The doors were banging so loud it sounding like gun shots and people were very loud in the hallway. The pool area and beach were okay but since the hotel was fully booked, it was very difficult to find a chair. The beach volleyball was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Woodrow the fisherman
Burnsville, MN.
Dec 9, 2013

Nice clean hotel

Super clean resort. Staff very friendly and helpful. Couple good happy hours but buffet has dropped off a bit from last few years. Location great...between downtown and the Marinas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago,il
Feb 21, 2011

Family getaway

The hotel is a bit old but overall nice room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top