$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
View map of Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
195 reviews
romantic getaway

Was our first time in Mexico and absolutely loved Puerto Vallarta. I loved this hotel! the swimming... See full review

  • Alann U.
  • Jul 25, 2015
Business Trip

Booked this hotel so I would be close to the Marina. Fantastic pool area and outdoor bars. Loved... See full review

  • Anthony M.
  • May 15, 2015
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Property features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Nearby attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$107
4.3 / 5 182 reviews
★★★★
$183
4.1 / 5 548 reviews
★★★
$127
3.8 / 5 143 reviews
★★★★
$380
4.3 / 5 70 reviews
★★★★★
$249
4.5 / 5 85 reviews

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Dining

El Palmar Restaurant
Delicious à la carte options throughout the day plus tempting buffet spreads at breakfast and dinner make El Palmar the perfect resort restaurant. Dine indoors or out on the rooftop terrace, enjoying lovely views of the pools and surrounding gardens.
Tlaquepaque Bar
A day at the pool is even more relaxing with this casual eaterie ready to serve you. Swim right up to the bar in the Tlaquepaque pool for a refreshing drink, or enjoy sandwiches and snacks at your poolside lounge chair
La Cascada Tequila Bar
Catch up with friends, enjoy seasonal live music, or watch the game on the video wall at this lively lounge bar. La Cascada serves a full selection of drinks and light snacks in a warm and relaxing atmosphere and convenient lobby location.
Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse
Arrecifes, our open-air dining and beach club spot, serves up a tempting array of steak and seafood specialties. Enjoy a great meal and a delicious drink with a great view of Bahia de Banderas.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 195
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caroline aka Charlene
Single
Apple Valley. CA
Jul 21, 2014

Absolutely wonderful

Excellent service from Esmeralda at front desk and Lino my bell boy my main made me towel bunnies bartenders I'm definitely coming back again next year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go visit the Isla and snorkel

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimconferencegoer
Single
San Francisco, Ca
Jul 17, 2014

Oasis in PV!

I had such a nice experience at this hotel! The staff was fantastic - superb service! And, the room was very comfortable and well-appointed. Awesome value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

The wings and drinks at the pool bar were excellent!

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCHO
Single
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Some surprising gaps

Generally, staff was perfect--although the followup calls (did you get your dinner) on room service were a bit annoying. But 1. The room was not cleaned or picked up the second day of my stay. 2. Calls to unlock the mini-bar went unanswered on days 1 and 2. 3. Charges were made for bottled water (outside the fridge) and coffee which generally in American hotels and motels, at least the coffee are complimentary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Temo
Single
Morelia, Michoacán, Mexico
Sep 19, 2011

Great location

It's sufficiently far from town as to be able to have a quiet time, and close enough a cab ride to be in the middle of the action. Great combination

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Seattle, WA
Feb 9, 2011

Awesome service!

Extremely service oriented. Food was great. Spent most time @ hotel by the pool. Fitness center very well equipped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Marina area was great.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
San Francisco
Sep 10, 2010

Sloooooow Season Shut Down

I was told by a couple different staff members to go to the happy hour in the lobby bar. When I got to the bar there was a small app buffet set out in the middle of the bar. I sat at the other end of the bar and ordered a drink. The bartender pored my drink and then told me the buffet was for a private promotion event. As he said this a houseman put up stantions between the end of the bar were I was sitting and the buffet. As I felt like I was encroaching on someone elses party I tried to assign my drink to my room which he was unable to do. A manager had to come to give him change so I could pay in cash and I had to move a stantion to be able to exit the bar. I just wish I new so much of the hotel was shut down for slow season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk to find something to do. The hotel might as well be closed.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Doc!
Single
Oakland, CA
Jun 17, 2010

Great Experience

This trip definitely succeeded in my goals of wanting to go to a place for rest and relaxation. The hotel was conveniently located in an area of Puerto Vallarta that is very close to the airport (without the airplane noise) and close to the marina for dining. There was also a local convenient store located across the street from the hotel where you can buy bottled water, snacks, cerveza...it is much like a 7-eleven. The onsite tour representative is great if you decide to take a tour or experience Puerto Vallarta outside of the city limits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solotvlr
Single
Stamford, CT
Dec 21, 2009

Westin

The hotel and grounds are very nice. The rooms are large, recently renovated, and well appointed. The staff was quite friendly and very helpful. Downtown is about 20 minutes away by bus, which costs 5.50 ($0.45) pesos one way. The marina is a short walk away which offers many restaurants and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stayed in pv many times
Single
olympia, wa
Oct 6, 2009

hurt by less business

I have stayed at this Westin a few other times, but the recession/lack of visitors has had a real effect on the hotel. The food was not nearly as good. The room had the main window, actually a window wall, but on one side there was a 3 inch gap with no glass nor screen. the number of staff was down, and it showed in the upkeep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Racked with stress
Single
Los Angeles
Aug 12, 2009

not so much---

The hotel itself was nice. The noise level was unbelievable. For such a vast property, they had something in every corner- LOUD music, aerobics, kids games, screaming microphones, etc.. This should NOT be a get away for relaxation (there was no "relaxation area") This was VERY unfortunate and even though I was on the 10th floor, each morning I woke to running and screaming children (and I love kids, but not on a spa retreat). Check out the website- NONE of the kids activities are mentioned. Nothing but relaxation. When asked for the nearest quiet beach, I was pointed to 30 minutes away. My five day retreat ended up being a quest for solitude at any minute (mostly after 930PM). Great for family though- Also, a big timeshare property on site-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Victors on the Marina is great.

Back to menu Return to top