$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 18, 2014 Check-out: Oct 21, 2014

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Zona Hotelera Norte, KM 3 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 43800
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
214 reviews
Villa Del Palmar PVR

We have stayed at this hotel several times and love it here. The staff is great and the resort and... See full review

  • landm
  • Jan 3, 2014
Great trip - 4th time!

The hotel is slightly older than some but in a great location and very well kept. It is walking... See full review

  • Great time here
  • Mar 29, 2013
Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms with balconies and kitchenettes
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta defines the all-inclusive experience. Guests can fill their days with the numerous planned activities -- including Spanish lessons, water aerobics and volleyball -- or simply sit by the pool, where a water slide shaped like a whale is an endless source of entertainment. Rooms, meanwhile, feel like Mexican villas thanks to full refrigerators, kitchenettes and quaint pottery and furniture.
Highlights
  • 463 suites with kitchenettes and full refrigerators
  • Extensive activities, from nightly dinner and theme shows to craft-making
  • Off-site tours Spa and hair salon
  • Gorgeous views of Banderas Bay
Rooms
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta caters to extended-stay travelers who appreciate the convenience of kitchenettes, full-size refrigerators, cookware and the other necessities for preparing their own meals. All 463 suites brim with regional style -- right down to the folksy pottery. Bright fabrics and cozy furniture further the relaxed appeal. When the day is done, guests sit on furnished balconies to admire the pool and bay views. All rooms boast digital TV, a dining table, central air-conditioning, ceramic-tile floors and purified water.
Features
An all-day schedule of planned activities ensures that Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta guests can play from morning until night. On-site diversions run the gamut, from water aerobics, pottery classes and nightly dinner shows to tennis and a fitness center equipped with cardio and weight machines. Guests can also go off-site for ATV excursions and glass-bottom-boat cruises, among many other tour options.

Even with all those choices, many guests opt to sunbathe at the pool, which features a curious conversation piece: an enormous water slide shaped like a whale.
Dining
Whether the occasion calls for outdoor dining or a more upscale meal, Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta tempts with a global menu of dishes and ambiance-filled restaurants. Guests start at La Cucina, where the full breakfast buffet is not to be outdone by the gorgeous patio overlooking Banderas Bay. Jalisco, open seasonally, dishes up regional family-style Mexican cuisine in an Old World setting. Diners can also request to be seated in the outdoor palapa (an open-sided hut with a thatched roof). Los Equipales Sports Bar invites guests to enjoy tapas and sports by the pool.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Old Town (3.4 mi/5.5 km) Downtown Vallarta (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (3 mi/4.8 km)

Hotel Map

20.642 -105.2375
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz (PVR) Airport
Area description
The property is located five miles West of Downtown Puerto Vallarta, close to golf courses, marina and shopping.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Signature One Bedroom Suite
This beautiful renewed One Bedroom Suite features the same amenities as the One Bedroom plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathrooms amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottle water when booking just room, and with bear and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone, fine cuts and shripms on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room.
Two Bedroom Villa Suite
(900 Sq Ft.) Enjoy one King , and a choice of one Queen or Double bed in second bedroom and sofa bed in the living room. Have up to 2 bathrooms with travertine marble decor as well as upscale amenities. In the room a dining table and six chairs. Its exterior balcony is furnished with patio furniture for up to 6 people.
Deluxe Room
(500 Sq F) Enjoy one king-sized bed or two double beds at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture for 2 people. Outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning, a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
One Bedroom Villa Suite
(650 Sq Ft) Enjoy one king and one sofa bed at this room that opens to a balcony or patio equipped with furniture up to 4 people. This room is outfitted with a kitchenette and the oversized bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as upscale amenities. Air conditioning , a separate dining area, and a tropical ceiling fan are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Signature Deluxe Studio
This beautiful renewed Signature Deluxe Studio features the same amenities as the Deluxe Studio plus up graded amenities and services. Bathrobes & sleepers, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, Nightly turn down services, Fridge stocked with bottled water when booking just room, and with beer and sodas refreshed daily on All-Inclusive. Free Internet in public areas, Free laundry service (restrictions apply), Free local phone calls, fine cuts and shrimps on all-inclusive plan and $20 usd resort credit per day when booking just room. Amenities Deluxe Studio: -Complete kitchen -Coffee maker -Refrigerator -Tableware -Blender -Microwave Oven -Toaster -Pots + Pans -Ceramic Stove top -Welcome Pack (Coffee, salt, pepper + dish soap) -Individually-controlled central air conditioning -Ceiling fans -73-channel cable television -Direct dial telephone with voice mail -Hair dryer -In-room safe -Iron with ironing board -Clock Radio -Daily Housekeeping Service

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Trattoria
Sitting right on the oceanfront and providing a romantic candlelight dinner atmosphere, this open-air restaurant serves traditional and contemporary Italian specialties, prepared with Mediterranean flavors and a lot of "lamore per la cucina Italiana," offering also an excellent wine selection.
The Market
Introducing the fresh market concept of fish and seafood at Villa de Palmar Flamingos. Choose your catch of the day or select your whole lobster. Add some shrimps, a few mussels, and maybe a slice of fresh tuna. Just pick directly with our Chef from our display and enjoy - you decide how you want us to prepare your selection of fish and seafood at our oceanfront terrace market.
El Patron
Impressively located on the oceanfront overlooking the Banderas Bay, restaurant El Patrn offers contemporary presentations of traditional Mexican cuisine. A truly sensorial experience, here you appreciate the flavors, sounds, sights, and smells. Breakfast served as buffet and a la carte. Lunch and dinner are offered a la carte.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Alma
Arroyo Grande, California
Oct 8, 2012

Absolutely fantastic!

My experience at this hotel was even better than I expected! Everyone was helpful, friendly, and very professional. They were quick to solve any problem even if it didn't have to do with the hotel itself. They have friendly and energetic activity hosts that respectfully try to involve all guests in aqua aerobics and games such as ping-pong, volleyball at the beach and the pool. They have beautiful, skillful shows and great buffets, too. It is close to down town and old town with easy and accessible transportation. My only complaint would be that I was not expecting to have a daily gratuity added to my charges balance. I wish I had known ahead so I could have given it directly to people who serviced me each day as cleaning staff changed daily, and I can't prove that such set charge made by the hotel went directly to the employees. However, it might have been my fault for declining to attend the welcoming introduction offered along with a margarita.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Taking a local bus right outside of the hotel to down town, you can have great meals for very little money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Apr 15, 2010

Many better places for the money

We ordered the upgraded room and the all inclusive package, as we have had many great visits to other places in Puerto Vallarta and thought this would be the same. Unfortunately the food was very poor and there was often only 1 restaurant available to eat at. Also be warned the service is SLOW, and they make you sign a CREDIT CARD looking slip for everything, every drink every item of food, and most of the good looking food and drink is not included in the all inclusive price. For example shrimp taco's were like an extra twenty bucks, basically only vegetarian and chicken were included. Also everyone solicits tips including the checker at the grocery store on the property.Also they all but ask for tips everywhere and then add a daily gratuity on to the bill.They also hawked us non stop about the VIP package/time share, even though we already had the all inclusive package. They said they could get us a 20% discount on all the adventures, none of which we could have gone to had we wanted to with our nine month old baby. Spend the same money and get a better vacaion at Rui or Marival, or Palace. Also very loud not restful at all. No soap etc in room when we arrived and fridge didn't work. pluses-beds were remarkable comfortable with lots of pillows, and the quiet side pool was nice and not to cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The pool on the quiet side is much nicer and protected from wind.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carpe Diem!
Pacific North West
Apr 13, 2010

An AMAZING time!

First time to the Villa Del Palmar- and like others- I was a bit skeptical...We were very happy considering the price we paid. We got a great deal at a great location! If you have the Club Med mentality- this place probably is not for you- you get what you pay for! With that said- we would go back and are wanting to bring our kids next time! We arrived the Good Friday which is the end of Holy week- Many locals at the resort- very busy up until Easter- following it was very quiet and nice!Some insights...>We agreed to the time share presentation- We were asked once upon check in and was never asked again. The entire presentation was approx. 3 hours...taxi to and from Flamingos, included a great breakfast buffet, a tour, bottle of T, and the Los Arcos snorkeling all day tour for my wife and I. The presentation went well all the way up to the very end- If you go and the closer ends up being a guy named [...] from Seattle- He will become pretty ugly at the end- very unprofessional and sad that they cross the line in that way!>The room we had was in Building 3, 4th floor over looking the tennis courts- a bit noisy at night at times- people closing their doors, noise from the Atrium- but overall not bad. The room is clean- all things were functioning. The resort was kept clean.>We enjoyed sitting at the beach and never had a problem getting chairs and umbrella! The vendors come by but a "no thanks" to them and they keep on...>We recommend "Chata's" restaurant down on the board walk- great food with a great view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The location is great- if you want to be near grocery stores, restaurants, etc... A large grocery store- Soriana is almost directly across the street. Starbucks is a quick 5 minute walk away, Costco is a 15 minute walk, and downtown- the board walk is a 25 minute walk. We loved the location because we did not have to rely on the bus or taxis. The buses and taxis were easily accessible as well! We visited another resort that was about 15-20 minutes away- NW of the airport- it was an amazing resort- but we were glad we did not book there because if you wanted to go anywhere you would have to take a taxi- not for us!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PV Sunseekers
Chimacum, WA
Apr 11, 2010

4 Amigas Glad To Be Back!!

While checking in we found out that our reservation ( made 11 months in advance) for a two bedroom suite was not available. They made an offer but that wasn't good enough, we agreed to peso's off for every night that was spent in a double bed suite. We were able to move the following afternoon to the two bedroom. While we never did get a good explanation as to why the room was not available, we were able to get on with the rest of the week and kick back and enjoy the beauty of Puerto Vallarta and the Villa Del Palmar. We found the La Panorama restaurant to be well "AWESOME"!! We will be back again in two years. Thanks to all who work so hard at the Villa Del Palmar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Apr 5, 2010

Another great trip to a great hotel!

Great hotel stay at Villa Del Palmar. The staff is always friendly, plenty of entertainment for kids of all ages and yet you still have time to relax peacefully if you choose. The rooms are nice sized and include a kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

With a regular grocery store located a few blocks away, you can really save money on food if you'd like. We went there for groceries and bought enough food for breakfast and lunch to feed 4 people for 7 days and spent less than $90.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
esta unca chica
Chicago, IL
Apr 5, 2010

we heart this place

This is my boyfriend and my 2nd time staying at the Villa del Palmar and we still would stay there again! It's nothing fancy but it is nice. We don't like all inclusive and the studio rooms have a nice and tiny kitchen with utensils including pots pans, cutting boards and sharper knives. Overall I would say this place is great for the simple traveler who enjoys downtown Vallarta or the Marina Vallarta-both are close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jrooster
Minnesota
Apr 3, 2010

Villa Del Palmer-Ehh

It is a time share in need of cleaning and updating. Good for a family with young children that need entertaining. The staff are not very accomadating or even friendly.They require a credit card on file for everything you cannot even use cash at the bar...too controlling!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reston, Virginia
Apr 2, 2010

we loved it

This is an older time share facility but it is well maintained. It has nice landscaping and 3 beautiful pools, a fitness center, a spa, a restaurant, a deli, a snack bar, a laundromat, and a small shop. It is a short bus ride from the center city. Some shopping and a few restaurants are within walking distance. We stayed in a large 2 bedroom apartment w/ kitchen, living room and dining room. Very comfortable. There is some pressure to go look at a newer sister time share. We ultimately gave in. It took more like 3 hours than the 90 minutes they say, but we received some lovely excursions in exchange and the people were all charming - so ultimately it was not that bad a deal - as long as you don't buy the time share :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ristorante Prego - In the Villa Vallarta. They had very nice Italian food and wonderful live diner music. Bring cash they do not accept credit cards. Go to the front gate of Villa del Palmar. Take a right. A little way past the Office Depot take another right and follow the signs to Ristorante Prego (under a green awning) in a plaza that is about a block to the right of the main road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aliso Viejo California
Apr 2, 2010

Timeshare Sales Trap

When I booked this trip there wasn't any option to select ocean view so I assumed that is what we would get. We arrived at 4pm and told our room was not ready and were met by one of the "greeters" who told us she would give us a map of the property and help us plan events for our trip while we waited. She offered to let us go to their sister property as a courtesy and guaranteed that it would not involve a Timeshare presentation. We thanked her for her help and proceeded to our room which was on the 2nd floor facing a busy street and parking lot. We asked for an upgrade to a pool / mini ocean view in which we were told we could move the next day. We went out had a great evening. They have fun clubs with 80's music, welcome to all groups. Woke up the next day and decided not to go the sister facility and just hang around Villa Del Mar. We had numerous calls from our greeter, telling us we need to go the sister facility. Turns out she had signed us up for a Timeshare presentation, against our wishes. We told her we weren't interested, and she threatened to move us out of our room. It was horrible, we were being blackmailed into the Timeshare, weren't sure what she would do if we did not attend, so my 2 friends went. I found out later from a Taxi Cab driver they receive a fair commission for each person they send to a presentation - $200 pp (Be careful around the Huichol shops and other shops on the Malecon, they all double as Timeshare sales reps). It's unfortunate this hotel uses guests as bait for their Timeshare sales. I have stayed at both the Marriott and Hyatt and have received top service. I will never stay at this hotel again. I wanted a vacation and rest and that is not what I received at this facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Mismaloya Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julie Missing PV
Grand Blanc, MI
Mar 30, 2010

Wouldn't Stay Anywhere Else!

The staff at the Villa del Palmar couldn't be nicer or more eager to assist you in any way possible. I love getting up at six in the morning and going down to the beach and watch the bay as the sun comes up. I haven't stayed in any other hotel in Puerto Vallarta where the beach is raked clean every morning. This was our fifth year here and wouldn't think of moving hotels due to the quality of service and the people who work so hard to ensure that our stay is wonderful each year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you go all the way to Puerto Vallarta, be sure to cross the river either by bus or taxi. Check out the restaurants on Basio Badillo and Olas Altas. Hada's Garden, Cafe de Olla, Pancho's Tacos, El Palomar de los Gonzales, La Piazzata. We use the busses which are great and run all of the time. Old Town also has some of the best sunset beach bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
apachegirl
Skokie, IL
Mar 28, 2010

Better than Florida

Enjoyed my stay. Staff very helpful. Immaculate rooms and grounds. Good recreation staff. Nice beach. Food & drinks too expensive unless you had a VIP card. All in all, a good value vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good restaurants within a mile or two. The buses are close and can be taken anywhere. Fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search