$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
210 reviews
Overall Great Hotel

This hotel was an excellent value and very clean. The pool area is perfect for families. We... See full review

  • Family of 5 from Houston
  • Jul 26, 2014
Absolutely wonderful

Excellent service from Esmeralda at front desk and Lino my bell boy my main made me towel bunnies... See full review

  • Caroline aka Charlene
  • Jul 21, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel with modern style and true resort experiences
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Hotel Map

20.662 -105.2528
Nearby airports
Licenciado Gustavo Díaz Ordaz International Airport, (PVR), 2.00, MI;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Deluxe
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Phone service
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Tennis pro
Boating
Driving range
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Boutiques
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (210)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 210
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
viimmm
Los Angeles
Apr 5, 2013

great hotel

really nice hotel, cab ride to town is very inexpensive. No timeshare nonsense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

get to pool early if you want an umbrella

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pari
San Jose, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

No Customer Service

Customer service was terrible and extreamly slow. One eg: Had complained about the cordless phone not working which was never fixed in our 4 day trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
viejoron
LA
Nov 11, 2011

Puerto Vallarta Paradise

The City is safe, exciting and very accommodating to tourists. The Westin Hotel at the Marina is an excellent, well located resort with all the amenities, staff and comfort that one could ask for. The beach, fittness center and restaurants are among the best I have enjoyed as a tourist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The fine dining in the Hotel restaurant is superb and reasonably priced

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Croger1ks
Kansas City, KS, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Nice Hotel, Could use some improvements

The Hotel itself was nice. I got the room at a great price. The maid service was hit and miss. Some days they would take the dirty towels and not leave us any clean towels. We were supposed to get small bottles of complimentary water in the bathroom. That didn't happen. The 2 litre bottle of water on the bar turned out to cost $4.50 usd. We had to go out of the hotel for each meal because food at the hotel was very pricey -- about $20 usd for the breakfast buffet. And there were tiny ants in the room so we couldn't leave any food in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Victor's Restaurant on the Marina has excellent food at very reasonable prices.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
C's Up
Cali
Sep 8, 2011

Hotel was ok- wouldn't go back.

We went in down season so hardly anyone was staying at the hotel which made it kind of boring. There was more staff then guests. The neighboring hotels had more occupancy. The staff seemed desperate for money/tips which definately got on our nerves. We had an invasion of some type of bug in our room but hotel staff eventually accomodated and let us switch rooms. At first they just sprayed Raid- but then we requested the switch because the smell was intoxicating. The rooms were very nicely laid out, and we had a nice ocean view. The food was ok, good variety. I had room service one night and the tomatoes with mozzerella and sauce were awesome. We went jet skiing - and one of the jet skis broke down, so that sucked. The menu at the pool bar was dissapointing so we went next door to Club Regina's hotel pool bar and ate there on a few occasions. Chicken quesadilla's are good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tacos & Beer restaurant just outside the hotel was a lifesaver. Simple, convenient and good tasting.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charleston, SC
Jul 21, 2011

The Trip of A Lifetime

I can not say enough about my experience in Puerto Vallarta. From the airport transportation to housekeeping. I have never had such great customer service. I can not remember a time when I have actually wanted to eat at the hotel Resturant every night, but the El Palamar is wonderful, every thing that is serve from the overwhelming breakfast buffet to the dinner at night. We ate everyting from Filet Mignon to Pasta. The pools were clean, even the kiddie pool. Everyone was so friendly and polite. I did venture out of the resort and went Zip Lining and took a City Tour both of which I can do over and over again. Also the Marina is very close which has great little resturants and shops. I am already checking [...] to go back before the end of the year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Time share in Mexico is also known as the Tours. I was not aware of that. Everyone will try to sell you a tour. [...]

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, tx
Jul 11, 2011

Very beautiful

We had a great time at the resort, they were very helpful and were able to speak English to us. The pool and beach facilities were wonderful and it was everything I wanted in a vacation. I would definitely stay again but would get all inclusive because resort prices were outrageous to me. Their water was $4 when across the street it was $1. And the price of two breakfast buffets ran us $60!!!! Just for one meal! Go all inclusive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the marina and chose one of the many great restaurants, good food and good prices.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenfuzz
Montreal, Quebec
May 23, 2011

Amazing place

Great service, amazing food, wonderful staff (especially the dining staff), very nice rooms. the spa and gym offer great services. clean and modern. close to airport but a little farther from downtown. Definitely go all-inclusive as food and drink can be pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go for all inclusive package!! Otherwise the food and drink at hotel can be pricey and you'll end up paying way more.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redondo Beach, CA
Mar 15, 2011

Westin Puerto Vallarta Hotel and Spa

It doesn't get any better than relaxing by the pool at the Westin Puerto Vallarta Hotel and Spa... the food service by the pool was excellent, the staff was accommodating at every turn, and the view of the beach was as good as it gets. The grounds are well maintained with an abundance of swaying Palm trees, bouganvilla, and other native flora and fauna. We stayed in a adjoining suite with friends and the rooms are clean and very comfortable, again with a view of the gardens and ocean. We were happy to find the gym to be state of the art and the spa center was perfect. A complete package for a wonderful stay in a warm country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Describe what you're looking for and either the helpful bellman or taxi cab driver will be more than happy to accommodate and get you to the right place.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Ramon, CA
Feb 12, 2011

They're Cheaping Out on Everything Here

Obviously this hotel is in trouble.There were just a handful of guests in high season while the nearby Velas Vallarta was booming with conventioneers, weddings and timeshare people. First the good: Nice linens and very comfortable pillow-topped beds. Nice staff. Good workout facility with a large room for stretching, another with machines. Really good hamburgers and entrees at dinner. Now the disappointing: No real beach for walking and the water was scummy and filthy from the Marina. Getting anything...from a coffee pot to the coffee to the creamers/sugars, took mulitiple phone calls to the front desk. When they would finally bring one of the several items we requested, someone would immediately call the room to confirm that it came. This was annoying after awhile as it seemed they wanted to be congratulated for finally delivering one part of our request. Everywher ethere wa evidence of cheaping out including permanent-looking signs on things like water dispensers that were "out of order." How can you not have a water dispenser in a fitness center? Especially one that requires only that a jug of water be placed in it? We got one tiny bar of soap (For two women sharing a room) and a little bottle of shampoo. This was to last 5 days. No other amenities in the room--not even a shower cap. Very few towels and they didn;t replace the ones we used. One day they took away the bath mat but didn't leave another one and that took several calls. We finally had to request it directly from the maid by hanging out in the room until she came. Otherwise we would have had to use one of our two remaining bath towels. On the other hand, they charged a fortune for things like a very small amount of no-name wine ($9.00/glass). Hamburgers were $15...you get the picture. We didn't go all inclusive but that would not have been a good deal either as none of us could eat or drink enough to justify the cost. They charge $2.50 for the keycards and if you request a duplicate it immediately shows up on your bill. I turned all 3 of ours in but had to remind the desk clerk to remove the charges several times. The hotel gift shop is not related to the hotel, so you can't charge items to your room. This was not what I would have expected from a Westin hotel and I have stayed in several. Architecturally this place might be nice when it is boiling hot, but it was cool/cold and breezy while we were there and the halls, bars, restaurants were wind tunnels. The rooms had heavily textured concrete floors so that getting out of bed felt like walking on a bed of gravel. The quality of the "marble" in the bathroom (as well as the workmanship) was horrid and the tub was surrounded by mildew-infested caulking over an inch deep! The fabric headboards in our room had such a layer of dust I could have peeled it off like lint from a dryer filter. The curtains didn't close all the way, so I woke at the crack of dawn from the light in my eyes. In summary, I wondered the entire time whether this property is being sold and they are trying to raise their profit picture by reducing costs. The entire staff, while very nice, didn't seem to understand that their role was to make our stay a pleasant experience. So, for example, a pool guy stood right in front of our chaise lounges for several hours steel brushing the side of the pool when he could have worked nearly anywhere else without disturbing anyone as we were one of only 3 parties at the pool. It was so irritating. One day we wanted to go to dinner and got there a few minutes early. Rather than letting us sit down and wait for service, or better yet, offering us a beverage, we were told to leave and come back even though there were people inside still eating from lunch. There were no offerings of peanuts, olives, crackers or anything else during happy hour or when you ordered at the bar. We finally asked for something because we learned that it took nearly an hour from sit-down to actually getting food, and the...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a massage at Venus in the Marina Vallarta. Pure heaven and so inexpensive!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search